Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Do men need a license to be allowed socialise (MOD NOTE IN OP)

People do usually manipulate conversation by adding to it. It's not necessarily a bad thing. Unless its done dishonestly.

I believe you were being dishonest when you accused the other poster of saying you were speaking nonsense purely because you were a woman.

Trying to shut a poster up by framing them as sexist for not agreeing with you is either dishonest or incredibly stupid and I don't think you are stupid.

I genuinely didn't put 2&2 together there and was unclear as to what you meant.

I understand now but still am at odds with your opinion that it is indecent or senseless to compliment a woman you don't yet know.

I agree with your stance on whistling though. Mostly because I hate the noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,021 ✭✭✭✭anewme

But how your behaviour in public makes other people feel, is up for debate.

The discussion is around not feeling the need to comment on strangers as they may not feel comfortable with it, or need your validation, good or bad.

The answer is, don’t do it.

but for some reason, that’s proving difficult for some to understand

Some people have such a hard-on for speech to be policed that they would agree that people should be charged with the egregious crime of complimenting a woman they don't know.

That's what's difficult to understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,792 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

maybe it should just be recorded as a non-crime hate-incident, keep everyone happy that way...

It used to be the likes of the ultra-conservative Mary Whitehouse types who would blame sexually explicit films and games for instigating violence and warping minds/ruining culture etc and try to ban films and imagery that was deemed unsuitable for society.

When did the roles reverse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

I find it astonishing that Sam McConkey isn't required to have a licence before he's allowed spout whatever nonsense is going through his mind when he's on tv/radio.

Some of his COVID related claims in the early days were absolutely ridiculous:

"Speaking on RTE [via The Sun], Professor Sam McConkey of the Royal College of Surgeons Ireland spoke of a worst-case scenario that could see four million people infected and up to 120,000 deaths."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,044 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I see Morning Ireland are broadcasting AGAIN from near where the woman died.

RTE obviously don't understand what the family meant when they asked for space to grieve and deal with their loss.

What reason has MI to be in town? It would be exactly same show from Dublin.

But it's what I would expect from rte. They have really latched on to this incident, and been even more ghoulish than usual.

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭SamStonesArm

Does my head in that kind of stuff.

The front of the stat yesterday had a picture of the family at the scene. Fook sake, have a bit of cop on and leave the family grieve without taking pictures of the hardest walk that family has ever taking in their lives. It's absolutely sick .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,532 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

RTE nosiness and ghoulishness knows no bounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

i watched 3 mins of dancing with the stars last night , i know it's tv and the probably all met up beforehand and fake the surprise of meeting for the first time, but the male dancer called his partner "hi gorgeus" and looked her up and down telling her she was gorgeus, jaysus my woke alarm was going insane, and on our national station , after all they have been saying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭piplip87

Why is it when thousands are killed via suicide bombings world wide each year, it's #notallmuslims but the same people tweeting that are the same blaming all men for the murder of a woman.

The same people only a few weeks ago where tweeting outrage at JK Rowling for suggesting that rapists with penises who think their a woman should not be locked up with women....... They really cared about women's safety but I guess the trans agenda trump's everything these days.

The truth of the matter is our society is getting more violent, everybody is at risk far more men are killed and attacked by men than women. That is not minimising the awful tragedy that unfolded in Tullamore. I also see people asking men to step up and talk to their friends, There's a massive massive difference between a sexist joke and murdering somebody.

Also the amount of virtue signaling about this is just plain wrong. A girl I know organised a vigil over the weekend and advertised it on social media but the tons official one was the night before so feck all people showed to hers, let's just say the meltdown that followed wasn't about Ashling at all.....

on the news yesterday the showed a long shot of a victim walking into court and out again, only a pic of the accuser. I thought both shots were anti women. the first shot would have intimidated her going in, and the 2nd shot showed her mixed emotions, which was unfair, she was obviously traumatised and probably deservedly happy , but do we really need to have a camera on her face for such a long shot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭jbv

All this is water under the bridge. It will be forgotten and nothing will be done to stop it from happening.

But nothing can be done to stop it from happening.

Do you really think Ireland will be able to implement policies that mean another woman is never going to be murdered by a man again. Ever?

Time to get real. This is all talk. Nothing will change I'm afraid as it's the nature of humankind. There are just some sick people out there who will murder. It's always been the way, always will be the way.

Guys giving off to their mates about chat in WhatsApp groups ain't going to fix it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

That's the interesting and worrying thing about too much of current 'feminism'. It can harken back to remarkably old fashioned conservative views of men and women with irony all over the place. A full on patriarchal Victorian man steeped in the misogyny of his era would agree with this statement: Men can be brutes when exposed to female flesh and dirty books and women are vulnerable and agentless victims that need protection from such brutes and men have to do the protecting. Many's the current 'feminist' mouthpiece that would fully agree with him.

One interesting aspect of the Suffragettes back in the day* was they campaigned for equal rights in court sentencing, including the death penalty. That women should be hanged for horrific crimes the same as men(even then women tended to get less harsh sentences). Today their great granddaughters are more likely to argue that women should be treated more leniently in the courts. Cos patriarchy and the like.

They seem to have looked westward to American TV news for their cues and that's incredibly ghoulish, because ghoulish sells advertising. It's got absolutely nothing to do with that poor woman's memory or family, but it gets more handwringers and rubberneckers and crawthumpers for the cause de jour tuning in. Until the next tragedy they can mine comes along.

*much of their history has been whitewashed down the years. Like the fact that a large faction of them were gung ho for war and were a part of the white feather campaign against men who refused to fight in the Great War. Hollywood leaves that out.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The truth of the matter is our society is getting more violent,

No it is most certainly not. We in the West live in the least violent and safest time in human history.

I've long wondered that because for most of human history violence was far more common, that we evolved emotional responses to deal with that, so now when it's far less violent our emotional responses have yet to catch up so we imagine more horrors because of that? Like an analogy of our immune systems. We've never lived in cleaner healthier environments, but we've also never had so many people with allergies. Our immune systems evolved to deal with a lot more insults to it, so in their absence it overreacts to everything.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

I'm sitting here with tears in my eyes thinking of that family in the last few hours with their daughter. There are no words

Even worse is the absolute crap on radio/TV/social media on women being whistled at / spoken to etc

This girl was MURDERED .

Please do not come on and speak about the time you were whistled at whilst out jogging . Jesus wept... there is a time and place

Shame on media for hi jacking this most cruel and heartbreaking crime , and leave the family to grieve in peace. Stop with the cameras , who needs to see these pictures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

• Registered Users Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭rightmove

If you dont think men get groped in nightclubs by women you are sadly mistaken and they know that the chap couldnt complain. I was quite young (17/18) and in a nightclub. New shirt the mother had bought for me, went onto the dancefloor with my mates and a girl from the locality came over as if to join the group for a dance and looked at the shirt and grabbed the middle of it and then literally ripped it open and left me with a shirt hanging off in the middle of the dancefloor. Now I was pissed off but ofcourse I am a man, I love having my new shirt ripped apart on a dancefloor. Reverse it for a sec. Imagine if I had ripped her blouse off in the middle of the floor and left her there in her bra!!! I woulda been lynched!!!

also what has wolf whistling and stupid incidents like mine have to do with a murder???????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

I shouldn't have to preface this with saying how horrific this murder has been and how awful it is for all who know her and her family, but if I don't no doubt I'll be accused of something or another.

All our media have really gone all in on the coverage, no space for the family, and treating it as if it's the first murder of a woman in the county, which in a way devalues the lives of all those who suffered before. The RTE crime guy has been particularly morbid.

Not sure if I agree with the president and Taoiseach attending. Yes, it's a gesture, but what about all the other murder victims?

We know our legal system when it comes to sentencing is pretty soft, all the politicians involved are in a position for reform, but they sit on their hands.

I've a couple of kids, one pretty young. We shelter them from such violence when they're at a such a young age, they don't need to know that yet, plenty of time to come. Now we'll have explain the murder of a teacher to them after the minutes silence in school, and no doubt that fear will dwell with them.

Of course you will be accused of being insensitive, that how social media works.

I asked previously where was the minutes silence for those 3 innocent children murdered by their mother? All the vigils?

It's not unfair to say the media have really jumped on this case. I also agree it was a terrible tragedy, but RTE have now set themselves a precedence, and I wonder will it follow for subsequent murders in this country, or only certain ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭Melodeon

Our national media can't believe their luck with this, they've gotten their very own Sarah Everard event.

It's their best ever late Christmas present.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭zv2

What the hell is Fintan O'Toole talking about women walking in fear and how men need to imagine how fearful it is to be a woman? Has this guy read a newspaper in the last 30 years? Men know all too well how scary the streets are. There are plenty of streets I would not walk down because I might not get to the other end. I actually had my lip busted open in Gardiner Street walking home with a punctured bicycle. Men are being murdered and maimed for life more often than women are. Every man on this thread knows how scary the streets are. But Mr. O'Toole thinks we have to 'imagine' how difficult it is for women. What planet is this guy on? When was the last time he wiped the RTE glitter of is glitterati ass and took a walk at night on the street? Like MacConkey, O'Toole is just another yes man saying what people want to hear; "Look at me I'm a real enlightened empathetic male standing out among the common ogres explaining them stuff so they'll be real civilized like me." wtf? He's just a yes-man in the RTE glitterati and will say whatever it takes to keep him on his gold-leafed plinth on planet Fintan: Put yourself up Finto by putting men down as if they were too dumb to understand from their own experience what being a women is like. Go out and get your lip busted like I did and it might knock the arrogance out of you.

“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.” — Voltaire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,532 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Now all we need is the guards to stuff up the investigation we can milk it for murder mystery podcasts and maybe a tv series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,969 ✭✭✭billyhead

I've been groped by woman in nightclubs before on numerous occasions. I didn't bat an eyelid at it Also the sexual talk women have amongst themselves about men is just as filty if not worse than men. Anyway it's got nothing to do with this awful crime.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭Brid Hegarty

I came across a girl recently at an open mic who read a vulgar poem off her phone about how paddy jackson and stewart olding. Before she read the poem she announced to everyone in the bar that there were really guilty. Everyone clapped afterwards. I clapped just a little bit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,289 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Well Covid is about as scary as a puppy now.

There is a real hierarchy of victim here at what sells.

Young, Irish, White, teacher is murdered. The country stops, vigils everywhere, christ even RTE is televising the funeral today.

"She was going for a run". Is her life worth more than a eastern european prostitute out working the streets murdered?

Paul Reynolds on RTE said the reaction was so huge as she was so "accomplished". What has that got to do with anything?

'The truth of the matter is our society is getting more violent'

no it is not, it is getting less violent, now is one of the safest times to live.

Yep. It's just we are more aware now as everything is recorded and uploaded to social media.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭rightmove

not really but look at your response. Again reverse the genders and would you have said that so tongue in check?

Main worry I had was not letting my mother see what happened the shirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

I have absolutely no issues with people holding vigils and remembrances for the deceased, but every "social commentator" is having a field day with this. Another chance to get their face on telly or their tweet in some newspaper.

A whole lot of nobodies have a new crusade to garner themselves some publicity, and as usual, the more shocking and outrageous their comment, the more publicity it gets.

Hence this thread, ironically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

The media and all these women's rights organisations who seem to equate murder to things like pay disparity and women not holding enough government positions - they are all trying to milk it as much as they can before the perpetrator potentially turns out to be from a minority/non-national group. Then the deafening silence will follow...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

The past week has shown a terrible side to Irish society.

And yes, those who immediately jumped to "men don't understand what women go through on a daily basis" are included in that. They just had to make it about themselves didn't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,021 ✭✭✭✭anewme

It was on the 10 o'clock news last night from ITV and a woman was speaking about the zero tolerance approach to misogyny and sexism. The article on the National Woman's Council says similar.

Misogyny and sexism includes street harassment, or whatever you believe that you should be able to say to a woman in the street.

Someone else here said why are there no men in the media getting airtime giving views similar to what have been expressed here by some people.

The answer is because that is (a) they would not air these views in public and (b) people are not interested in promoting misogyny and sexism. The majority of men and women would not have an issue with not being able to comment /whistle at / "compliment" random people , mainly because they do not do it, dont approve of it, would not want it done to them, so having it stopped does not really apply to them from a negative point of view. For some reason, a small cohort here are unwilling/unable to cease and desist with that type of behaviour, despite being told not to do it, that its, juvenile and frankly a bit neandertal at this stage.

Maybe just call it a day and dont say it. Im not sure why that is difficult to understand.

As Roooonan says "you say it best, when you say nothing at all."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

these ideas of introducing radical new teaching plans for boys didnt spring up in the past week , the likes of the NWC or other marxist NGO,s were calling for feminist influenced theories to be put into practice in terms of the public education corriculum for a long time

while feminist theories are an important part , the goal is much wider , it involves marxists ideas of " privilege " ( new term for class consciousness)economics and most important of all , the role of the state , it has also incorporated the environmental movement of late as well as the housing one ( see the ever increasing profile of marxist academic Rory hearne )

hence why all these commentators irrespective of their primary area of " expertise " , all share pretty radical left politics where the role of the family is downgraded and the role of the state hugely promoted , parents are seen as less important in terms of instilling morality in children than the state , its no co-incidence that even mammies have been derogitarily referred to on social media for how they " raised their sons " in the past week , these ideologues do not believe parents are best placed to instil values in their children , this should primarily be the role of the state

the vast vast majority of feminist commentators in the public arena in ireland are also committed marxists , beit aibhe smyth , oral o connor , sarah benson , RTE while mostly of the champagne socialist bent , has always at best been very sympathetic to marxism , hence why the Paul Murphys and Richard Boyd Barrets and Brid Smiths , Ruth Coppingers get such hugely disproportionate levels of airtime relative to their electoral support

stiffer sentences for the men who commit violent acts against women , absolutely , be wary however of the underlying broader agenda which is at play here

Post edited by Mad_maxx on

RTE broadcasting the funeral on tv? The family asked for privacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Allinall

You don't think they checked with the family?

Or maybe you're just trying to get outraged for the sake of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 467 ✭✭nj27

Some real jerk was on the radio saying Ireland isn't a safe place for women. Where is safer?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭firemansam4

Just on the issue of men complimenting women who they dont know, and it being called out as being wrong.

I was wondering how this may affect how relationships develop between young peolple in the future?

How many people have met their future partner which may have started from just a small compliment as strangers? Maybe something like a man complimenting a woman on having a nice smile who serves him at a deli or something?

Maybe this is ok? But I wonder will their now be that question on mens minds if it is something that may be considered as harassment now? Maybe this wont happen, but with 3 sons and a daughter myself I do wonder how things will be in the future for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Sorry, but who is it that buys all of the women's magazines like Cosmo etc who tell women they need to look younger, their bodies need to be firmer, they need this miracle hydrating skin cream, they need this or that? The top 5 trends that are about to take over etc.

Some current articles on their website include: "Ask your crush these 30 questions, seriously." "Our 7-day Dirty Talk challenge is here". "A psychic predicted my future based on my butt." Etc

It's misogynistic and sexist to believe you can compliment a woman without her permission in a cafe/bar/queue for the bank? I disagree wholeheartedly.

Would it be ok for a woman to approach a man?

Despite many voices from twitter protesting at the horrendous invasion of their personal boundary because of an unsolicited compliment, there are many other voices who do not mind and even enjoy being told they look nice.

As for the "small cohort who are unwilling/unable to desist", most people on here have said that although they don't do it themselves, that speaking to a random person and complimenting them shouldn't be illegal.

It's astounding that you think it should. I mean, that's absolutely mental. You are pretty much advocating that it is illegal to say ANYTHING to a woman you don't know without prior permission. What the ****?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

This morning RTE Radio 1's 'What it says in the papers' and the commentariat (mostly male) are apparently banging on about how women are 'living in fear' then in the IT there's F O'T on about his wife taking a taxi from the airport and questioning why the driver hadn't got his ID on view. I interact all the time with people I don't know both male and female and women don't give me the impression they have some 'baseline fear' of men. I myself if I'm in someplaces at night or in certain circumstances will have a heightened sense of awareness which is part of the natural defence mechanism.

Just using your quote as a starting point. Most of what I'm writing is more general and more related to the thread, or the media, than your quoted piece.

It's not a fair comparison though, because of the perspective of actual threat involved. With men being physically stronger, the risk of violence is always there. You're not going to be afraid of a woman attacking you after being rejected. It's not that it can't happen, but even if she does attack you, there's a pretty good chance that you can physically stop the attack. However, it's unfair and unreasonable to extend that risk/threat to men in the first place, because the statistics don't support the belief that men will force a woman to do x, y, z.

I'd say the problem is that there is an interest by certain parties to encourage a sense of fear in society. I noticed this whenever I returned home after living abroad. When I left, Ireland was mostly safe (apart from the after pub/club crowd), with few real problems compared to countries like France or Germany. However each time I returned I was met with recommendations from friends not to be out late at night, not to go to certain areas, to be careful of groups of teens, etc. Each time there was a new possible threat of violence.

At the same time, I think there's a view for many women as if men can do or act whatever they wish without being concerned. However, I'd never go running when it got dark. I'd always stick to areas which I know see plenty of foot traffic. When approaching a group of lads, I'd generally cross the road, keeping an eye on them the whole time. Day or night, I'm mostly aware of who is around me. There is a far greater risk of male on male violence than male on female violence, but that gets little airtime.

A few years ago, I attended a martial arts event where the experts took (willing) people in off the street, and tested them against the experts, but also against other people in a little scrap. Even without looking at the difference in strength for men/women, the differences in strength for men was varied. We no longer live in a world where most men work daily in manual labor. A lot of exercise does little to generate true strength in the body.. and on top of that, few men have had any training in fighting. Even when they have experience in fighting (from school or their early 20s), in many cases, they've lost their awareness, and knowledge through the years since. As such, a few of the guys brought in off the street, managed to demolish most of the other guys involved. Even the martial artists struggled in terms of actual strength compared to some.

The point is that for many men the risks of a fight are extremely high. They're not built like a tank, and in many cases, due to their work or lifestyles aren't physically fit. If placed in a position of danger from a fight, a lot of guys are poorly equipped to fight another man, especially men who have a greater inclination towards aggression or physical violence. A guy looking to commit violence is more likely to attack another man, than a woman. Socially it's already unacceptable to attack a woman, but on top of that, the law itself is rather aggressive compared to violence committed towards a man.

The narrative in the media, or online is all about the risks that women face, and that men should do more. I appreciate the risks involved, but in many ways, the same risks are there for men. In some ways, the risks are greater for men.

This is not, and should not, be a competition to see which gender has it worse... although invariably we see in the media, efforts to make it out that women have it much worse. However, the simple truth is that when it comes to danger outside, the risks are high for everyone concerned. If someone, (male or female), was to walk up to me, and stab me in the belly, there would be nothing I could do. It wouldn't matter if I was a man or a woman, because such an attack is completely unexpected. If I, as a man, is attacked in the street by one or more men, I'm going to get beaten up.

Many years ago, myself and a mate, were beaten up by 7 guys who were leaving the nightclub, hadn't scored, were somewhat drunk etc etc. There was no defense. There were no fancy moves. A bottle to the head, kicks to the chest/ribs, kicks to the head, etc. That's the reality for men.

I think people have begun to see movie fights as being realistic. They're not. In any given fight, chances are, you're unprepared, and the other person has some advantage over you. Drop all the bravado, and it's not fair, equal, or whatever. It's dangerous every time.

I feel the media really need to be taken to task for promoting what they have so far. At the same time, we really need to consider what kind of society we're encouraging to develop. Some hard public conversations without all the posturing, need to occur, and we definitely need to stop all this BS about gender.

Lastly, I've asked this a few times in the thread, but haven't gotten any serious/practical/realistic answers. "men must do more". What is it that men are supposed to do? And what are individual men supposed to do? (bear in mind the practical risks in getting involved in a strangers situation).

This is very much a problem. Even just for society as a whole. When I walk now I keep my eyes directly on the ground and make sure to avoid eye contact with people I meet on the street, just in case they feel threatened.

But then you have people on the tv saying they prefer country living because in the towns and cities you haven't a clue who your neighbours are.

Who watches a funeral of someone they don't know? I find it absolutely bizarre, people around the country tuning into RTE today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,942 ✭✭✭growleaves

Yes but these are "gender based issues" which were also relevant in the 11th century - not just to anyone over 40 but to anyone who has ever lived in civilisation.

So why does everyone talk like they were just born yesterday?

We should scrutinize the "solutions" we are about to have pushed on us, which will be some sort of heavy bureaucratic regulations on the ordinary man.

Will these solutions be fair or will they be a pile-on on 'toxic white males' aka Irishmen?

And why that funeral. ? Why not the funeral of every man woman and child who has been murdered on this island ?