Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Do men need a license to be allowed socialise (MOD NOTE IN OP)

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭SamStonesArm

Tis a bit mad how all is men are lumped in with rapists and murderers , we would get some hate if we said that all women cause suicide because lots of them don't leave the father's see their kids tis not all women it's just always women . Fook off with this blame everyone shite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Saladin Ane

Especially with misandrists and radical feminists!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,895 ✭✭✭standardg60

Yet you felt it was appropriate to post that victims should have some responsibility for their actions in a thread which was started in relation to said event.

Not the time or the place for any right minded person imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,942 ✭✭✭growleaves

Posters asking if the gov are now going to overhaul the justice system .. did you just move to Ireland this week or something?

The media and gov have already indicated that they think average man is the problem, so patronising message campaigns and nuisance legislation aimed at men it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭straight

All this talk of zero tolerance on male violence against women. What about violence against men. I personally don't know any woman that got attacked but I know several of my male friends that got a beating on nights out. I've been attacked several times myself but luckily I always managed to diffuse the situation. I hardly wanted to leave the house today with all the hatred towards men I was hearing. Ended up going out in town for the day and although I was sheepish at first I ended up having good craic with a few men/women around town. Restored some confidence in me and I think I'll be avoiding alot of the social media and coverage on the matter for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,714 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Yes, me.

You would not accept that not all women view a wolf whistle as intimidating, threatening, nasty.

I also stand by my view that women (not all) know well that most men who have done this are not trying to terrify them

conflating innocuous/innocent banter between sexes (and women do it, too) with real issues like predators, stalkers and killers…

this is the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

In my view one of the major issues which nobody talks enough about in these debates is collectivism vs individualism. Feminists and other activist movements in the 'identity politics' arena view the world through a collectivist lens; whereas most people, male or female, view the world largely through an individualist lens. This, more than anything, is what causes such unimaginably bitter and toxic conflicts when these debates come up, largely because neither side has ever considered that the other has an entirely different way of interpreting the world around them and human civilisation generally.

When it comes to collectivism, feminists and other "woke" movements see the world in terms of groups. You are in X group, and if another member of X group says this or experiences that, by extension so do you. If a member of X group, or if X group itself, is ridiculed or made fun of by someone, that person is by extension making fun of you and every other member of that group. Etc etc etc etc.

Because of this worldview, they fire back in the same terms. If *a* man does something bad? *Men*, as a *group*, are responsible for him. He's on their "team" and he's "one of them" so all of them have some "connection" to him, because they're men. If something bad is done to a women? Same issue. She's not some random stranger, she's one of *us*. And *we* have to defend another *member* of our *tribe*.

So, so, so much of this ongoing gender war bullsh!t from the 2010s has its root in this very simply discrepancy between how the two groups see the world.

If some random stranger I've never met is killed in a fight, they're killed in a fight. I don't particularly care because I don't know them - not a family member, not a close friend, etc. It provokes a negative reaction in the general "crime sucks and we're too lenient on it" kind of way, but nothing more or less personal than that, because there is a very narrow subset of humans I actually directly care about and/or empathise with, and what we have in common isn't a chromosome or a set of genitalia, it's actual direct personal experience of eachother.

Conversely, if a stranger I've never met does something bad and I hear about it, my gut instinct will be "he sucks, f*ck him" - but nothing further, because I don't know him. He has nothing to do with me, he's not in my life, not even an "extra" in my story, he's a nobody to me because I just don't know him. And therefore I couldn't give a bollocks.

Feminists and other identity-based activist movements, however, just don't see the world like this. If one woman is insulted, objectified, assaulted, murdered etc, they don't see it as an individual thing the way the rest of us do - they see it as a "we are ALL X" thing, because literally everything in life is filtered through an identity-based lens of which *group* one belongs to. That's why there is such an overwhelming push by them to regard individual incidents of everything from disrespect and crass joking to violence and murder, as a group v group thing. Because they are absolutely incapable of understanding that some people in the world see every man or woman as an island, and simply do not subscribe in any way to collectivist beliefs.

I do not believe that men or women are groups. Every individual human being is an individual, and once someone is outside my own personal social circle, their behaviour is not my responsibility and their problems are not my problems. That's why I, and I suspect other men who have the same reaction this week to being called out on this, don't regard it as our problem - I'm not out there being violent or murdering anyone, male or female, and that very specifically is where my involvement in this ends. I don't care about strangers, or their bad behaviour or bad things that happen to them, because they're strangers and they're outside my sphere of influence and/or empathy. I don't know them, I have no connection to them, I just don't have the time or energy to give them a second thought.

That doesn't mean I defend or condone other people doing bad things - of course it doesn't. But this idea that you're obliged to be personally "wired in" to the life experiences and trials and tribulations of everyone you read about in the news is bizarre. Nobody in the world has the emotional or psychological capacity to care that much about that many strangers at all times.

So no, I don't believe this is my problem to fix. I don't allow toxic people, male or female, to be characters in my life. I cut them out. And if some random stranger does something sh!t, that's why he's a stranger. His bullsh!t is nothing to do with me and I strenuously object to being told I have to care just because I, like him, happen to have been born with a d!ck.

• Registered Users Posts: 515 ✭✭✭TheTruth89

Do people still wolf whistle? i don't think ive ever in my life seen someone "wolf whistle" at someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,953 ✭✭✭SouthWesterly

There really is only one solution to all this perceived male threat

We all identify as women and then they we'll all be safe..

Not sure. Never encountered it. But it has happened.

anyway, point being that vast majority time it’s innocent male banter with no malice whatsoever, and I think most women know this.

hatrickpatrick,

I think you're wrong because - as some posters have already pointed out - political liberals will rotate between collectivism and individualism depending on whether or not "white males" are implicated, and to protect their ideology depending who *is* implicated.

So collectivism isn't the bottom line for these activists.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Do men on first or second dates offer to walk a woman home or do they let her walk a lonely old road back home alone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Excellent post, lets see what you can do Helen. Or, anyone in "power" who has a say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,026 ✭✭✭✭anewme

No Walshb, the conversation was not about all women, you are still not listening to what I was saying then and are not listening now either. I referred to street harassment such as whistling, comments as outlined EXACTLY by Labre34 above.

The majority of women DO NOT want this behaviour. What do you think the media has been reporting on for the past week.

What you actually said was:

(1) I was trying to kill interaction between men and women

(2) That it is banter and just something that males do from time to time.

(3) That you would be fooking chuffed

Vast majority men who have wolf whistled are likely decent and ordinary men. It’s male banter. Women have their own female banter. How do people propose we drive this banter out of society?

we’re getting far too caught up in the small stuff here that males do from time to time.

Still you are here, defending it as innocent banter, when the feedback on the thread and in the media is that its not acceptable.

It has been described numerous times over the past few days as an issue for women. Yet, low and Behold, here you are denying it as an issue for women and you are still condoning it.

So, maybe you are the one being divisive.

I put it to you that if it is something that males do from time to time, that the minority of males that do it, stop it immediately.

So maybe re-read Labre's post and take heed.

I've seen female guards wolf-whistled at in the centre of Dublin.

I mean, there was no need for a comment on the mas turbating man was there? Everyone universally knows it's a disgusting thing to do.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Niamh on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

This may be partly true (although the commentary earlier this week when the wrong guy was implicated as a Romanian national, and the #KillAllMen crowd were like "it's not where he's from, it's that he's a man" would seem to disagree here) but I think it still stands from the other end - these particular activists see women as a monolithic group in which something which offends or wrongs one of them is somehow by extension an attack on all of them. That is at the root of so, so, so many of the viral outrage movements that have emerged in the last ten years or so - something bad done to or said about a specific woman, is something bad done to or said about "women". It can't be just that individual at that particular moment, because apparently nobody is allowed to exist without the lens of collectivism anymore. Likewise, therefore, if a man does or says something bad to a woman, not only is that bad thing being done or said to women, not just a woman, it's also being done or said by men, not just a man. Because god forbid we all be allowed to exist in this world as individuals without giving a flying f*ck about which group we belong to and which groups we do not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

I hear it too at bingo when two fat ladies 88 is called :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I've only read the first couple of pages, but I'd imagine the rest are basically the same comments but in different words. Klaz summed up my feelings better than I ever could. It's obvious there's a "men are to blame" angle. There are currently more women in Ireland than men, for the first time ever I believe. Aside from sexual offences, and I hope I don't need to explain why women are the main victims there, the rest of the "violent" offences (which includes threats) are male victims. I saw an article once, "1/3 of assault victims are female". So, 2/3rds are male then, twice the amount.

Looking at the violent crime stats from 2019, men were ~80% of homicide victims, ~20% sexual assault victims, and ~60% for all other assault offences. Further down, yeah, plainly obvious that most perpetrators are male. So there's a lot more male on male violence. It's because the highjacking is making out women to be the victims in general by all males.

But it's not all males who are perpetrators, and this is what is being pushed now, that it is all males. I stopped to help change a tyre a few hours ago. Driving along, in Limerick city (technically, busy enough road between the 2 roundabouts at the "Crescent" exit of the motorway. I was coming along and saw the car pulled in, flashers on, had to slow to overtake due to oncoming traffic. Saw a girl by herself in the car. I wasn't going to, but I went back and asked if she needed a jump, she said flat tyre, I offered to change it and she gladly accepted. The whole time I was doing it, I wanted to say something to let her know I wasn't "one of them", but how do you say something like that without someone immediately thinking that's exactly what "one of them" would say... I didn't. I kept my distance, ensured she saw me clearly, nearly told her to take a pic of my reg if she wanted to... I'd love to know what she was thinking, because I wasn't exactly dressed for outdoors (was only giving someone a lift beforehand) so I probably looked a bit rough, with a messy beard because I didn't intend on outdoors today.

It's not the first time I've done something like this, but it's the first time I felt uncomfortable doing it. I know I'm only doing something good, with no ill intentions in the slightest, but I still felt uncomfortable, but for her. It's weird. I don't like it. And there's nothing I can do about it, to fix it or anything.

Well, if you’re speaking for all women here, then I concede on my point.

my own opinion is that not all women are too bothered with it, the way you are painting it.

I never said I agree with wolf whistling. It’s just something that men have done. I would not castigate them for it.

Whistling still happens, but it would be more comments now and shouting out from cars etc. The smile, it never happens etc is still fairly common.

There is a video made (cant find it unfortunately) showing a woman out jogging and running (pardon the pun) into these type of scenarios.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

this idea that laughing at tasteless jokes is an indicator of a future Larry Murphy in our midst is hysterical

apparently all sort of locker room talk is to be " called out "

personally id tell any smug t0sser who lectured me about " misogyny " to take a hike but I suspect some men would give a guy a thump were they to engage in that kind of word policing

Oh i dont doubt it has happened and most likely will again but i just dont think it happens frequent enough to be the staple of an argument.

Exactly. I can’t see it as being in any way some issue, serious issue. It’s childish and juvenile, but that’s men/boys. It’s pure innocent pretty much all the time. Nobody is trying to hurt anybody with it.

yes, women will disagree and say they are offended by it. And other women will not at all be offended.

what are ya gonna do?!

You must have been on Mars for the past week.

The media is awash with women saying they want to go about their business in peace without being hassled and that this behaviour is not acceptable.

Maybe this is what people are talking about when people are saying men need to step up.

They should be castigated for it.

I dont agree with the guy who said men need a social licence (unhelpful)(, but if you think that its ok for men to harass women in the street, then there clearly is education needed.

@Potential-Monke 'There are currently more women in Ireland than men, for the first time ever I believe'

In 1918, or after any major war, there would have been more women unless I'm missing something.

Ok, you think males should be castigated for a wolf whistle. I think that’s an OTT reaction. We disagree here. No big deal.

Now, hassling women in the street is not laughing at a tasteless joke, unless you see passing comments at random women as funny?

Its been commented on in every aspect of the media over the past week.

Here's one example from RTE.

The problem is, its happening to frequent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

a lot more than harassing women in public has been deemed as a pathway to dangerous behaviour this past week , apparently all forms of tacky jokes are now to be knocked on the head once heard

You are going to stop it, that's what you are going to do.

This boys will be boys mentality is what women have been speaking out about.

You still refuse to listen.

Well, it really depends on what the tacky jokes are and in what context they are used.

Im sure the man playing his flute at the vigil just thought it was a joke.

It's always been know your audience with jokes, so that is really not anything new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭eggy81

It’s getting there though. Not that it bothers me I hate interacting with randomers and “characters”

I hate to burst your bubble but nothing is going to stop or change, the reality is you will always have they nutters and this poor girl that was murdered will most certainly not be the last. Thats the sad reality of it.

No matter how much you want to make men the problem, they arent and to do so seems to me from a place of blind anger.

Ok, so you are advocating a wolf whistle to be a crime, that gardai then need to investigate?

unless you have another way to stop it?

I think she is talking about using social pressure to make it taboo but of course she can correct me if this isn't the case.

Can't read the whole thread 🙄

The reaction to Aishlings murder is striking in many ways!! Good and bad.

People related to it because it was such a shock but also the real fear that women DO face and I'm not exaggerating... every day. And I'm sorry if you can't relate to that or think 'well I feel that way every day too'...well If you genuinely do then find a better way to express it rather than dismiss other people/women who are expressing the exact same thing.

The majority of Women don't hate men. They love and admire them until they are pushed into too many situations where that is just not an option anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,559 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

This is a pretty ridiculous idea. Does anyone have a link to what he actually said?

I think there has been a pretty high reaction to the tragic murder. It seems appropriate and proportionate to a rare and terrible event. It's not something that happens regularly and is endemic to Ireland. It's not seen as acceptable or anything other than a tragedy.

There isn't any kind of huge problem with men murdering women at random. There was a terrible murder by a man. That's it.

There's no serious call for any of this. Its just a man expressing a fairly far out opinion at a time of heightened emotion. Pure 3am stuff

Stop saying wolf whistle.

I referred to whistling and commenting on women EXACTLY as Labre34 outlined above. So stop trying to downplay what is harassment.

I can see street harassment designated a crime, Helen McEntee is clearly going to have to act with this new proposal she is putting together.

Time will tell on this one I think.

Thats a very generalized hallow argument that falls flat when you loook abit closer its a great "buzz" response that will get others to agree with you but its simply not true, the lad thats wolf whistling or the boys being boys mentality are not even remotely related to going out and murdering someone to try and link the two is just nonsense.

I’d argue it’s already probably taboo.

And I am sure males who did it have likely matured and grown out of this way.

I got hospitalised from an assault in Cork City 4 years ago. Culprits caught on CCTV and known to the guards. 4 years and no arrests made. Guards initially told me they were all looking at mandatory sentences. So I imagine if guards can't be bothered to arrest people for assault, the wolf whistlers will be safe.

Wolf-whistling is bad/cringe. I'd call my mates out on such behaviour.

The media will comment on anything that is current and usually have an agenda of their own, to have as many listeners as possible

ok, are you advocating for a whistle in the direction of women to be deemed a crime?

you seem to be changing goal posts.

harassment is a broad area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,895 ✭✭✭standardg60

I was in a country town night club one night and got chatting to a local girl. In the middle of it a guy just walked up and made a grab for her breast, i literally had to grab his hand to stop him. I asked her about it and she said it was just a normal experience for her on a night out. I was frankly astounded, i've never seen such behaviour before.

It was a few years ago but if this is the sort of thing that still goes on then i can certainly understand the current outcry. It certainly never happened within my friend's circles.

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭SamStonesArm

Few months ago there was the twitter feminists banging on about a man holding a door open for a woman is sexist because they are saying that women are weak and can't do stuff for themselves, now they're saying , if anyone says something to me will you please stick up for me and possibly get a slap in the chops for it because I'm a delicate flower.

Now, the ads are over so I'm going to leave ye fight away 🤣

Just as I predicted, the legislation will have nothing to do with protecting women from violent men.

Making street harassment illegal will probably make women *feel* safer, but it won't make them safer.