Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Do men need a license to be allowed socialise (MOD NOTE IN OP)

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭SamStonesArm

Judges can go fook emselves.

Best mate today, no previous anything , got 10 years with 2 suspended for growing some weed. Fair enough it was a nice amount but having no record and growing plants he got 10 years whereas jimmy bob Nolan with 120 convictions will get off with major assault cos someone farted near him in 1984 .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,608 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I can't say for sure why he said it.

At the end of the day he was guest on a panel show, ie. there to give his opinion on the news of the day.

He said something you disagree with even though you acknowledge he is a clever man.

In your last paragraph you outline your own solution to the problem we are discussing which has merit IMO.

Why all the drama?

Why can't we have a reasoned debate with everyone including you and Sam putting forward suggestions and decide how to proceed?

After all that is how civil society is supposed to work.

What he suggested is in the original post. I gave in and searched the quote, to make sure OP didn't misrepresent him:

"You need 12 lessons to learn to drive a car. You need a license to drive a car. You need to do a test. Do we need some sort of, almost, qualification, licensing, education for men to go out into the social sphere?”

OP didn't misrepresent and my point stands: "Sam McDonkey" is a moron, at best. An exploitative paid shill with ulterior motives, at worst.

Oh yes. Women rarely get a chance to air their opinions these days! Nobody listens to women.

Ffs.

What do you propose? Telling men never to approach women? Tell them to never under any circumstance, give a stranger a compliment? Tell them that we won't make any crude jokes on WhatsApp?

If women feel unsafe it's because of the actions of a few who would more than likely make other men feel unsafe! Statistics show that women are much safer than men and are protected more by society.

Bad people exist. But this absolute theatrical hysteria this week which had all media shouting about how unsafe women are probably doesn't do anything except heighten anxiousness in fragile women and does nothing except frustrate men who already look after women.

I don't think expecting men to never approach a woman unsolicited is going to help anyone.

Telling men to be quiet, telling men not to walk behind a woman and to cross the road, telling a man he should do more to protect women and in the next sentence telling them to mind their own business. Great help.

But as I've said, my issue isn't with women, it's with dickheads who are using this murder as some sort of proof that men aren't protecting women, even though nothing they are spouting is remotely connected to that poor girls death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,107 ✭✭✭amacca

I thought we were having a reasoned debate??

Was there anything unreasonable about what I posted?

(I think what me conkey said wasn't well reasoned and it's not particularly reasonable that it was blithely accepted without question as to whether it was reasonable or not.....which I think is really quite unreasonable given this is the national broadcaster etc)

Wow, a random professor who nobody ever heard of before he went attention seeking in the media... such a big shot 🤣

You seem to be taking it personally on his behalf, though. Is that you, Sam? 😀

I need to change me username before I start taking things personally hahahha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,021 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Cos McConkey rhymes with McDonkey, don't it!

Makes the idea of needing a licence not look that ludicrious.

Well at least you know who he is now.

The OP paraphrased his comments and did not accurately reflect his remarks.

I posted this yesterday with a link to the podcast of the show.

Check it out for yourself.

The last part of your post is an ad hominem against SMcC which I disagree with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,358 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

Just curious to know what your opinion is of the other set of "dickheads" who jumped on the tragedy to push an anti immigration agenda?

Do you think they are just as bad or even worse for using this opportunity to to exploit the situation originally when that Romania guy got blamed for murder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,324 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

In an answer to your question yes I think it would be no harm for men to be giving lessons in how to respect Women. Not long ago I was stuck between my brother law and my brother in a taxi and I was digusted with both of them with how they talked about Women it made my stomach sick. Karma has kicked in now anyway and it looks likes my brother in law might not be that for much longer which is sad I don't think he quiet deserved it that bad but it just goes to show. My brothers marriage already broke up so I guess he just does not really care. He just wants to get somewhere warm for his thing.

Also I agree that people who have raped, killed or beaten up a Woman or a Man should not be walking the streets freely. They should all be locked up.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

On McConkey, nobody seems to have theorised this yet but it seems obvious to me that with the end of the pandemic finally in sight, he's realised he needs to branch out into giving his half-assed opinions on other subjects if he wants to remain in RTE's regular rotation of talking heads. Opportunism at its finest, basically. And the more outrageously clickbaity the comments, the more chance they'll invite him on again so he can drive some advertising revenue to their podcast.

Pretty much the same thing as when the Irish Times and Examiner would regularly feature outright sexism penned by Una Mullally and Louise O'Neill respectively, knowing that the online sh!tstorm such articles would stir up would probably sell enough ads to keep the lights on for another week.

Very transparent stuff IMO. Obviously I agree with everyone here calling out hate speech and the double standards in the acceptability thereof, it makes me as angry as it makes any of you if not more so - but let's not pretend these people actually believe the BS they're spouting. Sure, some of them do, but at an editorial level it's purely "what will make our show trend on Twitter today? Do that!" and nothing more.

One of the mainstays of a reasoned debate is to listen to the other side.

"Bandwagoning gravy trainers we should all be moving the dial away from..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,974 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I think you're slightly missing the point in suggesting that one side is only seen as having a valid opinion. There are people on both sides of the arguments who feel that their opinion is categorically correct.

And I can't speak for everyone on here (or elsewhere) but I don't think it is saying that there can be absolutely zero engagement between people who don't know each other but that it is done in a manner which makes it easy to pick up how the other person feels and to back off before it becomes unpleasant.

Say you see someone on the street who you find very attractive, you might personally think it is ok to comment, 'Wow you're hot' or 'Damn you look good' or something and think it is ok, but lets say the other person is stressed, preoccupied, or just doesn't like comments on their appearance.

It doesn't mean that you never again can approach someone like this to communicate with them but that you do it in a different way. For example, you smile at them, say hello, ask them if you can have a word, and then maybe have a short conversation and if they are still receptive you maybe then say that you found them attractive (but even that should be done with some decorum). But the difference here is that at each stage you read their cues and react appropriately. So if you smile at them and they don't smile back but turn away, you walk on, if they smile and you say hello and they don't respond, you walk on, if you ask can you have a word, and they say 'No, sorry', you walk on.

Do you see how it doesn't have to be either full and open engagement, or none at all? I think this sort of experience is something most women would be ok with if they knew that if they indicated at any stage they didn't want to continue that it would be respected.

One other thing I want to mention, in all walks of life, after an unpleasant experience, we react with a certain degree of concern even if the likelihood of the event being repeated is very small. Most houses now have locked doors, CCTV and monitored alarms etc and for many it wasn't even a reaction to an unpleasant event, but the desire to prevent such an event occurring in the first place.

Is that not why there is such a conversation around how women feel walking around the place when they have to face up to the harsh reality of a worst case scenario? Is it not completely understandable that they would be exasperated knowing that they have live with their fragility and can't seemingly even ask for help from the men around them?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Indeed so Tell, and more than you might expect, I very much agree with you. However, my point is those topics get almost zero wider exposure in the media and politics and law. Men and their concerns and issues are practically invisible in our society. And on the rare occasions when they are brought up in those arenas, they're almost entirely framed within the politic of neofeminism. So do you think it any wonder when yet again after a horrible tragedy this same narrative is being trotted out that men, and not so few women with it, are getting a little tired of one gender being the new whipping boy and seen as the root of all evil?

Whataboutery is almost inevitable in such a cultural bias. When society was far more sexist and patriarchal women and men who wanted gender equality could have also been easily accused of 'whataboutery', but that's not what they were doing. Inequities engender 'whataboutery' and they were pointing out the inequities of nonsense in that culture. That's how things can change. Not by following the Accepted Truth of the day. If old school equal opportunities folks(of all stripes) hadn't engaged in 'whataboutery' we wouldn't have seen the positive changes we have seen and that Accepted Truth would never have changed. Society and culture are heavily built on established inertia and they resist change and there are always plenty of gatekeepers who are happy to keep that inertia in play.

Earlier in this thread I noted the massive disparity weighted towards men in suicide stats and I was met with "ah well, you can't really rely on stats, really" in response. If the stats showed the same massive disparity weigted towards women it would be national headlines. But it's not.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

I have listened and find what they are saying (or not saying - for whatever reason) to be ill informed and divisive at best ..... certainly not anything that will improve the situation for women or or men. That's not a debate afaic....

The reasoned debate I was referring to was the one going on here on this forum.

I wasn't under the impression I was having a debate with the talking heads on radio 1......they were who I was suggesting not listening to. I am listening/reading and responding to you in a reasonable manner I would suggest?

I honestly didn't see any of that in the media whatsoever.

Yes, absolutely. I think they are just as bad for using this tragedy.

The important difference though, is that the anti immigrant racists will be called out for their agenda driven tirades and not tolerated or promoted in the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,974 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Maybe instead of getting outraged because of extreme comments around the topic, you should go and listen to the views/comments from women as to why they feel concerned/unsafe.

In terms of what men should do, I've just commented something to that effect in my last post so have a look at that if you wish.

And when it comes to hysteria, and shouting, I see more of that in your posts than what I see either in the media or on here from people who are at least willing to find a way to help women feel safer. This latest post is another example of you putting your efforts in to shouting down a group and suggesting men need more help but yet doing nothing to advocate in ways to help men.

The problem though imo is its probably doing a lot more harm than good

Actually strike that its definitely doing a lot of harm as its an attempt to further their careers that's deflecting attention away from the real issues while men and women are left to bicker and drive up ad revenue....

I think its the utter hypocrisy of them that gets me the most.....if they gave a **** about victims of attacks of any gender or age they could do a lot better than they are with the platform they have.

I'd say you are safe and there's less than zero chance of you getting confused for Sam McConkey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,358 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

Glad you condone the other side using it to promote their disgusting agenda and looking forward to seeing you be as vocal about it on these threads in the future if it does occur.

A difference in emphasis, I was referring to the debate in the round not just what is said on here.

I only just saw your edit -

"(I think what me conkey said wasn't well reasoned and it's not particularly reasonable that it was blithely accepted without question as to whether it was reasonable or not.....which I think is really quite unreasonable given this is the national broadcaster etc)"

It's not the role of a radio presenter to disagree with panelists based on other people's preferences.

BO'C was there, he heard what was said and understood the context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,211 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Threads like this actually do help men.

Threads like this may help some… I wouldn’t even call them men, frankly. 

From my point of view these types of threads are nothing more than an autistic sausage fest taking advantage of the latest opportunity to play the victim game off the back of something stupid said by some giant walking vagina that they don’t actually hold in any sort of regard.

I’ve never heard of him before in my life, and I don’t care for his opinions either. I do care when I’d my sister-in-law calling me on the phone this morning to ask was I ok. I almost fcuked the phone out the window in despair. I love the girl to bits, but I thought she knows me well enough that she would know I just don’t think like that.

Kidding yourself if you imagine every chance to portray men as victims is an opportunity that must be taken regardless of any other context. It’s easy see that it’s as disingenuous and insincere as the idiot who came out with the idea in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,549 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Wow!

You found comments made by your brother in law offensive and you think karma has made him terminally ill even if he didn't quite deserve to die?

You found your brother's comments offensive therefore he didn't care enough to stay married? He just wants "somewhere warm for his thing"?

Do you not think your post was offensive and, frankly, a little batshıt crazy?

Funnily enough I have spoken to most of the women I know about it. I've listened to them and I agree with them on many things. They agree with me on many too.

It was almost universal that it was seen as crass and manipulative to hijack the murder of a young girl to do so.

And give it a rest with the hysterical and shouting shite. I'm neither hysterical nor am I shouting. I am very annoyed about the way the media and certain people are going about this, outrage is probably too strong a word. The double standards and the hypocrisy is frustrating.

And with regards what ordinary decent men can do about this? We will just have to ride the storm and come out the other end when the media have told the dickheads what to worry about next.

Nothing we can do will change the media's perception. This all came about because of the deranged actions of an evil bastard. Nothing we did caused this. Nothing we can do will stop it.

I'll continue to look after my loved ones, the people I care about and people who need me and keep them as safe as I can and try to be as good a person as I can be.

I won't do any more or any less.

Sorry but there are those type of posts, here in this thread.

Post 870...speculating about the nationality of the murderer.

I'm not asking him to disagree based on my preferences????

I'm thinking the fact that not one contributer questioned his ill thought out suggestion....based on things like logic, fairness, workability and perhaps other criteria deserves some debate/thought/questioning

As I said before it's a crazy suggestion and if it was suggested for say an ethnic or religious grouping I would be fairly confident it wouldn't pass unchallenged or unquestioned......in fact I'd say that would be the least would happen in that instance ....I'd wager Sam wouldn't be getting much airtime going forward and his research funding and position would come under fire.

If you could point a few out I'll gladly condemn them. I genuinely can't recall any.

I was saying that I saw none of it on the television or on the radio/papers.

There have been a few over the past few days and I'd say they are gone now. But post 870 here today is speculating about the nationality of the murderer, which we've clearly been requested by the Boards team and the Gardai not to do.

Jist of it is that Irish men are getting blamed and a foreigner did it.

The last line of that thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,997 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

I read that post as....the wife of the brother in law was giving him the boot, so he wouldn't be his brother in law for much longer....I didn't think terminal disease.

I took the original comment as both men had very little respect for women and both of their marriages were subsequently breaking up.

No idea really, goes to show how people perceive things differently.

I also haven't read the full thread so maybe extra information in previous posts that I've missed.

I think you would be stretching to call this an example of someone with an anti-immigrant agenda.

I do agree that it was clunky and I don't agree with the sentiment or phrasing, but I would be giving the benefit of the doubt here and wouldn't be accusing him of pushing an ulterior agenda unless it was a common theme in his posts.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

This topic is about men. Clue is in the thread title.

I accept that if you say it.

As for the rest of the panel maybe they took it that he was recommending better education for young men going out into the world and just used the idea of 12 lessons as an illustration.

You are guessing what would be the consequences if something which did not happen had in fact happened.

I can't go there.

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭DontHitTheDitch

I didn't read that as being anti-immigrant, but I can see why it might be taken up wrong. The way I read it is that there is so much talk about 'how we raise our boys' contributed to this, when it may or may not turn out that the perpetrator was in fact raised here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,549 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

It was reported earlier that the suspect was originally from Central Europe. RTE have edited their online report, there's still a reference in The Independent.

Also reported that he's married, has children and some of his injuries were self inflicted. References to his physical and mental state also.

This all should really be withheld until his DNA etc is checked. There's already been one media circus about an innocent suspect.

Similar to how I read it but again, I can completely understand how it can be taken a different way.

I'd say its clear as day the post is racist and you are not taking ownership here, especially as you told the other chap you would call that stuff out.

Irish men are being blamed when de fordener did it.

What part of that post did you agree with?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

100% it wasn’t anti-immigrant. It was anti-blaming everything male or Irish, from Irish men to Irish mammies to Irish dinners when there was nothing Irish about this murder, bar the victim.

With all due respect, you also think it's misogynistic to suggest that most women would enjoy a compliment from George Clooney.

I agreed that about how over the top the media coverage was and how Ireland was portrayed as some unsafe place for women.

I wouldn't have put the last sentence in. But I wouldn't say that on the strength of that alone would make it agenda led.

That's not what the poster said. Their point was all the soul searching about what we are supposed to be doing wrong raising boys that are capable of doing this is possibly irrelevant in this case. You could argue the opposite point of view is the racist one ie. what the hell must they be doing 'over there' to raise boys that are capable of this. The perpetrator could be from Wales, or Omagh or Texas, the point is the same.

Fair enough, fwiw

I thought I might be highlighting something of a double standard and indeed the lack of standards in some "debate/coverage" of this incident on the national airwaves.....I think the standard of journalism is gradually declining to ape/mimic the type of corrosive divisive stuff the Americans consume and we can see how damaging that is....I'd go so far as to say its not really journalism at all it's a business model not a public service.

And yes it's a guess and you've said you can't go there but I don't think I'm way off base suggesting if Sam mc conkey said that perhaps all roman catholics needed to do a course in how to interact in our increasingly secular society it would pass without negative consequences for him...or any other religion......I've deliberately avoided naming other religions here or courses on other less savoury topics some might perhaps associate those religious beliefs with which surely provoke another shitstorm were I to associate all members of a religious grouping with the actions of a smaller subset of them and suggest they all need a training course for it etc

How do you know?

The trial has not taken place yet.

Has the suspect even been arrested yet?

I think part of the problem is that the main media companies are using Twitter as a way to 'get the pulse' of Irish opinion, when Twitter is the most extreme sample you can get. I only know a few people who would talk like people on Twitter in real life, the vast majority don't think people who hold an opposite opinion should be flogged and scalded in the village square.

I heard on the radio he was arrested this afternoon and is being questioned in Tullamore garda station as we speak.

I missed all the news today.

Hopefully people don't have this new fella sent away for life before the guards finish their investigation like last week's chap

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Mod note - They were probably deleted. I had to delete 60-70% of posts in one of the threads on Ashling Murphy as the comments were primarily anti immigrant, anti man (and even anti traveller in one case that I am still trying to work out). It was quite disgusting to see people use this poor girls death for point scoring for their prejudice of choice. I handed out more cards and infractions in 1 thread than I have done in the past 3 years on this site.

Anyway folks some of the comments are getting a bit personal. Remember attack the post not the poster.