Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

There's a bit of a difference between what Brazil did in early 2020 and whats happening in 2022.

Most people were content to put up with it while there was an end game - vaccinations.

Now that's done, and solved nothing, the Brazil approach is the one to take.

It wasnt appropriate in 2020, it is in 2022.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭revelman

Can you answer me this question. If SF had been in power the last two years, do you think things would have been different? Do you think they’d be wildly popular?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

Have you actually looked at the membership of NPHET?

No psychologists. No sociologists. A man in charge of the modelling that drives everything (Nolan) who has 20 years experience (as a university administrator) who has been ridiculed by established scientific professionals. Including most recently an NPHET sub-group whose work he very publically contradicted, who actually have legitimate credentials.

Holohan. Who told people 21 months ago it was fine to visit nursing home while staff there were trying to protect residents.

Glynn and de Gascun, who together with Nolan somehow manage to be on record as telling three different stories which are all contradictory, yet even more impressively none of which are true.

• Registered Users Posts: 627 ✭✭✭DLink

If I've paid a lifetime of taxes, and paid for my house with my own money, you'll need a SWAT team to get me out of it, and I don't care if I'm 110 years old, and "sacrifices" were made for me.... hands off.

Glorious suffering, community & sharing my hole, my house is not a material obsession / possession to be taken away from me and handed to the poor suffering youth of today.

No you aren't.

Your post count and your join date back it up.

I really dont see why you'd bother.

This is a pretty tough time for a lot of people.

If you get some joy by doing what you do, then fair play.

It's Christmas. Perhaps be a little more mindful instead of getting your kicks by being ridiculous.

Anyway, best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,658 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Not even Paul Murphy would come out with that sort of guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,913 ✭✭✭acequion

Ah come on, you can't be serious! What kind of communist utopia do you see us living in??

Do you not think there has been enough state control, enough finger pointing, enough divide and conquer!! And now you're finger pointing some perceived "protected category." Some poor aul fella with his life savings and his house that he worked all his life to pay for, perhaps?? What a horrible idea.

We've all suffered hugely in this pandemic, young and old, let's not make it worse by turning on each other like vultures! Let's hope and aspire to a post pandemic life of less state interference and greater respect for individual rights be they financial, civil or social.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭walus

Radical indeed. Still not as radical as lockdowns, restrictions leading to a pile of debt, so it should come a lot easier to pass one would think.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,726 ✭✭✭Red Silurian

Putting 2 jabs in the arms of people in African countries will end it faster than 3 jabs in Irish arms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭Dickie10

what happens on fenrurary 5th when ireland play wales in aviva in 6 nations in front of 5,000 people, this will be shocking imditement with Twickers, Murrayfield and Millenium Stadium at full capacity. imagine the rugny fans from wales coming over only to see pubs shut at 8pm. there will be big pressure on the government around then, but honestly hard to see st patricks day going ahead again. 3 years in a row.This time next week with Christmas behind us all talk will move to a race to reopen for paddys weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

Well, whatever about NPHET, at least he government are doing a stellar job - in managing to unite you, in a way.

Having been a complete shitshow for the last 20 years and failed to invest in health, housing, or infrastructure, contributing to most of this, they've still managed to divide people in the middle of an unprecedented modern crisis.

This pandemic has laid bare that we do not have a functioning democracy. Neither of the "main" party leaders has any credibility, and none of the opposition has any practical answer beyond "try us" populism, which is seductive but ultimately more of the same.

We also don't have a functioning media - RTE is 60% what's on RTE this/last week, and 40% "news" which won't affect any TV license adjustment; the Indo is a marginally less offensive clickbait focused version of the Daily Mail, and the Irish Times is struggling to decide if it's "conservative" or "woke". The notion of unopinionated news seems to be a relic from the early 2000's.

And so with no actual news, or good-faith election detail, we don't have an informed electorate. Just idiots like me ranting online with no verifiable detail to base their vote on.

Sorry, this should probably be in politics but one thing really bugging me is how we've had 18 months of "in it together" from politicians who really obviously do not care, enabled by a media focused on selling fear.

• Registered Users Posts: 247 ✭✭Perseverance The Second

A decent chance that Murrayfield will still be at limited capacity.

The UK will probably limit crowds in stadia before the turn of the year.

It wouldn't solve it immediately and it's not just Pfizer... At one point the British were importing AZ from India... Absolute madness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,658 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

England are already cancelling events such as NYE in London.

Rumours of further restrictions to be announced in Wales later today

The event is cancelled but people will gather anyway, better to have them gathering outside than in their homes I'd think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭Dickie10

is n.ireland still open fully for pubs and nightclubs? surely people will head raing and do stephens day in down royal and belfast instead.

At the moment yes, questionable if it will still be that way by Stephens Day mind

Hearing rumors that Munster V Ulster at the start of January will be moved to Belfast to take account of the maximum crowd (and the limerick fixture will be later in the year)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

The gaslighting by the media, the Government and NPHET / SAGE both here and in the U.K. is the biggest eye opener during this phase. The sheer repetitiveness of them in relation to pushing boosters on people is almost manic at this stage, it’s off putting.

This morning for instance, Dr Holohan & Varadkar basically said ‘nothing is guaranteed’ re further restrictions. They hoped they wouldn’t have to reintroduce more. But then are asked constant leading questions by journalists as if it’s a pre agreed fact that there will be future restrictions, despite no major data currently supporting this.

But what’s more suspicious is why on earth the U.K. are calling a Cobra meeting re further measures, their higher case numbers are not translating into big numbers of hospitalisations and deaths at the moment. Who is pushing for the U.K. to get more restrictions and why? It’s also tying in with pressure being put on Johnson & Lord Frost’s resignation. Serious behind the scenes pressure being put on them to introduce further measures and to what end? Particularly as there’s a scientist on Twitter basically informing the public they take the worst possible case modelling scenario and run with that re modelling and Government decision making. The whole thing stinks tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

A hard sell?

Tony doesn't have to sell anything, he dictates and it happens, regardless of that the proletariat thinks.

If Tony wants a lockdown then he will get a lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,123 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,295 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Nolan is a career academic admin, literally the worst type possible.

He has been crying wolf for the best part of 2 years, churning out preposterous model/scenario after model yet he is somehow still in his role.

Is there no accountability, if anyone in industry was continuously wrong and wrong by such a huge margin, they would be sacked.

Jobs for the boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,857 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

• Registered Users Posts: 15,214 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

What I know is that is a load of complete nonsense that someone with a charismatic personality is all it takes to sway 31 members of a board to accept just his recommendations, and for that charismatic personality to then sway an entire Government cabinet to agree to enact what he wishes. It`s complete and utter bunkum from people who have Tony Holohan living in their heads 24/7. It is so much bunkum that it would even be laughed out of the conspiracy theory thread.

There is no apples and oranges when comparing Tony Holohan here to Jaap van Dissel in the Netherlands when it comes to restrictions. Do you actually believe the Government there did not listen to the recommendations of the head of their outbreak management team before making the decision to impose restrictions much harsher than those announced here, or that the British Government did not do the same with Chris Whitty ?

If you do then you are sadly incorrect. Both Jaap van Dissel and Chris Whitty, Tony Holohan`s counterparts, features in the live T.V. broadcasts alongside their respective Prime Ministers announcing their recent restrictions, and giving their reasons why they believed it was the correct approach.

The only difference is that you know that making the same accusations that are being made about Tony Holohan being made about either Chris Whitty or Jaap van Dissel would just look ridiculous.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,214 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

I don`t know from that if you are making the case that recommendations from NPHET are just automatically stamped by Government as policy or you are making the point that they they are not. From your post it would appear the latter.

With Tony Holohan making the wrong call on nursing homes and another three prominent members of NPHET, by your account telling three contradictory stories all of which were untrue, do you not imagine any Government would not be very loath to just rubber stamp all their recommendations as some here appear to believe is the case ?

• Registered Users Posts: 365 ✭✭francogarbanzo

My point is “jabs in arms” won’t end the pandemic, full stop. No matter where the arms are or how many jabs. We’re past the “vaccines will end this!” stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭pimpmyhat

Your aswell putting mi wadi in your arm for all the difference it makes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,468 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

It staggers me that most people still don't see this. It's a tool now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭prunudo

I thought playing the man was frowned upon on boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,024 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭MarkHenderson

Bloody Tony/RTE/NPHET etc...👿 Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Have they thus far?

Well I suppose they have. Those models and exceptional concerns are undeniable

• Registered Users Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭pimpmyhat

I'd recommend lemon, for its citrus content🍋🤣

• Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

Lol, Philip rocks up with the random number generator and announces the optimistic scenario is 10million cases a day and 50,000 in ICU. And that's the boosted population. 100% certainty of death for everyone with a "waned vaccine".

Nobody questions him despite the figures being completely ludicrous and easily disprovable.

"Recommendations" accepted without question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,825 ✭✭✭✭bear1

No one questioned his idiotic prognoses during the summer and for some reason, we didn't all die. And yet here he is again with these numbers.

And the thing is, he will just say "you see, numbers went down that's why my numbers didn't work and that's great. But i recommend more restrictions."

• Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

400,000 cases was the December prediction. We are on track for about a third of that but recommendation for restrictions on hospitality and destruction of live events was still immediately implemented.

It's beyond a joke. Being that wrong in the private sector would result in you being labelled incompetent. But instead he's given the power to determine who is and isn't allowed earn a living and what time we all have to be in bed by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,945 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Micheal Martin on Newstalk now just now..

As members of his own party have said, he's obsessed with reports and despite the growing evidence that it's (even) less dangerous, he wants more evidence from the UK and Europe on the effects of Omicron before he'll stick his neck out.

He also thinks the 8pm closures is a fair compromise for people who want to socialise over Christmas. There's your present folks.. Don't overdo it though!

When questioned about next year, he gives no assurances at all on how we might exit/move forward. Some waffle about antivirals and ongoing vaccination.

Finally he's basically just confirmed that while FF and FG while contest the next election independently, he also plans to try and have his cake and eat by citing the government's "achievements" on particularly climate change (which if you're an ordinary commuting worker just means more taxes), suggesting to me anyway that they'll happily go back into coalition to keep SF out.

In other words, more of the status quo ahead. Won't matter who you vote for.. They'll deal it out themselves anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 627 ✭✭✭DLink

They deserve to get such an electoral kicking after what they've done to the country over covid, but the problem is the alternative is worse... SF wanted even tighter restrictions.

We're truly screwed.... 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,821 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

What's the story with barbers, i want to tak my little lads whos 2, so obviously no cert or anything,

I presume its ok to go ahead as normal but in thos country nothing would surprise me

I'm no fan of SF at all and I think they'd be disastrous for FDI and any middle earner in this country as they'd try to further expand the welfare state - but it's hard to know what they would do as they have no real positions (except on NI/UI which let's face it, most people here don't really care about beyond romanticism).

They are entirely populist and will say whatever they think will get them more votes which at the moment is to just be against anything the Government says, whether it's right or wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

no cert needed, less than half wearing a mask in my barbers yesterday. Was getting my beard done so he wasn’t going to cut around the mask!

I had to turn him off fairly quickly..

And the soft hands from Shane Coleman... He's obv angling for an advisor's gig. All far too cosy between the Irish media and Irish politicians.

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭ShadowTech

I was about to post the same thing. If public opinion strongly turns against restrictions I expect they’ll become completely anti-restriction. As a party they seem to strongly support whatever they believe is popular at this moment in time.

The little "Irish language" bit between them at the end was just cringeworthy. We know Coleman loves the topic but it was just so transparently sycophantic

99% of the listeners probably hadn't a notion about the few sentences they exchanged, and even less care. I'm sure they were far more interested in the plans post-Christmas which of course we didn't get but we all know what'll happen when Tony and co get more "concerned"

Was a bit of a love fest that interview, heard the end but had to tune out, was feeling somewhat queasy with an urge to vomit profusely.

Another Pandemic prick incoming on Newstalk, Pete Lunn, god this guy drives me mad with his utter nonsense, not helped by an accent that reminds me of the wicked witch from the wizard of Oz 😬🙄

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭MarkHenderson

Michael Martin came across very well on Newstalk this morning. The nation is rowing in behind the booster programme and the very light restrictions. Well done to him. 👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,337 ✭✭✭Archeron

For a man who was supposed to be removing himself from the media limelight and running communications past the government press office, I have seen more pictures of Tony holohan in the last two days than I've seen of my entire family through my whole life.

Show me grave concern Tony, lovely, lovely. Now show us stark warning face, beautiful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,994 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Did you ever let us know how your neighbour knew they had the new variant?

Maybe I missed i, just curious as I didn't think they gave out that information?