Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will you be taking a booster?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,418 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

I wont be rushing to get it, if I do will wait til ~march assuming they start making certs run out, I certainly dont want a 4th just so Im allowed go on holidays in the summer

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 5,882 ✭✭✭Russman

Will I be taking a booster ? I'd take it every 6 months if I have to, but hopefully it turns out to be annual or every two or three years.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,867 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I took both original doses when offered because we were "sold" them on the basis that this would be the path back to living normal lives again. I'm mid-40s, live alone, work from home, and have no elderly relatives so any actual risk to/from me from the virus is minimal so this promise of normality was my primary driver. I'd say a lot more in my age group or younger were the same if they were honest about it.

But it hasn't happened - still have to wear masks, give my details if I want to sit in somewhere, take tests if I want to travel etc and now the narrative has changed so that 2 vaccines AREN'T enough, 3 may not be enough and this may be a regular "requirement". Also there is still no mention of the country actually getting back to normal living even if we all take it again.

I don't bother getting vaccinated for anything else annually - why should I bother for something that is of little risk to me and with no real benefit if I do?

I'll address the "You're not doing it for you, you're doing it for the vulnerable" argument in advance - that's all well and good, but we need to move this entire response to one of personal responsibility and decisions based on individual risk and conditions, as opposed to continuing this farce of restricting an entire population to protect a relative few who should be protecting themselves generally from a lot more than just Covid - to say nothing about the reality that what we're really protecting is HSE mismanagement, waste and incompetence that has them unable to cope with even a modest increase in demand as is the case EVERY winter remember!

So we'll see I guess!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Pretty much the above for me tbh.

I'd add that my current feeling is that far too much focus is on the levels of antibodies in the blood as a gauge of protection from serious illness and death, even in many to symptomatic illness and how we judge how and when we can open up society again. Antibodies, antibodies, that's all we hear about and that's what's driving these boosters narrative. The role of immune memory, B and T cells, rarely gets a look in and it's my opinion and one I've held for a long time that it will be this that protects the vast majority of the non vulnerable like the elderly and the immunocompromised whose immune memory fades more quickly and is often too slow to ramp up antibodies when needed after exposure. It was another reason I decided upon the J&J vaccine, because after 8 months of data over the phase 1 and 2 trials and beyond it showed a strong growth and retention in that immune memory system, minus what I felt were questions I still have over mRNA therapies.

Secondly and something I was musing about here from early summer 2020 it was looking pretty clear from early on that something was going on the population exposed to this virus. Some sort of existing immunity/protection against this virus seems to have been present in the population, possibly from previous exposure to a "bug going around", most likely a coronavirus "common cold" which was similar enough in structure to illicit a response to covid 19. Estimates of asymptomatic confirmed positives of around 25% even a 30 odd % would bolster this notion. A third of infected with no symptoms? I can think of no other widespread virus that can be serious for a minority that shows even close to that percentage of asymptomatic infected, never mind those with extremely mild symptoms(I didn't even know I had it until I noticed my sense of smell went). An existing reisistance in many in the population would explain it.

This again gets back to my opinion that long lasting immune memory response from infection and/or vaccine in the vast majority of the non vulnerable population will get us through this and quite likely deal with variants that come along, unless one goes completely rogue. Look at Omricon. Have there even been any deaths in those tested positive for that variant who've been previously vaccinated or infected? Not that I know of.

Kaiser also raised our lack of healthcare capacity in the face of the slightest increase in demand, something we've now seen for decades. The system was nearly swamped in 2017 and 2019, long before this WooFlu reared its head. If the money that has to be ploughed into PUP, helping the economy recover and a couple of years free booster rollouts and all that was aimed at fixing that it would be everyone's taxes better spent IMHO. We can do little right now in the short term save for taking to task the successive governments, unions and civil servants that have brought us to this point and get them to bloody well do something about it. IMHO they're hiding behind the over reactionaries in NPHET and their near continuously muddled "advice" damn near from the start of this pandemic.

Will I be getting a booster anytime soon? Nope. I am open to a non mRNA based booster or if a better non mRNA vaccine comes along from those in current trials, but will prefer to rely on immune system memory primed from both an infection and a vaccine. If I'm dead in a week, you can say I told you so and panic yourselves more if that's your thing, but otherwise... 😁I will continue to wear a mask in shops and other indoor environments, especially over winter as this does lessen transmission and not just of covid, it kicks flu in the nads too. I will take care around those that are more vulnerable. I will pretty much ignore any restrictions that NPHET come out with in the future, unless there's a radical shift in how the virus operates, because my faith in those muppets was tested early on and is almost entirely absent now.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,904 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Have my booster tomorrow, told to bring my Vaccination Certificate, i presume thats the EU covid digital cert?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

I’m planning on it, but might wait for more data to come out about Omicron in the next few weeks. I will probably get the booster in January so hopefully the boosters will be effective. I got the single jab J&J one.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Every three months lads, a f*ckin cod.

• Registered Users Posts: 24 dublinview

• Registered Users Posts: 580 ✭✭✭ddarcy

Not sure why. Once you give them your PPS number, everything is on the computer. I would only say it’s needed if you got it out of country (but would wonder how you got contacted!)

the Covid cert gives you last dose date and vaccine , so should work

• Registered Users Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

What a time to be a Pfizer shareholder.......

• Registered Users Posts: 26,511 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

It's always a good time to be a Pfizer shareholder.

Big pharma cleans up either way. They profit if you are vaccinated; they profit if, unvaccinated, you fall ill and require treatment.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Pretty much. The only company where it paid to be a shareholder because of this pox is Moderna. Their only commercial product is the covid vaccine. If you'd bought into them when they were under twenty quid a share, you'd have a nice return when they peaked at nearly 400. Though Pfizer have nearly doubled since the pox rolled in and I doubt that was due to an increased uptake of viagra. 😁

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,843 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Not really a surprise, UK going the same way.

Israel were planning to also, but want to focus on trying to get more unvaccinated jabbed instead.

The data coming out of Pfizer's sales department suggests that boosters every 2 months provides very good protection against the Omicron variant.

• Registered Users Posts: 224 ✭✭PicardWithHair

Every 3 months we need to take a booster to partake in society !!

This is absolute utter insanity !

And I say this as someone that is doubly vaccinated , I believed it was the right thing to do at the time, but taking natural immunity into account since every human on the planet will eventually get covid - this one size fits all solution is nuts.

• Registered Users Posts: 928 ✭✭✭Jakey Rolling

When did you get the invite - are you in an at risk group?

I would gladly get a booster as I've just had the J&J back in May, in my 50's. However, I stopped by the local walk-in clinic yesterday, and the Q was round the block 45 mins before the 2 hour slot opened and I wasn't in the mood to hang around in the rain to possibly be told "sorry, come back tomorrow".

Not sure why people getting so worked up that boosters or revised vaccines may be needed on a regular basis. It's been the case with the flu vaccine for years, and having been laid low twice with proper flu I now get the yearly shot to try and protect against some of the current strains.

100412.2526@compuserve.com

• Registered Users Posts: 13,557 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

It is puzzling; they think they're getting some revenge by putting themselves more at risk for illness. And, if they get good and sick from Covid, Big Pharma enjoys sales of expensive meds. If they get long Covid and are on expensive drugs for months or years, Big Pharma enjoys more sales.

The fact that the "I won't take the booster because I'm at low risk of dying" reason is pretty weak as it doesn't consider long Covid. Have seen estimates of like 30% of Covid illness results in months of debilitation. But, hey, you didn't get a booster. Bully for you. See you when you're back on your feet.

I have to ask, who suffers? You not taking a booster will mean feck all to Pfizer. They'll sell it elsewhere. Like we've seen on the thread, 'I won't take a booster I want to ship it overseas' is a laugh. Like your not taking a booster will make any difference in what happens in your imaginary 3rd world country. And you'll be the one to get sick. The joke will be on you, not Pfizer.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,699 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Moderna was a gamble, it could as easily have been Valneva or Novavax and hit production issues (or numerous other actually failed vaccines).

Tech stocks have more than doubled during the pandemic, so you could say Pfizer has underperformed :)

(interestingly, AZ have barely moved).

Not sure why people getting so worked up that boosters or revised vaccines may be needed on a regular basis. It's been the case with the flu vaccine for years

For ages people caught rightful static for comparing this pox to the flu, but apparently it's grand to compare the vaccines, when there are just as many differences there too. Flu vaccines are annual and aimed at the vulnerable and health workers and even there the take up is hardly sterling. The mechanism by which flu vaccines work and why they're needed is quite different to covid vaccines. There are zero restrictions around people who don't have the flu vaccine. As it stands we've been told that we need a covid booster at six months. How does this third booster change the antibody waning period where two didn't? So currently unless this third jab magically extends antibody immunity out to a year, which is a bit of a stretch from six months, this will be a bi annual jab for the foreseable going on current vaccines. If you're over fifty/fat/diabetic/immunocompromised[delete as applicable] than game ball get your booster, it's a good idea for you. Why we have to keep dosing the rest of the population every six months for a virus that is of little risk to them keeps society locked in a back and forth level of uncertainty and while reducing spread doesn't seem to be reducing it by enough to be worth it is beyond me.

Didnt get an invite, booked it with a local pharmacy

Why we have to keep dosing the rest of the population every six months for a virus that is of little risk to them keeps society locked in a back and forth level of uncertainty and while reducing spread doesn't seem to be reducing it by enough to be worth it is beyond me.

All emotive, no data. What would be enough of a reduction in spread? And, as always, you seemingly only care about death. Long Covid is about 20% risk in older (if 50+ counts as older these days.) https://www.nature.com/articles/s41591-021-01292-y

Requiring boosters every six months seems small price to pay to reduce spread.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Not that many get a flu vaccine so they don't have any point of reference for the frequency of vaccine shots and any other possible examples are in the memories of their parents.

Post edited by is_that_so on

• Registered Users Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Expecting healthy especially younger people to constantly turn up every six months for a jab of something which let's face it long term side effects is still unknown is a bit of an ask to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 24 dublinview

Sorry, should have clarified, I am 56 and haven't been called yet. Was wondering where they are age wise. I suppose it depends where you are location wise in any case. I am in Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭j@utis

Friend of mine got a booster shot recently and was told that her vaccine cert won't be updated. If our vaccine certs remain valid without the boosters it means no booster for me (yet).

What we heard is the plan is indeed to update the vaccine cert with the booster date, but that was not yet rolled out by the HSE. So, just a matter of time.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,513 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

To reduce transmission.

The vaccine reduces transmission.

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭Ethereal Cereal

Well Mr "Real Donald Trump", I certainly will be, as soon as it comes around to my age group. If it becomes annually, or even biannually I will repeatedly take it. If I could take it sooner I would.

I'm more concerned with keeping my immediate immunocompromised family members, and any member of the immunocompromised public I may encounter, safe from a lethal infection. I'm guessing you, like your hero Donald Trump, could not give a sh!t about these individuals.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

It's not even fully resolved at EU level yet but likely each cert will continue to have a validity of nine months post-vaccination.