Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Murder at the Cottage | Sky

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭DontHitTheDitch

One person in the pub thought they might have seen a single scratch on his hands. The bartender served him several times and saw no scratches. People watching him playing the bodhran saw no scratches. Multiple people saw them after the murder, commented on them and reported him to the gardai. It's not credible that scratches deep enough to cause scabbing were not visible hours after they were supposed to have occurred. Sophie's scratches were highly visible within a few hours and her blood had stopped circulating very soon after receiving them.

A number of journalists said they couldn't find it easily. One poster here said they got lost on a visit and they already knew the location. There's a number of lanes and driveways along that road, even if you find the right turn-off from the main road.

I don't know why he was not arrested. I do not have access to the garda files or thinking.

maybe they had not enough at that stage to arrest him. I think O'Dwyer says in one of the docs photos would cause legal problems. But that is not why i said so. Gardai can take photos\samples if you are arrested even if you do not consent. I would say -I do not know this- photo of someone not arrested may not be admissable in any court.

It can be complicated. Example: It used to be that if they took fingerprints of an arrested person by consent they could keep the prints on file forever. But if you refused and they had to invoke statute to take them against your will the prints could only be kept for a year. It is different now

If the Guards cite the scratches as evidence of guilt then it could be used as basis for arrest.

Could it? There are strict rules around arrest if you want the arrest to be lawful and stand up in court. Do you know what happens if you are arrested tomorrow. Your rights? what the gaards are obliged to do

I'm sure the bar tender was busy especially that time of year and more concerned with ching ching of the cash register.Add low light and the fact the customers have drink taken

Did the last person who served you a drink have scratches?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,275 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Yet the Guards are citing it as a basis for why Bailey should be charged. and is guilty of murder. Yet that is not reasonable suspicion? Doesn't add up.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Not unusual unless you're looking hard for them.

I know from experience cutting my own hedges and brambles with shears and bare hands that small scratches that are barely noticeable on the day are often more noticeable a day or two later when they may be slightly inflamed but heal quickly.

Have you forgotten the dermatologist who examined Bailey five days after the murder and said that she did not notice any marks or injuries to his face or hands. Or is this an inconvenient truth?

Yet the Guards are citing it as a basis for why Bailey should be charged. and is guilty of murder

Did they cite it as basis for why bailey should be charged/is guilty of murder

or did they cite it as one reason why they were suspicious?

Which is precisely the point.

Sophie received deeper cuts from briars.

Bailey received light scratches which would not be very visible initially, except as red lines, until they started healing and scab started to form.

I have scratched myself gardening, in the first day it's hardly noticeable. So your comment about 'scarcely credible' is completely without foundation, unless you can back it up with something.

And I return to the point, if Bailey was the murderer he could have easily concealed any incriminating scratches given the time of the year - wear gloves, cry off the xmas day swim because of a cold etc etc

And where's the forensics linking him back to the murder scene if he got the injuries there? Nowhere to be found - and they were looked for.

The closer you look at the scratches, as the DPP has done, it's clear they do not implicate Bailey to the murder.

Was it that remote?

Apparently Alfie was known for parties... and perhaps had visitors for other reasons.

Lots of holiday homes in the area.

So how 'difficult' the location was to find is very much in question.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭dublin49

"By someone given straightforward directions"

A hitman calling into the local post office perhaps

Well even the way you have worded your 'or' seems like reasonable suspicion to me, but I suppose we are all 'laymen' here.

I'm assuming from the amount of time spent on it in the DPP report that it formed one of the planks of AGS case v Bailey.

This only further detracts from what little evidential value the sketches of the scratches might have had.

Could Garda Kelleher's and O'Leary's memories have been subject to the same revisionism that turned a short, sallow complexioned person seen in Schull's main Street into a 6'4" pale complexioned person? Their description is inconsistent with that of the dermatologist who saw Ian Bailey on the 28th December.

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭flopisit

A dermatologist did not examine Bailey.

People are misinterpreting the DPP report.

A woman (who happened to be a dermatologist) saw him on (probably the 28th) and made a statement that she did not notice any scratches.

THis did not happen either. Marie Farrell initially said he was 5ft10. Her description changed to taller than a certain gard who happened to be 5ft11. Her description was always sallow complexion. That did not change.

Regarding the sallow complexion, if you look at video footage of Ian Bailey taken around that time, in my opinion, he has a sallow complexion.

ok but you said above guilt rather than reasonable suspicion. You cannot just arrest someone . They need certain level of suspicion and the garda would be very wary. A wrongful arrest could put them in deep sh*t

but I suppose we are all 'laymen' here.

Don't forget the ladies one of whom is very friendly with IB...

DPP file says

"Dr. Louise Barnes, a dermatologist (skin specialist) closely observed Bailey some fivedays after the murder. She states “at no time, did he strike one as being suspicious.As a keen observer of peoples appearance due to my profession I certainly did not notice any marks or injuries to his face or hands.”

where did she observe him?

Doesn't look like sallow skin to me.

But she also said he was a 'stranger', which he was not. You'd have to have been living under a rock not to have noticed Bailey about Schull, and MF was running a shop on Schull main street for a year.

And her comments about Bailey's height and build beggar belief they are so far off the mark.

Get off the high horse. I was going through my timeline picking out the people who saw the scratches and forgot there was one on the 22nd who saw one scratch, in among all the others who saw no scratches.

The DPP report discredits nothing and I should point out, he misses out at least two people who DID see scratches in that time period.

Not to mention, we have Jules, Saffi, Ginny and Bailey himself who claim he did have scratches but he got them on the afternoon of the 22nd rather than the night of the 22nd.

Regarding the DNA on the briars, I can't make out what you are saying about it.

You ask "where was the blood, clothing fibres and hair samples of anyone other than Sophie"

1. Someone definitely killed Sophie and that person did not leave behind trace evidence. That is not uncommon. In fact, that is what is most common in similar murders.
    2. It's an outdoor scene in adverse weather conditions, which means that there are much less opportunities to collect trace evidence.
    3. The killer did not interact further with the body, (hiding it, transporting it, having sex with it, masturbating on it) which gives way less opportunity for him to deposit trace evidence.
    4. The weapon he used (rock, breeze block) does not retain fingerprints or DNA. In a violent stabbing, for example, crime scene techs always test for the killer's blood because often in a stabbing, the knife becomes slick with blood, the killer's hand slips on the blade and he cuts himself - OJ Simpson famously did this). If the killer used a hammer or an axe and left it at the scene, it might have yielded fingerprints or DNA.
    5. Sophie was overwhelmed by someone more powerful than her. She couldn't put up much of a struggle, so the kind of evidence you would expect from a fight (skin cells under the nails, clothing fibres, hair pulled out etc) would not have been deposited.

"Ah Nan, how're things. You wouldn't know where that French woman lives by any chance? Also, you wouldn't have an aul axe or a hammer lying around wouldja? Arra shure not to worry. I'll see what's lying around when I get there."

It's the only turn off on a 1.5km stretch of road. Once you turn off the 'main' road there is nowhere else to go. There are no lanes or driveways along the cul de sac. It is very easy to find with very simple directions. If you tried you couldn't go wrong.

Possibly the lost journalists had only a vague townland as an address - I've seen it variously referred to as being Schull, Goleen, Toormore, none of which would be very helpful.

Well I'm not saying I believe Marie Farrell, I have yet to figure out what her game is. I know what she's up to in recent years. We have evidence from her friend Geraldine O'Brien that MF was expecting to get money from Bailey if he won his court case with her help. So I think I know what her post 2004 game has been. But I still don't know what she was up to at the start of all this.

Bailey appears like he could be termed sallow in the video footage from that time, especially some footage when he was with Senan Molony I think. But its up for debate.

Regarding the stranger issue. She still claims she did not know Ian Bailey at the time. Her claim is that she was given a video of the Swim to watch at home and she did not recognize Bailey but her husband did. THat's what she is claiming since 2004, not before.

Note: If we can prove Bailey couldn't be the killer, I am happy to do it. I just want to satisfy myself that he did it or he didn't do it. I think there is reason to be suspicious of him, but I have obviously not seen anything that convinces me he is the killer.

She had not been running a shop on the main street for a year. She had been living a few miles outside Schull for a year after returning from the UK and actually ran a stall in Cork City for a long time before opening the shop. She still ran the stall part time at the time of the murder as far as I can gather.

Scabs start to form within hours. Practically everyone who had dealings with Bailey after the murder noticed scratches on his hands. To say this has no bearing on him as a suspect is ridiculous and you know it. If he did get the scratches climbing the tree then you would expect them on the palms and underside of his forearms as well, they were only on the top of his hands and forearms.

They were noticed by gardai as he paid for something in a shop. He said that if he were guilty he would have hidden the scratches from the gardai but they way they tell it they called to the house unannounced and he was gardening with his sleeves rolled up.

If we can prove Bailey couldn't be the killer, I am happy to do it. I just want to satisfy myself that he did it or he didn't do it

will you be happy if prove Bailey was the killer?

I believe she originally said about 5'8" and was talked up to 5'10" - 5'11" and this became 6'4"-ish. Leading the evidence in a certain direction destroys it's impartiality. It's beyond credulity that a much slighter build, 5'8" - around the same height as her husband, sallow person could be mistaken for a 6'4" much stockier built, lighter complexioned person.

Don't need a high horse to point out you conveniently left out the witness who does not fit your version of events, in your 'timeline'. I'm putting casual readers on notice as to the reliability of anything you present.

And of course it is possible someone could have killed Sophie using objects at a distance and left no trace

EXCEPT it's a plank of the Garda case that Bailey was cut at the scene by BRIARS

AND they present it as an act of rage \ frenzy.

YET there is zero forensics evidence of Bailey being at the scene. I'm not talking about trace DNA, touch transfer DNA but what they would have been looking for in 1996 - hair samples, clothes fibres, blood samples.

Nothing was found.

Whoever carried out the murder did not get scratched at the scene.

And if they carried out the attack in a frenzy \ rage it seems remarkably lucky they only used objects rather than close contact assault - especially if they had such a physical advantage.

No... In recent years she CLAIMS her initial estimate was 5ft8, but that means you would have to believe she is telling the truth NOW.

Her statement went from 5ft10 to "taller than that gard" (who was 5ft11). She never, as far as I can see, said 6ft4. Maybe you're mixed up when you read it. Bailey is 6ft4. But I have no source where MF said 6ft4.

I wouldn't assume the murderer had any significant physical advantage. One unexpected blow could easily render someone dazed or unconscious leaving them defenceless against further attack.

You know the saying - when you assume you make an ass of u and me.

Do they visibly scab, over light scratches, within hours? Source?

You are contradicting yourself. He would have covered them up but was seen the next day with scratches by multiple witnesses.

So when was he seen gardening and how is it relevant?

If he had covered up the days after the murder ... Guards would have had no reason to call unannounced.

Doesnt add up.