Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users Posts: 627 ✭✭✭DLink

I'm not an anti-vaxxer, I'm anti forced vaccination.

I'm anti being forced to get a cert to have a coffee indoors, to travel abroad, or do other things that were considered normal 2 years ago.

Doctor's advice is just that, advice, and I can choose to ignore it if I wish, but I shouldn't be locked out of society as a result of that decision....

Certs, coercion & restrictions need to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭darconio

And that's another aspect of this "new normal". Anything that doesn't follow the mainstream narrative regarding covid cert/mask/vaccine = antivaxxer, anything that doesn't follow the "science" (but only the one that support the above narrative) = conspiracy theorist. Not sure we'll ever get out with this general mindset

• Registered Users Posts: 28,835 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

This is one of the more ridiculous rules alright - act like you're a plague carrier when you enter/leave/go to the bathroom, but sit there with friends unmasked as long as you like in between while you eat, drink and chat among others doing the same!

More concerning though is the response from the man you met on the way out as well as some of the other posts on the last page or two - a lot of people see no problem with continuing this theatre of masks, distancing, showing your ID and "pass" for a latte or a burger etc.

It's Stockholm Syndrome on a national level (and some people doubt the mental health impact all this has had!) and given the Irish psyche tends towards servility and virtue signalling, it's something that could linger on for a long time yet if we're not careful.

The effect all this has had on me is a growing disgust with the above and I find myself increasingly frustrated and disappointed with just how little real progress we've made as a society in the last 20/30 years.

Oh sure we have SSM and increased equality and more open discussions on things that were previously taboo and these are certainly good and important steps, but underneath it all is still a "need" among many to show how compliant they are, to attack anyone or anything that stands out, and an acceptance of the status quo and instructions from their "betters" - regardless of how incompetent or involved in scandals these people have been previously, and not forgetting that we still can't address the fundamental problems in housing, health, costs of living, the growing real inequality and loss of opportunity between different parts of society etc etc. If anything those in charge seem to be actively making things worse!

It shouldn't BE accepted that we will wear masks to go shopping or eat, hand over "our papers" for the privilege of paying for an overpriced coffee and not drinking it in the hugely variable Irish weather, or putting up with restrictions every time the HSE cries about problems they themselves have made and haven't addressed for decades despite the fact that they get 20 billion a year to do exactly that!

If this continues into the long term for what is basically a mild dose of the sniffles, I think I will seriously look into moving to the UK - not just because of all this, but the hypocritical nature of our society - great at leading on all the "feel good" twitter campaigns, but absolutely backwards when it comes to mature discussion, political governance and progress (and yes, the UK is not the land of milk and honey either, but they have the more copped on /get on with it attitude to things like this, and when politicians are caught out they seem to generally resign as a result).

I really worry whether we'll ever grow up as a country.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,467 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

When NPHET and Tony are no longer worried, you really know this thing is coming to an end.

They're asking permission, or perhaps more cynically, want Tony to make the decision for them because we have been saddled with some of the weakest politicians this country has ever seen in the last decade.

As I've said a few times, for all his many faults, you can't imagine Haughey "leading" like this.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

'The Government will ask chief medical officer Dr Tony Holohan to consider whether the 8pm curfew on bars and restaurants can be lifted next month as the current wave of the virus has reached its peak'

That, to me, is asking for permission.

They will ask for advice with regards to working from home..

• Registered Users Posts: 7,625 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Nothing but a "Cover your Arse" exercise by the politicians. Our politicians are only focused on one thing and that is keeping their seat so if they can point the finger at someone else when the decisions don't work out all the better. Basically our politicians are nothing but a shower of cowards, afraid to make a decision incase it makes them look bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,976 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Precisely, and the very reason the attempted gagging of the CMO and NPHET lasted but a few hours.

Yesterday's "Yes Minister" interview with Tanaiste yesterday pretty much confirmed what the approach will be.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,774 ✭✭✭billyhead

The leadership has been very poor true out this whole mess.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,946 ✭✭✭✭JRant

It pains me to say this but under FG there was a bit more order to it. Since MM has taken the reigns and this coalition 2as formed, communications have been disgraceful. How many times have their own ministers been caught on the hop with decisions they've made and had to scramble to put leasure and legislation in place.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users Posts: 18,428 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

"It is hoped bars and restaurants will be permitted to open to at least 11pm from next month after Nphet reviews the latest data on the virus."

They just don't get it do they.

They can **** off with their curfews, whether it be 8pm or 11pm isn't the point, there is no science worth a damn that justifies them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

It’s all just theatre. These ludicrous fcuking restrictions could be lifted TODAY if they wanted and we wouldn’t see basically any difference. They are completely and utterly beholden to Tony and his band of yes men. Asking Tony would he consider lifting restrictions!! Just repeat that to yourselves! We are living in a fcuking fantasy land at this stage.

Just on the guy who forgot to wear his mask for thirty seconds and was reminded by some self righteous gobshite, I’m fcuking done with those types, if anyone does that **** to me they will be told to go fcuk themselves.

I’m sure our friends will be along shortly to tell us “but, but Tony only advises….” Etc etc but sure, have at it lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,625 ✭✭✭Floppybits

As bad as MM is you have to admit he has not been helped one bit by one of his coalition partners doing their upmost to undermine him and the government as much as they can for their own personal gain. In saying that MM needs to grow a backbone and lift restrictions ASAP. They have had 2 years to put the structures in place to deal with this and they haven't done that.

My fear would be the moment they open up and the cases inevitably go up that they start closing again.

Leo is like a flag in the wind though, "it needs to stop, we have to reopen, steady as it goes, cases are worrying, we need to slow down".

• Registered Users Posts: 26,976 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Without getting into a back and fourth so to speak 😉, I actually think a cohort within FG didn't actually help the messaging debacle, indeed I think it reasonable to suggest some actually undermined MM and the coalition strategy in managing this Pandemic. It only seems to be more coherent (in their eyes at least) of late, a kind of Truce or perhaps a realisation their both going to be accountable ultimately and they actually need the CMO on side, more for political cover than anything else, the Greens will just continue to nod regardless. Of course, this IMO

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Apothic_Red

I witnessed the nonsense with my own eyes on Friday evening.

We went into the vigil in Carlow for 6pm. By the time it finished & got chatting it was about 7pm. Tried 3 restaurants & none were allowing walk ins at that hour citing this place needed to be empty by 8pm. Went for a pint instead & rang a takeaway for the way home. While waiting I went into O'Briens to pick up a bottle of wine & it was packed. Takeaway took 45 mins to be ready as they were slammed too, the whole thing is a stupid manufactured mess that serves zero purpose.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭Penfailed

To me, that's just the way the journalist has worded the article. Either way, it doesn't detract from the fact that our Taoiseach is a weak leader.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭the kelt

I honestly dont see that happening though, the big driver is schools, theyre back and cases dropping, literally cannot see cases go up because they change from 8pm to 11 for hospitality and cinemas.

Closing stuff at 8pm made next to no difference, just theatre. If anything its goign to be an eye opener for a lot of people seeing these restrictions go and making no difference

• Registered Users Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭mightyreds

They will drag it out till we are fully open just in time for the next round of boosters, so cases will inevitably rise and we are back to the closing down/opening up cycle once again without really ever been open for a significant period.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Economics101

I see ISAG are at it again. Still holding up NZ and China (!!!) as exemplars. https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/letters/aggressive-suppression-and-zero-tolerance-of-covid-are-crucial-1.4777808

• Registered Users Posts: 386 ✭✭RunningFlyer

I saw their letter in the paper this morning and it's literally taken up half the letters page - what a waste of ink!!

• Registered Users Posts: 322 ✭✭muddypuppy

China has not reported a single Covid death since April 17, 2020. Using it as a comparison is either ignorance or malice, and basically invalidate every single other claims they make in my eyes.

At least they're not advocating for full lockdown "to avoid another lockdown" and full border closure (and probably a wall up north) anymore, I guess.

• Registered Users Posts: 989 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

What a weird little bunch of highly educated people. They’ll be in their strange zero-covid bubble for the foreseeable, on their own, stamping their feet for attention.

Had to dig to find the letter on the website and thankfully not yet referenced in main news, hopefully stays that way. At this stage they should be treated the same as any other lunatic fringe group. And should have everyone questioning ‘experts’ and their credentials - one prominent one recently reckoned it was a good idea for all men to have 12 socialisation classes before being let loose in public.

These people have taken up huge column inches through the pandemic and their ridiculous ideas debated and given serious thought. Waste of time and space and their nonsense contributed to our dithering snail-like lifting of restrictions.

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭daydorunrun

was there a date limit put on masks for primary schoolers? Thought I remember someone here mention February but can’t find anything now. My 11 yr old was complaining as her lips became badly chapped last week they were painful. Improved over the weekend but still very uncomfortable.

ironically got an email from the school saying they are celebrating ‘well-being week’ while it’s about 5 degrees in the classroom and she is sitting there with her coat on with freezing hands and painful lips from the mask!

I await somebody coming along to the thread later to tell me she should just toughen up.

personally I think we may be entering one of the most divisive and frustrating periods of the pandemic as many feel frustrated that the emergency is over and freedoms and norms need to be handed back quickly as is our right while others want the abundance of caution approach.

“You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.” Homer.

As far as i remember, the mask mandate for everyone is due to expire either at the end of this month or February 11?

Or do I remember incorrectly?

So far as I'm aware, the requirements for masks in schools is only advisory after the pushback that occurred. If it's making your daughter uncomfortable and causing her pain, that's a legit reason not to make her wear one IMO. Just talk to the teacher/principal is my advice.

It's another reason why masks are impractical and/or pointless in schools and many other places they've been required, but I fear they'll be the last to go.

I've no problem with them being voluntary for those who feel better wearing them though.

I doubt it matters unfortunately. It'll be extended at the stroke of a pen without a proper debate as to the necessity or duration I expect.

• Registered Users Posts: 48,206 ✭✭✭✭km79

I was wondering this last week as well

I think we all know it will be till the end of this school year anyways sadly. At a minimum

• Registered Users Posts: 207 ✭✭BuildTheWall

The Irish have some knack for doing pointless things just because that’s what is expected. I can imagine the headlines in 20 years when we’re still doing this stuff.

”Coronavirus hasn’t been a problem in 17 years but meet the country that still lives like it’s spring 2020”

• Registered Users Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭emo72

The one thing that's crystallized in my mind over this pandemic is that we have no questioning media. No one to hold the government to account. The media is bought and controlled by billionaires and governments.

It's very **** worrying.