Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People who reluctantly got vaccinated, how has your life been affected?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,601 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

There's over 300 ICU beds they're not all for COVID, we have about 150 capacity for COVID ICU in the system and 200 with surge capacity (other services closing), more with private hospitals but surge and private capacity also means restrictions.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭thefallingman

you think that's enough during a global pandemic ? (even if your figures are clear and correct)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭joe40

Serious question for vaccine hesitant people. It there is a very small risk from the vaccine and a small risk for most people from the actual corona virus, what makes you opt for the covid risk over the vaccine risk.

I accept both are small, but the risk from the actual virus is significantley higher than the risk from the vaccine, that has been shown by the sheer numbers vaccinated now globally.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,199 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

We've been through 4 'waves' now and only 623,000 confirmed cases which makes up 12% of the entire population (and this is likely less as 623k figure includes people getting it multiple times). This rhetoric of you either getting the vaccine, getting covid and recovering or getting covid and dying is a load of b*llox.

I don't plan on getting either covid nor the vaccine. I'm young with no underlying conditions that I know of, so my chances of dying from the virus are low and will get good immunity from the virus itself (if I ever get it of course).

The amount of people who have had to take sick days off work after the vaccine (legitimate or not) I could not believe. Not to mention the fact that younger people tend to get more adverse reactions. This coupled with the fact that the program isn't even a year old meaning we have no idea what toll (if any) the vaccine will have on us in the medium term even.

I feel I've made the right choice so far.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Likely to be a lot of sitting outside or socialising in private locations. Know a few social types who have not been inside and some places have good outdoor setups. Then there is the 35% whose certs have not been checked.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

First does of AZ gave me what felt like full blown flu for a week. Felt absolutely horrible, missed a week of work. Second dose I felt the same for 3 days, ruined my weekend. Continuing headaches and general fatigue. Won't be getting any more shots.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭gypsy79

First dose AZ gave me what I can describe as the worst hang over ever

Second dose gave me nothing

Third dose gave me 2 days of illness but it was the 2 days before I actually go ill that pissed me off the most

My oncologists believe I had the virus too, so the person above claiming that only 12% have had the virus is wrong and probably far higher

Wont be getting another one until they vaccines improve. The 3 hour queue been one of the reasons. Another been that COVID wasnt much or any worse

2 dodgy reactions out of three isn't good and i totally believe way more than 12% have had it aswell, i've had two jabs of pfizer and one was the worst 24 hours i can remember, the second no reaction. Unless people start dropping like flies because of some new strain i don't think i'll get a booster again.

• Registered Users Posts: 995 ✭✭✭iColdFusion

My mind boggles at the people who say they'd prefer to get covid than the vaccine, as if somehow the two are the same thing because they personally might feel the same in both instances completely ignoring all the people close to them they will potentially infect if they get covid 🙄

• Registered Users Posts: 516 ✭✭✭BattleCorp1

Given that many people can be asymptomatic and therefore may not be tested, you can take that stat of 623,000 cases with a pinch of salt.

That 'rhetoric' or load of 'b*llox' as you say is pretty much the situation. You might be lucky and not get COVID. You might be lucky and get COVID and it turns out that you are asymptomatic or you have very mild symptoms. Or you might be one of the rare ones who get very sick and potentially gets long COVID or dies. Or you could get vaccinated and still get very sick and suffer long COVID or death or suffer none of those effects. There's no way of knowing for sure until you get the virus.

Personally I prefer my chances with the vaccine rather than with the virus.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,199 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

People who say that getting covid is inevitable is simply not true. And if you are part of the asymptomatic cohort then what difference does it make really.

The government had the "vaccine is a key to freedom" stick to beat us with last summer. They don't have the same luxury with the boosters. I reckon the government will have a huge booster hesitancy problem on their hands (or I'm sure they'll be branded "anti-boosters" inevitably or some other derogatory name)

So from your own figures 12 % of the population has had COVID and it is having a serious affect on our health system with patients in ICU, long term illness and death.

On the other hand over 90% vaccinated with zero impact on our health system.

I certainly know where the greater health risk lies. What the govt say is immaterial to my personal health decisions

I've worked in covid wards since the start of this. We were working without PPE. Discouraged from wearing masks as it scared the patients. I have contact with 20-30 patients a day and back at the start of 2021 a lot more. There's absolutely no way I avoided getting it at this stage so yeah, I probably had it, and I was probably asymptomatic.

So tbh. I couldn't give less of a fûck.

tough gig wolf you must be sick of it more than most at this stage

• Registered Users Posts: 16,601 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

What is the correct amount and how does Ireland go about hiring doctors and nurses to run the beds during a global pandemic when all other countries are doing the same?

How much extra capacity should we pay for in the health system in case there is a global pandemic again in the future? How much extra taxes are you willing to pay for that?

Ireland had a low ICU capacity pre-pandemic and it should have been increased (and was happening slowly) but it's virtually impossible to recruit people when every country needs extra capacity, which means shutting down other parts of the health system to cope (which then leads to restrictions and lockdowns).

Utterly.

And to be told sit here, do this, don't do that, wear your mask, don't go over there when I want to have a pint after 7x12 hour shifts in a row up to my balls in covid is beyond vile. Not to mention the 500 "bonus" being ripped away from us a few months ago. We don't get anything beyond our paltry wages and a few claps. They can stick their promises of getting "back to normal" and their boosters up their collective holes.

Well you obviously don't think COVID is a big deal or something the government should concern itself with.

So in that case, why should working in a COVID ward be a big issue.

The disease is either dangerous or not. Do you think the virus is dangerous?

Of course it's dangerous. I've seen it do some horrendous things to people. I'm not like 99% of those people though, compromised health, massively overweight etc. I have both shots. Do the vaccines work or don't they? If they work - I'm protected. What's your argument?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,884 ✭✭✭✭listermint

You're not though.

If we are being completely honest. You live in Ireland you are quite injected and have been since you were born.

Unless of course you were protesting in the baby ward and in primary school. But sure look. Accuracy and all tha wha.

So you got vaccinated and had less covid impact and it was a joke...

Gas stuff that isn't it. Almost like what a vacine is designed to do.

I know right. Like there's no vaccines on the market that need topping up. One and done forever. And they work straight out the gate to prevent you getting any of the disease what so ever.

Vaccines aye. Woot..

• Registered Users Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

ah, i had zero protection from covid, as told by my GP and the nurse that administered the shot.

the nurse reckoned it takes 10 week days for ANY protection from first dose, GP reckoned it was closer to two weeks.

so yes, i was unvaccinated, and it was a joke. funny that isnt it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭eggy81

I feel like I haven’t been fully myself since I got the second jab in late July. I had serious fatigue for about 4 weeks afterwards and since then I’ve had tinnitus on and off ever since. I did get a horrible dose of something a few weeks ago which made things worse but apparently wasn’t Covid. Most likely coincidence to be fair but I do wonder at times have I had a reaction to it.

Post edited by eggy81 on

In fairness I got the ringing in the ears too but that went away after a few weeks. Haven't had it in months now. I was more concerned about feeling hungover for weeks on end really.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,006 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

This 100%. Had covid lately and didn't knock a stir out of me, and I would have a three underlying issues. Herself didn't want to get vaccinated, is never sick, and she had a horrific few days. She will never forget it. It has completely changed her outlook.

No the funny part is you think the whole thing offers you no protection that's the funny part.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

It's quite mad how variable the virus can be. Mad and interesting. I've long reckoned, well since mid last year, that one reason is possible existing immunity within many in the community from a previous cold like "bug going around" likely another coronavirus(a percentage of all common colds are coronaviruses) that has a protective immunising effect on those who present as asymptomatic or extremely mild symptoms. A few studies seem to show up to a third of people have asymptomatic covid. I can't think of another virus that's so variable in effect that doesn't have an extant immunity in a population.

On the effects of vaccines versus the virus itself. I had zero reaction to the vaccine, covid feck all but the loss of smell and taste(I do know one lad who had zero symptoms the first time, got a much worse bout the second time and after he was vaccinated too). However I'm one of those people who doesn't get the flu, or rather I'm asymptomatic(my dad was the same and only found out the other day his brother was similar). I tested positive to swine flu when it was on the go. No symptoms, but almost certainly gave it to someone else who was laid very low by it. Anyway a few years ago I decided to get the flu jab every winter not for myself but because of the risk of me wandering about happy out like typhoid feckin' Mary.

Interestingly the flu vaccine I certainly noticed. Now most of the time I'd be meh for a couple of days, like the aforementioned slight hangover vibe, but very very mild. Though two years vaccine variants in particular really fecked me up(2016 and 2013). Like take to the bed fecked. Took about 24 hours to kick in and then ahh jaysus I'm only dyin' here. Full man flu feeling sorry for myself, aches, pains, headaches, fatigue, fever, the works. Actual flu? How ya doing lads, hop into my cells for a while, put your feet up, we're all friends here. I'll put the kettle on. Flu vaccine? WTF! Get out!! Like my body was giving me grief for being disloyal to the real deal. 😁

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 627 ✭✭✭DLink

I took the jab for travel, nothing else, and was in a bad way after both jabs.

I'll reluctantly take whatever jabs are needed to keep travelling, but I absolutely hate the idea of using the covid pass for services within Ireland, I would rather let places go bust than give them my money if they insist on checking passes.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

I've had it. I consider my own immune systems reaction better than what I received.

We have already witnessed your medical expertise with your first bs comment.