Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are your views on Multiculturalism in Ireland? - Threadbanned User List in OP

Nah, much more likely is the usual "LOL Daily Mail isn't a valid source" as if it negates the facts.

EDIT: There was a case in the Canary Islands (or some Spanish island) where a do-gooder tried to help a group of "migrants" and got gang raped. Same has happened across Europe. Was it Sweden where a woman was raped and apologised for her society making her rapist like that. In the couple of years they were there. Before the bodies were being removed from the Manchester Arena people were more worried about reminding us that it's not all muslims. Because that's the important thing, not the kids who were slaughtered. The guy who murdered the young Japanese lad in Dundalk, sure what's the big deal? Well his family asked the question of why the scumbag who killed him was free to do it. Yosuke wanted to go to college, filled out all the forms, flew here, went to college, got a girlfriend, got a job. And he gets snuffed out by someone who had no business here.

Actually another great one is roughly annually when a report on STDs or HIV or whatever comes out and it's "WE NEED MORE EDUCATION" then you look at the stats and like 30% of new diagnoses were people previously diagnosed abroad and another bunch who are here less than a year. But the people getting paid to talk about it have to pretend as if the fact that people arrive here already infected somehow doesn't matter and we have to pretend that the issue is something else.

• Registered Users Posts: 287 ✭✭Freight bandit

Am I reading this right, asylum applicants that have been in the system 2 years can apply aswell

https://www.irishimmigration.ie/message-from-the-chief-international-protection-officer/

They don't need to apply... the government will do that for them. They're automatically eligible. Nice way to sidestep the asylum process (and appeals system).

• Registered Users Posts: 13,348 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Scandinavian societies are quite homogenous (until recently?), and have very high standards of living.

Also, see Japan.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,348 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

When I hear calls for Africans/Asians to join the Garda, become teachers, or media presenters, I ask myself, in African countries, are there campaigns for Celts to become news readers, teachers, police, local government officials?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,234 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

There is just no point in responding to that level of logic.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

Well of course MASI and similar NGOs practically wrote it

Because maybe you have no response. Apparently only us european societies need more diversity. Never the other way around. Never it would be great if China, Africa, India had more pasty Irish people

• Registered Users Posts: 287 ✭✭Freight bandit

I get the impression this is all about the government trying to boost the population, they need to pump those numbers up regardless of the law or consequences.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,434 ✭✭✭jmreire

Quite the opposite,,at least in SA anyway, white farmers being driven off lands they had farmed for generations...Zimbabwe 2 happening.

• Registered Users Posts: 464 ✭✭The Quintessence Model

• Registered Users Posts: 172 ✭✭Glock17

There are just so many contradictions about immigration. On the one hand we're meant to welcome asylum seekers because their own countries are violent and poor. Then when they come to europe we're meant to rejoice when they bring the same customs and mindsets over? The exact same ones that made their home countries violent? It just doesnt make any sense...

Why not? It does make some logical sense. If Western nations are expected to be inclusive and to promote the employment of minority groups in public services, or positions of authority/security... shouldn't we be expecting the same thing from non-western countries?

Except, we don't. Not really. It understandable and reasonable that minority groups wouldn't have that kind of representation in such industries, except on a temporary basis, short term contracts and the like. For other non-western nations, that is.

BS whatabouter just confirms that you have nothing worth responding to.

If you can't figure the relevance of having Irish citizens in an African police force to the discussing, then that is your problem.

You didn't counter what he said... just dismissed it out of hand..

Actually, you jumped into the thread just to dismiss that other posters point... we're all kinda hoping that you're going to do more than roll out soundbites and dismiss others contributions. Perhaps you could defend your own posts (although you'd have to make some points), while actively seeking to counter what others have written?

The only times there was Irish in police forces in African countries was when they were part of the British occupying forces and that was damned wrong. Also i suspect a lot of these places would not tolerate a significant population of irish moving over and setting themselves up. They definately wouldnt tolerate Irish taking well paid jobs at the expense of natives for the sake of diversity

• Registered Users Posts: 464 ✭✭The Quintessence Model

Why shouldn't we encourage Europeans, including Irish people, to move to Africa? Sure isn't diversity great.

I used to work in the Middle East. I had a high skill job that quite frankly the locals couldnt do. Expats cant access things like state funded schools or hospitals etc. Expats have virtually no chance of getting a local passport.

I was made redundant after two years. I was escorted to the airport to make sure I got on the plane and left.

Compare that to europe, we let in people that have virtually no skills and and really have nothing to offer advanced economies. We give them passports and free houses and healthcare. If you criticise this process you can lose your job and be branded Hitler?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

The hypocrisy with covid certs for citizens of Europe flying to other European countries really shows you how eager they are to continue this all. If I don't have a cert or a negative PCR result, I can't go anywhere, but Africans can arrive into Europe by the boat load with none of the aforementioned? It's madness.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

You held that job for 2 years, until one of their own learned how to do it....and then you were "surplus to requirements". And as for turning up at an entry point, without any documents, and expecting to be treated as you would be in this part of the world??? No way !!! In many country's around the world, turn up without documents or proper visa's ?? Straight to jail.

You'd be forced back on the plane or boat you arrived on, with the expectation that the airline/service would make sure you returned, due to their own {failed} responsibility to check passports, and visas on embarking a plane.

I never really understand the talk about migrants just arriving by plane. How does that work? Every time I've traveled (and I've covered a lot of distance by air), my passport has been checked when i pass security (often there being two or more different security checkpoints), and the boarding gate.. and then checked again when I arrive. My visas/passport and boarding pass are always scrutinized...

I don't get the holes that migrants seem to be able to find... Sure, I get the travel by "unofficial" means, but any of the normal ways are well covered once you leave the EU.

Tbh, I was made redundant because my employer literally couldn't give away the service they were providing...

On the plus side I spent about 6 months in an office playing on the internet on a very good salary :)

But yeah, the Middle East is interesting. It really is very racist.... at the top of the tree are the local arabs, next up is white americans and Brits, after that is other Europeans/ Australians etc. Next up are Filipinos etc. At the bottom of the tree are Indians/ Pakistanis etc..

As a white European you can get thrown out if you annoy the wrong people... if you give the finger to a local arab and they are connected you could be on the next plane home. I knew a russian that was thrown out because she made some offensive remarks...

Compare that to europe where we literally dont deport people that are terrorists... got to love the EU and their human rights.

TBH this is one of the reasons I love Asia/Asians so much. Sure, there's the wide range of scams, and corruption but for the most part, they're easily dodged with a little research being done before going anywhere. I've worked in four Asian countries, and I was looked after quite well by these countries. Whereas I've heard no shortage of bad accounts about the M.East/Africa...

Yeah.... I heard some stories about Saudi....

In saudi you have something called the sharia police. They enforce religious laws.

I've heard what they like doing when they have public executions is to force western expats to witness public executions... so you have a country where the cinema was illegal until about last year, but you can watch someone get stoned to death...

In 2002 there was a fire in a girls school. The girls obviously ran out the school to escape the fire... the religious police were on hand to push them back inside and lock the doors... you obviously cant have girls outside without the correct clothes on. 15 dead. You can Google it to see for yourself.

Then you have places like dubai where a large part of the economy is providing prostitutes for visiting Saudis.

But yeah, I think multiculturalism in europe is absolutely awesome and we definitely need more of it.

Yeah, SA is very weird in many ways, which is amazing considering the amount of support they receive from the West. I've been to Jeddah... beautiful city (I actually find most Arab cities to be rather pretty), and most people were lovely. Still, I wasn't there longer than a week, and hung out with people I'd met in China (a lot of professors get their initial experience in China and then come back to SA or other countries nearby).. As for Dubai, that place is a cesspit. Looks great on the surface, but it's horrible when you dig a little past the gold paint.

I spent over a decade in Asia... loved most of my time there. Whereas I've visited a variety of places in the M.East and Africa, and I have zero interest living there. The cultural differences are just too vast.. religion plays a major part of that, but there's plenty of non-religious differences too.. Interesting experiences overall though, but I'm not in any kind of rush to see more. Whereas I'd love to return to Asia.

Well, in my personal experience, and on two different occasion's and in two different Country's where they take border control very serious, and I arrived without a visa, I spent some very long hours in a very uncomfortable room, watched over by armed guards.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭rgossip30

The country does move with the times and this has nothing to do with multiculturalism .