Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Do men need a license to be allowed socialise (MOD NOTE IN OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I think what people are genuinely missing here is that when someone makes a negative statement and applies it to a demographic - any demographic at all - that, by all modern metrics and certainly by the standards of the kinds of activists who are currently making such statements about "men", qualifies as hate speech. And the vast majority of us have grown up in a world in which we were (rightly) raised to believe that any hate speech - any generalising, any sweeping statements about this or that demographic, any negative sentiment whatsoever towards people because of which demographic group they belong to - is socially unacceptable and wrong

The reason men are angry about the word "men" being used as a pejorative without the word "some" before it is because this is literally how we were raised to view the world. And it has been, in a large part, feminists who have pushed for this over time - "women are not a hivemind", "you cannot hold all women accountable for the actions of the bad ones", etc etc etc.

I for one agree entirely with the latter - as I say, it's how I was raised to view the world, in a gender-blind, colour-blind fashion wherein any statement that makes literally any assumption or ascribed any adjective whatsoever to "X group of humans" without qualifying that I don't mean everyone in that group because they are all individuals, a bigoted, hateful statement which is socially unacceptable and which mainstream, "polite" society will rip me to shreds for. Which it does. Rightly.

People like myself are simply angry that, for much of the last decade, the demographic of "male" or "man" is somehow exempt from such social rules around hate speech. That's it. Nothing more, nothing less. That's what it's about and that's why people are angry about it. Rightly.

Hate speech against me and people like me has become socially acceptable in mainstream media and society, where it remains unacceptable towards any other demographic checkbox.

That is a double standard - and there is no such thing as a justified or acceptable double standard. You either believe in human egalitarianism or you don't. Hold everyone to the same standard, or you're a bigot. It's that simple.

• Registered Users Posts: 467 ✭✭nj27

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,095 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

It really isn’t. It’s not one bit necessary to waste your time being afraid of something that will never, ever, happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭daithi7

Bump, great post, well said, both true and salient.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭HerrKuehn

You know very well if Sam McConkey had suggested muslim men or any other group may need a license to socialise, he would have been lynched. It is the double standard and hypocrisy that annoys people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭AyeGer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭OEP

I haven't read through most of this so I may be repeating what other's have said....

One thing men can do, and society in general, is to make it socially unacceptable for men/boys/groups of teenagers to jeer / shout/ comment/ even compliment women when they're out for a walk or run or just going about their day. There'll always be that tiny percentage that are liable to sporadic violence, and unfortunately there's not a whole lot we can do about that but if we can at least put an end to cat calling and the likes in public then that would make it a more pleasant for women on their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,095 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

So we’ve gone from being “threatened” by it to feeling aggrieved that we can’t say stupid things about Muslims.

We’ll survive, lads. We’ll be grand.

You want society to make it socially unacceptable to compliment a woman if they are "going about their day"?

I've heard it all now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

There's a dark part of me that would love to see the murderer revealed to be a pansexual, homeless, F2M transsexual asylum seeker just to see how the talking heads could make it the fault of straight white men...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭HerrKuehn

I didn't say I was threatened by it and I certainly am not suggesting that he say it about muslims either. We shouldn't generalise about any group in the way that has been done over the weekend in the media. I know we will survive, I think a lot of people are just pointing out the double standards. It is ultimately counterproductive as it puts one group against another and will have the opposite to the desired effect.

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭DontHitTheDitch

What a truly despicable way to twist someone's words.

Thats an absolutely horrible and dishonest comment.

Nobody is saying that at all.

You know this though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,714 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I see images doing the rounds on social media. People are really thick and ignorant as sh1te.

no even arrest yet, and already the so concerning public are jeopardising a trial and verdict.

You know exactly what I mean. A woman walking down the street and a man says "Looking gorgeous today", and that's the most pleasant version of it. It's unwanted, that often makes people feel uncomfortable. Ask any woman about their experiences going for a run and they'll have had beeps from cars, comments about their arse, looks etc.. This stuff needs to stop. When I was a teenager and we were in groups, often someone in the group would shout something at a girl or woman, and we'd all laugh - that's what needs to be made unacceptable

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭DontHitTheDitch

What many on this thread are talking about has already happened. 15 years ago if a woman was murdered by some dev iant bastard everyone would be condemning him, today some dev iant bastard kills a woman and the talking heads and twitterati blame 'men'. It seems like the actual person who carried out this sick attack is entirely irrelevant, it's landed in the laps of feminists and they make hay.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Niamh on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭rightmove

👉️make logical senses and is common sense.

How come it was funny for you when you were younger?

I think that kind of behaviour is pretty much socially unacceptable now.

I don't think that anyone outside of their teens would deem it appropriate behaviour. Some people will be arseholes and do **** things however.

We can all pick individual incidents. I think you know exactly what others mean when 50% are cast out ...come on. Also women behave terribly also in large group and the lines are often pushed further. Some women think they can do what they want as men have to take it,.

I suppose it needs to be drilled into teenage boys more - and that will work over time. And then less of those teenagers will grow up to be the arseholes that do it as fully grown men. We can try and reduce the number of arseholes out there. They should actually bring in some kind of law against it, not that it would be easy to enforce but if even a couple of men got slapped with a hefty fine it would cut it out significantly.

Oh dear. I don't agree with that.

You think there should be a hefty fine for complimenting a woman if she doesn't want to be complimented?

Women shouldn't do it either but we both know that men do it way more. Every woman deals with these kinds of comments and things, and it can't be pleasant going for a run and seeing a couple of lads ahead and thinking to yourself "what are they going to say now", even if it only happens 5% of the time - it's still going to be on your mind. I've never had comments from a woman when I've been running

I think men are getting enough slapping and tiring of it at this stage

Some of the media stuff is tiring alright but what else do we have to deal with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

If you think letting a group of misandrists lecture schoolboys is going to anything other than make those boys think less of women, I have bad news for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,025 ✭✭✭✭anewme

There's an ad at the moment, showing a woman out running and encountering differing scenarios, all of which are unwelcome and uncomfortable.

If someone is having a crap day, you don't want to be told, smile, it will never happen, that type of nonsense. You dont know what's going on in that persons life, they could have just lost someone due to COVID, lost their job and yet here is this pain in the hole expecting a smile because he's not happy with your face.

Another man put it very well on another thread, an excellent post, a man would never say these type of things to another man so why think you can say them to a woman.

There is no way that could even nearly work.

What else, apart from being told that men are the cause of all of society's ills, do men have to deal with?

It's that type of attitude that justifies each **** tweet or column on RTE. You are inferring that men have it easier than women.

If you get off twitter and boards then you can be oblivious to 90% of that - in going about your day to day life, men do have it easier in my opinion.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Many men would of risked their own lives helping Ashling if they came across it while her attack was happening.

Indeed. And when the prick ends up in prison, they'll have to keep him separate from the main population, because even the 'Dregs of Society'(tm) men will be out to injure or kill him. The very lowest of the low in prisons are rapists, murderers of women and child abusers. When was the last time a murdered man got this level of attention with torchlight vigils and the like? When did ministers call for No More and all that? Yet apparently we're living in an anti woman dystopia?

A horrible horrible tragedy has happened and to the script the feminists are losing sight of the crime and pushing there narrative. Its disgusting to be honest the hijacking of peoples legitimate grief.

+1000. Though it's not just feminists, it's the entire Church of the Perpetual Victimhood, from the Karens on Arsebook to the talking heads in the media that are milking this horrific tragedy for all its worth for attention and for as long as the headlines get clicks. And it's bloody shameless and shameful. And we'll be still left with a judicial system not fit for purpose at the end of it.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

You know exactly what I mean. A woman walking down the street and a man says "Looking gorgeous today", and that's the most pleasant version of it. It's unwanted, that often makes people feel uncomfortable

You, and others believe it to be unwanted... but I know women who would take the compliment as a compliment and not seek to make it more than that. Just as I know women who dress/behave in ways to intentionally attract attention, because they enjoy that attention. There's plenty of women who will flirt with strangers because they want the attention they receive... just as there are women who will not do it, and might possibly feel uncomfortable with that attention if it was directed at them.

First off, you're projecting the belief that your example comment is the most pleasant version of it.. whereas I can think of many more positive examples, without there being any threat, or sly under-tones. Secondly, you don't know that it's unwanted..

Some women don't want that attention, whereas other women do. That's the reality of people being people. You can't look at a gender and say that all of that gender entirely believe something.

It could be father's telling their sons not to do it. It's not like it will be an immediate change but over time you'll get more lads in groups calling out someone for shouting at a woman going by etc.. Making comments about gay people used to be seen as funny when I was a kid / teenager but that's much more frowned upon now - similar can happen here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,708 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Ironically if a man is convicted of murder here, he will be receiving bundles of fan mail and marriage proposals from women, killers like Ian Huntly and Graham Dwyer being examples , so to keep in tune with the thread of irrational grouping and stereotyping, do women need to do better? , #notall obviously

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

In what way do men have it easier?

And no, it's not just twitter and boards. It's our national broadcaster, it's all the newspapers and all over television. Sick bastards are using this horrible incident to push a false narrative that Ireland is unsafe for women by blaming men and the media are allowing/encouraging it.

• Registered Users Posts: 811 ✭✭✭kazamo

As a man I think cat calling should be a crime.

We all have phones with recording capabilities, so what’s the problem other than the state’s lack of interest ?

Ok. Give me the definition of cat-calling that you would like to see illegal.

Not having to deal with **** being shouted at you when out for a run for one. Not getting groped etc. in nightclubs and pubs. Every woman goes through that stuff. And I know it's only a small amount of men that do it but we can do more to reduce. I was in groups when I was late teens early 20s where there would be one or two lads that would push it too far, but we never said anything. That can be changed.

I agree that Ireland is not unsafe and I was pissed off with that narrative too, but speaking to my partner and listening to other women - it's the feeling of being unsafe that's the issue. And whilst serious random attacks are rare, jeering and people shouting comments is what causes this feeling of being unsafe - rather than it being backed up by data

Why not their mothers? On average children tend to have much more time with their mothers than with their fathers? How do we know that parents don't already teach such sentiments to their children?

The simple fact is that within Irish society, violence directed towards women is already unacceptable. Most men would have problems defending themselves if they were assaulted by a woman, because the social conditioning is so strong, that a man shouldn't hit a woman... even in self-defense.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The overwhelming gender weighting of suicides in Ireland might disagree with you. The average is for every ten suicides in this country eight are men. The only metric where adult women have it worse is sexual assault and Christ knows we have to adress that as a society, but in pretty much every other metric of assault, murder, serious crime, homelessness, drug addiction, illness, unemployment, longevity, self destruction, even death and injury at work men are the majority of cases. These are not feelings OEP, these are facts.

It's down to societal and individual perception based on how that society weights and views things and how individuals react to that. In the UK a couple of years ago they surveyed different demographics about safety on their streets. The most fearful about the subject were middle aged women. Who were the least likely to be attacked on the same streets? Middle aged women. The least fearful? Young men. And guess who were most likely to be victims?

And this has little to do with 'feminists', or the 'left' either. In pretty much all societies a young woman is about the most 'protected' demographic after children(even if in many societies that 'protection' is appalling sexist). The murder of a young woman is going to cause far more of a societal reaction than the murder of a man, young or not. If Jack the Ripper had murdered a bunch of men, chances are very high he'd not be the household name he became. There is a demographic hierarchy of outrage and that's just how it is and pretty much always has been. Now men can complain about it and I certainly understand why, but you're fighting deep cultural roots.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Their mothers can too. You like making strawman arguments I see.

I didn't say violence wasn't acceptable. None of what I said is currently seen as acceptable but with regards to beeping, commenting at women etc.. a blind eye is generally turned.

• Registered Users Posts: 811 ✭✭✭kazamo

Any loud mouthed comment that draws attention to another person’s appearance or demeanour. Let the courts decide then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,664 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Is this the same Sam McConkey who's apparentyl a doctor and Covid researcher of some sort? Can't find any info on him or what he's alleged to have said.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Men are often ridiculed for their appearance when passing by gangs of teenagers.

There is more of a likelihood of a man being attacked on a night out.

Women do grope men in nightclubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,025 ✭✭✭✭anewme

As a woman with many women friends, family members, colleagues, I would estimate that 90% of women dont want to be commented on as they go about their business. Theres thousands of them in the media over the last week, for God's sake. And, to go one further, there is not one women I know would want it. Not one.

Now, even diluting those numbers, if you are operating on the proviso that saying something may annoy 90% of random strangers, even 50% of random strangers, or even 20%, then maybe, you should not say anything. It's common sense. Social etiquette for dummies. Adults should not need to be told this.

You made a comment yesterday about women being partly responsible by the they were wording their complaints and said they were on the thread, I asked you twice as did another poster for real life examples, in real life, or on the thread. You failed to post any and avoided the question and some other posters quite rightly highlighted the obvious victim blaming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,038 ✭✭✭circadian

Not everyone wants unwarranted attention of strangers. I'd imagine to a woman it'd be intimidating if one of a group of men makes a passing comment. Jesus, my spidey sense goes off if someone makes a passing comment to me on the street, especially if there's a group.

It's not hard to mind your own business.

There's no strawman argument there. You made the point and I queried it. If you don't want to deal with what I wrote, fine. No problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,038 ✭✭✭circadian

It'd swing the other way too. I've been accosted several times by hen parties and ultimately felt violated. There'd hardly be a law passed to only suit one section of society, it'd be a general catch all regardless of gender or identity.

"Wow, that woman is beautiful"

That would be enough to get someone to court by your definition

• Registered Users Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Right so the guards can go to someone's house and warn them which was all I asked them to do.

"What do you mean you made a written complaint, a statement?"

I went to a Garda station, made a complaint and handed in a signed and dated statement about the incident. I asked that the person(s) involved be contacted and warned in the hope he/they would think twice before doing it again. They might very well deny it ever happened but at least they would know these things don't necessarily go unreported.

Anyway they never got to know because they apparently didn't answer their phone and the Guards didn't think it important enough to pursue it further, hence my comment here about 'zero tolerance' being a platitude.

You failed to post any and avoided the question.

Nope... I haven't responded to any of your posts... and I won't respond to any further comments/questions from you. I have zero interest engaging in a discussion with you, because I don't like the manner of your posts, and/or how you engage with others.

I have responded to other posters who queried the posts. Just not yours.