Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Womens' rugby Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,364 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Shane Cassells ?

The same guy who was on OTB suggesting we need a third stadium in Dublin to help host the 2030 FIFA World Cup with the UK.

Enough said.

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭tomgrange1978

It’s all the mens fault. Boo

The ladies have not accepted the fact they are to fully blame for the failure to qualify

it is plain to see that there are 2 key reasons behind the letter

• Money and
    • power

certain parties want their cut

I am not saying they are wrong to want a taste but they are deluded if they think they are worth more than a thin slice. Those girls want the whole bloody pie.

deluded

• Registered Users Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭LillySV

u seem to have an awful problem with the women players, what’s your beef ? Awful sexist or u one of the highly paid officials in the Irfu that they are complaining about ? The 15s team get nothing , no money whatsoever … have played throughout the years at places where many times had no changing rooms… yet you are on about wanting their cut!! They get nothing … the useless fuks and officials in irfu are getting it while providing nothing back to them… no proper support , undermining them when they lose …. Lads Irish soccer team and indeeed the Irish rugby team have been shite many times in the past…. But continually well paid and put up in top hotels and given access to top facilities … how come you don’t complain about that or request for them to be stopped their pay for playing ****????

• Subscribers Posts: 41,787 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

the women getting equality is not a threat to your masculinity.. theres no need to be so scared and angry.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Yeah this entire post is total garbage. It doesn’t deserve a meaningful response of any kind. The sooner this BS attitude dies off the better.

You cannot compare the treatment the men get and what the women get.

The men get put up in top hotels and are well paid because they are valuable assets.

They generate a return, revenue.

The women don't.

The women need to be subsidized because their sport is just not popular enough or high profile enough to even get close to standing on it's own two feet.

It sucks for the women, but it's reality.

The only women's sport that I can think of that gets anywhere near being self sufficient is the WTA and even that is a much smaller tour than the men's version the ATP.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭LillySV

The men weren’t assets afew years ago when they won **** all …. In regards to the women .. they barely get the shirts on their backs and the travel costs … that’s it .. but yet huge money being spent on them apparently … where ??? The women aren’t getting it .. who is and for what ??? Time for some accountability …

• Registered Users Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭M three

Nail on the head. the reality is more female supporters go to mens games every week than womens games. If womens rugby is to grow and improve (and they say it will take investment for that to happen) then perhaps more female supporters should start going to their games.

As it stands there more female supporters prefer to attend mens games so maybe the 62 people listed on that letter should start there before blaming men for everything.

And on the investment / money point - are the 62 signatories to that letter aware that the womens national team received way more in funding that portugal? But still lost to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

You have to love these well informed posts by people who clearly know what they’re talking about. Who certainly don’t have any misogynistic agenda and clearly spend a lot of time at rugby matches.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

Is there any alternative to the Irish women's team playing professionally abroad (part-funded by the IRFU perhaps), maybe the 4 provinces could work out an arrangement with the Welsh and Scots to form a league? How else would the players be able to play professionally? If they just play club rugby it mightn't be enough to justify a full-time contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭Lost Ormond

There doesnt look like it and it most likely wouldnt be viable. Wales are contracting 10 players and another 15 will be semi pro soon enough and Scotland dont look like going pro any time soon and their ceo and others in union said any money offered now and into the near future wouldnt even make it worthwhile for most to take sabbaticals from their current jobs to go pro.

Pro contracts would need more rugby for the players no doubt but at what level.

Are the Welsh players going to play in England?

If we can't go fully pro, I still think there needs to be compensation for the ask of the effort they need to put in to become competitive.

Even 10k a year for every squad member to cover basic expenses such as travel and training etc should be paid out without much of an issue, it wouldn't kill the IRFU to spend the money for a few years and see if that helps.

How long will it be before the next qualification begins, Olympics or World Cup? If it's a few years away then it's an ideal time to kick start some investment and by then we should see it pay dividends.

I'd imagine every sport must be having similar issues, basketball for instance, do they have a professional setup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭Lost Ormond

I dont know. Compensation to come from where though? and there is little point in focusing on making players professional without other changes at all levels going in first. Getting the top 15-20 players on pro contracts may close the gap slightly to england, france but unless the clubs, and union make changes to all levels from age grade up then its pointless making a small number of players pros.

10k per player for every squad member is still between everything else 300/400k at a minimum and would be much more with all other associated costs.

If same as the previous Olympics then the 22-23 world series will be determining the 4 qualifiers for the Olympics and then regional tournaments will follow that. And as the world cup isnt going to be played for 11 months we have no idea when the qualification process will begin for the tournament in 5 years time.

Basketball in Ireland isnt professional at all. It got into serious financial issues about a decade ago. And the sport really struggled for some time at the elite level as a result of that. those financial issues were also a major reason for some of the internationals in recent years actually taking rugby up in the first place.

If the Irish government are investing in the IRFU the least they can expect for their money is that both men and women are given the resources they need to represent the country at international level. If that means less money going to the men because some has to be invested in the women then I can't see anyone coming up with an argument to counter that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,136 ✭✭✭✭Caranica

The women's team don't play abroad, take a look at the players who do. Almost exclusively forwards. It's as if our backs don't need higher level rugby, or we can fill our back line with 7s players.

I do love that Harry Enfield clip, but you are missing the point.

Women's sport will never have the popularity of men's sport.

Why that is so, ask an anthropologist.

Thus the perks and rewards that are available in a sport to sportsmen will never be available in the same sport to sportswomen.

That sucks for the women but that is the reality of the business of sport, and sport is a business.

Women's rugby has increased it's profile in the last decade, but that does not mean that it is equal to the men's game regardless of how the men are doing on the international stage.

You're missing the point that the women are not looking for the exact same treatment, just an appropriate treatment for their efforts.

How poplar is mens netball? Womens field hockey is more popular than mens in many countries. don't tell rachel blackmore that "the perks and rewards that are available in a sport to sportsmen will never be available in the same sport to sportswomen"

Sorry to burst your misogynistic bubble here but Womens Tennis is more popular than Mens.

yet for years the women had to fight for recognition of this fact in the prize money. why do you think that is? and they were fighting against the fact that the media coverage was significantly lower than the mens as well. Why did the male dominated arbiters of the sport make it so difficult to achieve parity. why do the male arbiters of other sports make it so difficult for women to achieve more in their sports? why is the male side of the IFRU regularly applauded for good governance yet the womens side rumble from embarrassing incident to embarrassing incident?

well truth be told, your posts show me you dont have the wherewithal to consider this. You can only consider what you see in your very narrow viewpoint. you cannot see hinderances to womens sport, you cannot see possibilities of the growing game, you cannot comprehend untapped potential audience of a whole gender. It might be a shock to you but girls are not simply dress wearing, doll playing, fragile things who have no place in sport.

and to cap this post off, which will be my last response to you, the women are not looking for like for like share of everything in the IRFU, then are looking for their sports to be given due recognition and attention and proper planning and management by the IRFU, and probably most of all, to be heard and listened to when they say what the actual issues are, and not to be given watered down "key findings" from review after review.

if you want to deny them that fine, but thankfully you dont have any say in it

We’ve had some back and forth ourselves on this, but mail absolutely on head here.

Net ball is super niche.

Men's field hockey is huge in India and Pakistan, but of course the ladies game is more popular than the men's in other places, but it's not a top tier sport in any of those places like the US, Holland, Germany, Spain.

As for tennis, the ATP is a much bigger animal than the WTA, on a typical week there will be 6 or 7 different ATP tournaments ongoing, 2 ATP tour and 4 or 5 ATP Challenger tour.

On the WTA there is usually just 2 tournaments ongoing in the week.

Your linked article only focuses on the grand slams, look at the big picture not just the grand slams to get the real insight about popularity.

In a world where there are equivalent men's and women's sports, with very few exceptions the men's sport will always be more popular.

Why that is I don't know, go ask an anthropologist as I said.

And if your can't accept that then you are not worth debating with.

History. Men have been the ones playing these games and afforded the resources and attention for far, far, far longer than women have. So socially it’s more “normal” that men play sport at elite level. But just because something has always been so, doesn’t mean it always will. And it’s a ludicrously narrow view to take that it will. It can and should change. But that won’t happen overnight and without investment. But if you put even a minimal amount of thought into this stuff then you’d see that.

Deal with the point that this is not about equality, it is about equity.

The women's rugby players simply want to be supported in an appropriate way to match their efforts.

They are not seeking the same pay that the men are getting.

That's fair enough, but the reality is that the IRFU and the women themselves seem very far apart on what the equity actually is.

Some delusion on here

why do the top soccer players get 400k a week and the top rugby players A million a year

a sports support base determines wages

womens rugby Not just Irish womens team will never be professional unless the government pick up the tab

not commercially viable and never will be

Congratulations on not having a clue about what the issues are.

Well done

I get it as most people do

money, power, jealousy and entitlement

Haha....

That thump was the sound of the mask ripping through the floor boards

“When the women created their own circuit in 1970, they did so because men did not believe in their marketing potential.”

There was more money for men’s tennis, more spectators in the stadiums, more television audiences”

Same tune, different decade. How’d that go for the WTA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,128 ✭✭✭OldRio

Climb down by the IRFU. They will publish both reports.