Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2022 In Between Grand Slam Thread

timeline is weird for sure if that's the date of the test that he's relying on

I don't know the exact ins and outs of PCR tests but you can test positive after you're not infectious also but you'd surely expect Djokovic to have an earlier test in that case?

At the time of application it is made clear that you must fulfil the requirements of the visa. He didn't.

he was travelling in January, not November.

that's when the visa would be valid for.

tbh it's the timing on the covid test that is the unusual aspect here

applying for a visa is just something his team does online as an admin task every year for Australia and no "smoking gun"

The rule is that foreign travelers to Australia must be fully vaccinated unless they have a valid medical reason why they cannot be. Djokovic did not have a valid reason not to get vaccinated when he applied for the visa.

Are you seriously suggesting it's ok to apply for a visa that requires you to have had covid, knowing you didn't, and then go out and get it before arriving?

Not to mention the fact that at federal level, prior covid infection is not a valid exemption anyway.

The exemptions are there for people who genuinely cannot get vaccinated, not for people who choose not to. He's hoping to squeeze in through a loophole, but to allow him in would be completely against the spirit of the legislation.

at this stage we know that he met the exemptions process, one the Victoria state were involved in AND a process approved by the Federal Prime Minister

he and the others were told that they were in by all parties

some of the others also approved through the process with the very same recent Covid proof got entry into Australia ahead of him and were playing in tennis tournaments

they somehow "met the requirements" on arrival (like when you actually enter the country) and got in but the same requirements weren't somehow good enough when it came to Djokovic for whatever reason...

this "applying for the visa" thing is a red herring, seriously.

someone on his team back in November put in his passport number, ticked a couple of boxes and pressed send.

I Just Want to Play Tennis!

Glasso you clearly don't know how visa applications work. The information you supply at the time must be correct and you must adhere to any requirements of the visa. Have you ever applied for a visa to Australia?

The other players/officials presumably had a prior covid infection at the time of application. We know that they were able to provide verifiable evidence of this on arrival (not just a random doctor's note).

Anyway I'm done, you're clearly a dedicated Novak fan who will defend him to the hilt.

the visa thing is no smoking gun - hanging onto that is not convincing in the slightest

it's such a poor poor argument

I've applied for a visa for Australia on a few occasions.

And Yes I've actually applied for a visa before where I didn't have a yellow fever vaccine at the time but it was required to get into that country

I got it later and had it and the proof to show by the time that I got there - should I be shot now or at dawn tomorrow!?

As if quite a few players weren't in the same situation considering the ATP Tour vaccination rate was 65% at the start of November

Do you actually think about what you type?!

😂😂😂😂😂😂

• Registered Users Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

I wouldn't be surprised if Djokovic was probably expecting that there might be some hold up when he arrived in Australia and was quite prepared to have to fight his case in order to get in. He can afford the best legal team and they will likely find a loophole(s) to allow him to enter. I definitely wouldn't rule out the possibility of him playing in the AO.

If Djokovic does in fact win his appeal, can the Australian authorities challenge the ruling and hold up his entry to Australia or is he free to enter, if he loses his appeal is that it or has he any other option open to him. Time would be running out for him, whereas the authorities can drag it out a little.

I'd be shocked if he gets to play

The Australians look dumb enough as it is and backing down is not something they like to do

You can't be weeks off a tennis court and go into a tournament really, never mind a grand slam

I would say that his only chance is Monday - unless he would get out to be able do training etc from Monday if he got an extension/ verdict in his favour and the Australians were to appeal etc

But hard to see that happening as to be allowed to play / practice while a legal process is still ongoing he would need to "enter the country"

either wins on Monday or he's getting out of there

other players (and staff) got in ahead of him using the very same recent covid basis - it was accepted by the Federal Border Force of Australia

they had all the assurances like Djokovic did and they got in as they expected, with no "hold up"

of course they subsequently had to be "removed" for "retrospective parity" reasons!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,425 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Kyrgios chops and changes his opinions based on what will get him the most attention. If Djokovic was getting universal praise then Kyrgios would be doing the opposite.

Now he'll be rooting or him if he plays apparently 🙄

If Djokovic was getting universal praise then Kyrgios would be doing the opposite.

Not really

The media and Australian public were piling in against Djokovic last year when Djokovic had the actual temerity to speak up for other players (not him) who didn't have access to tennis courts for practice during quarantine but were then expected to go on to play tennis at a grand slam and Kyrgios called him "a tool"

So you had the ridiculous situation of players hitting the ball off the walls of their hotel room when if a bit more thought was put into it that could have been avoided

But even Kyrgios must have copped on something with all the inconsistencies that have become apparent and fake news put out by the government spinners so far

Ah jeez, we're into "fake news" territory now are we? 🙈

"Mistake made with his Visa"

"Didn't have proof of recent covid on arrival"

"May have been lying"

All released through government sources.

Straight from the deputy prime minster in one case.

What exactly would you call it if not "fake news"?

Would you prefer the term horseshit?!

"fake news" is a term that is very much established in the vernacular (outside the confines of Glenroe in any case).

"Fake news is news or stories created to deliberately misinform or deceive. Fake news is often created to influence views or for political motives."

"false or misleading content presented as news and communicated in formats spanning spoken, written, printed, electronic, and digital communication"

Oh sweet Jesus.

If a vaccination is required to enter a country, you take it, and show evidence of same upon arrival.

You can't pre-empt an exemption! You either qualify for it and apply on that basis, or you don't.

He could be barred from entering the country again if he's found to have provided false information on his visa application.

At the time of application it is made clear that you must fulfil the requirements of the visa. He didn't.

That's what you wrote.

35% of the ATP Tour weren't vaccinated at the start of November

It takes 6 weeks to be considered fully vaccinated with the most commonly available mRNA vaccines. At that stage most European countries and the USA were only using Pfizer or Moderna.

So they weren't fully vaccinated on applying for the visa - being fully vaccinated is a requirement to enter Australia, unless on a medical exemption.

They couldn't afford to wait until "fully vaccinated" to apply for their visa.

Plenty of players obviously were not fully vaccinated by the time they made their visa application

So they didn't fulfil the requirements of the visa at the time of application.

Either did Djokovic.

Should Djokovic and all these other players be shot - or what should happen to them exactly?

Trying to wriggle out of this rubbish argument of yours is bullshit!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,634 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Free Djokovic

Meanwhile, seems we might actually be able to watch the appeal on Monday morning?! Actually it'll be 11pm tomorrow night our time. Wouldn't be a bad way to round off the weekend!

Post edited by yerwanthere123 on

Over 50,000 covid cases recorded yesterday in Victoria yesterday across their highly vaccinated population (Melbourne is 5 million of the 6 million state population)

Who knows how many more cases in reality given their testing capacity is totally over-run?

Really does provide a reality-check on the situation and what is going to happen in the tournament taking place during the peak of this highly contagious wave where vaccines have very little effect on actual spread?

Doesn't augur too well for the whole thing really.

Glasso I think we'll see quite clearly whose argument is bullshit tomorrow night.

Apparently the "government letter" Novak claims he received is just the automated email response you get after filling in the travel declaration online. 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭redlad12

Daily mail 😂 the vaccines being a bit useless doesn't change the rules they had it in place regarding them. Utter thoughts of self importance is the reason why he's gotten himself in this mess. And it's gas.

Daily mail made up the government -reported case numbers did they? - hilarious point - nice one.

And Just ignore the fire when the house is on fire - that really makes a lot of sense! bravo mate.

Djokovic used the same process and reason that other players were let into Australia on - complete system cock-up on the part of the Australians.

if you're ignorant of that fact at this point then you should get up to speed.

At this point it's all such a farce the tennis is way in the back seat.

you should get onto the Australians about the all the players who broke your big rule about not being fully-vaccinated when then applied!

they will all be deported will they?

At the time of application it is made clear that you must fulfil the requirements of the visa.

What does anyone in the world get when you apply for a visa online? an automated email confirmation- like seriously!

Do you get a courier delivered registered letter or something! ffs.

Tbh I just found it funny you read the daily mail and to use it as a source is ridiculous. The point about vaccines is mute, They were the rules. Your posting every hour on this thread. Clearly a deranged Novak fan.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,909 ✭✭✭✭josip

Actually out of interest what is your thoughts on the positive test result 16th. Meeting kids indoors 17th?

no actual answers to the points - as expected.

the numbers are reported in many sources and they are government figures.

daily mail is certainly a better source than your displayed quality of bluster! (by a long shot)

I'm just enjoying the drama and fielding the rubbish here on a damp dreary day!

Fair enough on the drama and shite day point haha. What's your take on the covid positive date ? Seems he's either lying or just intentionally infecting people.

It is unclear from the court filings if December 16 is the date the PCR test was administered, or when Djokovic got his results back.

of course there are some looking to jump in straight away on the possibility of Djokovic acting irresponsibly here but it's not fully clear what was done when (or was it even a positive PCR after the infectious period - which is very common with Covid)

But surely if it was the date the test was administered that's nearly the same thing? Oh so your saying he may have gotten a pcr after his infectious period ended to gain an exemption? Seems like a reach, we will see what comes out , could end up being the bigger story.