Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The wondrous adventures of Sinn Fein (part 3) Mod Notes and Threadbanned List in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 5,189 ✭✭✭Brucie Bonus

I think you quoted me by mistake.

My point is why waste everyone's time by partnering with the civil war parties, those who caused all the problems?

Removing only some of the mold and trotting on is pointless.

If you read what you quoted, my point is not to partner with either of them. If that means another coalition of convenience and cronyism, let them on with it. Eventually they'll fall away even joined up. No point trying to fix problems by partnering up with the causes.

I have not claimed to be remotely fiscally conservative....no need get your imagination to over run yous and look silly like when ya taught simon covency should be given a free pass for any/all infringemnets due to brexit,still makes me smile the hysterical taught process involved there.....

just your present government and media have yous an utter line of propaganda rubbish of em being fiscally conservative,while they simply arent....ive no bother critising shinners for balancing budget in stormont above ramping up tax and working to end poverty/improving lives of poorest,including loyalists

• Registered Users Posts: 18,645 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

It is funny you as a SF supporter view SF as progressive - yet they are a EU skeptic party, had the chance to change the British Brexit process -but they refused to block when they could have by going to westminster.

You refer to a 'civil war coalition' - implying it is backward etc. Yet there has never been a coalition involving FF and FG in the history of the state - until now.

I think you need to step back and ask yourself who is backward here. If you look at SF's policy's they claim to want housing in the ROI but vote as a bloc against it time and time again in the ROI.

From a finance point of view SF's answer is always simply tax the rich. Basically a 1930's FF manifesto.

There is never the thought of developing the economy encouraging investment and development - by those in business who are the ones who create the jobs. There never is talk of encouraging foreign direct investment which has served the ROI superbly. SF have a simplistic narrow world view. One which is they come power they will have to compromise on. Because all of these SF promises are just not practicable and they will likely cripple the country. SF will likely have to go into coalition and have to compromise. But historically SF are shown to be very slow to compromise.

It is an old world view SF have, with a veneer of progression (marriage referendum - abortion) to trick new voters who do not look beyond their thin false veneer when it comes to the broader issues affecting the economy/health etc.

I think you are only codding yourself in the name of a republican ideology.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

We had record breaking numbers of child homeless and various crises, pre covid. They had their interests under control, nothing else.

What policies brought in the IMF in the first place? Youse talk like it never happened, but could under SF. Joke.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,082 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

I did read your post that's why I asked the question. So are you saying SF should not enter government in 2025 and wait until 2030?

A long time to be on here posting about everything that's wrong and how SF will fix it it especially when there are 10 less similar like "posters" here after current events.

Yeah....the great progressive eu🤣...who let france introduce laws targeting muslims and spain crush a independance referendum in cathalonia (people in jail.in europe in 2021 for sedition is a joke)....let italy on its knees during covid argueing about cost,took chinese/cuban doctors on tarmac to spurn em into action

You believe in the ruse that some party can end poverty, something not done anywhere in the world, yet also criticise someone else for their own different brand of unachievable idealism?

Thats a hiding to nowhere

Centre is best,bit of lefty,bit of right but nothing unsustainable

I don't know what progressive is and never claimed SF were it. I suspect you are setting up a strawman here. Let's see...

Its my understanding they don't attend Westminster and those who vote for them know this.

They are two cheeks of the same rotten arse. No coalition until their bread and butter started slipping away.

I don't think private entities making private profit off the misery of the tax payer is progressive or 'investing'.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,657 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Are you trying to suggest SF are less populist than FF, for example?

Hilarious.

Sinn Féin are fiscal hawks, are they? 😂

Centrism simply deosnt exist....its political correct right.....theres no reason childhood poverty cant be ended,no reason homelessness cant be near elienated

They have no issue running to the dail to introduce covid restrictions,while anything that would bring about substanvive change is regarded as too much like,work and simply dismissed as unachievable,when in reality,the countrt has never been richer

If the option is partnership with FG or FF no. No way. No point. We'll only end up with the same sub par level of governance.

Quote once we're anyone said SF will fix everything? I bet you a shiny new donkey you can't.

Enjoy the new echo chamber.

A party that don't make it worse would be pretty sweet.

More deflection I never said SF would "fix everything" I asked how would SF would form a government if they got 50-55 seats without FF or FG.

Do you think they should avoid trying this after winning then 2025 election to allow FF and FG form a party and wait until 2030?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

If police departments fired and charged the individual officers involved, I'd agree with you. As long as they continue to cover up and protect those involved, they are culpable, just as the RUC was.

Any time a police department chooses to close ranks around someone literally caught on camera abusing a member of the public - anywhere in the world - that police department deserves to be burned to the ground, literally and figuratively. That's why I have no sympathy for "innocent" RUC officers once the Troubles began. In the United States, as you say, there are a plethora of independent, individual police organisations - I do not support attacking them all due to the actions of officers in one of them, but if a specific department closes ranks around one of its own officers even after that officer is caught red handed engaging in police brutality, f*ck em. That department is corrupt to its very core and anyone who doesn't walk out in disgust is part of the problem.

I fundamentally believe in a zero tolerance attitude towards undemocratic actions and abuses of power by any and all arms of a state. That's the basis of my ideology with regard not just to The Troubles, but the general question of when it's justified for a protest movement to take up arms and when it is not.

I'm saying FF cheerlead by FG already brought in the IMF.

Stop talking like voting elsewhere is a bad idea because they might bring in the IMF. Makes you seem foolish.

What deflection? I addressed everything.

I never said SF would "fix everything"

I must have misread this...

posting about everything that's wrong and how SF will fix it

I think no party should touch FF or FG. I think if we end up with another civil war party coalition, so be it. Let them implode some more.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,645 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I am not inventing a strawman. It is you who used the term 'civil war coalition'. I find people who use the term strawman on boards.ie are stuck for a counter argument

How is it rotten it has provided stable government for a century. Not a bullet was fired since the civil war. SF on the other cost thousands of lives damaging the reputation of Ireland around the world. The provos bringing shame to the people of the ROI and the tricolour. SF shot at their own people in the name of a cause. Refuse to even recognise the ROI for decades and decades. Not recognising the courts etc. Shooting at Gardai, killing gardai - robbing banks in the ROI. With no mandate

Yet you are implying a century of stable governance is somehow evil. It is how successful economies are run. Which going by the past listed above with SF is in come contrast. I know which is preferable - a stable decent society or a warped moral compass based on an outdated ideology?

But it seems many SF hardliners do not have a moral compass. It is all part of the glorious 'struggle'. When there is feck all glorious about it. But many SF supporters love that pantomime.

If SF really wanted to help Ireland North and South they would have called a special Ardfheis or All Island SF meeting and at least debated attending WM to change history on Brexit. But they did not have the balls to even try. You claim it was a mandate issue but they did not even ask their electorate the question.

It was also telling in the last GE that Labour FF and FG said they would not go into coalition with SF. Those votes combined meant SF was outnumbered.

SF had no real mandate despite the SF spin. None of the main parties in the ROI wanted to play with SF and they were given the mandate - when it was made clear that none would go into coalition with SF pre the election. The people of Ireland gave their decision they did not want SF in government.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Thanks for backing up that I never said SF would "fix everything"

Keep avoiding the original question though about government formation.

You still have clowns admiring micheal mcdowell after he green lighted gaurds attacking,the mayday marches of 2004

Not a single gaurd faced sanction over it,the only gaurd tried for it,ended up getting job as ethics advisor.....the media like to remind world of love ulster riots,while conduct of gaurds under the PDs is glossed over

And with that its xmas time.and im.away to watch micheal collins film

That's an invalid supposition practically every government in the world agree with each other on covid

They don't on economics which is why most trend centre

I doubt there's a far right or far left country in the world anyone with a splunk of sense from Ireland would leave here to live in

An SFF government looks like SF's ticket to the centre

The train moves fast,mind the gap

You mistake right and far right as same thing,while they are infact vastly different...tell me are they any irish living in england?

Sinn fein are forever too close to the soft left as it is...a lie-in with ffg would lead em to tip em into rightwingism imo.....sure we can always switch to pbp and indos like paul murphy....anything to end the stranglehold of power that ffg have and their utter arrogance enfprced by the media,that we arent allowed vote for anyone else or be sneered at......the national party of justin barett and co is preferable to them **** in ffg (il not vote for em like,but at least they dont treat public with utter contempt)

I never claimed SF were progressive.

By stable you mean existed? *slow hand clap*

Not everyone shares your view but you are welcome to it. Mother and baby homes is bigger than anything. State sanction baby thievery and imprisonment for single mothers and mass graves.

Was those wouldn't go in with FF/FG either. Such is free choice.

Now SF are thee main party. Its a funny ol game.

You did say:

Thats you saying people claimed SF would fix everything.

Twice I've answered you. Nobody, including SF, should touch either FF or FG. They are crony, corrupt and one of their leaders is under criminal investigation.

If that means another civil war coalition, so be it. It will likely bury them.

So I never said SF would "fix everything" why continue to lie about what I posted?

In your opinion SF should not touch FF or FG so it will be 2030 before they think of entering government at best?

I think what you're saying is daft

Its niche, very niche

Niche isn't centre either

Centre deosnt exist😅

Its a failed idology/pop speak,brought to you by same folk who sell you hospiteals billions over budget and continous deficits as fiscally conservative and anyone who point out the cognative dissosance involved is to be sneered at

When the healy raes,speak more commonsense as regards closing bogs to import turf than the government and remain butt-of-jokes by media....should send alarm bells ringing as to how far,and dementely off track ffg and the countries media have gone

As I said Niche

• Registered Users Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭touts

It does exist. It has been the basis of our prosperity for decades. Your problem is like all socialists you are intellectually incapable of seeing anything good in the other side. The teaching of Marx and a handful of his apostles like Lenin and Trotsky are inherently, built on the principle that there are three types of people in the world. The few enlightened communists, the many evil traitors and the foolish childlike masses. That's why socialism is doomed to fail. Because it sees nothing good from the other side that can be applied for the good of the people whom it utterly underestimates. Anyone who does not follow the pure socialist path is a traitor. It sees truth only in the writings of a few men, (of dubious mental and moral standing) and fail to see the wisdom of the masses. So centrist parties choose the most sensible from both sides and in long term win.

So let Sinn Fein and their Trotskyist fellow travellers win the next election. They won't last two years before the socialist loathing of traitors tears the government apart from the inside. And then the people will return to the sensible center.

You did.

No matter.

See how it goes. I don't see the point in anyone voting for a party only to have them partner with the like of FF/FG.