Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭Suckler

I'm surprised your roofer didn't take the slates and factor it in to the price.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Some amount of shooting stars this morning

• Registered Users Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭roosterman71

I'm back. 740km plus 6 pints of Smithwicks later!!

Parents didn't know what was happening. They were sitting listening to a bit of music in the hotel and she walked in. They seen her but never copped it was her. A couple of double takes and the penny dropped. Pair of them delighted now she's home. Will be the polar opposite when she's heading off again in a couple of weeks

• Registered Users Posts: 22,312 ✭✭✭✭Esel

the fathers uncles (my grand uncle? Is that a thing?)

I think he would be called a great uncle. Some kind of exception to the 'normal' rule...

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 11,219 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

It's in completely the wrong place in the yards for an AirB&B, but I have a little place that perhaps could be converted.

I wouldn't be selling the slates either way, cause the other place might need extending a little to make it work.

What's going on with AirB&B now, is it restricted how many nights a year you are allowed rent it?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

I think you just need to pay tax on the income

• Registered Users Posts: 18,578 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

There is probably only 30% of them of reusable quality. If you tap them with your hand and they make a hollow sound they are not worth anything.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 11,528 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Herdquitter made a comment previously about brains not being used.

There's other species without brains but it doesn't stop them.😀

https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2013/12/23/the-intelligent-plant/amp

Doesn't say much for us...

Will have a read tomorrow, I'm going to put a plant in front of that buckin 48 site and see if it has better luck than I!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Anyone know how much capital gains tax is on selling entitlements that you built up without purchasing?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭Base price

• Registered Users Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭minerleague

May sound stupid but how about keeping front facade and replacing back wall with a few steel uprights, could store fert spreader or the like then. might get some use if spending money.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Tonight - more Bungalow Blight RTE1 9:35pm

• Registered Users Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

• Registered Users Posts: 4,826 ✭✭✭straight

Fools and their money. I built my house from planning permission drawings..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

• Registered Users Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

I see the comedian Jethro has passed away, harmless old skits but i dont think hed have lasted a wet week in this day and age all the same.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

Ah poor Jethro, I enjoyed his comedy, granted it wouldn't be everyones taste and some of it could offend 1 or two but it was harmless enough..

• Registered Users Posts: 4,826 ✭✭✭straight

Builder. That architect office sure looked nice. And plenty staff in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

Watched the bungalow show there - 500k on a holiday home… Now, it was a savage job in all fairness…

I haven’t seen the other episodes, but from what I read of them, it was high money as well…

This, along with maybe a few other comments on other threads - it makes me wonder, is it I’m out of step with the world? 😉

Are wages that high that people can afford half a million holiday homes? Like, are most households now bringing in 100k plus?

Is it cos farming pays so little, that has us (or maybe just me) half conditioned to think people don’t get paid as much as they do?

He was constantly appearing on my Tik Tok from when i started using it. I actually worked on a farm not far from his homeplace and was involved with the local YFC there too i found out today. Different breed of people down that way but some of the nicest most welcoming and laidback you would ever meet and a beautiful part of the UK too, hopefully ill get back over for a trip again someday.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭green daries

I do wonder the same thing myself I can't grasp it myself the money that is being spent in certain situations the one thing that i can't get my head around is the unreal amount of high end cars that are around the place

• Registered Users Posts: 13,826 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

If you make 70k a year, you are top 10% income earner.

Above 50k and you are top 20 or 25, forget which one.

Lots of things on finance deals, not all but a lot.

If you are on a show like that you aren't going to be stuck for a bob.

Same thing if you're an architect on the show you want the nation to see something special. The figures are up there too. (Well total spend). But you're not going to do yourself down on spend on national television for Jim walking in off the street to the office and calling for a similar house for similar money.

When you've high spend you've room to work on for the next project. When you've low, you're letting yourself down as an architect and the building industry as whole down on national television.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,150 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

We were always told to save for a rainy day, spending 500000 on a luxury that you could need later in life, I wouldn't give 500000 for that house now, never mind in an economic downturn. The house is lovely though, probably the nicest so far if it wasn't hanging on a cliff

Some one said on the telly this morning that a lot of us are only six months from being homeless, farmers probably aren't but the ordinary run of teh mill worker can go down hill financially very quick

Rumour in work the fella paying €1000-1500/month rent for a two bed apartment supposedly dropped €800 on a pair of runners lately hasnt been confirmed or denied yet but ye cant have smoke without fire and i wouldnt be one bit surprised at it either. I reckon tis just lads from rural/farming backgrounds have more appreciation and respect for money than some townies. There was also a nice few pound spent on a communion with him recently too, wouldnt see the inside of a church one end ofvm the year to another (same as myself) but they had to be seen to be flash as f#ck on the day if it in front of everyone else. None of us "thick mutton headed culchies" here can make head nor tails of it nor do i really want to either.

Better living everyone

Is the Work away website basically woofers again?

Culture exchange = woofing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭DBK1

There definitely seems to be more respect for money from rural people than there is with town people. Hard to know who’s right or who’s wrong, as the saying goes “there’s no towbar on a hearse so you can’t bring it with you!”

But you would hope that same man, if he has that type of money to waste on runners, would have a few pound put away for the rainy day, but sometimes impressing the neighbours is worth more to lads.

Herself was only talking about a woman she knows from town the other day that’s after spending €900 or something like that on a new iPhone for her 12 yr old daughter for Christmas. The same woman will be on to the Vincent de Paul to get a donation for the Christmas dinner or looking for briquettes for the fire so i don’t think that’s right either.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭roosterman71

I wouldn't give the VdP a cent. When I was growing up my grandfather, among other things, bought and sold briquettes. He'd get them from Bord na Mona, bring them home and then sell them around the locality. Pocket money for a chap such as myself was got by filling them into fert bags. Every year the VdP would call around and ask for 500 bags as a donation. And they'd get it. Then they'd ask for the bags to be delivered to the poor and unfortunate. And that was agreed to too. I spent many a day helping deliver bags of briquettes.

The problem arose when we had to deliver 20 bags to a house nearby. Done it. But soon realised that the same house owned a bog and were harvesting turf each year and selling it on. A bit more digging by my mother seen that a lot of the houses getting the stuff for nothing were in much better shape than even ourselves (living in a caravan at the time). Next year the grandfather posed a few questions to VdP who didn't like being questioned on it. No more briquettes were distributed and we were to blame. And then word filtered back that VdP were telling people the grandfather had upped his prices too high and they couldn't afford it. And the fuckers getting it all for nothing. Shower of shites.

Rant over.

How's everyone doing today?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,543 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

We stopped giving to the vincent de Paul. Donate to go fund me pages now of genuine cases.