Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Do men need a license to be allowed socialise (MOD NOTE IN OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,559 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Depends on what kind of hospital he's in. If he's in a psychiatric hospital (snip) then there might not have been any point interviewing him until he was stable. No point interviewing someone if they're having a psychotic break or are delusional or whatever.

modsnip no speculation on an active case please

Post edited by Pawwed Rig on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

I did make a written complaint. So you're telling me the Guards can't physically approach an individual who has been the subject of a written complaint?

I find that hard to believe.

This was our reality, have things changed I hope so but I still reckon girls get unwanted attention and are thought to manage it! I know it is not all men, but I nor any other woman doesn't know which man.

Which is the case for anything that involves other people.

No doubt you've had negative experiences (varied) with other women.. you have no idea when meeting a woman whether she's going to do the same as those women in your past. Just as I have no idea how any person is going to behave before they do so.

Women are asking all men to pay attention - and be allies to the women in your life and we will be allies to the men in ours.

Would you consider your husband to be oblivious to what it's like for women? No doubt you've told him some of your experiences, and fears. The simple truth is that most men already know something about what it's like because they have sisters, girlfriends, or just female friends who have spoken their experiences. I'm in my mid-40s and I can recall dozens of conversations with women about them being threatened in some way or another...Just as I've seen loads of articles either online or from the media, raising the problems of violence or harassment directed towards women.

There is this... idea... that "men" are oblivious to what happens. We're not. However, I've yet to see any realistic/practical solution to it. What is it that men are supposed to do about it?

Most men are already allies of women.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭rightmove

When is anyone in the media going to stop the knee jerk witch hunt of men for pretty much everything!

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭sekiro

I wonder does the idea that violent crime can somehow be taught out of society take hold because most of the people having, certainly leading, the conversation tend to have a decent education? Like they haven't really thought that a lot of people wouldn't pay attention to the lessons or wouldn't be able to pass the test because they just can't learn. What would we end up doing with people who simply don't absorb the content of the lessons?

It feels kind of like you have people coming out of social studies classes and they are thinking "well I learned my worldview at college and I am totally right about everything so if we just taught people how to think the same way I was taught then the world would be a better place".

I think a much more appropriate starting point for things like this would be to understand exactly why the specific people who commit these kinds of crimes do that. It's not even clear how rare or common some of these events that people talk about actually are. You'd need to look at case studies and then ask if it's realistic that a few classes in high school at the age of 15 or 16 would prevent someone from committing a horrendous crime when they are in their 40s. What if for some people violence is linked to mental health issues and those issues develop after the classes have been taken?

People in government positions talk about "zero tolerance" but what does that even mean? We have people walking around sometimes with 100s of convictions so obviously there is actually quite a lot of tolerance of crime and criminals and scumbags in society. It's possible for an individual in this country to smash someone with a glass bottle, never spend a day in prison, and then spend the rest of their life living off government hand-outs. What does "zero tolerance" even mean in that context? If you strike a woman you'll be locked up forever? You'll never be able to claim welfare? Or you'll just have to attend some classes?

This is an example of violence against a woman where we obviously are not taking a "zero tolerance" approach. 10k and an apology letter and you're not even spending a day in prison. Physiotherapist who glassed woman in face in Dublin pub receives suspended sentence - Independent.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,854 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Teaching basic kindness and respect is important from an early age.

From my understand Ashling Murphys family asked for privacy now I know the media needs to report news however there was no need to film/photograph them walking along the canal bank yesterday.

*They may have got permission of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

The knee jerk reaction happens everywhere though...

Imagine the perpetrator was arabic or black what the reaction would be. This thread would have ten times more replies for one!

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭Shao Kahn

This wasn't a man that killed that poor woman, it was a monster.

Most men in our society would have ran to this woman's defense if they had been on that stretch of canal that day. (as would most women too I'm sure)

I don't see why the tragic death of a young woman, needs to be turned into a crusade for other people's agendas? Would Aisling Murphy want this? Do these brain dead talking heads in the media even give a damn about her?

I very much doubt it, as this is simply a convenient vehicle for their own warped ulterior motives!

RIP Aisling.

"Tomorrow is the most important thing in life. Comes into us at midnight very clean. It's perfect when it arrives, and it puts itself into our hands. It hopes we've learned something from yesterday." (John Wayne)

• Registered Users Posts: 762 ✭✭✭starkid

so just by discussing it, it makes you out to be a victim? yes thats a great way to have discourse.

the fact it was said on RTE by a prominent person is worrying. if you can´t see the gradual shifts over time then you need to wake up a little. its not an immediate thing. its real world stuff. you can blithely say oh its just some crank on radio etc.

but these are real things. and they are clearly affecting human culture. obviously there is some good to come out of the bad things. many men have changed mindsets after the metoo movement and the court case here. its a gradual thing and hopefully it continues. however villifying every single man is tiresome.

and you are at it. you just shut down discussion by basically stating any man talking about this is playing the victim. utter bullshit.

men must do more. i don´t think anyone disputes that. its still a patriarchy. but we are getting closer to breaking the barriers. a first female us president might be a sledgehammer to it opening. i´m not responsible for my forefathers short sightedness when it comes to women and their role in society. but i can admit that women have right to feel aggrieved. they were chattel for centuries upon centuries.now i see women as my equal. but by trying to totally right those wrongs, you could easily flip it the other way. we need balance and we need proper discourse about all these things. and as you rightly point out, most women would say this is bullshit.

but saying that its a bit worrying a prominent talking head is talking about licenses is not dismissing women nor their real fear of stuff like this. i mean some people say make misogony a hate crime. its great in theory, not so much in reality. we need to strive for an equal and balanced society.

for me its alot of hypocrisy. where are the people taking a stand against the countries who are still basically medieval with this stuff?

i think peoples main issue with all of this is the illogical nature of it all. how do you end crime? cause thats basically what people are saying. educating men is a great way of going, and will change some of the distasteful stuff even more. yet i think its clear that after all that there will always be violent men. and indeed violent women to a much lesser extent.

and how do you square the likes of Malcolm Carthur or Larry Murphy walking free with it all?

there is a tonne of issues surrounding all of this. again dismissing it with the idea that even discussing it as being insensitive or playing the victim is lazy.

educate men till the cows come home. but you won´t change things without a clockwork orange style intervention, the desctruction of consumer capitalism, a reversal of the increasing sexualisation of our culture year in year out or a really harsh system that goes against the liberal individualistic society that we have. also we would need to really ramp up the clash of civilisation. the hypocrisy around Islam is easy to see here. its racist to call it out but their misogony is ok? which is it.

tldr: so yeah Sam talking **** on radio doesn´t really matter until you reealise that every change for better and worse has come from public discourse through mediums like this. so instead of a license it might be a full on mandated civil course. again great in theory. not so much in practise because you have unbalanced society and divided it. and by discussing that and trying to criticise that, i´m not playing the victim. men can be bastards and we need to do more. but how much more, and what more needs to be properly discussed. culture wars are happening, and its easy to dismiss them as twitter echo chambers. but some prominent thinkers do think future wars and strife will be wars of sex, race, age, religion. so lets strive for equality and balance, not a reversal of the wrongs of yesteryear.

but most of all we do need to accept that society is still a male dominated one and that needs to change. women shouldn´t have to put up with misogony. women jokes, sexism, lecherous creeps, wolf whistles, objectification. hopefully we can get there. i can see the issue has had on my daughter and partner. this is a male problem and men must do more.

Post edited by starkid on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

But we don't know as of now who the 'perpetrator' was. No one is even under arrest for this crime as I post this. We presume that it's a male but beyond that we know virtually nothing at present.

• Registered Users Posts: 819 ✭✭✭EDit

Pretty disgusting that the murder in Tullamore has been hijacked and turned into a discussion on gender-based violence in the absence of any explanation of what actually happened. As far as I know, no-one of any gender has been charged with, let alone convicted of the offence. Also, we dont yet know the circumstances behind the attack… for all we know, the attacker was under a drug-induced psychotic episode and would have murdered the first person they met on the greenway regardless of gender. Surely all the hand-ringing and commentary can wait until we have details of what happened? Must be heartbreaking for family to see all this shite on the web and in the news.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

I think he went very close to saying men should need a license to socialise, very close.

That is bat **** tbf. This kind of talk will sow division and waste the potential for a genuine change in societal norms. The fact that can go relatively unchallenged says a lot about how weak our media is now.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭zv2

And there will always be lions who, if you keep jabbing them with a pointed stick, will bite your head off.

“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.” — Voltaire

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭DontHitTheDitch

Clearly, re-education camps for men could work, just see how this blue collar worker completely changed his worldview after reading 800 pages of queer feminist theory.

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭bertiebomber

China does not allow pornography to be streamed so taking it out of society is possible but its too lucrative sadly to do so. An irish girl we can identify with is what makes this murder all the more shocking. I disagree with all white men being tarnished as there are many good white men but the vilifying of them is on going in the world & this just conveniently feeds the narrative. Why a man would strangle a woman at 4pm in the afternoon while she is out jogging beggars belief and i am sure many men are as baffled as i am . Just be nice and stand up for us especially to assholes !

• Registered Users Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

At a more simple level, I think men will just tune out of these discussions. And discussions about why women feel unsafe in public places are very necessary.

Tbh any rational person would have to strongly consider turning off that station when they hear something so stupid.

Of course there needs to be a lot done to make women feel safe in public places, but coming up with extremist and stupid statements, which will no doubt be welcomed by some, is exactly the wrong way to go about it.

He changed his view on Hilary Clinton he needs to go back into the camp she is a warmongering cnut and so deceitful and duplicitous. Stopped all information about her husbands dealings with epstein while she was running the last time - 28 trips to his paedo island? America does not need her if that all they can come up with its a very sad day for such a huge country.

men must do more.

I'm seeing this a lot... what exactly should men be doing?

its still a patriarch. but we are getting closer to breaking the barriers.

Except it's not. There are no rights currently in Irish society that are exclusive to men, that women do not have equal access to... and we have many ways for women to claim against any kind of discrimination. Just as there are many supports in society for women, which are not available to men (sponsorship and financial supports for women based entirely on gender, which would be considered sexist if they were extended solely to men).

The barriers have already been broken. Society needed some time to catch up, but I'd say in most areas, it's well and truly caught up. Maybe not to the heights that feminists desire, but in terms of equality, it's well and truly here.

a first female us president might be sledgehammer to it opening.

Why? In Ireland we have already had a female president, and we have a female Justice minister who has real power/authority to effect change. How would a female US president change anything in Ireland?

we need balance and we need proper discourse about all these things.

Yes, we do.

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭BringingSexyBack

Considering you were the very first person to comment on Amacca's post, before anyone else; rather presumptive to comment on the "amount of men" who feel threatened, when no one else but Amacca commented.

There is absolutely nothing in Amacca's statement that indicated anger , either .

There is nothing in what Amacca stated that is unreasonable. A call for a licence? Even a half wit could see the legal issues that would exist with that idiotic reactionary suggestion from the said Sam McConkey; not to mention how unenforceable it would be .

We already have laws in place to deal with toe rags. We just need parents and schools and community groups to educate young people about respect for each other (most violence is male v male after all)

The original poster said:

"Why isn't anyone focussing on the law and order aspect of this or demanding the powers that be work towards reducing public order problems/threatening intimidating behaviour etc...."

What is wrong with that statement ? How is that a statement of anger ? More police on the street would be a good thing (to be fair, the horrible incident in Tullamore couldn't have been stopped by cops on the beat, they can not be everywhere)

He then said :

"I myself as a man have been on the receiving end of two unprovoked attacks, you read about people with previous public order convictions in the hundreds still seemingly free to roam around, isn't that part of the problem that nobody seems to want to mention....wouldn't that reduce the likelihood of tragedies like this happening?....why is it OK that the police are afraid to go into some areas etc....why is it OK to suggest "all" men should have to undergo a mandatory course to socialise.....I say "all" as no doubt if challenged on the nonsense one would get the placatory oh most men are lovely stock answer we just mean the bad ones ... at that point one would be nitpicking if you asked what the selection criteria for this course would be...."

What is unreasonable about that statement ? Legitimate question. Do you seem to cry anger hate etc if someone asks awkward questions ?

He then concluded by saying :

"When will we do what we should do in this country and start applying timely and proper deterrants to criminality/thug behaviour so people can feel safer walking the streets rather than beating around the Bush with some nebulous notion of education programs and societal change.....I'm not saying culture can't change or that it shouldn't but I do think you'll always have scum and much higher levels of it regardless of what courses you bring in if the justice system doesn't face up to its responsibilities and actually campaigning for that to happen might go more towards a meaningful response to this horrific tragedy."

So, a person who is concerned about the disorder around the country - complains about what he perceives is failing under the criminal legal system for ALL - he himself a victim of two assaults..................Where is the anger that you claim?

The proposal uttered is indeed nonsense. This poster in the last part of his statement offered some solutions (arguable that they aren't the be all and end all either as education is very much needed too)

Your attack was not only premature, but misunderstood (giving you benefit of the doubt that it isn't dishonesty) and rather baseless.

Go to any Chinese internet cafe, and you'll find large numbers of guys watching porn. The ban on porn has never been effective. Anyway, it's easy to use a torrent, and just download the files, as that bypasses the firewall on streaming. Removing porn from society isn't possible, because new methods of delivering it will be developed. That's what happens on the internet. Put up a barrier, and people will find a way around it.

The thread isn't directed towards the incident in Tulamore. The thread hasn't been hijacked. It relates to the perception/perspectives in society relating to violence towards women, the reactions to that, and how it might affect both genders.

Nobody has been discussing the particulars of the Tulamore situation because that's how threads get shut down. So, perhaps you should read the thread a bit before judging the content.

i´m talking about Worldwide. in that context i think it still is very much a male led society. but again its a very complex issue around childcare, raising etc and the fact that religion plays a massive role in it. and its not all because of men. women buy into ISlam, or buy into what a man should or shouldn´t do.

men should say to each other to cut out some of the objectification and lecherous talk.(i mean i was told all this in the late 1990s by my sex education teacher. he told us to be mindful that we carry the weapon and that men have a responsibilty to be better and to treat women with respect) but so too should corporations and media with the mixed messages. again the above is part of that. stay at home dads are shat upon. and women buy into it as well because of what they are fed about success etc. theres a whole clash happening around the family, society etc. like i said its a gradual shift. its possibly 100 years in the making. so yeah Sam can talk **** it seems it doesn´t matter. if its taken as a whole, it does. civil courses could very much be a thing.

people need to accept Americas role in the hegemony of the world. its the cultural capital just like Paris was in the 20s.

so when they get a female president it will cause a massive shift in thinking. its a glass ceiling about to be broke. our two female presidents played a part, but largely symbolic. A US president is very powerful and influential.

I get where you are coming from though, i´m probably overegging things. i do think we live in a very equal and fair society here in Ireland. but im not a woman so what do i know.

The Garda can go to his house on foot of your complaint just as he could phone him

However the guy does not have to speak to the Garda and can tell him leave. If you proceed the Garda can summon him to court. Ultimately it is the gardai who decide to prosecute or not. You would have to go to court and give evidence as a witness for the prosecution

If it's a serious assault section 2 or 3 the Garda can arrest him.He still does not have to talk make any comment but the garda can charge him.

The Garda was too lazy saying he didn't answer his phone lol .Phoning him was his "investigation"

I would complain the garda to the super

What do you mean you made a written complaint, a statement?

men should say to each other to cut out some of the objectification and lecherous talk. but so too should corporations and media with the mixed messages.

And perhaps the millions+ of women who benefit from that objectification either through direct employment or subsequent benefits? Dunno what you mean by lecherous talk, but I suspect it's something that both gender engage in. How much of the objectification of women is driven by women themselves? Quite a bit, I'd say.

If there is going to be any serious discussion about issues such as these, we really need to consider how both genders are involved.

As for the worldwide context, you're basing this off American and western contexts... not worldwide.

• Registered Users Posts: 819 ✭✭✭EDit

Perhaps you should reread my post. The hijack statement is referring to the shite in the news and on social media rather than this thread specifically (ie, the stuff as mentioned in the OP)

Also, to say this thread is nothing to do with the events in Tullamore is just plain BS… it just came up as a topic out of pure coincidence did it?

ha thats gas. yeah basically sums it up.

we can villify people in flyover states and blue collar workers who are like that but their experience is different to the experience of others. some of those towns are completely depressed and basically dead. why would they have a balanced outlook on life?

its a clash of civilisation and a culture war. not all things, people are equal. theres loads more of this yet to run.

so this sort of shite talking by a figurehead matters. a course or whatever he is advocating basically generalises all of it as one shared experience. its not.

I didn't say the thread had nothing to do with the events in Tullamore. I said that the thread wasn't directed towards the incident itself. The incident caused the license to be proposed, and so the discussion does have some connection with Tullamore, although not primarily related.

But sure, I stand corrected on the first part regarding hijacking by the media. It sounded like it was related to this thread. Sorry about that.

Over populated lots of envy anger and therefore increased crime. More people more crime cant really be dealt with in any other way apart from arming the police getting them visible on the streets. When did you last see a policeman walking in any area of the country in two years i have not spotted one no traffic stops nothing.

We need a police force that is close to the community, walking talking picking up on information knowing who lives where who they are where they are from etc. It used to be that way a cop could give you directions to any remote person living alone to his door with out post codes. the modern cop is in the warm office buried under tons of useless paperwork for crimes they cant solve.

MY friend was robbed house break in and the police were great but he said he would have to spend abt 3 days doing the paperwork while the perps got away scot free all her jewellery stolen and never recovered. More cops & opn the beat walking among us along canals and areas where the public gather thats the solution not demonizing all men .

I get where you are coming from though, i´m probably overegging things. i do think we live in a very equal and fair society here in Ireland. but im not a woman so what do i know

No, I don't buy that. There is no shortage of media reports, articles, and discussions in modern Irish society (and moreso in American society) related to women's issues. It's not as if the problems and concerns of women are not being expressed.. and women are being forced into silence. Those days are long gone.

Being male doesn't mean that we are ignorant or incapable of being aware of what's going on around us.

But what I'd like to know is what "men", you/me, in particular, as individuals are supposed to be doing to change things. You said that men need to do more. So.. what is it that they/you should be doing?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Well hopefully there will be an update soon, so the concerned citizens can narrow down on a smaller pool of men, instead of putting every person in the same bucket.

Its so much more efficient to hate a smaller target group.

I hope people can see how bad the media is in this country,

Always driving a narrative.

Horrible shower, best thing I no anybody can do is turn them off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,424 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

I think the shallow/cheap/advertisement driven UK and USA media have provided a template to RTE and other Irish media to follow and they are lapping it up. For a company that receives a license fee and advertisement revenue and has a monopoly in this country, RTE is terribly bland, boring, shallow and partisan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

As a female I find it sad that in the last few days social media etc has been hijacked by women saying they live in fear, all men are dangerous, it's not safe anywhere for women.

If we wake up everyday thinking all men are to be feared what sort of life is that for anyone male or female.

I go walking most days / evenings and to be honest I dont' spend every minute waiting to see if the man walking towards me is going to attack me, that is an injustice to all men. We have to be honest and acknowledge that the vast majority of men will never harm anyone else and stop labeling them under the one umbrella of something to live in fear of

• Registered Users Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭zv2

“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.” — Voltaire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,463 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Yea it's always fun to see scumbags getting what's coming to them in movies

Stallone when some **** takes a pregnant womans seat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,608 ✭✭✭✭elperello

But you will acknowledge that he wasn't advocating a licensing system for men?

You may disagree with his contribution but in fairness BO'C was sitting across the desk from him and heard what he said first hand and understood the context of his words.

He chose not to challenge him which is the presenters prerogative, he's not there to challenge everything you don't like.

We are discussing/challenging him now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

O'Connor challenge anything!!!!! LOL - do you never listen to him? He used to be call 'Ballsy' on the odd time that he stood in for Marian Finucane, as he a little edgy. Once he got his bum in the permanent slot, he's become a complete woke disaster - obsessed with mental health and the failings generally of men. B'OC wouldn't say boo to anyone now - unless he thinks they're a very soft easy target.

As for the OP, weird to see how the horrible murder of this poor young woman has been turned into multiple complaints against men in general. You'd nearly be afraid now to open a door for a woman, lest you be accused of soliciting them.

McConkey - bonkers and completely lost the run of himself. Is there something they slip into the tea & coffee of RTE presenters and guests?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,095 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Kid, it’s not going to happen. Ever. Never ever. Men are never going to need a licence to socialise. Doesn’t matter who said it, or where it was broadcast. “Things” aren’t going that way. OP said they felt “threatened” by it. The “should a woman ask a man out thread” has a load of guys claiming “you can’t even look at a woman any more!”. Total bollox. Total victim complex. And totally unnecessary. No need to feel threatened, no need to think you’re a victim. Women aren’t out to get men, society isn’t out to get them. Some clickbait shite on Twitter or RTE means absolutely nothing.

Talk to a few actual women about it if you’re that worried. Tell them you’re seriously afraid that you’re human rights are under threat because a man on the radio said a totally over the top thing that no-body sakes seriously. They won’t castrate you. But they might tell you to calm down. Or man up.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭HerrKuehn

I feel I need to correct this misrepresentation of the reason BO'C is called "ballsy", it was because of this infamous article just before the property bubble crashed (july 2007):

Do you not think the discourse in the media has been completely lacking in rationality though? It's like saying if we teach Tony how to use the indicators properly at roundabouts we won't get Robbie skagging off his head on coke doing 230 miles an hour down the wrong way of the M50 at 4am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,289 ✭✭✭✭rob316

This anti men sentiment is such bullshit, a violent sociopath is a violet sociopath, they will kill at any opportunity. Is it easier to assault and kill a female? Sure it is we are genetically stronger, in a physical altercation 9/10 the male will be too strong. But the talk I'm hearing and reading is like any man is a moment away from killing their partner or attacking a stranger. For christ sake I saw a tweet from a mother who was appalled that her daughters school talked about the murder but her son's didn't mention it, and I quote "the boys who grow into men who attack and kill us".

Many men would of risked their own lives helping Ashling if they came across it while her attack was happening.

A horrible horrible tragedy has happened and to the script the feminists are losing sight of the crime and pushing there narrative. Its disgusting to be honest the hijacking of peoples legitimate grief.

Its not a male problem! Thats the problem you have!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,095 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

You think threads like this are doing anything to counter irrationally? Please.

Males should not pay the licence fee for anti male propaganda

It's necessary to discuss this and particularly how a brutal murder is being exploited by people of a certain ideology as a shield to deflect the kind of criticism required in a free society.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭HerrKuehn

Christ on a bike.

No, I won't be the person that those gobshites want men to be.

NONE of that shite has anything to do with the incident that sparked these debates. NOTHING!

Fucking hell. Absolute bitches to use such a horrific incident to further their feminist agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,424 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

I think traditional media is hamstrung on what it can do for legal reasons etc etc and can't keep up with the Internet.

But RTE need to dig deeper and try harder.

I'm going to Reddit Ireland, boards and the journal for my "news". This is ridiculous.

There is shocking stuff happening that is not being reported, under reported or not being covered or corroborated by RTE.

The state of the country is not being reflected by RTE. They are presenting a saccharine sweet society, especially "down the country". The **** is hitting the fan and they are dancing with the stars.