Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

RTE Radio 1: The Ryan Tubridy Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭mistersifter

An ad break and tune to see us through to the end of the show after an utterly pointless conversation with someone or other.

Not to worry, today wasn't a complete waste. At least we learned that he's not a "crocs guy" and likes regular milk because he's such a no-nonsense operator/fish out of water in this modern world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Tubs mentioned that he got some “preview copies of books” over Christmas this morning. Preview copies are freebies to you and me - I suspect the wording was deliberate to deflect criticism. Nonetheless, they should be added to his never-ending freebie list.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

Freebies Received since 23 September 2020:

Free Unknown volume of books

Free Bespoke jewellery x 2

Free Essential oils for mask

Free Buns from Bewleys

Free Trip on the Irish Navy ship

Free 8 Glasses cases

Free Accessories for vinyl record player

Free Flowers

Free Yop, Fruit of the Forest and Yakult

Free Holland and Barrett supply

Free Calm App

Free Scents of Ireland commercial air diffuser and scents

Free Epicurean Delights (i.e. Grub)

Free Watercolour

Free Candles

Free Book about Elvis' comeback in 68

Free Waterford Famine Buke

Free Pints

Free Sweets from Shandons

Free Loose leaf tea

Free Bread knives

Free Candles possibly wickless candles

Free Teapot

Free Vinyl record (Beatles/McCartney)

Free Tea brack

Free Cards

Free More cards (rejected - Catholics need not apply)

Free Halloween masks

Free Cufflinks (monogrammed for Tubridy, of course)

Free Fudge

Free Southern Star newspaper

Free Opinion magazine

Free Print from book (gorgeous, apparently)

Free Crisps and Earplugs

Free Greetings cards

Free Beatles book

Free Bottle with fairy lights

Free Hot Chocolate Bomb

Free Personalised Christmas Stocking

Free Novelty Mug

Free Handmade Scarf (moss green in colour, and long)

Free multiple handmade Christmas Cards

Free John Banville Book (delivered personally to him while shopping)

Free Barack Obama autobiography (extremely large and heavy)

Free box of Lindt chocolates (only 8 in box, Tubs not happy)

Free Face mask from Chester Beatty

Free Books

Free Paul McCartney poster

Free Aerial photography coffee table book

Free Christmas jumper

Free Waterford Festive Star (a magazine)

Free Holly Bough (a Cork annual)

Free Santa Beard Face Mask

Free Chocolates from Bean & Goose (called out paucity of Lindt in their freebie, again)

Free Art from Trish Taylor Thompson (something visual)

Free Books (from “listener” doing her Marie Kondo clearout)

Free Shandon Sweets, again

Free invite to chess convention

Free Lighthouse Book

Free chess lessons

Free Book (Elf Isolation)

Free crate of Club Orange

Free Bag of Marbles, (but no "steelies", much to Tubs' chagrin)

Free Ireland's Own Annual

Free Band Aid vinyl single, with beautiful artwork (Tubridy checked artwork was included, before accepting it).

Free Paul McCartney - Back in the CCCP vinyl album.

Free Box of Turf

Free Puffin Christmas Decorations

Free Puffin Christmas Cards

Free Puffin T Shirt

Free Meal in Kilmore Quay

Free Motivational Quote Cards

Free Book (Dauntless Courage)

Free CD

Free Personal Guided Tour of St Patrick's Cathedral.

Free Hand crafted Gin

Free Crystal Glasses set

Free Cocktails

Free Craft Beer Selection

Free Visit to brewery

Free "County Mayo in a Jar" x 2 (Wool, Shells, etc)

Free Vintage 1955 Comic (original copy)

Free Personalised Water bottle

Free White Vinyl Christmas record

Free Handmade Cards

Free Magazine about schools during Covid

Free Donegal Calendar

Free Bird Calendar (includes Puffin)

Free Fry’s Chocolate Bars – 4 pack - (Passed over to Mater Tubridy)

Free Patricia Gibney Book

Free Terry Reilly book – Ballina People

Free signed Rick Stein in France book

Free American edition of Liz Nugent Book

Free Frederick Douglass book (as asked for earlier this week, but no mention of payment).

Free Sanatorium (Abi Palmer) book

Free Robert Harris Book V2

Free Coffee Beans

Free Grand Canal to Dodder Book

Free Murder Mutiny and the Muglins Book

Free Smart Cooking Books – both editions.

Free Acts of Desperation by Megan Nolan book.

Free Sherlock Holmes walking stick

Free Jenny Wren S’mores kit

Free chocolate bunny

Free tour of St patricks cathedral

Free walking tour of Dublin

Free currach trip on the liffey.

Free gift bag from St Patrick's

Free tour of Rowntree's factory

Free stay in Kerry Hotel

Free bog Oak tea light holder

Free Hand made muppet toy

Irish country magazine and pen

Braile book

New York magazine (succession edition)

Free lunch post toy show

Free preview copies of books

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,753 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Well done my Royal Oirish Peg, not 15 mins into his first show back and he’s on about cinemas and fcuking popcorn and plush red seats.

Too much for the Brenner to take……………….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,684 ✭✭✭StevenToast

I think Tubridy should go back on his christmas holidays.....

Permanently.....with no pay.

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

If 'Culture Vulture' Tubridy spent less time worrying about his sweets and Coke (😉) and more time following storylines, he'd be doin well for himself.

He said he wasn't able to follow James Bond but "the cinematography was gorgeous" and he also likes the theme tune. In other words, his attention span lasted for the first half hour which was located in Italy then he got distracted by a packet of jellies.

His critiques of all these books he supposedly reads haven't got much depth either, the useless fool.

And that, Steven, is precisely why I don't listen any more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭hawley

An article from the 12th of January last year with him complaining about crocs as well. He always comes back to the same themes.

"You'd hope, wouldn't you, that crocs would be banished and people would say, 'God I have more time to think and be with my family and to do nice things'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,649 ✭✭✭avfc1874

He's got the same attention span of the other big hitters Darcy and Duffy . Can be told where someone lives and what they do. 2 minutes later , eh em eh so Claire you said you are living in kerry . No I said I live in Clare and my name is Kerry. 😏🤔

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

They're only little people, he doesn't care about them-a means to an end.

Two hours of the news, now twenty-five minutes of cartoon opinions of the news. Complete waste of radio space.

The longer tubs does the show the more awkward he becomes. He's got no sense of humour or awareness,

Trying to be funny about the man with the pigs heart every joke he tried was not funny, You'd think someone on the team would tell him to stop trying to be funny. Or maybe they are laughing at him while he thinks they are laughing with him. Big difference tubs 🤔😏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭littlevillage

I honestly think Turgidbuddy actually believes he's a US style late night chat show host, who can "riff" on all things current affairs to hilarious effect 😳

He absolutely does. With hilarious results. And by hilarious I mean disastrous.

A child could have followed the plot to the last Double Woke Seven movie. It was about as far removed from classic Bond as you can get, all that was missing was Daniel Craig wearing a BLM T shirt or saying “Girl Power” repeatedly like Geri from the Spice Girls.

Post edited by ButtersSuki on

Btw, the Crocs brand is undergoing a huge revival in relevance and sales are booming at the moment, particularly in the US. Of course the dainty one would not be aware of this fact that the tiniest bit of research would have unearthed for him. But hey, that’s too much like work.

Tubridy is like a really bad memory/ experience that you cant seem to shake off......For example:

- Tubridy/Bad memory keeps surfacing every now and then and when it does, it brings you down mentally.....

- No matter how hard you try to avoid Tubridy/Bad memory, it just keeps rearing its ugly face some part of the day.......

-If you live in Ireland, there is no escaping Tubridy....you may require professional help to rid him from your psyche....

More predictions about the pandemic comming to an end. Good man Ryan, don't like being wrong time and time again and clearly talking absolutely rubbish with no basis stop you.

Freebies list since 23 September 2020:

Free Unknown volume of books

Free Bespoke jewellery x 2

Free Essential oils for mask

Free Buns from Bewleys

Free Trip on the Irish Navy ship

Free 8 Glasses cases

Free Accessories for vinyl record player

Free Flowers

Free Yop, Fruit of the Forest and Yakult

Free Holland and Barrett supply

Free Calm App

Free Scents of Ireland commercial air diffuser and scents

Free Epicurean Delights (i.e. Grub)

Free Watercolour

Free Candles

Free Book about Elvis' comeback in 68

Free Waterford Famine Buke

Free Pints

Free Sweets from Shandons

Free Loose leaf tea

Free Bread knives

Free Candles possibly wickless candles

Free Teapot

Free Vinyl record (Beatles/McCartney)

Free Tea brack

Free Cards

Free More cards (rejected - Catholics need not apply)

Free Halloween masks

Free Cufflinks (monogrammed for Tubridy, of course)

Free Fudge

Free Southern Star newspaper

Free Opinion magazine

Free Print from book (gorgeous, apparently)

Free Crisps and Earplugs

Free Greetings cards

Free Beatles book

Free Bottle with fairy lights

Free Hot Chocolate Bomb

Free Personalised Christmas Stocking

Free Novelty Mug

Free Handmade Scarf (moss green in colour, and long)

Free multiple handmade Christmas Cards

Free John Banville Book (delivered personally to him while shopping)

Free Barack Obama autobiography (extremely large and heavy)

Free box of Lindt chocolates (only 8 in box, Tubs not happy)

Free Face mask from Chester Beatty

Free Books

Free Paul McCartney poster

Free Aerial photography coffee table book

Free Christmas jumper

Free Waterford Festive Star (a magazine)

Free Holly Bough (a Cork annual)

Free Santa Beard Face Mask

Free Chocolates from Bean & Goose (called out paucity of Lindt in their freebie, again)

Free Art from Trish Taylor Thompson (something visual)

Free Books (from “listener” doing her Marie Kondo clearout)

Free Shandon Sweets, again

Free invite to chess convention

Free Lighthouse Book

Free chess lessons

Free Book (Elf Isolation)

Free crate of Club Orange

Free Bag of Marbles, (but no "steelies", much to Tubs' chagrin)

Free Ireland's Own Annual

Free Band Aid vinyl single, with beautiful artwork (Tubridy checked artwork was included, before accepting it).

Free Paul McCartney - Back in the CCCP vinyl album.

Free Box of Turf

Free Puffin Christmas Decorations

Free Puffin Christmas Cards

Free Puffin T Shirt

Free Meal in Kilmore Quay

Free Motivational Quote Cards

Free Book (Dauntless Courage)

Free CD

Free Personal Guided Tour of St Patrick's Cathedral.

Free Hand crafted Gin

Free Crystal Glasses set

Free Cocktails

Free Craft Beer Selection

Free Visit to brewery

Free "County Mayo in a Jar" x 2 (Wool, Shells, etc)

Free Vintage 1955 Comic (original copy)

Free Personalised Water bottle

Free White Vinyl Christmas record

Free Handmade Cards

Free Magazine about schools during Covid

Free Donegal Calendar

Free Bird Calendar (includes Puffin)

Free Fry’s Chocolate Bars – 4 pack - (Passed over to Mater Tubridy)

Free Patricia Gibney Book

Free Terry Reilly book – Ballina People

Free signed Rick Stein in France book

Free American edition of Liz Nugent Book

Free Frederick Douglass book (as asked for earlier this week, but no mention of payment).

Free Sanatorium (Abi Palmer) book

Free Robert Harris Book V2

Free Coffee Beans

Free Grand Canal to Dodder Book

Free Murder Mutiny and the Muglins Book

Free Smart Cooking Books – both editions.

Free Acts of Desperation by Megan Nolan book.

Free Sherlock Holmes walking stick

Free Jenny Wren S’mores kit

Free chocolate bunny

Free tour of St patricks cathedral

Free walking tour of Dublin

Free currach trip on the liffey.

Free gift bag from St Patrick's

Free tour of Rowntree's factory

Free stay in Kerry Hotel

Free bog Oak tea light holder

Free Hand made muppet toy

Irish country magazine and pen

Braile book

New York magazine (succession edition)

Free lunch post toy show

Free preview copies of books

Private Screening of Belfast "for work reasons"

Trump won the election because of the irresponsibility of Facebook and stories that turned out to be lies. Hillary is a good person and should run again for President.

Pollyanna

Shilling for a paid trip to Iceland

Reading probably fake texts asking him to go and do a broadcast from Iceland. A disgusting individual.

Huberdys definition of riffing and my definition of talking bullocks are very similar 🤔

• Registered Users Posts: 4,490 ✭✭✭KevRossi

He's been at the Iceland thing for some time now, he really has the horn for it. If he did get a freebie there he'd be bored after 3 days and looking to go home.

I'm almost in the mood to set up a fake travel company, email him, arrange a trip to Iceland and when the day comes, send a taxi to pick him up at home and drop him off at Iceland in the ILAC Centre. See how he riffs that.

Did he really read out a (as you say most likely fake) text urging him to do a broadcast from Iceland? I suspect I know the answer but I still have to ask.

He has some neck.

He did indeed. He kept thanking the texter for her suggestion and then he laughed about going over a few days before the show "to do research". Said he had the support of the listeners and that he would do the broadcast from some Irish bar.

It's all said in a half-joking tone but he's dead set on it.

If it happens it will be scandalous.

He’s laying the foundations alright.

It reminds me of the time he went to NY to do a promo for the return of TLLS or something. He went for a week to record a 30second ad, an ad that could have just as easily been shot here as there was nothing NY-related to the show.

And you can bet your ass that even if he paid for his own accommodation (which I doubt) on the day he wasn’t shooting the ad that his flights were paid for.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,490 ✭✭✭KevRossi

He was also out there for an 'extended research break' when he interviewed Hillary Clinton for the LLS.

Probably tried to get out to Cape Cod to hob-knob it with the Kennedy's or some other branch of the Democrat party. Preferably 5th generation Irish who have done well for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,608 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Maybe RT would do well on travel type programmes.

Perhaps something like this -

^^^ And like other weekend presenters events and personalities can be basically boiled down to GOOD or BAD things and actors with no grey areas whatsoever to consider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭Bellbottoms

Don't be giving anyone ideas. RTE have done the "Across America" thing a few times. Always the same. One episode in NYC. Meet a few Irish lads with a bar. Recently its been some lad that used to be in Fair City. Then one episode in hillbilly land shooting guns. Then Vegas/LA/SF meet some Irish doing well in the film industry or working for Google and lads looking for snakebite in Vegas or asking DJs to play Wagon Wheel. That sort of shite.

But on a serious note. I did catch the show today, and sorry if this not allowed. But can we start texting in and ask Ryan to stop saying the pandemic will be over soon. He has been saying this since the pandemic started. First it was "It will be over by Christmas", then "It will be over by the summer". Then back to "It will be over by Christamas" and "It will be over by Summer". I have kids, and they have been heating the Sh1te man spouting this for two years. They don't understand lockdown and are terrified of COVID. I've explained to them, that we don't really know how long this will go on for. But some morings they hear Ryan and his "Awh it will be over XX" b0llocks. They don't know who he is. They just know the radio is saying it will all be over soon. And are let down when it isnt. It is irresponsible, what he is doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭Bellbottoms

Good post.

He has said before he wants to do a show in which he inter-rails around Europe on old-school locomotives. No doubt it would involve the least amount of work possible even by travel show standards - nothing too strenuous or physical for the DLB. If he ever hangs up his Late Late boots you can expect a lot of that type of shíte.

He's been called out many times over the past 2 years for promising audiences that the pandemic will end by specific dates. I've never heard any health professional give these kinds of guarantees but Tubridy has decided that he is going to broadcast his completely unfounded waffle as fact. Plenty of people have contacted RTE about it but he simply has no interest in stopping. But yeah, people should absolutely keep complaining.

I'll be dropping them an email to say that sending the waste of space to Iceland for several days to broadcast an hour of waffle would be a serious misuse of funds. Not that I expect them to pay any heed but you know...cos I'm an internet bully.

Text : 51551

Email : ryan@rte.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

Wonder will Ryan be ashamed to be a man today and carry out a live on air self flagellation on behalf of all the men of Ireland to atone for the wrongs carried out by the sex 🤔🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

He's actually doing a decent job discussing the tragedy tbf. Not descending into man bashing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

Hasnt he? The texts he's reading certainly are...

His words were appropriate I think, there wasn't any blame being doled out, just how awful it all is.

The texts then ya took a bit of a turn you are right, the second one was written in a familiar style but I felt the topic was more "domestic abuse" than "every man is a a rapist who just hasn't done it yet". It makes sense to me that this awful event could prompt victims of domestic absue to share their stories and how they over came so that's fair enough.

Maybe following the disgrace of D'acrcy and Liveline yesterday I find not having an entire segment of society blamed and stigmatised for the actions of one monster to be reasonable. Belive me I like to point out the cancerman's many many shortcomings as much as anyone but he was the best of a bad bad bad bad bad bunch over the last 24 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,470 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Pats not afraid to go for a walk in the woods on his own seemingly

I'm sure a piece of wood would feel safe in the wood

The “letter” he read out sounded like a press release to me tbh, esp. the part advising people to “reach out”, complete with contact details.

I had no issue with his opening comments, as he simply stated how shocking and terrible that poor girl's death is (as Pie said).

The email he read out after (which he said was appropriate) seemed to compare what was a random attack to a different issue of abusive relationships, which I don't think is helpful. And then he launched into some lighthearted content which just felt odd because he had spent a few minutes on the death.

IMO his initial condolences would have sufficed for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭littlevillage

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,619 ✭✭✭archfi

Agenda free start to the program! That must be a first, unless I missed something.

Eurovision search starts, he's playing two of the entries.

The issue is never the issue; the issue is always the revolution.

The Entryism process: 1) Demand access; 2) Demand accommodation; 3) Demand a seat at the table; 4) Demand to run the table; 5) Demand to run the institution; 6) Run the institution to produce more activists and policy until they run it into the ground.

Just send Lyra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,046 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

And thats another LLS Special accounted for.

Relief for the crew who usually have to try to organise content/guests for it, considering no-one famous really wants to appear on it any more. It'll keep Dermot Bannon, Pat Shortt or Francis Brennan off for another week.

He hasn’t a clue

He's angling for a free trip to Eurovision.

Fake email.