Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do men need a license to be allowed socialise (MOD NOTE IN OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭boardlady

I take issue with the suggestion that women shouldn't be 'afraid' to go about their business. Unfortunately, we do not live in eutopia and are instead at the mercy of a wide society, environment, and circumstance. I think we should all be 'aware' rather than afraid as we go about our lives. Exercise vigilance, common sense and intuition. Men and women should be 'aware' when walking alone, day or night, that there may be an inherent risk associated. Same as the awareness we should exercise when crossing roads, handling animals or out in extreme weather to name a few. It is about personal responsibility. I do not inherently mistrust men, but I do acknowledge that they are generally the physically superior gender and that means I have to be more aware sometimes. Same goes for the big dog or the lorry approaching as I cross. As someone said earlier, mankind has been murdering each other for centuries and I don't think this will ever change. Men and women have been murdered in Ireland before and will continue to be. We live in the best period for mankind in history and I am sure are murdering each other less than we did in centuries past (barring wars). I will continue to respect the opposite sex as I always have and expect the same in return.

To be fair, you probably should extend some caution to other women (as a woman) too. Female on female violence tends to be overshadowed by male on female violence, but the statistics on such cases would warrant some caution.

Everyone is a potential risk regardless of gender. Physical strength is an important factor, but someone with a knife doesn't need to be strong to hurt/kill someone else. That's not to say that we should live in fear, because statistically, the overall risk is low, but common sense would suggest always being careful with strangers or being aware of your surroundings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭boardlady

This is what I was trying to say in my first post actually. But i'm speaking from the other side 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,778 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I can't agree enough here with probably the most logical and common sense post I have seen on this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭zv2

Instead of drinking Kenko in comfortable suburbia Fergus Finlay should go to the workplaces and offices and factories where he will find little mad women, dosed up on feminist man-hatred going 'men, men, men...' and spreading their poison everywhere. Yes Mr. Finlay, that's how it works.

“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.” — Voltaire

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭AdrianG08

Asking women to be more aware is akin to victim shaming in Ireland today.

Absolutely nobody asks to be assaulted or murdered and there can be categorically no condoning these actions under any circumstances. No woman or man should be subjected to it.

But this insistence that we live in a utopia where we can insist on doing whatever we want, how we want and the inherent risks in life should not be something we have to encounter, well in an ideal world that would be fantastic.

None of the above applies to the poor girl in Tullamore, but say my daughter at 17-18 years of age went out and got absolutely blind drunk, got a taxi home herself/walked home on a dark street, id go absolutely mad. I wouldn't Pat her on the back and tell her it's her right to do so.

There are risks in life we cannot ignore, there are predatory characters out there who will be drawn to situations like this, who will prey on someone who leaves themselves vulnerable. Campaigning for all men to "step up" Is a lovely soundbite, but what happens if there are no passers by to step up during the course of an attack?

Advising a young daughter/niece/neighbour to take greater care shouldn't be met with derision, "it's my right, I should be free to walk alone at night after a night out" Etc... That's not reality unfortunately. There will always be rogue predators out there and it's only after the fact that they are outed, by which stage it's too late for a victim.

I agree. I can't stand that "victim blaming" shite.

If I cross the road at a pedestrian crossing while the green man is there, it would still be a good idea to keep looking up and down the road to make sure there isn't a car approaching that might break the lights.

It is never a bad idea to be aware of your surroundings and circumstance to mitigate the chances of something bad happening through the fault of another person doing something wrong.

People should take some personal responsibility to ensure their safety at all times. There is no victim blaming in that.

But as you say, sometimes it's unavoidable and in this case, the poor girl couldn't have done anything to stop the crazed evil bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,778 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Another spot on post

Biggest pain the hoop for me is being labeled a victim blamer when advising in a caring fashion on personal safety and responsibility

And from my experiences, women are well aware of the potential dangers when out and about in situations that place them in vulnerable positions

My wife doesn't have to wait for me to advise. She already knows of the potential risks when out and about in certain situations.

This horsesh1t of we can do what we want and to hell with possible consequences is reckless endangerment. We don't live in a Carlsberg world

It applies to males and females

Crossing the road is a bad thing to normalise.

The interesting thing is that if a woman was to go abroad to a non-western nation, she would usually be aware enough to take care. I've known women coming back from Italy, Spain, America, or further afield such as Asia, where they spoke of the dangers and that they knew to be more careful about who and how they interacted with others. It was expected that there would be some dangers/risks involved, and it wasn't that the threats came from men, but simply the environment.

This isn't a dig at other cultures or immigrants, but the simple truth is that we no longer live in an insular nation. The demographics of Ireland have shifted dramatically, but also the exposure of people to other ideas/beliefs/etc through the internet or exposure to foreign influence, mean that you shouldn't have to go abroad before taking precautions. Although, in all honesty, I believe most women are careful.. and know that nowhere is completely safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,878 ✭✭✭Allinall

They've left me out of it from the start.

I haven't been mentioned once.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭zv2

“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.” — Voltaire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

A friend of mine parked his vehicle outside my gate (small back road) for an hour and a half. Left the vehicle unlocked with his wallet in it (not on show).

Rang me next morning to no avail as it transpired that his card had been used. Guards later got culprit for different offences and she admitted she took wallet.

Now, I felt very bad for him especially as it occurred outside my gate. However both his wife and I said you should have locked your vehicle. In no way were we blaming him but his naivety aided this person to commit the crime.

This guy has obviously only been given a platform as someone above wants to push a particular agenda. Even though he's merely serving as the 'useful idiot', it's a clear reminder of the absolute state of the media/politics in this country -- especially over the last two years 🤣

I propose all journalists media messengers and politicians undertake a course in how to do their jobs properly. Badly needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Posts being deleted here constantly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭JoChervil

I do think some men should change their attitude towards women here. When I came to Ireland I was pinched twice in my buttock. It never happened to me abroad. And no, I couldn't protect myself from it, because first time happened when I was leaving a church! OK, it was an oldish guy, but the second time was done by a guy half my age and from "cool" environment, so such things are still around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭rightmove

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭Fred Astaire

Imagine if you are an innocent Muslim, and all of a sudden you are told you are responsible for of all the extremists after an attack.

Being told if you were in a whatsapp group with another Muslim who was displaying extremist tendancies, that you saying 'it's mean to talk about bombing people' - would stop terrorism.

That Muslims make people feel unsafe.

That terrorism amongst Muslims is a problem that Muslims need to fix. That Muslims need to 'do better'.

That Muslims need to shut up and listen to the West to find out how they can improve.

That Muslims need to engage in lessons in order to be allowed to participate in modern society.

Imagine that articles were springing up such as this one (https://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/columnists/arid-40787319.html), saying that it is all Muslims.

White men are just fair fcuking game I guess. Funny how the people engaging in this putrid vermin would be the first to condemn any of the above statements - the hypocracy is off the charts. The level of vile sexism and bigotry that has been allowed to go unchecked in the past week, and has actually been promoted in the media is actually disgusting. Piggybacking off a horrible murder to further agendas and engaging in performative grief for social media likes. Attempting to get a slice of the victimhood action by equating murder to some time someone catcalled them or some other absolute nonsense. Makes me sick.

I saw a post on social media the other day from some woman - talking about how she hoped her one year old son wouldn't grow up to hurt women, but how she owed it to Ashling to acknowledge it as a possibility. Can you imagine your own mother exploiting you on social media for likes, almost comparing you to a murderer just because you are male? I'd give fairly fcuking long odds on that poor fella growing up to have a normal outlook on life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭JoChervil

You aren't a man?

Or do you think it's acceptable to say it's the fault and responsibility of all Muslims that there are certain Muslim grooming gangs in the UK?

Because I don't.

Anecdotally, I've had my bum pinched by a couple of women too. So how is it gender specific?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,945 ✭✭✭growleaves

Those are illegal sexual assaults technically.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

• Registered Users Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

I actually think the conversations about whistling, harrasment etc are very valuable.

Of course it has nothing to do with this horrendous murder, and I can understand people being annoyed by others linking them. It’s very unfortunate that some of the media coverage has been quite ridiculous, and seems to be more about the commentators themselves than the very real and serious issues.

I’d say almost all adult women in Ireland have been harrased at some point, which is disgraceful. Loads of men don’t do it of course, and many men have to put up with harrasment themselves, that’s completely true too.

In general society is way too tolerant of disrespectful behaviour, especially from young people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,248 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

F'sake, is it immaturity of insecurity that you're affected by?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,600 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

A lot of low level fcukery in this country, esp by underage and teens, is tolerated and is pretty much background noise by this stage. Almost to expected behaviour really. They see how much they can get away with and then, emboldened, it ramps up.

We had brutal reformatories and borstals in the past, now the pendulum has swung to the opposite extreme and they're nigh on untouchable.

Finlay is a champagne socialist with a big job ceo of a business dressed as a ' charity'

Had i ever donated to his business dressed as a 'charity' i would stop doing do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,878 ✭✭✭Allinall

Who said that?

You're imagining things.

Also, if someone was to say something I strongly disagree with, I just ignore them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭CreadanLady

No-one should pinch anyone's bottom. But a woman pinching a man's bottom cannot be equated to a man pinching a woman's bottom. They are worlds apart.

The level of risk and power imbalance between to two parties is huge so one is far more serious a matter than the other.

A woman who is pinched is likely to be in fear of the man, and will be wondering what are his intentions and what will he do next. She may well be afraid that it could turn into a full on sexual assault or even rape, depending on circumstances. She may be fearful that he might become physically violent if she protests or resists. She might scan the area for escape routes to get away from the situation.

On the other hand a man, even if pinched by a woman, is extremely unlikely to suffer any sort of violence, sexual or otherwise, and will not be at any significant risk of harm. At most he might be a bit annoyed, but probably just a bit perplexed and surprised.

The fact that some people (usually men) still cannot get their head around that in this day and age is astounding. Sometimes I wonder are they being deliberately obtuse about it.

The MFV Creadan Lady is a mussel dredger from Dunmore East.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

A question is different to a statement.

I was using an analogy. It's a common way of seeing if a certain viewpoint holds up to scrutiny or to see if it was slightly hypocritical.

The poster I asked the question to was claiming that because he wasn't mentioned specifically, he was not being referred to when people were saying that men should be doing more.

My question was to ascertain if he would feel the same if it was any other group which was being referred to in such an all encompassing manner and holding them responsible for the actions of an individual member of their group.

And judging by your comments on this thread, your last sentence is not true either.

I don't agree with you.

Society in this day and age would (rightly) round up and vilify someone who pinches a girl on the arse unwarranted.

She would receive help from friends, security guards/bouncers and her complaint would be treated seriously and the man would more than likely be confronted.

A woman may be afraid of being raped because her arse is pinched is slightly over the top too. It's not their fault though. I have no doubt that some women are that anxious and have fear instilled into them. The media circus alone this week would be proof that it is being drilled into women.

By the same token, it's remarkable that you think that because men are stronger, they would feel no/minor repercussions from what is essentially a sexual assault. In general, if a man complained that a woman pinched his arse, what do you think the reaction would be from his friends, security/bouncers and do you think he would be taken seriously?

Equality eh?

Only when it suits you.

Yes equality when it suits them.the man being pinched could have had previously experienced abuse or could be very shy.it is a breach of boundaries at least as much as whistling at women is

There is no distinction made in law between males and females being pinched

It's also a pretty childish thing to do

No-one should pinch anyone's bottom. But a woman pinching a man's bottom cannot be equated to a man pinching a woman's bottom. They are worlds apart.

Except they're not. It's unacceptable behavior regardless of whether it's a man or a woman. That's why it's equated. Both are signs of harassment and the projection of power over the other.

The level of risk and power imbalance between to two parties is huge so one is far more serious a matter than the other.

Only if you apply the most basic of difference which is physical strength. However, there are other ways to perform coercion, and actual physical risk. Have you ever seen the damage that a woman's nails can do to eyes or other sensitive/"soft" areas? I've seen it happen with two women fighting, and the damage they did to each other was on-par with the brute strength that might come from someone more physically stronger. And that's without dealing with weapons or accessories which could cause harm.

You mentioned power difference, but I suspect you're ignoring that women, due to their gender, hold a lot of power in society. Typically, women are protected more, and also, more likely to be believed. In most instances where criminal investigations occur, women are treated more fairly than male suspects, and are likely to receive lesser sentencing/punishments. This is also borne out in domestic violence cases where the woman is the aggressor. That's a decided advantage in society. If a woman claims that a man has mistreated her, a lot of people will automatically side with the woman over the man. The danger of having someone's reputation ruined over the claims of a woman over rape or abuse is real. That's power... and it is a power imbalance.

A woman who is pinched is likely to be in fear of the man, and will be wondering what are his intentions and what will he do next. She may well be afraid that it could turn into a full on sexual assault or even rape, depending on circumstances. She may be fearful that he might become physically violent if she protests or resists. She might scan the area for escape routes to get away from the situation.

On the other hand a man, even if pinched by a woman, is extremely unlikely to suffer any sort of violence, sexual or otherwise, and will not be at any significant risk of harm. At most he might be a bit annoyed, but probably just a bit perplexed and surprised.

In both cases, the risk of something escalating from a pinch is very low. There would need to be a lot more going on than that.

The fact that some people (usually men) still cannot get their head around that in this day and age is astounding. Sometimes I wonder are they being deliberately obtuse about it.

They could be. I've noticed a lot of women never try to understand society from a male's point of view, and the possible dangers that women can represent... are they being deliberately obtuse or simply don't care? I suspect it's the same for the men who disregard the risk to women, or the unease that a man can generate in a woman.

• Registered Users Posts: 467 ✭✭nj27

This notion that a man is going to sexually assault a woman by grabbing her ass, she reactions badly, and then he just starts wailing on her like a prime Mike Tyson against Marvis Frazier is utterly risible. Doesn't happen. Although women do that with impunity, anyone who has been to a nightclub must know that. Try complaining that you were grabbed by a woman, see how that goes for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

I don't think pinching is worse when a man does it rather than a woman to be honest, in both cases it is clearly wrong.

Certainly in a public place there's no difference. I suppose if it happened on a country road with no one else around it'd be more threatening if a male did it.

Strange to say, but in my recollection women were at least as likely as men to do this as recently as the 1990s, maybe a bit more so.

It's alarming that groping was as widely tolerated as it was in pubs/nightclubs. I don't know what it's like today, am guessing things have moved on a lot, but maybe they haven't. Back in the day the best way to meet someone of the opposite sex was in a pub or club, so the tension and hormonal level could be high in such places, maybe it's a bit different now that people can arrange dates online.

I'd say it's more of a peer related thing, rather than getting any real enjoyment over the act itself. Someone does it, and get's social proof from their collection of friends. It's all laughter and smiles, with loads of telling others not to be so serious... but it's the same as groping anyone. It's not "fun" or nice.

Second man arrested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭Feisar

I hate to agree with you however I agree with you. I've to provide some background to this. I'n my twenties I would have considered myself a bit of a unit, in the gym deadlifting/squatting/etc, doing MMA. 6'3", touching sixteen stone and while not ripped as they say in pretty good nick. Anyway, I was sparring an actual unit one evening and a few punches let me know where I was in the pecking order, he wasn't being OTT but I could feel the power in him. Anyway I'd say he was as above me in strength as I was above the average woman. If he pinched my ass in the changing rooms I'd be afraid! While on the other hand when I was in my teens working as a glass collector in a night club I was often grabbed by women, never bothered me past annoyance. Now people can say that's just my experience and doesn't count towards proving a point, it is what it is.

I'd say most of us men almost never are in that situation where our puniness is laid bare.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭Hodger

Excellent choice of words surprised and perplexed' I worked in a bar as a years ago I collected glasses from a table with a group of women sitting down as I turned around to leave one of the women both pinched my arse plus removed my hair tie I had long hair at the time' I didn,t react and just went about my work and put on my spare hair tie. Part of why I didn,t react I surprised at a woman being so forward towards me like that.

A man who was pinched by a woman and complained to bouncers or Gardai or friends, there is a strong possibility that they would be laughed at rather than taken seriously. And it is understandable why.....a man is not in any danger from a female pincher and is unlikely to come to any harm. A woman on the other hand has a legitimate reason to be in fear as it could escalate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,472 ✭✭✭BrianD3

What is the current legal situation in terms of hate speech and incitement to hatred. Gender is one of several protected traits. If it is illegal to suggest that all Muslims/Travellers/women should need licences to socialise, then it is equally illegal to say that about men.

RTE, Sam McConkey, Fergus Finlay and many others need to be pulled up on their nonsense and hit in their pockets if possible. They also need to be ridiculed at every opportunity.

You'll have to elaborate. I was saying that due to the differences in size a simple pinch can be taken very differently. We are supposed to be equal and all but we are not. Not sure how what I said is odd?

The problem is who's gong to pull them up? Everyone's on the same train.

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭Hodger

A nightclub years ago I recall the girl collecting glasses from a table one of the fellows touched her arse walking past she pointed him out to security bouncers and got rightly Fcuked out of the venue' the group he was with just finished their drinks and left.

Back to 2019 pre covid lockdowns and all that' one saturday night at one late nightcliub some weirdo pulled down his Jeans in front of a crowded room all the bouncers grabbed him and threw him out. Amyone like that should also be named and shamed in the papers so people can know who they are.

yeah but on this the pinching topic is that it is fine for women to do what they want but men shouldnt. So lets take it that most men keep their hands to themselves. What should most women do?

Grabbing a womans ass doesn't turn into a sexual assault - it IS sexual assault.

It is at the lower end of the sexual assualt spectrum but it is what it is and those men who engage in such deserve to face the legal consequences of that. It is more serious because of the effect, physical and emotional, that it can have on a woman, an effect which is absent or minimal when it is a woman doing it to a man, which is far, far rarer in any event.

So what should happen a bunch of women grabbing a lounge boys arse.......sure its only a bit of fun..... heard the same when women were off to the full monty shows but if men went to similar they were repulsed

It's also sexual assault when woman does it to a man You do not know what effect it would have on a man. At least as much as a man whistle at woman