Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Property Market chat II - *read mod note post #1 before posting*

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭hometruths

The Geodirectory figures are far, far, far less useful and valid than you think they are.

Oh I certainly realise that. I'd go even further and say they seem to be deliberately misleading, particularly at a headline level.

Personally I only ever started quoting GeoDirectory figures because I was repeatedly told on here that the CSO/census figures were less useful and valid than I think they are.

So it's often tricky to argue a point.

Quote the census and the point is dismissed by one group of posters because the figures are wrong or out of date. Quote Geodirectory and the point is dismissed by another group because the figures are wrong.

Less often a problem if I am agreeing with a point with either group it must be said.

On your guess as to them be reclassified to the "unoccupied' category, I think that's unlikely as that category has dropped by about 100k also in the same time frame.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,047 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

There is a Starlink thread with users getting ±170 Mbps. I own what is probably one of the remotest properties in the country and even though you can not get a useful mobile signal, you could in theory get faster internet than my current 150 Mbps FTH.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,675 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I don't expect that type of performance when there's more than just pre-sale customers on. My first-gen Wimax product was fantastic when I was the only person on the tower - it was absolute junk by the time I got ADSL.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭enricoh

Jaysus I knew we were bad but sixth highest in the world is desperate. The government has had an absolute bonanza the last 10 years with corporation tax n MNC wages. They knew it couldn't last forever but instead of using it to make us competitive they squandered it n made us even less so.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭Marius34

All statistics are useful. The problem how it is presented, and what that mean.

It's like with inflation, one report may speak about CPI, another about property price inflation. Although both tells Inflation, but shows different results. Same about property, just that there is less clarity, and less precision of what each numbers mean.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭jay0109

You need to revise your numbers! CSO put out a population update yesterday which the media have largely ignored, that says they've found an extra 250k people in Ireland. We're now at at least 5.2m.

And that's not counting all the illegals who go a whopper of an amnesty today with the Govt admitting they have no real idea of how many of them are here and there'll be no cap on the numbers processed through the amnesty. Family reunification to follow to swell the numbers further.

Supply cannot possibly keep up with the population growth. And all of the political parties are fully in favour on continued immigration with essentially no limits.

House and rent prices can only keep going in one way. Same for scarcity of supply.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,675 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Yeah, I’ve posted on that thread. Starlink (consistently 250+mbps for me) has turned what could only previously be a holiday home into my primary residence

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭spalpeen

Not wanting to offend anyone here, but question about areas in Dublin

sandymount

I grew up in Ireland and spent a lot of time in sandymount due to family living there. I moved away and am now looking at moving back and buying. Sandymount is very expensive, as it always has been. But I've noticed on daft and myhome that homes in sandymount get FAR less views than places in portobello or even around the north city centre. Is this just a reflection of changing demographics? Do young home buyers in their 20s and 30s no longer want to live in sandymount? It can't just be a price thing, as these places are nearly as expensive, but none of my friends are looking at the coast or dublin 4, even the very wealthy ones

ballsbridge

I know it's a perfect location, near the sea, walkable to town, but I dont understand the appeal here. Like there is no real centralised village centre, only a few shops along the side, and then to get to town you walk along what is essentially a motorway. Am I missing something here?

PS no offence meant

• Registered Users Posts: 4,603 ✭✭✭Villa05

No proposal, simply that if people are decamping to holiday homes does that leave an extra unit in what is probably a high demand area

• Registered Users Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭Amadan Dubh

In the 2016 census I think it was something like 80% of 25-34 year olds did not own their own home. I would imagine it isn't that much lower than 80% in 2021 if you extended that from 25-39.

What that means in relation to your questions is that (1) there aren't a lot of 20/30 somethings buying houses (2) they are generally FTBs and therefore priced out of the likes of Sandymount (3) given this demographic are likely to be renters and renting is a very impermenant, transient state to be in in Ireland, those in their 20s and 30s would in general be prioritising socialising over settling and Sandymount doesn't really attract that mindset.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,071 ✭✭✭✭Interested Observer

I rented in Ballsbridge for a while and I don't really agree with your assessment. I loved living there, absolute ton of bars and restaurants on my doorstep, was about a 15 min walk from Stephen's Green, and is this motorway you speak of... Baggot St? Errr, no. It was a fantastic place to live in my late 20s or so with a few bob in my pocket before rents went absolutely mental.

I rented there too in my 20s. Basement flat on raglan road with mates, in one of those giant Georgian terraces. Bars all around, close to town (so walkable in the pre taxi deregulation days), easy running across to Sandymount and along the sea. Was a great place to live

I have made some rough estimates for 2022 Census CSO household size.

It's likely to be close to 2016. I'm not sure how someone would be able to get any significant decrease in household size.

Numbers in millions.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭mcsean2163

Recent CSO big data estimate points to population of 5.2 million.

As I mentioned, different methods can produce different results, thus we need to understand methods, and compare only likes with likes.

Looking at this big data evaluation, the difference on population is crazy, I would not be surprise if the difference would be less than 1% (50K or so), but 200K in difference, that sound very strange.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭Amadan Dubh

Some stories on lobbyists published today and a couple of days ago. I can't read the second article but it is in a property investor publication and is expressing frustration at the proposed leverage cap on Irish property funds.

The problem of populist measures will continue I think so long as the situation is not corrected; there are going to be even more populist measures and tinkering around the edges that help no one. If the government are worried about international investment being spooked, well they just can't have their cake of high housing costs while eating up continued foreign investment. That is the clash which has been brewing and won't be easy to resolve.

Donohoe was told to say that trend of landlords sitting on empty units would ‘correct itself’

Opposition TD claims government is bowing to vested interests in defending the practice instead of countering it through punitive taxes.

Paschal Donohoe, the Minister for Finance, has repeatedly rebuffed calls for the tax because his department believes a levy would have a minimal effect on housing supply. 

Donohoe was told to say that trend of landlords sitting on empty units would ‘correct itself’

Opposition TD claims government is bowing to vested interests in defending the practice instead of countering it through punitive taxes.

https://reactnews.com/article/frustration-grows-over-repeated-rule-changes-in-irish-market/

Frustration grows over repeated rule changes in Irish market

Post edited by Amadan Dubh on

• Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

Sandymount is beautiful. I'd pick it over ballsbridge any day.

There is talk of coastal erosion - sample https://www.irishtimes.com/news/environment/over-70-000-irish-addresses-at-risk-of-coastal-flooding-by-2050-1.4258531

But I doubt that explains the low views. Maybe young people just *assume* they can't afford it and don't put it into their searches.

It has occurred to me that one possible explanation for all the anomalies we see in the figures is because there is a very large unofficial population who are difficult to count.

i.e either our population figures are correct and there is an artificial housing supply shortage of the stock, or our population figures are incorrect and the housing stock is at full capacity.

Very few other credible explanations IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,450 ✭✭✭fliball123

I believe that 2.5 is more accurate a figure than 2.6 as I said in 2018 it had already dropped from 2.75 to 2.6 in 2 years and in the 3 years since our birth rate has decreased, our migration rate inwards has decreased and death rate and build completion rate has also gone up so like I say its definitely lower than 2.6 which is what it was in 2018. (sure an up to date figure will be release next year)

The problem with way your measuring is there are too many unknowns with the count that you are using. We don't have a count of derelict properties or properties with no supporting infrastructure, we don't know if they knocked on the door once, twice or did they count it as not being used because the electricity was cut off and if it was cut off was it because of payments or we do we know if the owners were in transit moving in or moving out of a property. Where the owners on holidays or away (Remember there are almost 40k holiday homes in the country). There are just way too many variables that could skew the figures either way. So with that said what you can measure is the current stock up for sale, rent (myhome, daft, rent.ie), the housing list and the homeless list. These 4 tangibles that when measured separately or taken together would seem to suggest that we don't have enough housing built with the right infrastructure and that are habitable to house our population so your measure is way off as you cant just include them all and say that they were all there ready with the right supporting infrastructure, habitable and unoccupied. You also only have to look at the political side of this. If what your trying to say is true and we had nearly 100k houses habitable and unoccupied do you not think Sinn Fein would be up on Kilimanjaro shouting as loudly as they can and pointing to this? This one area would IMO push them over the edge with the popular vote and they would garner even more political gains and conversely if FF/FG had this amount of properties available to house do you not think that even one politician would have the common sense to get these properties into circulation. Housing after Covid is the number 1 issue for the majority in this country

Throw in the fact that if the properties are sitting their idle it means there owners are making no money off them. You only need to look at the current rent and sale figures to realize that only a moron would do this. I don't think we have that many gobshites living here, I could be wrong but all the evidence I see and that can be measured would suggest your theory is wrong.

I think we will have to agree to disagree on this one as any explanation you put forward would have to have an explanation for the following

Housing list

Homeless list

Houses for Sale/Rent

Why have the political classes not used this figure to garner more support

Why have we so many dopey landlords and property owners in the country that in a time of all time high rents and close to an all time high for sales figures they would leave a property empty?

The only explanation I can see that covers all of the above is that we have not got enough housing to house our population.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,450 ✭✭✭fliball123

But why are they lying empty and do we know if they are really empty?

They are empty, these are in my neighbourhood. Also, just this morning I took a walk around the small rural town where my mother lives, there are vacant properties there, literally as long as I can remember. During the Celtic tiger, they were building tax incentivised housing estate, bought by people who never even set foot in the town. Many of them are rented, but plenty lying empty for years also.

It's the same in Dublin, thousands of places lying empty and the government are giving tax breaks to first time buyers to buy from developers, miles away from proper infrastructure.

anyone who owns property lying empty or derelict have too much money. They need to do something about that

• Registered Users Posts: 995 ✭✭✭iColdFusion

DW have a good documentary on current housing issues across the world, some properties are being bought up as pure investments based on them increasing in price over time, renting them out would limit your ability to sell them on so that they are left vacant.

Also a lot of money laundering in major cities, Pablo Escobar types buying up a property and then selling it to themselves at an inflated price via an offshore company to launder dirty money into a western economy driving up local house prices

• Registered Users Posts: 995 ✭✭✭iColdFusion

It simply costs too much to renovate a derelict property and its quite hard to find out who owns them is why a lot are lying idle, doesn't make sense for any private individual to invest that money instead of buying new and property investors aren't interested unless it can be turned into 9 apts. Government plan is more taxes as per usual which wont fix the underlying viability issue, they need to extend HTP to derelict properties.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭yer man!

HTB for derelict properties to assist in the renovation would be very interesting! I just bought a new build and one of the things that was drawing me to it was the HTB. If I couldn't get a new build, my next port of call was going to be seeking out a derelict property and attempting to do it up.

so in short, there is no credible explanation.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,501 ✭✭✭Timing belt

The Properties are deemed habitable and not derelict because the have walls, windows and a roof. I agree that to buy and do up is more expensive than buying new and you also have the risk of a serious issue existing. The problem with extending the HTB scheme to derelict properties is that the ones that could be done up and made livable are deemed habitable and therefore would not qualify. If the scheme was extended to these habitable properties then where do you draw the line with these habitable properties and second hand properties.

The idea behind a vacancy tax is to prevent:

• In cities developers are happy to buy them and sit on properties with the hope to get a property next door so the can knock it down and build apartments.
    • The majority of the properties that are readily liveable but vacant these are normally properties that are for sale or to rent. And are not being sold or rented out because they are overpriced compared to market prices.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,501 ✭✭✭Timing belt

The other thing that you need to consider is that measuring housing stock at a total level does not take into account enough houses in the areas where the demand is and a surplus of properties in areas with low demand.

Likewise there may be enough housing stock based on a formula because young adults are living at home with parents but these adults contribute to the demand as they want to have a place of there own. If demand stays strong then the only way that prices will drop if there is a surplus of properties to buy/rent in the areas in demand which will lead to a drop in rents and house prices.

both the explanations I offered are credible, IMO.

it is one or the other. The former seems the most likely to me.

"population figures are incorrect and the housing stock is at full capacity"

How this is credible? It's surprising to hear this from you.