Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXV-956,720 ROI (5,952 deaths) 452,946 NI (3,002 deaths) (08/01) Read OP

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Not when a large proportion of the unvaccinated are in the younger cohort likely to have house parties tbh

And some will take what that letter says that it's fine to have house parties too

• Registered Users Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭the kelt

But it was all their fault only a week or so ago??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭cuttingtimber22

Since September, I have had one dinner out (have had lunches) and a few pints one night with work but I feel really sad tonight for those mostly self employed entrepreneurs who have been completely shafted by the medics.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,805 ✭✭✭hynesie08

You know I don't work for the government right? And have never been on the blame the unvaccinated train (I think they're idiots but they're disproportionately affecting themselves)

• Registered Users Posts: 693 ✭✭✭cheezums

Just listening to the leader of our country say vaccines aren’t enough tonight got me thinking.

what’s the term I’ve heard before, what’s the very definition of the term “snake oil” again?

“a product, policy, etc. of little real worth or value that is promoted as the solution to a problem”

• Registered Users Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭gipi

But you have to show a covid cert in the hotel bar (changed in the last announcement in November).

• Registered Users Posts: 13,013 ✭✭✭✭JRant

I don't think Tony said that. Pretty sure it was MM.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users Posts: 9,805 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Do you think we'd be in a better place without them?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭ForestFire

Struck me as 2 that would be still eating supermacs in the square until the wee hours of the morning! What gives 😁

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Beyond disillusioned with it all now. Tiresome doesn’t even cut it. Apart from the clinically vulnerable, why would you even bother getting a booster now? What is the point? Is that the end goal here? Keep pumping people with shite every three months? Get vaccinated for normality to return.. oh no wait this new variant evades the vaccine so you need a booster.. oh new variant again now we need another booster. I’m done with the whole lot of it. I’m living my life as I like and not putting another thing into my body under the false promise of normality. It’s all a load of cod and totally pointless

• Registered Users Posts: 13,013 ✭✭✭✭JRant

So the the leader of the country, along with MM and Leo just said these restrictions are based on nothing more than guesswork or projections as they like to call them.

We have a loooooooong road ahead of us here in Ireland.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,188 ✭✭✭Be right back

Did it occur to NEPHET that maybe they should treat us as adults and allow us to make our own decisions?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,928 ✭✭✭Marty Bird

Each time MM has stood on those steps speaking about the Kent, Indian and now the South African strain never once has he or anyone else said it’s more deadly than its predecessor.

🌞6.02kWp⚡️3.01kWp South/East⚡️3.01kWp West

• Registered Users Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭landofthetree

The journal.ie branded people far right for saying that.

I wonder will they call MM far right after this?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭thesultan

For someone who works in a family pub. This is one hell of a kick in the privates. We were very quiet to begin with but there was a small pick up in trade. Now this eight ó clock close. Jesus give us ten at least. Music not even sure how that work. Kick them out on the streets at eight, like they were national school kids.. Yes they will all potter home..

• Registered Users Posts: 13,743 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Agree. Restaurants have been very well managed. As well as cinemas, theatre, and pubs mostly.

Jeez, its such a miserable situation for all in entertainment, and hospitality the week before Christmas Never mind everyone else.

Did you not know? If your not constantly lashing out randomly at Tony thr bogeyman you are automatically in favour of lockdown forever.

So a sports event has to finish before 8 (NPHET wanted 5pm).

#Science

• Registered Users Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭ForestFire

Can someone confirm if there's any point eating these any more?

I've been one 1 a day for the last 4 weeks!

Seemingly that been made redundant by these guys....who knew

• Registered Users Posts: 7,531 ✭✭✭Gusser09

The more you think about it the more amazing it is that tonight's dictate focused on nothing but pubs and hospitality. It really is shocking that this is being let happen. No logic or evidence to back it up either. **** criminal. South Africa with 8 million people who have aids and less the 45 percent of people vaccinated are coping fine yet here we are. Not letting fit, healthy zero risk people socialize after 8. We really are a backward backhole of a kip at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,163 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

How deadly it is, or is not, is absolutely not the point.

Its the transmissibility.

If Omicron is four to six times more transmissible than say Delta, we could be looking at 300-500,000 people being positive with Covid at any one time.

And the problem with Covid is, that it adversely effects a few percent of people, quite randomly, with severe and debilitating symptoms, like pneumonia or temporary immobility.

There then becomes a much higher chance, therefore, that the hospitals and ICUs become completely overwhelmed by that few percent of a huge cohort of positive people.

Theres no getting past that the protection of the health service is the number one priority.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

We dont eat out a lot but now I am determined to go and eat out during the day to support restaurants . They need our support because they have been treated really badly for two years

• Registered Users Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭crossman47

That's the most positive post I've read tonight.

So even Leo admits Ireland has had the toughest restrictions in Europe over the last two years!

Jaysus that will be an eye opener for a few on here, ye know the “shur if it doesn’t affect me is it really a restriction” brigade!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,598 ✭✭✭jackboy

The lockdowns will not decrease the amount of socialisation. We can look forward to a Christmas of YouTube videos of house parties throughout the country and drunken people acting like lunatics, just like last year. If there is going to be a big spike then these restrictions will accelerate that.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,395 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

That all may be true. But, the fact remains that the science behind a set of restrictions that out huge pressure on a particular sector seems questionable. Look at Friday 24th for example….tens of thousands of people will have travelled home from the UK or wherever they live around the country, almost everyone who is still working will be on a half day….the pubs and restaurants will be as busy as they can be by 2.00, with people lashing in the pints or having nice meals. But suddenly after 8pm the risk profile of that activity changes? Give me a break….it’s a nonsense. A completely arbitrary cut-off that will do nothing more than put people of out of work. Just to be seen to be doing something.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,586 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

The only wave im looking forward to is the goodbye wave at the next election that the country is going to give MM.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

There is no denying it.

The debt level alone is proof.

It makes no sense that the country has europes youngest age profile would have the toughest restrictions, when dealing with a disease the primarily effects the elderly