Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Do men need a license to be allowed socialise (MOD NOTE IN OP)

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭someyoke

There hasn't been one reasoned debate on rte since this tragedy occurred.

Very little focus on law and order. Duffy's main contribution "men need to check men". Ray Darcy ashamed to be a man (someone said on a different thread he was in tears). Tubs... well he was just being tubs.

BOC obviously following the party line. Mcconkey, whose background is in field of science then allowed make this suggestion unchallenged.

All the above on a state broadcaster. If there was an American left wing media platform coming out with nonsense like this we'd all be laughing and thinking how ludicrous their society had become.

And is there anyone asking questions about our legal system or policing?

As someone else pointed out above this campaign if it continues is going to be more divisive than productive to society.

Also to say don't mind Sam, nobody will take that suggestion seriously is missing the point. Idiots like him in the media will drive focus away from the effective solutions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,463 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Story. friend in states was walking some quite street when guys on scaffolding repairing a house started to wolf whistle, and yell things, she was just about to say something when a really attractive lady jogging in tight gym gear came by her from behind, and all the guys heads turned and followed her until she was out of sight, so they were not at all whistling at my friend, and she was telling me she was kind disappointed, in a kidding kinda way, but none the less people want to be seen as attractive, desirable, alluring...but they also want to take the higher ground if wolf whistled.

• Registered Users Posts: 33 Jackoflynn

Why do you think you're being grouped with scum like that?

If you are a decent man and those close to you know you're a decent human, why would you be put out?

It's not then aimed at you.

If there's a conversation about work place bullying and it being an isuue where I work, I'm not offended by it. I know I'm not a bully.

And I'm happy to call out a friend's **** behavior (in a nice way) , regardless of who is on the receiving end of their comments. It's no big deal.

Sorry just to say about this...it is nice to get complimented but there is a thin line..when someone is intimidating and usually both know because it ls communicated either non verbally or through tone etc

Women are succeptable to an ego stroke as much as anyone else but when there is a clear power imbalance it is obvious and if you (not you personally) are in a situation where you want to give someone a compliment, it is your responsibility not to put someone in that position where they might feel intimidated. I've been in situations where people have complimented me and they have been 'in power' (meaning my boss or physically stronger than me etc) where I did not feel threatened and other times where I did and I can guarantee the times when I did, both of us knew I was intimidated.

Men are not meant to be psychic but they're also not stupid and neither are women. We can all play thick though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Because the word being used widely is "men". Not "bad men". Not "some men". Not "scummy men". Not "violent men". Across literally the entire social and mainstream media this week, men in general are being called out, not just the sh!tty ones. That tends to happen when you label a demographic without any qualifying adjectives, and anyone who fits that demographic is included when a condemnation is phrased that way.

The word "men" or "women" without the word "some" before it automatically makes a critical statement a sexist generalisation. Too many people on both sides don't understand this. The minute a condemnation is phrased in such a manner, it's automatically going to piss off gigantic swathes of people, and there is literally no other possible outcome than this kind of tribal warfare. A criticism aimed at "men" without any qualifying adjectives to narrow it down is, indeed, aimed at me, because I happen to be a man. And if someone makes a sweeping statement about 'men' which I find unfair, I'm going to point out that it's bullsh!t, as anyone being unfairly criticised or attacked would do.

Using the word "men" in this manner has been normalised beyond all reasonable allowance over the course of the 2010s - at exactly the same time as the screw has been (rightly!) turned on anyone who uses "women" in a similar manner. That's why it's pissing off such huge numbers of people. Generalising about a demographic, or collectivising that demographic into any kind of hive mind from the outside, is something all of us who grew up in the 90s or 2000s was raised to find objectionable and unacceptable - we were raised not to see the world in terms of demographic groups but in terms of individual people.

The resurgence of collectivism and demographic generalisations not being considered outright bigotry is fundamentally clashing with the values inherent to "being a good person" with which the vast, vast majority of millennials were raised. That's why this whole sh!tstorm always becomes so utterly vitriolic so quickly.

God...this thread and all the anger and resentment and the feeling victimized...I know what to do ...i shall go make some sandwiches? Lol :D

Anyone actually surprised McConkey came out with this tripe? All his forecasts and projections have been radically wrong and he has been left unchallenged by the media. This latest sh1te undoubtedly went unchallenged by a woke and cancerous broadcaster.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 MsRight

When you get boys as young as 9 watching porn that is freely available on their phones that’s a problem! They have no life experiences to discern the reality of the acting. After all it’s a €100 Billion Industry. Young boys have no idea that it is just figment of ones imagination being driven by total disregard for females. After all they have been watching females portraying themselves in the most degrading of situations, they couldn’t think any other way! It has no comparisons to a loving intimate relationship yet this is the relationship these young minds are developing with the opposite sex. And it is reinforced over time!

• Registered Users Posts: 33 Jackoflynn

It's obviously aimed at scumbags who make women's life difficult and uncomfortable in everyday life.

If you are a decent person in your interactions (to everyone), who is it that is looking down on you as a man?

You are judged on how you conduct yourself. As is everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

If it says "men", it's aimed at "men". If those making such statements have a smaller sub-group in mind, the onus is entirely on them to say so, or be rightly accused of bigotry - just as I would be if I said anything along the lines of "women are X or Y", because such a statement is automatically untrue and profoundly sexist in a world in which we recognise the supremacy of the individual over the demographic descriptors thereof.

This demographic-blind paradigm is something the vast majority of people my age were raised on. The idea that it is fundamentally unacceptable to make a statement generalising about literally any demographic whatsoever, and ascribing qualities to that demographic, without linguistically qualifying to to underline that you are only speaking about some members of that group, not the group as a whole. Anything less is considered bigoted and *ist, where * is whatever type of demographic (race, sex, etc) the statement has generalised.

There are no exceptions to this, and nor should there be. I would roast anyone who made a statement of "women are <adjective>" or "women should <verb>", because it is entirely unfair and wrong to ascribe literally anything - any duty, any description, any psychological tendencies, any personality assumptions - to an individual purely on the basis that she happens to be a woman.

Moreover, the media (rightly!) enforces this standard vigorously when people are making statements which generalise about any demographic groups which are not straight, white, or male. But those three, and the latter two in particular, are considered "fair game". This is profoundly wrong and unacceptable.

I and others who react in this way are simply asking for the same courtesy to be extended to us, as is extended to individual members of every other demographic group - that it be socially unacceptable in mainstream society to make any statement about us based solely on our membership of this particular demographic group.

We're simply asking that the standards we are held to by polite society be enforced upon anyone talking about us, to the same extent as they are to us when we talk about anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,942 ✭✭✭growleaves

I don't feel any anger at women at all.

I view dishonest media commentators who are sowing division very cynically. Insofar as they represent a grisly murder by one man as something to do with men generally, I hope everyone can see through that.

It would be easy to stand down the antagonistic discourse of the relations between men and women, to drain them of spite and suspicion - yet it's always ratcheted up instead isn't it?

When you're passed over for promotion you're ready to blame the nearest man/woman (delete as appropriate). I've seen it happen in workplaces and I regard such happenings with detachment now.

Both men and women are trained to feel like a victim of the other and become bitter.

Women overtly and officially by being told they are the victims of men 24/7, and men by having their point of view totally ignored and deleted in a macro-feminist society.

Men and women naturally cooperate. See: any successful marriage.

So this splitting of the sexes is an aberration.

Its an artificial phenomenon which would run out of oxygen if media (including social media) and institutions let it. I tune them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭maestroamado

That's a very interesting point considering i expect that women likely do have more influence on parenting than men or at least that's the way it seems...

Btw we're also continually told that the media do not have an agenda to manipulate people towards any bad end, but instead that they manipulate people for 'clicks'.

In other words, the main defence of the media is to claim that they are amoral.

Well immoral or amoral I can think of better sources from which to form a point of view...classic literature, my own conscience and intuition, advice from people I trust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,854 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

We can do a fair bit to make every citizen feel safer in Ireland. How effective it will be I don't know.

I'm basing this more generally now. Women, the elderly, people living alone, etc all have fears.

Firstly within schools we can improve education regarding how to treat people, behave, etc(A lot of this is done already tough).

Monitoring you own family unit. If you notice your kid is a bit off try and seek support instead of ignoring the matter.

If a child is growing up an environment where they are around criminality, violence, etc social services need to step in earlier and possibly have more powers.

Similar if a young person becomes involved in crime and it's not a one off. There family environment should be monitored, making sure they've access to education and also more time spent in youth detention centres.

Similar with adults who are involved in criminality we have to look and how we threat them and see what we are doing wrong.

We need to look at our sentencing, trying to see can we steer people away from reoffending, education for example, etc.

When do we say enough is enough with somebody who has hundreds of convictions.

Our mental health system all needs a reviewed and how long it takes people to access there services.

What's shown on out TV's/online content/etc. Will banning certain types of programs/porn/etc have an impact.

We can introduce laws regarding stalking, groping, whistling, etc. They should of course apply to both genders.

I don't know how effective they will be tough at the end of the day. At the moment we have laws some minor and some more serious and they are still broken every day of the week and I would question how safe people will feel with these in place because bad things will still happen.

We can have chats with friends/family and call out bad behaviour.

Approaching a stranger and calling out there behaviour is a different matter tough.

Be it on social media or the mainstream media we hear interviews/sound bits and they cause an a ray of emotions and don't really help.

Examples would be

''Men shouldn't sit around and discuss women's appearance or use certain words'' or something similar. Just in my experience both genders do this. Of course there is a cut of point but what should it be? and should different rules apply to men/women.

Last week #Notallmen was trending. I clicked into it and read various tweets from people being furious over this. It was mainly trending because about 10 oddballs tweeted it and then thousands others tweeted it lashing out over it.

Or these people getting put out because somebody held a door open for you, given up a seat, stepped aside, etc and Chances are they'd have done it for anybody.

Similar with generalisations of men, women, minorities, etc

I do understand people were upset, angry, afraid and that's understandable but it's important to use your social media or appearances in the media in positive way which will help to connect to people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,365 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Apparently Helen McEntee will be drafting up legislation in March to prevent Violence to Women.

It's not going away. But I cannot help but feel much of the 'action' being done, in light of the horrible events... is all just assumed action. Doing, or writing, up legislation to make one 'think' you're actually doing something, when really, one is doing very little.

And I in no way condone what happened to Aisling Murphy. It was a horrible crime, and I hope her murderer is found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭maestroamado

Basically for me its all waffle... the article confirms we are tolerant to violent crime already and the legal system and judiciary are allowed continue along their way unhindered...

Draughting legislation is ok but the judiciary can interpret as they please and Government by their own admission over the years cannot comment... there needs to be mandatory sentencing for all violence against the person for all gender...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

just want to remind everyone of the candle lit vigils and the solidarity marches held in memory of George Floyd...a scumbag who held a pregnant woman at gun point while he and his cronies ransacked her house.

RTE were eulogising this toe rag from day 1. funny how his violent history towards women didnt matter then.

RTE's portrayal of Irish men is a disgrace and the perfect reason not to pay your licence fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

they would need to bring the class for pints daily to see how they interact

Oh you're the poster that thinks random strangers commenting about women in public is a compliment and women should enjoy it 🙄

Tone deaf.

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭pauly58

I see Varadkar was calling for a new Minister & a new dept to tackle this problem. How about taking on thousands more Gardai & have a visible presence on the street, worked in New York when Guiliari did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,024 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

As the Indo, this morning described this bizzare interview " The Yes Minister Interview" 🙄🙄🙄👀👀

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭HerrKuehn

Well, I would think it is obvious that the police can't go around randomly killing people through excessive force and justifying it with the victim's previous criminal history.

Correct, nobody saying otherwise. But, for the person to be then portrayed as one step from sainthood goes to show how things can be twisted.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

This is an excellent post. It's a sad indictment of the country in general that there's better commentary from some posters on boards.ie than from some of the pundits in the two most credible newspapers.

There are loads of genuinely helpful steps that could be taken, but the opportunity could be ruined by people trying to ingratiate themselves with ridiculous statements like men should be required to have licences to socialise.

Oh, but elements of the US media are saying otherwise. They are using it as a justification for the actions of the police. In the situation he was killed his previous crimes have no bearing. I certainly wouldn't be eulogising him myself given what he had done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,126 ✭✭✭timmyntc

I think the only logical solution is to self-segregate society into mens and womens only spaces

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭SamStonesArm

Now I need to see all that movie. Looks class. Gwon person bloodbath ya legend ya

• Registered Users Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭zv2

They put 'toxic' and 'masculinity' in the same sentence. That's enough.

btw, the first time I heard 'toxic' vis-a-vis modern folk, was in an old interview by C. Hitchens saying religion is toxic. Maybe that guy started it...

“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.” — Voltaire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

These idiots are more likely to cause more violence against women than reduce it imo. When young men are constantly hearing about how they're violent, misogynistic and less valued members of society yet can see the statistics which show they actually have it worse than their female counterparts in almost every regard I think it's almost inevitable there's going to be a backlash from those already disposed to trouble or violence.

Maybe that's what the feminists want though? After all, vilifying men whilst deifying women is a profession for those we hear most from in the media and since by all reasonable measures, women already have it better than men in most western societies, maybe they now feel the need to engineer a problem for them to "fix"? More likely they're just morons though.

The success of the covid pass system has shown that such systems could work for other themes. I think it's a fantastic idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,909 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

would my insurance go down, if i got this license?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,608 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I'm just linking to the podcast of yesterday's show so people can go and listen to what Sam McC actually said yesterday.

It's at about 39 mins left on the Newspaper Panel segment.

As I said in this thread yesterday he is clearly emphasising the educational value of the 12 lessons rather than saying all men need a licence to go out socialising.

I think that even though his message was somewhat unclear he did us a service, perhaps unintentionally, in providing a space for discussion that doesn't focus on the tragic events in Tullamore.

It's been one of the most useful discussions I've seen on AH for a long time.

I think we will come to regard Sam McConkey's comments as the official end of the pandemic. I was wondering what these academics who put themselves into the media spot light would do when the pandemic was over and now I know. It is the most ridiculous suggestion I have ever heard and the fact that he was not called out on it speaks volumes.

I think ultimately the media focus on all men will be counterproductive. It creates an us vs them situation. I mean fair enough focusing on men as a group if they belong to misogynistic groups or organisations as that would be a choice. Individual men can really only be responsible for their own behavior and the behavior of their sons, I don't know how to be responsible for other people.

If women want men to call out guys on the bus or whatever, there needs to be a situation where law abiding people are protected from violent scumbags. That doesn't exist at the moment. If you are on the #13 bus in Dublin and there are guys smoking cannabis and cat calling women, if you say something you risk getting a bottle in the face. If that happens and it goes to court, we will of course learn that the guy has a long rap sheet, there will be a sob story about a family death recently as mitigating circumstances. He will get a suspended sentence and probably have to pay a miserable 2k or something he could scrape together. That would be the expectation anyway. Maybe the minister for justice Helen McEntee might have something she can do here? Law abiding men fear the unpunished violence from scumbags too. There needs to be a clear change in policy around sentencing. A suspended sentence is just a slap on the wrist.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

This stupid intervention shows what a technocratic government could look like.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭zv2

ps When I was 5 years old in school this is what they were teaching young boys and girls-

What are little boys made of?

Snips, snails

And puppy-dogs' tails

That's what little boys are made of

What are little girls made of?

Sugar and spice

And everything nice

That's what little girls are made of.

Evil.

“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.” — Voltaire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

sure wasnt a poor innocent romanian lad lifted by the police in tullamore and his so called violent history blasted all over social media and the rte..absolute disgrace. Trial by media & Feminist Hysteria.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭rightmove

There's an element of the 'no one intervened' when someone is assaulted on the street. Sometimes people do intervene but other times people stand back either because of fear or they just don't understand what it is they're observing but it's always easy to criticise them after the event.

From my own experience of reporting a minor assault to the Guards the first question you are asked is 'how far do you want to take this complaint?'. The reality is that the Guards don't want to get involved and 'zero tolerance' is just a platitude.

• Registered Users Posts: 336 ✭✭NaFirinne

All I hear on the news is how the men of Ireland need to change and I agree with that sentiment.

The men of Ireland need to start holding the goverenement accountable for the soft touch justice system that is in this country that allows repeater offenders off with mere slap on the wrist.

How far do you want to take it, means are you actually going to go to court and give evidence. It's amazing the amount of people who report these things and then back out, wastes everyone's time.

The suspended sentence at the end is the real waste of time. Might as well make the crime legal, it would save a lot hassle.

The phrase 'religion is poison/toxic' is something C. Hitchens lifted from Mao Zedong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,044 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Why has it taken 3 days for this suspect in hospital to be interviewed (apparently its to happen today)?

Unless he's in a coma he should have been answering questions a lot quicker than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭ahappychappy

I was surprised someone so educated (Sam) could say something so daft. I am in the privileged position to be a mother to two sons - teen and near teen - and these conversations worry me. I know I have two great young fellas that are kind, funny and emotionally intelligent. They have a father (divorced) who provides an excellent role model, a granddad and uncles who do the same.

My eldest asked me did I have negative experiences - so I was honest. I dont attend classes I want to because I would be walking home late in the dark alone, I dont go for a run early- I pay attention to where I am morning noon and night if in areas where there are groups of teens/lads who are vandalizing etc in case they turn on me. I organise my social life risk assessing where to go - when there I am likely to say I have a boyfriend to get rid of unwanted attention - because me saying sorry not interested has in the past involved a snarling aggressive response.

I told him of my experiences as a teenager - 13/14 years of age and adult men yelling what they want to do with you and commenting on your body. If you had the audacity to call them out - you get called a dry sh** and where is your sense you humor. When I worked as a lounge girl I was shown by one of the barmaids how to charm my way out of unwanted hands - seriously that was the language used - charm my way out of an assault - unwanted hands is assault. I was told in several jobs in the '00s to wear a skirt - amazingly my brain and ability to do my job doesn't increase with my legs being cold but hey ho!

This was our reality, have things changed I hope so but I still reckon girls get unwanted attention and are thought to manage it! I know it is not all men, but I nor any other woman doesn't know which man.

Women are asking all men to pay attention - and be allies to the women in your life and we will be allies to the men in ours.

Really? How much so you know about Garda investigation?

Such as the law about questioning people, how much time there is to question someone, when you can and cannot question someone, who else should be present when questioning a suspect?

I'd suggest not too much.

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭cannonballTaffyOjones

He/him/his

“When you're used to privilege, equality feels like oppression”.

#bekind

Always the same...

ALWAYS

I know what it means and why they ask. In my own case I just asked that they be contacted (I gave a car reg number) and warned. Couple of weeks later the Guard phoned me and said the person wasn't answering the phone, apparently it never occurred to them to call to the house. I got the message alright about 'zero tolerance'.

There is absolutely nothing and no law that allows Gardai to call to their house to 'warn them '

You either want to make a criminal complaint or you don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,455 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Just listened to the podcast there - McConkey was the third guest in the segment and had 15 minutes to gather his thoughts before speaking. He wasn't bounced by Brendan O'Connor into saying something stupid.

The driving licence/lessons analogy is bonkers. Driving a car is a privilege. In contrast, there is (in theory in the case of males) legal protection against discrimination or incitement to hatred based on gender.

The fact that this nonsense would never be implemented is irrelevant.

As already stated, if he said what he did about women, Muslims, Travellers or pretty much any other group, there would be serious questions over his position in RCSI.

Also, Alison O'Connor and others using this murder to rant about everything from the gender pay gap to Pormarnock Golf Club. Also wolf whistling - is this somehow a "gateway drug" to murder. The whole thing smacks of despicable opportunism. How many journalists and NGOs have raised their profiles and will ultimately, generate/maintain income for themselves on the back of this.