Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Second Captains Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭atilladehun

Yeah brilliant. Great example of how something that seems small like a common phrase can be part of a toxic culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,067 ✭✭✭jones

The last paragraph is exactly how I feel about this tragic incident. Even this "it's not all men" line that I keep hearing getting trotted out is so condescending and the implication being that gender is the problem. Not the sick fook who did this act.

Of course women are more vulnerable to violence as (in general) a man can overpower a woman but this "oh all men need to look at themselves" is a bit worrying. There are of course elements men can take on board such as the jogging behind a woman example and being aware of how it may make a woman feel.

But the suggestion that if men all "looked at themselves" this murder wouldn't have occurred? I don't understand this element of the conversation at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,023 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

It's not "all men need to take a look at themselves", it's all men need to realise that small actions from us are a big part of the solution to the problem. It's all the little things that are let go, like the **** misogynistic jokes and comments that far too many lads still use, that reinforce the culture of demeaning women.

Yes I get that point and I do agree with it but to me it is unrelated to this psycho killing the poor woman.

We don’t know the motives and circumstances of this distinct individual yet, but using the incident as a gateway to talking about violence against women, it’s fairly well accepted that the root of these things goes right down into the bones of cultural behaviour. Small messages reinforced over time that create this ‘them’ mentality and builds entitlement and resentment, and can feed into more unstable peoples perceptions and actions. Like, crazy people are still taking their cues from society, they’re just being more extreme about it.

a good example of a change in language and perception is in the treatment of the gay community - homophobic slurs were incredibly commonplace in everyday speech not that long ago. As that’s been increasingly made unacceptable, and people have become a bit more conscious of their words and behaviour, abuse and violence towards the gay community has come down. It’s still a big problem obviously, but there’s a correlation that shows how societal shift effects individual actions.

All this sht builds on itself, so you have to go right to the foundations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,328 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

im not convinced eliminating casual misogyny from culture will end the Ted Bundy’s of this world.

if there are academic reports showing there is a connection then I’d definitely give them a read.

there are people in the world who like having sex with cars, there are probably people in the world who find hedgehogs sexually attractive. I think there will always be a percentage of the male population who get off on hurting women. I have my doubts whether modding language will change that. Hopefully I’m wrong.

likely won’t end all incidents of male violence against women. Very likely will help cut down at least some instances. Definitely will help women in a broader sense. And it simply involves not being **** to people, so where’s the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

There is no problem, but some men across boards are super threatened by the idea for some reason. It's scary how many different areas I've seen it pop up..

First of all good discussion on this, it's refreshing to have a different opinion to someone but not resort to the usual stuff that goes on online . I 100% see your point and in general i am in agreement with it - it costs nothing to be nice.

However i do not see how these degrees of separation result in avoiding the tragedy such as the one last week. These people are sick and let's be honest they always will be. We do not need to know the details of this particular case and i'm sure there's some sob story/mental illness behind it all but frankly i don't care. Anyone who commits an act like this should be locked up for life.

We've probably derailed this thread enough. So sport eh? :-)

The problem (for me) is Ciaran saying the brutal slaughter of a woman should give all men pause for thought about what they put out to the world.

I mean, it should… having a pause for thought about how our small actions may in small ways support bigger social behaviours is not a bad thing. So so many destructive little behaviours are baked into us, and it’s entirely healthy to check ourselves every so often on the root causes of our choices, and if we can do better.

I don’t think he’s saying “you are the cause”, I think he’s saying “you can be part of a solution” in at least some cases.

Just spotted your own name is a reference to casual misogyny from Richard Keyes…

https://youtu.be/zQ4FqjqCIEk

out of curiosity, why did you choose it? And do you think maybe choosing it - even just cause you thought it was funny - might just be yet another little reinforcing buttress for misogynistic behaviour? Another little statement to the world that ‘yeah, this is fine/funny/bantz.’?

Sorry for the name, it’s infantile. Feel free to report it.

I just find it insulting that ciaran can make a connection between one action by one individual member of my gender and that should make the entire gender look within.

should the Irish of the 1970-90s look within because of the actions of the IRA, should the actions of ISIS make all Arab Muslims look within? I think they are/were free to if they want but I don’t think they should be guilted into it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,015 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

Personally it's made me more cognisant of how I walk on the footpath at night in particular. Small things like moving over to the edge of the path when you come across someone (of either gender) can put their mind a bit more at ease then just moving over when they are a few yards from you. Similarly I try keep my hands out of my pockets when someone is walking against me.

Little actions like that which make next to no impact to me but could be putting someone else out for a walk or run a bit more at ease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭Smell the glove

Good they were back to what they're supposed to be talking about today.....sport. Long may it continue, if I want to listen to discussion about a murder I'd rather listen to the people who do it better on other podcasts or shows where that's what they specialise in.

The reason they left newstalk was to give them the freedom to discuss things like current affairs. Their take is interesting..

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

I thougt the reason they left was because they wanted the show to start at 6.30 and wanted more money and Newstalk wasn't willing to budge on either. No?

Wanted more money, less hours and an input into current affairs drive time show

I think the lads made fairly trite points on the back of the conversation with the guy about ahmad aubery the day before, which tbh i also thought was a fairly trite piece given how much it promised (neither the lads nor the writer had any great insight or point to make throughout, generally)

Personally, and not that hes always great at letting the expert guest speak, id always rather ken in that type of topic because he will tend to ask more piercing questions or at least take a position and not accept statements that someone just throws out unchallenged. But of course he also in the teeth of a discussion tends to excitedly follow the argument and this was not a topic to treat in that fashion

That said, it was an acknowledgement of a big and difficult story which was still very much at the stage where we were all just reacting to such a horrible event. Im not sure what youd expect from the lads.

Richie will no doubt do the topic justice in a special at some stage- his work on the rugby players trial and aftermath was for me the best coverage in the country at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭cmac2009

Eoin mentioned on yesterdays pod they will be covering the topic in more detail later in the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Skip through it if you don't want to listen. Basically what I do the second I hear Shane Horgan

• Registered Users Posts: 674 ✭✭✭dog_pig

I hope they discuss that disturbing drink 'spiking' crisis that occurred before Christmas.

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

Safe to say I won't be listening to Sinead O'Carroll lecture me on how I can "do better" after she and her website slandered the teachers in Carlow without an apology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Murph struggling to articulate his point midway through todays pod. He says a lot with saying anything sometimes.

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭Fred Astaire

Trying to make out that some crass language amongst friends is a gateway to murder is possibly the biggest jump I have ever seen, and unless you have a study to support the fact that this leads to increased commonality of murder then it's a complete nonsense point. This works both ways too, and this attempt to say that only men should police their 'banter', while women are free to have all the banter about the likes of 'cock size' (which I have seen in female whatsapp groups) is absolutely hilarous. Even in work - being the youngest man by a distance in an office of older people - the amount of comments I get about my muscles or arms is absolutely outrageous. Imagine if I started quipping back about their tits. I'd be fired on the spot.

That men as a whole need to be responsible for the actions of other men is quite unbelievable. If somebody is murdered on the streets it is more likely to be men. Regardless of how safe women 'feel' - that is a fact. If men try to get involved as some sort of vigilantes then they will most likely be the recipent of violence themselves.

The issue here is with the justice system, sentencing, detterents and a visible policing system. Just a few weeks ago there was an incident in Carrigaline where 3 female gardai were sent to deal with 20+ teens and got easily overwhelmed and embarassed. They looked like complete idiots and amateurs and were set up to look that way by the higher ups. You wouldn't see it in Spain - the police over there would have sorted out that mess pronto with no fcuking around. Increased visibility, harsher sentencing.

The media have been allowed to push this downright bigoted agenda for over a week now. It is absolutely sickening. Just yesterday McConkey said men should need to complete 12 lessons before being allowed out. Imagine that said about black people or muslims?

And Sinead O Carroll of all people? Cannot believe they got her on. Really disappointed in the lads for getting in on this populist anti-male shite.

Do you also not drive given the fact women are more likely to die in a car accident than be murdered out for a walk? So they 'feel' safer?

This pushing of a fear agenda is not based in any sort of reality. Regardless of how women 'feel' - they have never been safer in society and are murdered at a rate far lower than that of men (acnowledging one murder of either gender is one more than we would like).

That men are now supposed to cross the street when they see a women or keep their hands out of their pockets (what is that about ffs?) to make people who have an irrational fear 'feel' safer is absolute codswallop.

Pass for me today as well. As I said before, other proper current affairs podcasts do this better. If I want to listen to chat about a murder I'll do it there. Boys should be talking about Chelsea dropping points again.

I wouldnt have gone with murph and i wouldnt have rushed this one out.

Richie, in a few weeks, with a bit of time to breathe, would have been the choice

The issue is topical now but that brings pros and cons

I usually don't mind when the lads venture out of sport and enjoy it most of the time but I just don't want to listen another rehashing of all the think pieces that have been churned out lately.

The only reason I'd listen to confirm my prejudice on what will be said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭Ivefoundgod

Disappointing to see the usual boards straw man arguments usually reserved for AH appearing in this thread. Do wonder why some of the posters are even listening to the podcasts, they were always going to cover this. Sinead O' Caroll is a regular contributor and those who are surprised by this have either wilfully ignored the SC crews fairly obvious political leanings or haven't been paying attention. Those who are spouting the idiotic 'stick to sports' opinions would be better served elsewhere I suspect, OTB, FW or wherever else they want to go but this is who SC have always been and will likely always be so I would suggest either accepting that or finding a different podcast.

The lads have decided to pile in on some of the most bigoted, offensive coverage of any individual group I can recall in the last 20 years.

Men are fair game though. All men are now responsible for the actions of a sick psycho and if you didn't tell a mate he was wrong for using crass language some time then you are part of the problem. The problem in this instance being a sick murder. Therefore men are now responsible for enabling murder.

We have people trying to hijack a murder to promote their own fears, insecurities and attempt to perpetuate stereotypes.

People are presumably listening to the podcasts for sport - given that it makes up 95 percent of their output? Christ.

Ireland is one of the safest countries in the world and women are murdered at 1/5th the rate of men in this country. Just a few weeks ago an innocent man was shot and killed. Where was the taoiseach? Where was RTE at his funeral? Where was this then? Kevin Lunneys attacker had 180 previous convictions. That is the issue here. Not men, 99+ percent of whom are good people.

What having on one of the most hateful, anti-male, vermin spewing zealots on the show telling everyone how bad men are achieves, after listening to a week of the exact same **** from every media show around, is beyond me. Gutter journalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭Ivefoundgod

Oh I have no interest in engaging with your absolute nonsense. You're not a regular poster here and as far as I can see your first post in this thread was earlier today, back to AH with your absolute rubbish.

Couldn't care less what you engage with.

Don't think I've ever posted in After Hours in my life.

Keep up the assumptions though - par for the course with this disgusting commentary and the likes of you who bandwagon behind it.

Ireland presses the hysteria button very readily. We see it with COVID restrictions.

ireland is a stable politically, socially dull country where not a whole lot happens but we like to talk and communicate so when something happens that strikes a chord then the media machine can go into overdrive.

when you see the danger that other countries live with like the Ukraine is experiencing right now then it should give people a bit of perspective of the true level of danger they live in.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,760 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Should I not be angry that people have hijacked a terrible event to push a dangerous and sexist narrative?

And that such a narrative would not be allowed if it were about any other group of people in the world? Black people, Muslims, LGBQ, Jews, Asians - you name it. Ascribing responsibility for an evil murder to an entire group is bigoted. Telling an entire group that they need to change and are responsible when someone else in their group (pick your poison from above) does something horrific is bigoted.

Ireland is statistically, provably one of the safest countries in the world, and even in that safety - on the rare occasion a murder happens it is 80% likely for it to be a male victim. Whatever is going on in the media right now is certainly not reflective of reality and I thought the lads would be better than to get involved in the bile.

Acting like harrassment is a female only experience. Everybody gets harrassed. We have an issue in this country with sentencing and policing. We need stricter sentences and more visible policing. Until those issues are sorted, the rest is performative virtue signalling nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

I'm part of that group and I haven't felt at all offended. You'd think I would be if I was being targeted by the most bigoted, offensive coverage of the millennium.

Safe to say the people falling over themselves giving out about todays pod didn't actually listen to it... They explicitly mentioned in the pod that they're not saying that if people control what they say and do that women won't still get murdered, but they did say that is there any harm in controlling your behaviour?

As others have said, if ye could decamp to AH please, that'd be sound.

So are they saying themselves that what they are talking about/ the discussion is unrelated to anything to do with the woman’s murder?

So why talk about issues unrelated to the murder now if that’s the case?

Would it not be better to respect the victim’s memory to talk about issues that did cause the woman’s murder?

what’s the point of …this murder has happened..now we intend to use it to discuss things that didn’t cause it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Repo101

While all of this sounds nice, it is a patent misrepresentation of what is objectively true. The people discussing these topics in public are not the kind of people who are going to bring about material change. Violence against LGBT persons is actually increasing, particularly gay men and this has been known for some time. It is also facetious to suggest the root cause of these issues are cultural when that is clearly not the case as evidenced by statistics, if it was a cultural issue it would be far more prevalent and common in society, which it is not and you're just gaslighting people into believing common buzzwords people are picking up on social media.

The cultural argument essentially believes that if we force change, in terms of language and education, then these crimes will taper off over time. That is a fanciful argument as men have drastically changed their behaviour towards women yet sexual crimes and violence against women are still increasing. The majority of people who believe in the cultural argument also believe in restorative justice, which just trivialises sexual crime and allows devious people to convince the probation services they have been rehabilitated.

If we want to make society safer for women then we need to have a real discussion instead of faux-altruism and buzzwords, that are untrue and are devoid of reality. The crux of suggestions on Irish media over the past few days has been for mothers to stop saying boys will be boys and lots of talk about toxic masculinity. Its useless discussion that unqualified people attempt to gaslight the public when the statistics and causes of these crimes have been known and studied for a long time.

Education is important, but not nearly as important as a deterrence and a system that can start identifying people who are engaging in behaviours that will eventually lead to violence/sexual crimes. Crime is trivialised in this country, the criminal justice system is a joke, yet nobody is talking about the things we can change with legislation. It's also worth pointing out that people are individuals, perhaps teaching people personal responsibility might help instead of demonising groups of people which likely just makes the extreme ends of those groups more reclusive and angry.

Telling a rapist not to rape just doesn't work. If someone is a danger to society then they should be removed from society. Very rarely does someone wake up one day and commit murder/rape. It's a serious of crimes, escalating, each time the offender is able to detach themselves further from responsibility as the punishment is almost always trivial in comparison to the crime.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,586 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Did you listen to todays show ? Just curious. I have no opinion yet as I havent heard it.

• Registered Users Posts: 707 ✭✭✭al87987

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I haven't listened yet, but noticed the victim complex creeping into everything. Talking about men who feel they're personally attacked and are somehow offended by discussions like this.

Another person who wants to live in an echo chamber.

i have, it’s a discussion about harassment, women feeling unsafe, sports representation, WhatsApp groups, a college programme about these issues, same sex schools and another four or so issues I’m forgetting.

its not about the Aisling Murphy case or any issue that is likely to have had anything to do with how she met her fate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,923 ✭✭✭deisedude

I really don't understand why some men get so angered by the discussion and the idea of self reflecting and thinking how you personally could treat women better and calling out toxic behaviour.

What's wrong with being more empathetic and treating other people with respect

When you tell an entire gender to do the above you group together people that are already empathetic and treat others with respect with those that are disrespectful and potentially violent. Treating men as one homogenous group. It all seems rather patronizing.

Judging from your name you are from Waterford. If someone from Waterford attacks someone from Kildare should we ask that people from Waterford do some self reflecting, treat Kildare people better and call out toxic Deise-icity? It certainly wouldn't enter my mind to ask anyone to do that because it's ridiculous.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Well that was a whole episode I missed, not for me. But thankfully the world didn't burn down and Doddlers still gave some value for my 5 snoots a month.

Some ppl seem really angry that other ppl criticised this episode are ye ok? Ye seem really angry. Post in another forum maybe.

^ cheap rhetorical style worth nothing, lads, not really adding much

The people criticising the episode didn't listen to it. Or if they did they are misrepresenting what was said on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,675 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I haven't listened to many of the pods over the past two weeks (just cos I haven't had the chance).

What was Ken saying about Man City? Was he saying it's boring and no one cares about them or something?