Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Do men need a license to be allowed socialise (MOD NOTE IN OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,026 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Seriously, are you for real?

People have spoken out about it in the past week, thousands of them, hundreds of thousands of them.

Street harassment is huge issue is an issue for women daily.

You seem to think that once women are not murdered, then its ok to harass them a little bit. It's not.

Boys will be boys? Excuses, excuses.

i also heard someone say you should not open a door for someone in a wheelchair unless they asked

No, it is you who are changing goal posts and being deliberately obtuse.

Street Harassment is exactly what Labre34 outlined above. I suggest you read that post. Slowly, so it sinks in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,714 ✭✭✭✭walshb

You again changing the goal posts.

you are being disingenuous here

I never defended harassment. Harassment is a broad area.

I only ever specifically discussed wolf whistling.

so, do you want this listed as a crime? Added into the crime of harassment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,608 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Of course you would use discretion but in general a friendly salute is usually ok.

how would they prove who the whistle was aimed at

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭SamStonesArm

Wouldn't be surprised nowadays.

I'm lucky I'm a fecking hermit , so many rules needed for going outside haha.

• Registered Users Posts: 515 ✭✭✭TheTruth89

So women's plan is to put there faith in men "changing" to help them feel more safe? if your constantly in a state of "is this guy going to kill me" then of course your going to go around your daily life in a state of fear and paranoia and because of that then perceive any sort of male behavior as threatening its like a self fulfilling prophecy.

Why don't women campaign for self defense or the right to carry pepper spray or something and take an active role in there own protection if they feel so threatened on a daily basis by men.

Realistically what happened here is an innocent woman was murdered by a lunatic....she was probably picked because he knew she was a defenseless easy target, now you have people projecting wolf whistling and male nonsense behavior into the same bracket or as precursor to murder. its just nonsense.

Go back and read my first post on the thread yesterday. It is very clear. Whistling, commenting, which is exactly what street harassment is and clearly described from the thread yesterday and from Labre's post on this thread. You cant isolate bits of it and say, well, that bit is harmless, but this bit isnt. I think you described it all as "banter".

Its harassment, all of it. Whether you acknowledge it or not is up to you Walshb.

Now, I don't really think there's anything else to say on it, the posts here are clear enough and people can come to their own conclusion.

That’s fair enough.

look, I don’t want to get into a back and forth petty argument. Ultimately, we all should be on the same team.

To advocate safety for all of us. There’s just so many areas and views and situations to consider, that we’re bound to bang heads from time to time. I understand you are coming from a side of concern. As am I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,942 ✭✭✭growleaves

Ultimately the government are turning themselves into a giant HR Department for the ordinary person, but they won't give out tough prison sentences to violent criminals - now or ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

The whole "it's a mans problem" doesn't make sense to me. Take Graham Dwyer for example. Even a man was responsible for another mans actions, how would anyone have been able to change him? He's a nut job.

After confiding in McShea about his stabbing fetish three years into their relationship, Dwyer began to bring a kitchen knife to bed and pretended to stab her during sex, though never did.

The relationship ended because McShea was so concerned at Dwyer’s behaviour and bad temper that she moved back to Donegal with her son. She is now married and works as an environmental health inspector.

Sources familiar with his life when at college said there was no indication of his interest in BDSM or his stabbing fetish. “He was fairly charming and he was popular; he could turn it on,” said one source.

Men do protect women. Every day of the week.

hey, I’ll probably have the feminists on me for this, but it’s our role to.

It’s part of our DNA and evolution..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭amacca

The problem with this afaic is twofold

If you are saying the small percentage of men that would hassle women (and indeed other men, the kind of cretins I would view through the collective lens of belonging to social grouping "scumbag") in public need to step up then I agree ....but and this is the rub, they ain't going to or at least it's unlikely in the vast majority of cases so they should be encouraged by visible policing, timely and proportinate consequences imo etc...something that does not seem to be on the menu for discussion.

If you mean other men should step up and police them ( and that seems to be the particular flavour du jour Im getting) then that's moronic and disappointing that....that is the level of public discourse from commentators, they should know better imo)....its unintelligent, won't move towards solving any problem and passing the buck but hey maybe it plays well and is conducive to more airtime....in any event I feel I'm not associated or responsible for these pricks and if I did try to police them its highly likely I'd have a big dental bill at minimum...so men need to step up fails on any level I think it could be intended ....to my mind at least.

That to me is the problem with the "men need to step up here" tosspottery...

They don't, they shouldn't, it wouldn't work, law and order needs to step up....I don't doubt women go around feeling intimidated in certain public places and have to factor safety into a trip outside, I do too but I don't think the problem is down to the local 5 a side whatsapp groups culture of toxic masculinity.........I think it could be down in part to the culture of turning a blind eye to thugs and scumbags being thugs and scumbags in an uninhibited....for whatever reason and it might be worth considering that too.

I'm not part of a group of leering, intimidating men looking for opportunities for intimidating the opposite sex as a I walk about and I don't appreciate being lumped into such a group....and I do feel the commentary I've heard this week seems to suggest this and isn't even remotely likely to change anything ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Once again the problem is one of different people trying to apply their own individual experience to the world as a whole.

Some people don't want to interact with random strangers when they're out in public, others absolutely crave such interaction. Both things can be true at the same time without either side being right or wrong, but it's impossible to talk about this with such nuance at the moment.

For the craic, during quarantine, I grew a great big bushy beard. Just because there was f*ck all else to do (and I lost a bet, in fairness, in which I foolishly agreed not to shave it until the nightclubs reopened - which was at the time supposed to be five weeks!) 

Now, I got a lot of comments from random strangers about this as I wandered around my local town. I was described, by strangers often yelling from across the road, as looking like everyone from Jesus to Mick Foley (I still don't get the latter or see any resemblance but this was a more or less daily occurrence at one stage). Now me, personally? I'm an extraordinarily extroverted person and the era of social distance and not being able to mingle with strangers in nightclubs etc was abject hell for me - I'm talking, mental health crisis, suicidal ideation level hell. So these random comments from random strangers were something of a lifeblood during quarantine - any interaction at all with someone I didn't know was a gigantic compliment and something which put a smile on my face for the rest of the day.

Now, I totally understand that others don't see things this way, introverted people in particular. They'd rather go about their day without interacting at all with strangers around them, and certainly without those strangers passing comment - even if those comments are positive. Personally I can't empathise - I can't even begin to imagine feeling that way, the more strangers who say hello to me or interact with me as I go about my day, the better - but I can sympathise because people are capable of saying, with words, that they don't want this.

The issue arises when both sides either refuse to or are somehow genuinely unable to sympathise. In this debate, the lads defending it cannot seem to wrap their heads around the introverted perspective in which random comments from random strangers aren't an immediate and automatic day-brightening moment which makes one's day that bit less dull and boring than it was a minute before. Equally, however, those who condemn it are also either refusing to or unable to understand and accept that to some people, yes, it genuinely *is* unfathomable that a random compliment from a random stranger could be literally anything other than a moment in which the world was a little brighter and more colourful than it was a moment ago, when you were walking alone and nobody was talking to you.

Until people can diplomatically discuss these fundamental differences in different types of people (FWIW, I'm an ENFP personality type and I'd hazard a guess that others who adore, rather than detest, random verbal interactions with total strangers probably share the E and the P on that scale as opposed to those with an I or J, respectively) this kind of conversation will always, always, always descend into an angry shouting match. Yes, those who perceive random approaches from strangers in public as "harassment" are valid in their feelings and have some right to go about their day without any such interactions - but equally, those for whom the world would be a bleak and boring place without being verbally approached by strangers shouldn't have to face the prospect of living in a world in which they know they'll never be approached in such a manner again because the introverted crowd have made it illegal.

There has to be some kind of middle ground. The extremism constantly on display from both sides of this debate doesn't achieve anything, and never will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,174 ✭✭✭screamer

Not all men are violent. Most are not. Everyone male and female has the potential to be violent. Put in a corner, and in a kill or be killed situation, we all have it in us. Humans are the apex predator and we didn’t get there through being nice and peace loving. Thankfully the majority of us though, are. This male violence against women just waters it down, we are too accepting of violence full stop. The legal system needs a good overhaul. Self defence classes etc should be taught to everyone.

This murder is an outrage. For years people have felt you’re safe in the light. This murder has taken away that sense of safety and shows us we can trust no one. People are angry, people are scared and shocked, people are sad. The whole system needs a rethink and violent criminals need the harshest punishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,012 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Thing is it still shouldn't be accepted. Its not a Twitter commentator, it's someone on national radio saying it, and if he said it about any other group who are stereotyped for something, he'd have been destroyed. It shouldn't be acceptable to say something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,895 ✭✭✭standardg60

So you'd be glad to call out wolf whistling or inappropriate comments as part of that then?

Who's to say that one individual witnessing such behaviour would gain the necessary gumption to go out and commit a rape or murder having harboured those thoughts in secret up to then?

Yep. Justice system absolutely needs looking at.

this killing has repulsed me, but so have many others. And now people seem to be all awake and active and ready to fight?

only last week I am hearing Joe O’Reilly planning to go for a more free/open prison, and then hopefully release. This monster battered a young woman to death, and I actually think by 2030 he will be free. There is something sick with any society that allows this.

So you think wolf whistling or a comment would inspire someone to rape?

There definitely needs to be more extreme punishments for more extreme crimes, our justice system is a joke its very lenient sickeningly so in some cases.

The prisons need to be harsher aswell... some of em are boarding on holiday camps with the "luxuries" afforded to some prisoners it should be hard earned thru good consistent behavior and accessible to people that have committed lesser crimes.

Some people should be just deemed beyond reform and treated accordingly.

Call out wolf whistling?

ok: the scenario..my better half gets wolf whistled. I know she would not be afraid or offended. So, what do I do?

1. challenge the person
    2. don’t challenge the person

option 1 could lead to hostility, or worse

I know for a fact that my wife would plead with me to ignore…

so, there you go.

inappropriate comments? This would need examples. Quite subjective.

What are you on about women's 'plan is to put their faith in men changing'

....where did I say that?

I said that... I AM and I think women are put in certain scenarios practically every day and if men feel they are too put in them scenarios then they should find another way to express it rather than 'oh yeah well I feel unsafe too so what are women on about' ...well if you do feel uncomfortable/unsafe then voice it but not in some competition...it's not a **** competition.

Fwiw, When I mention I'm intimidated at times in public, I'm not doing it in a competitive way

The point isn't I'm being intimidated too so what are women on about...my point would be suggesting all men are responsible and need to step up is moronic and maybe dealing with antisocial/public order type offences in a way other than blaming anyone with a penis would be a more a useful response ...if the goal is to make public spaces safer that is.

No one said it was a competition i was replying in the context of the tread as a whole and points made previous to yours.

Can you give an example of these scenarios in which you are put in every day that make you feel threatened ? Thats a pretty grim if true that you feel seriously threatened so often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,766 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Fair enough.

Most of the men I know are aged 25-55, and most are "not rough", so I have limited experience of what you describe. None of them would "catcall" anybody.

I fear that all these calls for improved male behaviour may fall on deaf ears? The men doing these behaviours are the ones least likely to change?

I wouldn't want to give the examples because from what I've experienced I feel you'd get a kick out of it.

Thats an honest answer and that's not judging you in particular. That's what i have I've learned and how to to deal with it. Smile and nod and be compliant is your best bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,766 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Overhaul the justice system?

Eamon Lynch was out and about with 500+ convictions. The justice system allowed that.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/man-worst-criminal-record-ireland-9699536

Even worse, the justice system, and his solicitor, allowed him to sue the parents of the young man killed in the car crash that he was responsible for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,895 ✭✭✭standardg60

Do you always base your beliefs on scenarios?

I'm sure there was a case a few years ago where a woman was opportunistically killed by a roadworker?

I'll try to find it

I’m not following you. You asked if I’d call out wolf whistling. And would I call out inappropriate comments…I answered you.

as for the opportunistic killer….ok.

I wouldn't get a kick out of anyone going around in a state of fear or being put in threatening situations on a regular basis as its wrong but fair enough i was just curious since you shared it in the tread.

And I'm empathetic to woman in these situations as most normal people would be but i think attacking men as a collective is counterproductive to the change they are seeking.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

The opportunity for some genuine social change is going to be ruined by this kind of virtue signalling nonsense.

Of course a lot of behaviour that has been ignored is unacceptable. But this kind of stupid talk will make men tune out of what would be useful discussions.

Certainly a lot in society should change, women have to take too many precautions and feel unsafe far too often. But suggesting individual men are responsible for anything other than their own behaviour is genuinely stupid and likely to prevent any male engagement.

Ashling Murphy’s death is a devastating tragedy for her family.

It has provided a moment when change might happen, but illogical, unrealistic and stupid contributions to the discussion could see that possibility squandered.

Condolences to all the bereaved, a huge huge loss to her family and community. Hopefully something positive will come from this if society does more to deal with issue of harrasment and violence against women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

It's more than possible to utterly condemn anyone killing anyone else, opportunistically or otherwise, without similarly condemning crass communication. They are not the same thing. Those attempting to create some kind of spectrum in which they are, in fact, the same thing, are simply creating division where there shouldn't be any. And that's the problem

Nobody is going to deny that this murder (and indeed all other murders, opportunistic or otherwise) is appalling and that more needs to be done to prevent this kind of thing from happening and punish those who are caught engaging in it. That unified response utterly falls apart when idiots start saying sh!t like "if you make unsavoury jokes in your private whatsapp groups, or are a loudmouth in public, you exist on the same spectrum as murder". It doesn't help, and that's exactly what people in this thread are questioning. They are orders of magnitude, leagues, worlds, universes apart. One is at most a mild inconvenience to some people and an enjoyable occurrence to others, while one is a horrific, monstrous crime which deserves to have the full weight of the justice system applied to it and those engaged in it ruthlessly punished. Same applies to assault, sexual or otherwise.

You are simply never going to convince a large number of people that words - even rude or unwanted words - can ever carry the same kind of weight as physical violence. A huge, huge, huge number of people simply don't think that way and are perplexed by those who do.

Ive often felt collectively attacked so I understand but just wondering why you see it as an 'attack'?

Do you know how much women look up to men and to be fair..that's my opinion but any woman I know who feels that way has been so let down by them that they have just given up trusting them anymore...and I don't mean let down by minor things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,941 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

To me this woman was killed by a lunatic.

Gender doesn't come in to it at all. Never crossed my mind that there was some deeper meaning here.

Attacking all men by the media is a nice distraction from the lawlessness our so-called judicial system allows in this country to go unpunished I suppose.

With so many walking our streets with 100+ convictions maybe both genders need to have eyeballs in the back of their heads.

Gender does come into it due to the clear physical advantages males have. Statistics also clearly show that vast majority of murders are committed by males. So of course gender comes into it.

vast majority violent crime also committed by males, hence gender being an issue that is discussed.

At the end of the day... whatever about feminism and all this hatred...the whole idea of the patriarchy...they do have a point...

Men in general are physically stronger than women and throughout time and evolution that has given men a headstart or a jump up and no matter what you say that has and does have an impact on where we are today...

Taking away the physical advantage, I've no doubt that if we had more female CEOs etc we'd still have alot of the same problems...with great power comes great responsibility and all that 🙃🙂

He was working on a building site and she passed by wasn't it? I cannot remember his name. Quick Google didn't get any hit. I know it is in a book i have but what book...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,559 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Sure and as far as I know, no serious commentator has agreed with what he said. It's been rejected. That's the end of the story, isn't it? Maybe there are some eejits or trolls on twitter who agreed with him, but no serious people in real life think this is anything approaching a serious thought.

I don't agree this incident is part of some systemic gender issue. This is a murder case. We aren't talking dog whistling here or sexist comments.

Anyway there is no actual answer to your complaint. Nothing is going to change the evolutionary fact that men will always be physically stronger than women.

Most men don't treat women badly. Not in my experience anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

Did BoC not call him out on it, or did he just go along with it like a nodding donkey.

I’m not complaining.

I’m just saying that gender is an issue that is being discussed here due to reasons I mentioned.

It's a distraction from the real issues I pointed out regarding repeat offenders and/or our so-called judicial system.

We have dangerous, really dangerous psychotics walking streets up and down this country.

That's the real scandal.

This gender stuff is a total distraction from the real problems.

That can never be changed though, the reality is there will always be murder, the weak and vulnerable are always going to be the most likely victims, its always been that way and always will be, but to say men are the problem because they are stronger or what ever is in no way beneficial to the argument nor will it help women or prevent more victims in the future if anything it derails the argument. There has to be some degree of realism.

The real focus should be on what can be realistically changed.

Don't think so...I think it was let fly without any indication what the rest of the talking heads thought about it, certainly no disagreement/questioning that I can remember.

I turned off after a couple of minutes more of what I thought was very poor fare..

Just thought if that's what passes for debate or reasonable discussion on the national broadcaster these days we are fucked as a country.

Recently listened to a couple of episodes of Andrew keens podcast keen on and although he sounds like a lad that would potentially crawl up his own hole but I doubt he would have let such ludicrous bullshit pass....a mc conkey comment like that would have been eviscerated imo....

But then again he wouldn't have felt it necessary to utter such tosh in an environment where someone might actually interrogate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Fishdoodle

This type of discussion brings up so many emotive issues - if anything, society as a whole needs be looked at.

Over the years TV content has become more violent and graphic. Film rating age limits have reduced. All sorts of content is available on-click. Violence passed as ‘entertainment’ enters the social consciousness.

It’s disturbing that society seems to be degenerating. Whilst I agree that most violent crimes are perpetrated by males there is a deeper issue at play which goes beyond gender.

We should aspire to live in a society which is safe for all and we can look out for each other.

The comments are usually made by people that you don’t know, not people you do know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,465 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

If only every girl was like Lady Bloodbath, then a lot of guys would be taught a lot of lessons pretty fast.

I'd love to see that happen to guys like that/the low life scumbags that intimidate people

I just find it wrong/insulting to be grouped with lads like that and silly to think I should somehow be calling them out.......