Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The wondrous adventures of Sinn Fein (part 3) Mod Notes and Threadbanned List in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

For those who want to vote SF because they are sick of FF and FG so much; just remember - SF are just an extreme version of FF. An even bigger magic money tree; an even bigger sense of hypocrisy, claiming to represent the little people while sucking up corrupt wealthy gobshites; an even bigger attempt to throw money at a problem rather than actually solve it. The real question is not "is Sinn Fein as bad as we think?", but "can this country survive a SF led government?".

It's always funny talking to people who are saying that they will vote SF because at least they are not FF etc and reminding them that Mary Lou is FF. She is a middle-class Southside, fee-paying school & Trinners graduate who only left FF to join SF to advance her career. In her recent career, she:

• Is staunchly anti-EU, being the main leader of the anti-Lisbon "campaign of lies".
    • Is an avid supporter of Sean Russell, the IRA Leader with ties to Nazi Germany.
    • Sells terrorist memorabilia to fund her office/campaigns.
    • Sucks up to uber-wealthy, corrupt foreign assholes who try to use their money to influence an Ireland they don't even live in.
    • Is the very definition of a "champagne-socialist".

The scariest thing about the current political landscape is that she could be the next Taoiseach without even having a single day's prior experience of ever being in government.

Her sole claim to fame is that she is good at shouting at a useless government (something most of us are happy to do ourselves) and that her campaign lies are far bigger than anyone else's and typically rely on conspiracy theory type nonsense. In short, she is the Irish Donald Trump.

For those who are actually considering voting for them, ask yourself this. Since the last election, less than 2 years ago, which SF claimed to have won - what have they done? As soon as Covid hit a few weeks later, they ran and hid. Over the past 18 months when we have had profound, controversial and stupid decisions made by the Government, what alternative have SF provided? What would the government's handling of the pandemic looked like if SF had been in power? What would they have done differently?

While I worry about how bad things would get under a SF-led government, my real worry is about the permanent damage they will cause from being in office for just a few years.

No mention of any political parties being against the SCC in that article, just IHREC.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭LawBoy2018

People vote based on their own self-interest. The rental market is setting our generation back a decade, with many young people with fantastic salaries being forced to live at home with their parents. There is no political will from FG to tackle the housing crisis, quite the opposite actually. Who would you rather at the helm, Darragh O'Brien or EO'B?

• Registered Users Posts: 871 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

If you believe that you’ll believe anything.

We still have violent gangs of scumbags in this country who won’t think twice of witness intimidation and that ultimately prevents them being put away. There’s no police force or anything else in the world that will stop that. Take away the jury and nothing gets in the way of those scum getting what is coming to them and taken off the streets. There’s simply no negative to it.

Sinn Fein will not help any hard working young person to own their own home, that's not a priority for them. The only renting assistance they will give us to persons who cannot pay rent themselves.

They won't do anything for you

• Registered Users Posts: 757 ✭✭✭generic_throwaway

Non-jury courts are common in other countries, including in the EU. I'd rather we had them and have terrorists and organised criminals behind bars than not.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,129 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

And what happens when they're used on "ordinary" people...

The line between an ordinary citizen and a terrorist or gang member is whatever the Gardai say it is, and the testimony alone of the Gardai is evidence against you.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,694 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

The absolute state of that post.

Ask yourself, what exactly is an opposition to do?...what can it do? It isn't in power.

If you are gonna ask questions ask ones that can be answered.

'Permanent damage'? When you look at what the power swap has presided over in 100 years? Are you taking the mickey? 😁

What is great about these threads is the blatant and transparent fear of change that they make manifest.

I disagree. SF are much more likely to introduce vacant property taxes, effective derelict property taxes, amend LPT, tax measures which will actually make a huge difference and increase the supply we desperately need. FG would never introduce such radical measures.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,129 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

On the point of SF disappearing with COVID, that is one of the smartest moves they could have made.

Mike Ryan said in early 2020 that "the greatest error is not to move" and "speed trumps perfection"

Having the opposition party second-guessing every decision is the worst thing that could have happened.

Amend LPT - Amend the Land Property Tax. I have no affiliation with SF if that's what you mean by "card carrying member". I do plan on voting for them though, as do many of my peers.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,192 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Land Property Tax ?

I thought LTP stood for Local Property Tax.

You forgot to finish with 'we'll all live happily ever after'.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

I'm a bit troubled by it. I do think we need a sensible Left of centre party in this country, what Labour could have been, but decided not to be. I'm a Left voter, but have never voted SF. They still carry toxic baggage with them, and are too Nationalist for me.

If they did lead a decent government with the likes of SD, even Green, and some other groups involved, that made a material difference to this country, and getting away from the FF/FG hegemony, than maybe. It's a tall ask, tbf.

• Registered Users Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

When SF do get the reins of power here, they face a problem of their own making. They have consistently said that the problems that face Ireland (housing, healthcare) are easy to solve.

Let's just see how easy they find them to solve once they do get into power.

Which means that it's very unlikely that you're paying 50% of your monthly salary in rent to live in a house with strangers.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,425 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Are you serious? There was witness intimidation at the trial of the killers of Garda Gerry Mc Cabe. You know, the killers, who were picked up by a serving Sinn Fein TD to be brought to a Sinn Fein organised party. You might have read about one of the killers, he subsequently went on to almost kill his wife.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

Let's all forget what the power swap allowed happen here.

There was much that happened that could have been avoided with better governance.

FF/FG have shat in the bed. That's on them, not the people.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭Harryd225

That they would start chipping away at our democracy? That's got to be a wind up, is this the same sorry excuse of a democracy which has elected the same two corrupt political parties for the last nearly hundred years?

A former Taoiseach from the 90s made 45 million in today's money (and that's just what we know of) just by himself from stealing from medical funds and other corrupt activities and how does our ''great democracy'' punish this? Take them out of government for a few years then re elect them because the other party then goes and does and does the exact same thing and

No other party could get so much as a nose into the world of politics before Sinn Féin because FF/FG has literally had this country and it's media by the balls for the last hundred years.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭Yellow_Fern

I don't see anything wrong with non jury courts. I do detest that silence can used as evidence in the Special Criminal Court. Seems immensely wrong.

I pay 1800 euro a month rent, myself, on my own. Sinn Fein will not help me. They won't help you either, unless you give up work.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,645 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Simple fact is it is not because of FF and FG. It is because of a younger generation who cannot remember the troubles. Who cannot remember all the SF duplicity and cannot remember how SF did not recognise either state they are currently in the parliaments of. In NI it is 20 plus years of the same....

The same generation in the ROI are being wooed by promises of cheap houses, low rents etc like a FF manifesto from the 1930's.

Also it was noticeable how SF changed their stance on the SCC. Which was not liked among the grassroots. SF are still currently in the process of a slow normalisation. I think what will happen eventually is that SF and FF will merge - and maybe then merge with FG - it will be left for the other parties to carve out a niche.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Silence can be used in other courts under different legislation also.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

I would certainly welcome a vacant property tax as a good thing and it would contribute towards increasing affordability, but don't kid yourself that it would only be a drop in the ocean in terms of what's needed regarding improving supply and bring prices down.

Current affordable housing policies mostly work by giving a great deal to a small number of people (including layabouts) and everyone else can commute from Meath and Kildare. I don't see SF challenging that model.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,989 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Out of interest, in what way do you think the current government have been helping you?

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,645 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I think it will take SF 30 years to be properly clean of the past and have their mindsets changed. All the old guard will be long gone by then. But the problem is SF can't jettison the old guard as SF love harking back to the past and 'the struggle'. The SF base would not be ready for a proper clean break. They have to do it gradually like the stance on the SCC. SF changed it when they realised it does not affect their 'comrádaí's' and it would be politically expedient to do so.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

If you're happy with the status quo, continue to vote for FG/FF. Those of us who want change will vote SF, simple as.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

This is interesting.

It will be an election to lose for FG / FF, due to the housing issues.

SF won't win, FF / FG will lose, if you understand what I mean.

Here we have the majority of a group of trainee sol planning to vote SF.

You might normally expect sol to vote a mix of centre-left Lab/Greens and some FG?

I am sympathetic towards FF + FG, but they deserve this if it happens.

2000 euro rent in Dublin are crazy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭Harryd225

I disagree with this completely, the majority of young people are very aware that Sinn Féin was the political wing of the IRA but don't see it as a problem or issue, many of them respect them for it.