Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is communism as bad as people say

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Plenty of " no true Scots man " fallacies knocking about here I see

Not surprising, none so blind as an ideologue

• Registered Users Posts: 29,555 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

very arguable there, capitalism in fact may have killed just as many, maybe even more, as its been in play for far longer, and its the most common ideology in play.......

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭pauly58

I was a staunch communist in my early twenties, I then started to see it as no more than state capitalism. When the mines were nationalised in England, I read an article where the miners had high hopes of a real change but of course other than working conditions improving, nothing really changed. The same happened when British Leyland came into being, to the average worker it was just the same.

I've liked the idea of real socialism, I saw a documentary of a large company in Spain that was run on those principals. When you joined the company you were loaned the money to buy shares, the management were elected & it was run successfully.

The communist slogan " from each according to his means, to each according to his needs" is all very well but what if I had a different idea of what these were than the people who decided.

I remember the Labour MP Dennis Healy being accused of being a young communist, he replied that he also used to believe in Father Christmas !

• Registered Users Posts: 2,275 ✭✭✭fash

It's not even a question of human nature: a communist system cannot efficiently respond to changes in supply and demand. That's it's inherent weakness - something even more problematic than it's incompatibility with human nature.

...we also have to accept, the apparent 'laws' of supply and demand are not actual laws at all, that was just made up by us humans also....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

"Communism is simply the greatest most progressive and highest achieving ideology on earth.

Simply look at the advancements made in the Soviet Union under Communism and Comrade Stalin in 30 years they went from a back water of illiterate peasants to the second super power on the planet within 40 years they were in space."

It was one of the Pro communist posters that brought up Stalin actually.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,417 ✭✭✭tinytobe

With political systems like this, there are three main issues, not only in communism, but also in fascism:

1) any single pro-active idea by an individual is always suppressed by the polit bureau the party and the military. Own initiatives are not wanted or liked, one is to put the party above everything else not matter if it's running your own business or owning bigger properties or certain cars. Party membership and party organizations are mandated from early youth to mandatory military service, to university, to employment and until death. The party will organize a job for you and an apartment to live in, leaving the party means losing all that.

2) there is an endless feeling of distrust, thus the party builds up a network of secret agents and surveillance where everyone is automatically suspicious. Stasi or Gestapo are observing everybody, there is even distrust among family members. There is also distrust towards religious groups, churches, and during mass there is always a secret agent listening in what the priest is preaching. Elections, if at all, are rigged, and the election result is often 99% for the same party.

3) there is no freedom to express and to freedom to inform. TV is deliberately used with a different system, like SECAM, FM radio worked on frequencies below 87 Mhz in order not to receive signals from western countries, and radio jamming was often practiced. There is usually one state run newspaper and good output of political propaganda. Statues and flags of the party are everywhere, same as pictures of their "heroes". Sometimes there is a strong cult for a single person or one leader.

Both Communism in Russia as well as fascist Nazi-Germany had these three traits.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,334 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

1. This isn't necessarily true. There were plenty people who weren't members of the party in either Nazi Germany or the USSR. In fact, the vast majority of Germans weren't members of the Nazi party and got on perfectly well. The party in both nations certainly had absolute control over everything, this is correct. But membership of the party wasn't a necessary requirement in either country and non-membership didn't particularly affect those people. Bad mouthing the party, however, or active resistance would find one in hot water very swiftly and often did. Party organisations such as the Reichsarbeitsdienst or Hitler Jugend in Germany or something like the Komsomols in Russia were a part of people's lives for sure. But this isn't the same as actual party membership which, in the end, mattered little to the parties in question because they were totalitarian dictatorships that had no real political opposition.
    2. Distrust builds over time. But that's something that occurs with most, if not all, governmental types. Without a doubt that distrust built to great proportion in both Germany and Russia when the scales fell from the eyes of the people, as it were. Those who were more attuned obviously discovered the problems manifesting in both Hitler's Germany and Stalinist Russia earlier. But, for most, the realisation that all was not what it was supposed to be happened far too late to do anything about it. And in the case of both Germany and Russia, there is also the war to take into account. Resisting a government, even if it wasn't a dictatorship, is next to impossible when a nation is embroiled in a war, especially a war where the actual life of the nation is at stake which was the case for both Germany and Russia in WWII.
    3. Propaganda wasn't just a tool of the totalitarians. In Britain, news was very heavily sanctioned by the government too, with specific individuals assigned to mould the view of the population. Appointees weren't put in charge of the Ministry of Information for their sense of fairness. They were put there to disseminate the government view. Even after the war and up until the 60's, the British Government had a very heavy hand when it came to censorship. While there was certainly more "freedom of the press" in the west, it's a mistake to think that propaganda was the purview only in the likes of Germany and Russia. Likewise, symbolic regalia wasn't limited to those countries either. No country on the planet uses its flag more than the US, for instance (this is still true today) and Britain is certainly not shy when it comes to the use of its own symbols either.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Fattybojangles

Indeed and all the figures you have provided there prove it is total nonsense to say that the Soviet government killed 20 million of it's own citizens no one is suggesting that there weren't killings of course there were but the numbers were greatly inflated for propaganda purposes and many who were killed were tsarists landlords exploiters etc.

Bertrand Russell had the right of it when he said that no good comes from Marxism because Marx wasn't inspired by kindly feeling. Whenever a socialist opens her mouth you can tell immediately that she doesn't so much love the working class as hate anyone more successful than herself. It is a vindictive, spiteful creed of envy dressed up as compassion. Socialists, communists, or whatever they might happen to call themselves have a murderous streak that is obviously best avoided.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

The ideologue whose theories underpin any modern concept of what we call communism was Karl Marx, who is described variously as an "economist", a "sociologist" and sometimes as a "philosopher." At least two of those appellations come under the general title of "social scientist", or somebody who tries to apply the methods of scientific discovery to study human behaviour. Marx's methodology was called "dialectical materialism", a theoretical analysis of how people behaved and treated others based on their material (or economic) wants, needs and aspirations.

A social scientist is ALWAYS wrong!

A social scientist is somebody who will ALWAYS have to explain tomorrow why the predictions they made yesterday did not come true today.

To an extent, that is true of any scientist as it is the basis of the scientific method: Hypothesise, test, evaluate, modify the hypothesis, until you find an explanation for what you are observing that explains what is happening and how. But a physical scientist, like a physicist, chemist or even biologist, once they can satisfactorily explain why their outcomes did not emerge as expected can go back and tweak their basic hypothesis and then test it scientifically, usually in a laboratory setting, to verify that it works. GIVEN THE STRICTLY CONTROLLED CONDITIONS OF A LABORATORY.

The trouble with social science is that it tries to explain real-world behaviour and the real world is not a laboratory. You can not isolate the initial conditions to allow the forces that you want to control to operate without outside interference. You can try, but only at the expense of appalling tyranny.

"We will limit people's ability to make money; they will only get a "fair" amount (as defined by us) for what they do."

But what if they supplement their income from other activities? "We'll put them in jail"

What if they try and leave the country to get a better deal elsewhere? "We won't let them"

What if they just say "sod it", I won't bother becoming a doctor/engineer/architect. Too much hassle, I'll work in the library/shop floor/coffee shop and get much the same for a fraction of the effort? "We have ways and means of coercing the bourgeoisie to give of their utmost to the people"

Marx was dead right when he says that the "cash nexus" is a force that impels people to participate in commercial activity usually at the behest of the "capitalist" class and that it leads to great disparities of wealth if unchecked and leads to a growing disenpowerment and isolation of the worker. But without that cash nexus you need some other material forces to make society function. And in communist/socialist societies these usually come in shiny uniforms with big sticks.

I am now in my sixties and have long lost any sympathy with earnest and usually well meaning "socialists" who offer as their excuse for any failing of socialist policies "Oh but if only......[something else had not happened]..everything would have been all right!"

The real world is not a laboratory. The real world is interconnected. The real world contains phenomena you can't control. Especially human phenomena.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭85603

Similarly all of Africa is ultra capitalist, yet many are paddling to center-left leaning Europe.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

Capitalism in practice? We pay 51% income tax, 33% CGT with an 'allowance' of 1270. Prices have skyrocketed, value of currency has plummetted.

I got incredibly lucky financially-wise in the last few years. Should have been enough to set me up for life, house and comfortable living if it happened in the 90s or 00s even. But no, we get completely fleeced on every turn no matter how lucky we get. Doesn't sound like capitalism to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Yeah communism was so great everyone, bar of course the higher up communist part members, wanted to fook out.

Ever hear of the Berlin wall or the Iron curtain ?

And was all the advancements made, it wasn't much of an advancement for the millions of peasants that died of starvation in Ukraine or the hundreds of thousands of Estonians, Lativans, Lithuanians, chechens, Tatars, the kulaks who perished during the forced deportations.

And these were happening before and after the Great Patriotic War so don't try and blame the Germans.

Yeah they were in space but they went bust, they just couldn't compete any longer.

And whilst they were striving to go into space people had fook all.

You waited years to get a half built Lada FFS.

Oh and your talk that the millions dead was all propaganda just reads like one of those loons who are holocaust deniers.

BTW you talk about literacy, what use is it when you can't read what you want, write what you want, say what you want ?

You are probably one of the best adverts for the continous forcing of history education in our school systems.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭anplaya27

Sure the Estonians even have two public holidays that commemorate the victims of Stalinist communist policies. June 14th is a national day of mourning and remembrance for the victims of forced deportation to the gulags and August 23rd is a day of remembrance of the victims of both nazism and communism. They even have a day of remembrance on the 25th of March to remember the victims of Soviet mass deportations. As a country they were put through the grinder by communism.

Actually The Baltic states are interesting.

I remember being in museum in Taillinn in early 2000s.

There was something unusual in their treatment of history, reminded me of how France and some other countries appeared to have selective amnesia when it came to WWII.

The Estonians had info about early days with Hanseatic League, Swedes, Polish–Lithuanian Commonwealth, Russian Empire up to foundation of their state, then about independent state, about Soviet invasion in 1940, about Germans arriving in 1941. Then there was nothing really until Soviets reappearing in 1944 and all that went with that especially in 40s, 50s and then up to independence in 90s.

They made big thing about Soviet atrocities in first invasion and when they arrived back in 44, but fook all about what Germans got up to.

No mention of fact that around 10,000 jews were killed in Estonia.

Granted most of them weren't Estonian as they had very small Jewish population and The Soviets had already deported chunk of them in 1940.

Everyone is always aware of the Germans place in the Holocaust, but they didn't do it without local support or their Allies like the Romanians who were adept at carrying out mass murders nearly as bad as the Germans themselves.

again, this is bullsh1t, this is a portrayal of human behavior, depicted by certain economic ideologies, primarily neoclassical, the most predominant school of economic thought today, one of the most obvious failures of this thinking can be seen in our property markets. you will find as prices rise, demand actually increases, as us humans tend to start panic buying, this in turn causes a positive feedback in regards pricing, i.e. prices continually increase.....

...again more bullsh1t, these ideologies believe that all humans are 'rational' and spend their time 'rationally expecting', again, our property markets continually debunk these beliefs, causing a positive feedback loop in regards pricing, once again, as demand increases, the 'rationally expecting' humans increase their involvement in these markets, and use their resources to bid up prices, particularly by using their access to 'credit' to do so.... by increasing the money supply to these markets, again, primarily increasing the credit supply, this in turn causes prices to continually rise, which in turn causes the 'rationally expecting' humans to panic, which in turn causes a rise in demand...... and on and on and on..... welcome to the real world! oh and you wont find any of that in your neoclassical economics books!

yes we all know this stuff is in plenty of books, its disturbing how much we have codded ourselves into thinking this is how the world works, when in fact, it doesnt, and we have plenty of evidence to support this! this is why the world of neoclassical economics keeps failing, keeps missing major oncoming failures such as the 08 crash! please explain how demand has fallen in relation to our property markets?

oh ffs, where do you folks get off! my statements and comments are actually supported by respected sources, including respected academics, non academics, and institutions, including central banks!

the main reasons why our property markets are a train wreck is that we have moved towards a more financialised economy, whereby the primary drivers become major sectors such as the fire sectors(finance, insurance and real estate), whos main objectives are to 'maximize utility', 'maximize shareholder value' i.e. to maximise profits etc. when such objectives and goals are created, this in turn causes positive and negative feedback loops to be created, including a positive price feedback.

our shortage of supply was in fact recognized at the high of the previous crash, from respected sources, their advise, get building, and fast, particularly in the dublin region, our response, lets get busy stopping! prices crashed, but demand was still there, and has been growing since. now we have a seriously under supplied market, and prices are sky rocketing! again, demand for housing actually never fell, we just defaulted towards these ideologies, in order to try provide ourselves with our critical needs, and they have absolutely failed, and the disturbing thing is, we re still defaulting to this thinking. the world cannot be simplified as basic understandings such as supply and demand, as this thinking is almost completely devoid of human behavior in its entirety, the fact that all humans are actually complex emotional beings, and behave as such....

yes, it does indeed seem that some regulations and standards are simply too high, also compounding the problem

if you re going to try come on the internets, and present your chosen economic ideologies, i.e. primarily neoclassical, maybe do a little research on it, you might find, its actually very disturbing underneath it all, with its 'simplifying assumptions' etc etc etc!

no idea where you re going with the conspiracy stuff, im not paranoid at all! we ve simply screwed ourselves with this type of thinking, i.e. over simplification of what is in fact 'complex dynamic systems', then add in the fact, humans are not rational beings, equals, a whole pile of sh1te!

Estonia is a tiny tiny country. The population of Estonia was under 1.7 million in 1939. The Estonians were always under the boot of some occupier, not only the Germans or the Russians. They got their independence in 1920 I believe. Only for the Russians to take it away from them again in 1940. When germany invaded and occupied them in 41 the Germans were originally greeted with open arms as they got rid of the Russian oppressor. However they soon realised the germans were just as bad. Tens of thousands of ethnic estonians were murdered as well as those you mention. I believe the Estonian government was overthrown by the Russians one day after the Germans left in 1944 and they didnt get their independence until 1991. Estonia actually lost 25 pc of its population in WW2. The current population is 1.3 million and only 68 pc are ethnic Estonians. I'd say they suffered.

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭Protoman

<>

Ah now hang on I am not having a major go at Estonians.

They were far from the worst by a long mile.

I would have them at bottom as a lot fled the country and joined Finnish army rather than Germans and they only joined them when Soviets were on their way back and they had no choice.

The point was with reference to the way history can be portrayed and I did mention others.

It has been very convenient for some to forget some history.

The Germans could not have wiped out as many Jews, Communists, socialists, gypsies, etc without the help of local collaborators.

The likes of the Frank family were turned in by a Dutch snout for the Gestapo, all for a few schillings.

The Vichy French did a hell of amount the dirty work for the Germans.

A lot of the ones in Eastern Europe gladly joined in the old habit of pogroms and only too willingly joined the Germans with hope of getting their hands on their former neighbours property.

I always wonder what happened to all those officials, those policemen in Western Europeans countries that collaborated.

I know women were often shaved in the streets for having affairs with Germans, but what happened to all those ones higher up that helped organise roundups, deportations, torture of their fellow citizens?

In Eastern Europe they either fled or were summarily executed, no loss I suppose as it was often well deserved.

Being liberated by the Soviet and those lovely communists was often a mixed blessing.

Just ask the Baltic states or the Poles.

I know women were often shaved in the streets for having affairs with Germans, but what happened to all those ones higher up that helped organise roundups, deportations, torture of their fellow citizens?

They were often hanged as collaborators. Allied/Soviet forces often entered towns finding rows of hanged people with signs attached as to their crimes.

As for the rest, the Israeli's hunted down more than just Nazi's... and there were other trials related to the war, not just the Nuremburg Trials.

I always wonder what happened to all those officials, those policemen in Western Europeans countries that collaborated.

Many simply disappeared into Soviet held territories, or emigrated to America or S.America. Again, the Israeli's hunted down quite a few, but I suspect many managed to escape. The Soviets apparently hired many such to be part of the secret police in the Soviet Bloc states, like East Germany as part of the local police forces.

Just because a few collaborated doesnt whitewash what happened to the ordinary Estonians. My partner is an ethnic Estonian and her grandfather was disappeared during the communist regime. Just like that he was taken and never seen of or heard of again. Shes old enough to remember the communist regime and how they celebrated when they got independence. She said the only ones that were unhappy with independence were the Russians that had made Estonia their home.

In the grand scheme of things I would say feck all of the ones responsible for all the murders, tortures were ever brought to justice.

And especially so by the Israelies.

Yes they had major coups like Eichmann, but they lost a fair few.

And it wasn't just the Soviets that used the old nazis as secret policemen.

The US did as well.

Hell shure didn't a lot of the Einsatzgruppen just melt back into their former profession as policemen in Germany post war.

Actually the more you look into it, the more you realise post war West Germany protected a hell of a lot of their nazi murderers.

Didn't France do it as well in the supposed interests of national unity.

When I visited years back I found Estonians lovely, if somewhat reticent.

Maybe it similarity to their near neighbours the Finns or maybe it was their recent enough history of getting shafted by Soviet oppressors.

And back on topic what joy those communists brought to all they conquered.

Maybe we should look at the bright side as previous poster told us and look at what development they brought to all.

Didn't they build lovely tower blocks for everyone and give them nuclear power to keep them warm in those cold winters.

Granted sometimes they also gave them a nice glow depending on what way they wind blew. 🙄

• Registered Users Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I think there has to be something wrong with you if you think communism is good.

North Korea is and the USSR were communists. Both absolute kips.

North Korea is an authoritarian regime.

The USSR was an authoritarian regime.

Communism is a libertarian socialism ideal.

Communism seeks a classless & stateless society.

Your sums don't add up.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Then why don't you go live in a one of these so called libertarian communist countries..

What's that? You're talking all bollocks and won't? Lol.