Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

john Paul Hegarty of cork computers gets 7 years prison for raping his sister

• Registered Users Posts: 268 ✭✭Fallout2022

Twenty years or higher would be the appropriate sentence here.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

You're the one making a big deal out of what is very clear law and you are still banging on about it despite making clear that you aren't willing to listen to explanations.

This is also the case in the UK. It's not a difficult concept to understand but you have made it clear that you aren't actually interested in understanding.

• Registered Users Posts: 224 ✭✭SunnySundays

I've total admiration for this woman's strenght courage in seeking to have him convicted.

Not only was she abused as a helpless child but when she told people, it was swept under the carpet. Despite that she still had the courage to report it.

I hope his sentence gives her whatever she needs for her own health and sanity. I hope her story allows others to seek their own justice in similar circumstances.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭TooTired123

You’ve never ever read in a newspaper or heard on the TV/radio an account of a murder or a rape in the UK, the US or Aus for example? Who murdered Jill Meagher in Australia? Who is Gary Gilmore?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

No, I have never heard of a case where full name, full address and workplace/ company were mentioned.

• Registered Users Posts: 268 ✭✭Fallout2022

It was really brave to make the decision to allow herself to be identified. This was the only path by which the accused could then be identified. She made the sacrifice to ensure that he was exposed to all the world for what he was.

• Registered Users Posts: 761 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

You often hear in news reports they would be a member of AGS would be mentioned along with name and address in relation to wrongdoings even if it's not connected to their job as a Garda.

Post edited by cap.in.hand. on

I’m sorry. I think at this stage you should just admit that you’ve totally gone down a rabbit hole that you can’t find your way out of. The newspapers are full to overflowing all over the world with the most intimate details of the lives of all kinds of criminals but you are insisting that it only happens in The Tipperary Star.

You never heard of Myra Hindley Fred and Rose West, Dr Shipman Jeffrey Dahmer or Ted Bundy. Sure you didn’t.

• Registered Users Posts: 559 ✭✭✭BurgerFace

How do you know they let it happen?

The daughter, Nora, is a pillar of strength and courage.

What sentence would you have handed down? And give reasons for your answer.

I think the majority of the rapes occurred when he himself was a minor so that may have something to do with the longevity of the sentence.

The likes of Mrs O'Bumble rarely think before they have a brainfart. It's quite typical of that ilk. Find someone to blame and the facts be damned.

Here's a scenario. A parent is bringing their kid home and a storm moves in. The parent gets the child to safety. O'Bumble commends the parent.

Scenario B: The parent DOESN'T get the child to safety and they get separated in the tumult and the child dies. O'Bumble screams "why did that parent take a shortcut through the woods with a small child? Hang him high.

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭TP_CM

Surprised (Unless I missed it) no one mentioned the main reason they released his full name without any ambiguity. The whole reason she bravely waived anonymity. His name, photo, job and everything is out there because his sister wants to make it easier for other victims, if any, to know about this and come forward with their story of abuse. Because as one poster rightly said, you don't do this kind of thing for 3 years and then become a saint. There is some chance there are others out there.

Is there a pattern of sympathy towards rapists, sexual abusers and others from the poster that you mentioned? Could you elaborate? I'd like to see how he/she expresses support/sympathy for convicted criminals.

Just asking.

Why do you say it is a joke? You seem to think that you know what sentences ought to fit what crimes. I have a little bit of news for you. There are guidelines, mandates, precedents, mitigating factors, etc.

What you are engaging in is emotional bullsh1t without taking the time to allow your little mind to cool down and take stock. A 16 year old boy, e.g. get drunk on a measly six-pack and grabs a girl and tries to kiss her. Bad call, he doesn't hurt her but he frightens her.

You will clamour for him to be banged up. O'Bumble will probably blame both his and her parents.

Now, if that was your 16 year old son......would you clamour for him to be banged up or would you talk to the girl and her parents and the Guards and try to smooth this over.

And don't FOR ONE SECOND try to think that I am equating a dumbass teenager having a few and groping a girl against her will with RAPE.

What I am saying is that the LAW is the LAW.

You want this bastard to hang. Not because you know what the sentencing guidelines are but because you are emotional about it. And you haven't spared a moment to think it over.

The criminal has been, arrested, charged, tried, convicted and sentenced.

What more do you want? Are you of that ilk who licks their lips and hopes he gets tortured whilst inside? If so then say so. And if that is your bag then say you want more than justice. Say you want revenge. This bastard is in the can for his crimes and GOOD. But that's not good enough for you. You want more. And when others tell you to slow down and stop frothing at the mouth and put your pitchfork away you say that they want to give a poor rapist a hug and have us all sing about how he was lonely or some such sh1t.

Cop the FCUK on. Nobody wants this guy to be let off the hook. They just want people like you to STFU with your "burn 'em at the stake BS" Your answer to that is that we all want criminals to just be loved.

Stop twisting my words please. I never made reference to this particular newspaper.

You can list as many notorious serial killers or criminals who made it into world news, but it has absolutely no relevance to this case. It obviously makes sense to describe location where a crime was committed, but not the one exact location where the person was living at the time of their arrest.

There is no need to distinguish this man from others who might live in the area and have the same name., unless there are plenty of other siblings around with the same names and ages as victim and convicted rapist.

If you check my first post on this you can see that I am questioning why this man’s workplace was specified in the title, and I still continue to find this bizarre. The only time you ever see a headline like this is if the case deals with someone famous whose name rings a bell as soon as you see it.

But maybe it is unsurprising that all objectivity goes out the window with these cases because people can’t keep their emotions in check.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,326 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Well done to the brave lady.

True courage.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,414 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

Eh, this was repeated abuse between the ages of 7 and 12. The only reason he stopped doing it was fear of getting her pregnant. It's not a sixteen year old trying to kiss a girl while drunk(you introduced that anecdote). The law is the law and sometimes sentencing is inadequate.

I’m not twisting anything. You appear to be shocked that convicted criminals don’t enjoy any privacy once they’ve been found guilty. It’s been explained here the reasons for this and you don’t accept that and that’s fine. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion.

But then you go on to claim that not only does reporting of crime in this manner only go on in Ireland, but that it only goes on in certain “bogger” counties.

When it was pointed out to you that it actually goes on all over the world and for 100s of years you didn’t accept that and you still don’t accept it.

Sometimes you’re just…wrong. That’s all.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭francois

No they don’t. They literally just have to read more court reports which doesn’t involve going out much at all.

In said the emphasis on location/ workplace ( how do you stress it more than putting it in the headline) reminded me of the bogger papers where you get to shame the parking offenders etc.

Show me an article covering a comparable case (not a renown serial killer) where this level of detail is displayed in such fashion as it is in the OP, and you will address the what I am talking about.

• Registered Users Posts: 932 ✭✭✭AdrianG08

Not a single response to the one reasonable question asked in this thread amongst all the other absolute waffle.

How on earth was this offence prosecuted after so long without an admission of guilt?

No you didn’t. Your first post in this thread said his address and workplace.

And why can’t a renowned serial killer not be included? Because it doesn’t suit your narrative? Either way here’s one from yesterday.

Jim Mansfield Jnr, containing age and address.

Here’s one from a fella who had a few drinks on him and got thick at the guards. Age and address included.

Go to the court sections of the Irish Times and Indo websites and find me one where a named defendant’s address isn’t provided.

I really don’t understand why you are choosing this bizarre hill to die on.

Very simple. He admitted to her the fact of abuse when she was 18. And his defense council said that he offered her to be bridesmaid at his wedding as a way to make amends.

He blamed his parents for not supervising, he blamed access to porn magazines etc.

He told police that he “never forced her,” and admitted that he did ‘a certain amount’.

During cross examination of Nora Hegarty, his defence counsel said: “He has a different timeline for the sexual play going on between yourself and himself.”

All of this information is in various media reports on this case if you care to read about it. The Examiner in particular goes into large detail about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 761 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

It was only reported to gardai 5 years ago... their mother gave evidence I believe and maybe that was incriminating to the case

“So the purpose of the thread is so name and shame the convicted criminal? Why else does his workplace need to be mentioned in the headline?

This reminds me of the first time I had noticed the local name and shame section in an Irish rural newspaper which listed names, addresses and offences, including the amounts that had to be paid into alms box or whatever…weird, weird tradition…”

what’s unclear about this? I am clearly asking why this is in the headline and stated that it reminds me of the name and shame section in local newspapers.

Though upon rechecking the article it’s clear that the workplace is not even mentioned by the reporter and has been freely added by the OP - even better.

Anyway. Adds little to the actual case as stated a few times before.