Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Djokovic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,519 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

When Novak Djokovic was in the Alps fighting grizzly bears, he used his magical fire breath to save the maidens fair...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,375 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

This below is a screenshot of the Serbian Ministry of Foreign Affairs website, concerning travel to the UK.

Arrangements for Britain are not that much different to Australia. Pre-approved Visa, 10 day isolation on arrival if unvaccinated etc.

Having dirtied his bib in Australia, don't be too shocked if other Countries determine Djokovic not to be a fit and proper person for entry - don't forget his Passport is going to have a big red deportation from Australia stamped in it, not something any Border Force can or will ignore.

Potentially only the US open for him. Gas how he's potentially ruined his own legacy. Known the world over as an anti-vaxxer. It'll be the main part of his Wikipedia page some day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,375 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

It will feature highly for sure.

Overall it will probably calm down into some perspective next to his phenomenal win record, but he'll never play in Australia again, unless he tries to return aged 38 and the crowds will give him massive grief everywhere that isn't Serbia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,469 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Jesus his lawyer is hard listening.

He cannot go 2 sentences in a row without referencing another separate point and jumping back and forth. That can come across brilliantly if delivered correctly but this fella is shocking to the point that the judges are likely looking at him thinking is he going to actually form an argument or try to bore them into submission.

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭someyoke

But if thing moves from pandemic to endemic surely requirement for vax passes will be scrapped?

you’re talking about Djokovic’s lawyer? Yes, he’s just technical arguments and obfuscation. Not the hallmarks of a strong case

the state’s lawyer before lunch I thought was very good. Clear and methodical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,270 ✭✭✭jj880

Sounds like its gona take a miracle to keep Djokovic in Australia. No Border Force clowns involved to squeeze a technicality out of this time.

Maybe Novak's lawyer should demand the judge produce their vaccination status before the court gives its ruling 😆.

I can hear it now slowly "Novax Jokeovic" followed by clapping and the umpire telling crowd to quieten down in case he decides to attack another line judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

And he's gone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,483 ✭✭✭✭blade1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭kerry_man15

Appalling decision. Booted out just because he has chosen not to get vaccinated. He was no threat to the public health nor was he stirring up anti-vaccine sentiment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Allinall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

Delighted. Absolutely the right decision. He should never have been let into the country given his views and actions. "Slam " the door behind him on the way out. Come on nadal.

From what I’ve read, he wasn’t booted out because he is unvaccinated, he was booted out because he was less than truthful on his visa application and he proved himself to be unwilling to abide by Covid restrictions in his own country prior to travel when meeting people, unmasked, the day after he tested positive for Covid.

He thumbed his nose at the authorities in Serbia and Australia, so his arrogance and stupidity got him booted out, not his vax status.

Today's hearing wasn't about his visa being valid.

On Friday, Alex Hawke made the call to deport Djokovic from Australia “on health and good order grounds, on the basis that it was in the public interest to do so”. The Minster used his personal power to overturn a decision in the Federal Circuit Court on Monday that allowed the tennis star to remain in the country.

Djokovic was taken back to a detention hotel on Saturday after Mr Hawke said the tennis star’s opposition to getting the jab “may foster anti-vaccination sentiment” and cause “civil unrest”.

Not only could Djokovic encourage people to flout health rules, Hawke said, but his presence could lead to “civil unrest”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,111 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Picture a world where you want to enter Australia and you lie on your visa application. Then lie to the official in front of you.

Do you believe that you personally would have even made it as far as a judge?

Having been to Australia and dealth with the officials personally I can tell you that you wouldn't have left the airport and would be on the next plane home.

Yet you want some multi millionaire to be treated differently to you.

Why? Do you not value yourself at all? Are you happy to doff your cap to your betters.... Why are you out shilling for people you'll never meet, whom have zero interest in your life and would probably brush past you.

Pretty sums it up, once those pictures of him out in public after testing positive hit the internet, there was no going back. The guy marches to the beat of his own drum, which is fine, but the Australians have had the most stringent lock downs in the world and they don’t seem to like people who think they are more important and deserve special treatment not afforded to others. ND has been there often enough to know that.

Their game, their rules.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

Australia, the former prison colony has certainly lived up to its name during Covid, what I still find amazing is the mass psychosis of its people. ‘We didn’t get to see our relatives as they died, we got locked into our state, we have to get the vaccine to participate in society so therefore Djokovic must leave as he’s making us question all of this’.

I'm just pointing out that Djokovic participating in a tennis tournament is not a threat to public order. He's there to play tennis and win a tournament, not to stir up anti-vaccination sentiment and cause civil unrest. He was deported because his vaccine views don't align with the governments.

Think about how crazy the situation is...the world number one tennis player, who is supremely fit and healthy, is not allowed to take part in the tournament just because he has chosen not to take a vaccine. He's no more of a risk of spreading Covid than any other person there. People should be free to choose whether they want to be vaccinated and not be punished if they choose not to.

Ya they certainly seemed to have to put up with far more than most if not all countries. But it’s the people/electorate who seem to have driven the backlash so politicians have to listen to the voters.

"mass psychosis"

Joe Rogan quackery

Yes, have a look at Western Australia, they have been locked in for the past 2 years and everyone else is locked out of there. This will continue for the foreseeable future, I highly doubt McGowan will open in a few weeks as he had planned to. He's even banned unvaccinated people from doing pretty much everything such as...

• Visitors to public and private hospitals, and residential aged care facilities
    • All hospitality and food and licensed venues including restaurants, dine-in fast food, cafes, bars, pubs, clubs, taverns
    • Bottle shops
    • Indoor entertainment venues, including play centres, gaming and gambling, theatres, concert halls, museums, cinemas and live music venues
    • Nightclubs
    • Crown Perth complex
    • Major stadiums
    • Gyms, fitness studios and centres
    • Amusement Parks and the zoo
    • Music festivals and large events with more than 500 people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,159 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

People are free to choose not to be vaccinated.

Adults should know that actions/choices have consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,323 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Of course it is a threat to public order. There was an antivax protest outside the AO venue, there was also quite a bit of violent trouble outside the hotel he was being held in.

You are also conveniently skating over the fact he lied on his form, didn't follow the rules when covid positive in his own country (and possibly Spain), oh and organised a super spreader tennis tournament.

On a side note his looper family also did him zero favours with their nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I don't think just yet. A few months is a long time during this whole Covid-19 pandemic

IF omicron was to be the final strain, potentially that will be the case, as I think the WHO themselves stated long-term boosters isn't viable- although im not sure why as the flu shot is an ongoing program, and having just finished recovering from Omricon it's not something I would like again anytime soon and will continue to take what is on offer with vaccinations.

The fear is another strain more like delta will emerge

It's hardly "freedom of choice" if there are consequences such as losing your job, not having the freedom to do basic things like go to a cafe or basically not be able to partake in society. Why the need for consequences if you choose not to be vaccinated? Both the vaccinated and un-vaccinated are catching and spreading the virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,710 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Well, the begrudgers won. They got to see a very successful and talented and famous and wealthy person fall/fail

all on the omission on a visa.

of course, people will try pretend it’s all to do with health and safety….

heslth and safety to protect us from someone who was going to be zero threat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,798 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Yet somehow a massive disproportion of those in hospital and ICU are unvaccinated?

Of course it's freedom of choice. Every choice and decision you make has implications.

That's what choices are.....weighing up pros and cons etc

In relation to this case. They guy appears to want to be above everyone else. Whatever about his Vax status. His attitude has been shocking buy not surprising.

Have zero sympathy for the multimillionaire.

There have been anti-vax protests all over the country for the past 12 months or more, which have been much bigger than anything seen outside the AO venue or hotel. Is Djokovic to blame for these aswell? 🤣

• Registered Users Posts: 3,843 ✭✭✭Panrich

As the unvaccinated are over represented in availing of hospital care, there is a public health cost and concern associated with that. As such, the governments around the world would prefer people to be vaccinated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,580 ✭✭✭swampgas

Oh boo hoo. It's all entirely his own fault. Almost every other tennis player has agreed to be vaccinated, and got into Australia without problems.

Personally I'm delighted, the rich and famous breaking the rules should face the same consequences as the rest of us.

It's more coercion than freedom of choice if you are threatened with losing your job and not being able to part-take in normal society if you refuse to be vaccinated. Many have reluctantly taken it just to keep their jobs. Some have lost their jobs for choosing not to get vaccinated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Australian politics at its finest as it has been throughout this. He certainly brought a lot of it on himself but it could have been headed off well in advance by clearer chains of command and rules. Nobody really wins.

Welcome to a fair and just society where everyone, despite their social and financial status, is held to the same standards. We could do with more of it to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Why don’t they just move the tournament to New Zealand and let him defend his rightful title??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Allinall

No, but if he wants to come here he will have to comply with entry requirements, same as Australia.

This is all Djokovic’s fault. No one else’s

Of course, choices and decisions have implications. Make a choice and accept the implications.

I note you've chosen to ignore the disproportionate effect the unvaxed are having on hospitals.

I forgot. This is the other angle begrudgers will trot out.

not relevant here at all.

It is a choice that he made all by himself. His choice meant he couldn't enter the country.

Its certainly a dark day for those who wanted stricter immigration but with no immigration at all for celebs.

Its great to see law applying equally to everyone.

Its entirely relevant. Its why hes been fùcked out.

Because he went through every Avenue and won his case. He fought for his right to play. He didn’t just buy it.

the minister acting at the last minute was way OTT and nothing but politics.

Hardly a fair choice if one option has lots of punitive measures (such as being a social outcast and unable to work) and the other doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

All the Nadal and Federer fans rejoice because the only way of their man having any chance of statistically becoming the GOAT is if Novak gets ousted by every grand slam organiser for the next 5 years.

The tennis community is hilarious. The most hated man will end up being the GOAT which will drive them all insane clinging to the only thing they have left which will be “well he doesn’t play the nicest tennis” etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

For me Djokovic is far more likeabke than Nadal. Federer is my favorite of the 3 but can’t stand Nadal.

But he lied/provided a falsehoods in his declarations while travelling through those Avenues. He won a case, to stay, not to play in Court.

Are you surprised that politicians actions are based on political considerations? You have to bear in mind that there was considerable opposition from the Australian public to ND entering the country. It would be naive to think politicians are not sensitive to the rumblings of their electorate.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭weisses

You wanna bet he bought his doctor's cert stating he had covid at the most convenient time possible in order to gain access into Australia ?