Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Because Martin is supposed to be in charge of the country. Because he’s the reason we never opened up fully last summer. Because he’s the one that came up with the ludicrous decision to say we would open up at the end of October at the start of the flu season. Because he’s supposed to be in charge of a country that has almost everybody double vaccinated and boosted and we are STILL under ridiculous fcuking restrictions. And most importantly of all in my opinion he is the man who has given the keys to the country to an unelected fanatic who seems to be hell bent on destroying certain areas of Irish society. THATS why.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,259 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Yep agree with that let people decide for themselves

Stay inside if you don't feel safe etc

• Registered Users Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭MOR316

No St. Patrick's Day for two years in a row; Last year, at the request of NPHET/Tony Holohan, Gardai set up check points at bus stations and train stations to stop people from going outside the 5km radius.

Making you choose between having your freedom or not over a vaccine, your medical business, which last time I checked was ethically wrong. Possibly legally too but, everyone is afraid to challenge that narrative (Except the people who got caught going outside the 5km. They challenged it and it was rightfully dropped for legal reasons!)

Not allowed go to work. Been made to work from home for 2 years

No music in pubs, bars or venues. Loads of artists, performers and musicians, that the country is renowned for, put out of work and left penniless.

The pub culture, practically destroyed.

Tony Holohan taking to Twitter to pour scorn on those drinking take away drinks on South Williamt St, people who weren't causing trouble, only for the Gardai to arrive over the following days to conduct violent methods and thus attract scummy trouble makers to the area...

Tourist attractions and places of interest around the city, mostly shut down for the majority of the last two years.

The match going GAA experience completely destroyed.

A Government the people never elected running the show, but hiding behind an unelected medical civil servant, with a suspect past, thus basically **** on the idea of a "democracy" we're supposed to have in this country

I mean, would you like me to go on? It's very easy for you because you are allowed in your local pub without a vaccine or pass and you can shoot over the boarder any time you wish for gigs, sessions and meeting up with friends. Unfortunately, your whole "well I'm alright therefore the rest of you should stop complaining" mindset and approach to posting, doesn't work for people who are not in the same boat as you

• Registered Users Posts: 16,608 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Ah, dug in a bit more and it was a Robert Malone (Malone even admitted he got it wrong and withdrew the statement) interview and facebook posts 🤨

The false claim that the fully-approved Pfizer vaccine lacks liability protection - The Washington Post

@ceadaoin. stop being duped!

follow up that liability in the US doesn't change from emergency to full approval due to the existence of the PREP act:

“The liability protections afforded under the PREP Act are tied to the declared public health emergency and not whether the vaccine is sold under an EUA,” Castillo said. “Therefore, both Comirnaty and the Pfizer-BioNTech covid-19 vaccine receive the same liability protections as medical countermeasures against covid-19.”

“There are no liability or compensation differences between a countermeasure approved under an EUA or one that has received full FDA approval,” confirmed an HHS spokesperson.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Penfailed has stated before that he can go a whole week without being restricted so he doesn’t give a **** that other people are restricted.

Obviously he will now spend the next day or two denying that he said that, but he did.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭Penfailed

There were only two beaches closed that I am aware of. There may have been more closed than that. I really don't care because there were many more open than closed. I have moved on. I detest the restrictions but my culture hasn't been eradicated and my way of life hasn't been decimated. Pubs closed at 8pm? House parties and shebeens. Normality will return.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

• Registered Users Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Hey boy

And according to some if you aren’t enthusiastic about every aspect of the covid theatre (ref Lord Frost on Planet Normal podcast - which is not anti vaxx in case mods take this reference down) you are selfish.

To sum up, you think our culture revolves around pubs and drinking. How very sad.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

Oh, you as well. Go on, show me where I said that I can go a whole week without being restricted. You can't because I didn't. I do give a ****...but my culture hasn't been destroyed and my way of life hasn't been decimated.

Just to clear up for once and for all what was actually said - someone posted hyperbole stating that restrictions have effected EVERY aspect of our lives. I replied to say that they haven't effected EVERY aspect of our lives and that I could, in fact, go for days without them effecting me in any way. Sin é.

• Registered Users Posts: 722 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

What's the craic with the list of gigs on your posts?

Blatantly ignoring where I mentioned places of interest, eating out, public celebrations, tourism and music and the arts.

OK...Enjoy your next trip over the boarder for pints, where you abandon your own culture

Rub it into people's faces...

"Look at what I'm doing that you're not because I go across the boarder, unlike you lot!"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

People are afraid to visit relatives out of fear of giving them covid. Elderly are living in more isolation than before because of covid. Social gathering are nothing like before, most are gone.

Ways of life have changed massively for many

• Registered Users Posts: 18,428 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

All of those bands, singers, artists, actors, all of those creative types thrown on the bonfire for two years by the middle aged work from home crowd.

Yes I am sure we are going to have some culture alright, they will all just pick up where they left off, no bother.

Hopefully some of those children they also threw on the bonfire will be able to develop and contribute to culture in years to come. Thats if the ****** in charge ever let them live of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭walus

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

• Registered Users Posts: 5,512 ✭✭✭brickster69

MEP's press conference today. Shocking stuff what is going on

“The earth is littered with the ruins of empires that believed they were eternal.”

- Camille Paglia

• Registered Users Posts: 7,846 ✭✭✭growleaves

No he mentioned artists performers and musicians - which covers theatre, opera, pantomime, classical music recitals, comedy, street performer festivals

He mentioned sports - GAA but of course all sports are affected. Couldn't even train for a team sport during many highly-restricted periods due to isolation rules.

He mentioned tourism - need I produce a big list of tourist attractions..? No one can start or maintain a tourist business because they never know when they'll have access to customers.

Yes drinking is on the list as well, and why not there's nothing wrong with it. It encompasses a big part of the dating scene, the music scene, the tourist experience, after match drinks or meeting your friends to hang out. Wine and conversation in cocktail bars.

To maintain this nullification we have to swallow all kinds of fudged statistics, rationales for extended closures which make no sense and real economic activity (trade) is replaced with monetary stimulus which while it might not lead to economic collapse is neither harm-less nor preferable.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,194 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

It's nothing to do with Robert malone! He is just the latest person to say this. Yes technically you can get compensation from the government but this is rarely granted

“The liability protections afforded under the PREP Act are tied to the declared public health emergency and not whether the vaccine is sold under an EUA,” Castillo said. “Therefore, both Comirnaty and the Pfizer-BioNTech covid-19 vaccine receive the same liability protections as medical countermeasures against covid-19.”

So Pfizer etc aren't liable for vaccine injuries then, whether it's approved or not, as long as a public health emergency is in place(which it is)? So no need for the brand name fuckery then, they are covered either way? Thanks for clearing that up.

Post edited by ceadaoin. on

• Registered Users Posts: 24,346 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

• Registered Users Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭walus

What the last guy in this video says can possibly help people understand what those from behind the ‘iron curtain’ think about all this. Freedom is as air and water, necessary to live. Period. And those from the eastern block fought for it the hard way. They know to resist early, because if they don’t soon there will no one who will be able to resist.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

What do you mean? They're the gigs I was at last year and the ones I'll be going to this year.

I've updated that list every year for the past five or six...so, no.

Yeah, they're not eradicated. Everything is still ticking away.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,428 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

How many of them took place in Southern Ireland?

Not one. What does it matter? Am I not allowed to travel to gigs now?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

I would suggest that NPHET/Government policy right now is to ensure that the current Pandemic status is maintained for as long as can be.

The possibility of Omicron not performing up to the standard of Delta or whatever simply cannot be countenanced.

The reality of this VERY disturbing situation is being seen across Western Europe,as some of the oldest and most stable democracies in the World,vie with each other to be the most draconian in INCREASING their Covid response in inverse proportion to the actual current seriousness of Covid infections.

It is very obviously a deviant form of governance,totally off the scale of moderation.

The Pandemic threat subsided in mid 2020,if it ever really was a threat at all.

All that followed,and now remains was Socio-Political experimentation allied to a form of administrative lunacy perhaps best typified in current Australian events.

It appears that a significant number of people no longer view individual freedoms as anything of worth...at all 😲

THAT is the current Pandemic !

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭MilkyToast

Could you consider getting out of your own head for just one second and thinking about how it affects people who are not you personally, before you make sweeping judgments about how everything is grand?

Like, imagine an older couple in a rural village with no car. Maybe they don't drink that much, but they go the local pubs a few times a week, once for dinner, once for a live music show, once for a quiz. Other than that, they don't really go anywhere.

Do you see how their way of life is:

1: Completely **** valid, regardless of condescending pricks on Boards dot ie, and

2: Completely decimated by restrictions.

Like it's bad enough that you pull this **** repeatedly, but then you have the audacity to throw yourself a little pity party and pretend you're being picked on when people point out that you seem to have an inordinate amount of trouble seeing past the end of your own nose or imagining anything outside of your own experience.

“Of all tyrannies, a tyranny sincerely exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive. It would be better to live under robber barons than under omnipotent moral busybodies. The robber baron's cruelty may sometimes sleep, his cupidity may at some point be satiated; but those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end for they do so with the approval of their own conscience." ~C.S. Lewis

• Registered Users Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Maybe for you and people In your social bubble. Count yourself lucky.

You clearly can't see any viewpoint than your own.

I'll give you a rundown of just the past few months for us shall I?

Father, musician, out of work again due to 8pm closing

No Christmas concert for the kids drama/dance classes

No visiting relatives for fears of covid

No family celebrations for birthdays/anniversary /Xmas outside of household

No bingo/dancing/socialising for grandparents,basically stuck in their house outside of a daily walk where they don't talk to anyone.

No foreign travel due to the hassle of it

Masks/certs/ etc etc......

Loads more

But ya everything's grand