Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Do men need a license to be allowed socialise (MOD NOTE IN OP)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Not disagreeing with you as such but the generalisation is irking me. I have known some very timid lads in my life who would be upset by being groped and equally I have known many girls who are more than able to stand up for themselves and tell someone to F off or give them a smack across the face.

Trauma is not always the outcome of these incidents but it can be for some.

In my experience women (I have known at least) are much stronger and more resilient than you are making out (not to say the activity should happen obviously).

You are wrong. It happens just as frequently. Ask any bouncer, barman, loungeboy.

And you are also wrong about the effect, physical and emotional that it can have on a man. I've been told on here its not ok to give a compliment to a stranger because I don't know if it might trigger her because of a past incident. Why then, is it ok for women like you to diminish any emotional effects a sexual assault may have on a man?

Sure, a lot of men might brush it off, but there are others who it would seriously effect, some with crippling social anxiety, some who were abused, some who were treated badly by ex partners, some who have no confidence and low self esteem and many many more, and as you said earlier, you would understand it if a policeman laughed at them. You actually said that. You would understand why a policeman would laugh if a man reported a sexual assault.

You call it sexual assault. But only when a man does it?

You are advocating for a man to face legal consequences for doing the exact same thing a woman can do and have laughed off.

I bet you'd be ok with a woman slapping a guy in the face if he did it too. Imagine the roles reversed. The man comes out the loser in both scenarios there.

Jesus, if ever there was a poster girl for the modern feminism movement, you'd be up there.

We want to be treated as equal, but we aren't and you have to make allowances for it and treat us different. But only if the difference is favourable for us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭CreadanLady

I get you but the thing is, a lounge boy being messed with by a mouthy gin fuelled hen party, while he might be annoyed and pissed, at the end of the day he isn't in any real danger from the women. Basically, he is at zero risk of ending up raped or seriously sexually assualted in the back lane of the pub after closing time. I think most people would admit that it is not right, just a few women with a few too many G&Ts but at the end of the day not really much chance of something escalating to something serious.

On the other hand, a young bar maid being groped by a bunch of drunk middle aged men.... it is not unreasonable to be wary of that such a situation could escalate into something very very serious up to and including rape either there and then, or possibly after closing up if one of the ring leaders is still lurking around after the crowd has gone. These sort of things have happened.

This is not a unique view, I think a lot of people would share this opinion.

The MFV Creadan Lady is a mussel dredger from Dunmore East.

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭sekiro

An article like this really just illustrates why it's probably better to just not take this "it's all men" thing personally and ultimately just ignore it.

The people writing and publishing this stuff literally have no idea on how we could prevent violence in general or violence against women specifically. They don't have a single good suggestion. What they really want is just to be allowed to rant without challenge.

To be fair, I do know people like this in my personal life. I am sure most people do. That friend or relative who just loves and good moan and a rant and you humor them knowing that nothing will be done and you'll be hearing the same guff the next time you see them but that's OK because it's good for them to vent. Then you open up to them with your problems and they can hardly wait to change the subject. No listening, no sympathy, no empathy. They might as well just come out and say "nobody cares about your problems, let's talk about mine some more".

We should remember that we are discussing a murder here. Not the pay gap. Not jokes. Not abortions. Not mother and baby homes.

People should be outraged over what happened last week. Absolutely. It's a disgrace that an innocent person just out for a run was murdered. We should all be angry and we should all be asking how this could happen.

However, the approach from so many is just all over the place. At times we seem so far off course that we would take an age trying to resolve the mixed messaging going on. You have people complaining about pornography and prostitution alongside people declaring that sex work is real work. Are these things even remotely connected to this murder?

Then you have weird statements like this: "But I also know it is the case that I have allowed myself to snigger at off-colour sexist jokes".

Unfortunately, we'd have to really get into how the human brain is wired if we wanted to make sure that we wouldn't even think to laugh at a sexist joke. Humor will generally come from the unexpected twist or punchline and the tone and intonation of the delivery. I am sure everyone has a moment where they think oh god I should not have laughed at that but in real-time it's not so easy. Again, this has nothing to do with murder.

I don't know why people are so upset that they have to read "not all men" on social media. Maybe stop trying to publicly insist that it is indeed ALL men and you won't get feedback. These are public platforms. You can't seriously expect to make very bold, very provocative and objectively false statements in a public place and have nobody at all even think about correcting you.

Ultimately, you have all of these articles that basically boil down to "would you just let us say that it is all men, even if it isn't, just shut up and let us say that it is". Why? What is the purpose of this?

I don't understand if it's some social experiment or some attempt to gaslight the entire population. I just don't see what the purpose would be or what the intended end goal would be? What if I just accept it and agree? Ok it's all men. Now what? Seriously though, now what?

I don't really like where these kind of articles go when you follow them to a logical conclusion. They seem to believe that a human being is just a blank slate and we can simply impose a way of thinking onto someone and their thoughts will just trundle along on pre-determined rails never to go off course. We already try to do this to some extent in society and we have been doing that with various laws and philosophies and stories and lessons for thousands of years. What we've never really been able to do is to stop individual thought processes from going catastrophically off the rails.

I'm sorry Fergus Finlay but it's not all men. I don't really understand the insistence that an objectively false statement is actually true. It isn't true. It isn't all men. No level of insistence will make it true. You might be able to shame people into never objecting to the use of the phrase but it still won't be true. What would be the point in that anyway?

We're a long fcuking way from Kansas now Toto, as yerwan said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭JoChervil

I have known many girls who are more than able to stand up for themselves and tell someone to F off or give them a smack across the face.

Do you know where such standing up could lead? It might escalate things....

Jesus how hyperbolic!

What bars/clubs do you go to where a group of men groping a loungegirl wouldn't get reported to the police or at the very least be fu/cked out of it by the bouncers/barmen/patrons?

Classic scaremongering. We've seen it enough this week.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Niamh on

• Registered Users Posts: 467 ✭✭nj27

Don't know why you included that first sentence or why you think anything I wrote contradicted that.

Regarding the second statement, how do you know what effect it has on anyone, man or woman? Unless you're a mind-reader that statement is pure speculation, and it isn't up to you or anyone other than the person involved to decided what effect it has. Also it ain't that rare, I've been the unwilling recipient of all sorts of weird chick's advances, and I've seen it plenty of times. Anecdotal obviously, but enough personal experiences to know it's far from rare, certainly in a nightclub environment. If you want to place more importance on women's welfare than men's, then at least that's a starting point for an honest discussion, but you can't just decide these things have a catastrophic effect on one group and little to no effect on the other, then apply penalties on that basis. Both are sexual assault as should be treated as such.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭rightmove

you are trying to use extremity to make your point and its not washing. Also you changed my wording to boy being messed with.......WTF ???messed with....what you mean?? and then the gin fuelled line to abdicate any responsibility.

Make me wonder if you have not witnessed such behaviour and laughed it off also.

It's like that time in the bible when Jacob was wrestling with an angel and Jacob said don't pinch me and so the angel blessed him and he became known as Israel and spawned a whole nation of warriors for God.

It might but the truth is that in most social settings women receive support from others. Bouncers/security, and people around them are more likely than not, to step in to protect a woman standing up to a man. It's not as if any of this is new. Protecting women has been part of our culture for a long time.

I stand by the sentiment of my posts which basically boil down to that, women have a greater reason to be fearful of the unwanted advances of men than men have to be of the unwanted advances of women. Women are, on average, at a physical size and strength disadvantage and are likely to come to serious harm if things escalate physically. On average, a man will generally be able to fend off an attacking female, which is a much rarer occurance anyway, and it is even rarer for the woman to be the instigator.

Sure, it is uncommon for things to escalate in either direction, but where serious escalations with serious consequences occur, it is far far more frequent that men are the offenders.

There is also the real risk of rape - something with potentially life changing effects for the woman. Men do not have to fear or worry about being raped by a woman. It is so exceedingly rare an occurance that it is hardly worthy of mention. This is reflected in the fact that such an offence is not even recognised in law.

The headline of this article shows how sport has been detrimental in stoking up toxic masculinity.

"Kill zone" and other alpha male phrases needs to be calmed down in todays society.

If you listen to other post match interviews/commentaries, it's not hard to find other testosterone filled clichés.

They spoke of needing to tackle the small stuff with toxic masculinity on Newstalk the other day. I think thejournal should pay heed, and think about their headlines before publishing.

That is true that. I know of a number of pubs wherein if a dispute or agro breaks out between a male and female, the bouncers settle the situation by throwing out the male and they are not interested in who started it or who was right or who was wrong. In most cases the bouncers are male themselves.

The logic behind the policy is twofold. 1) just settle things and restore the calm ASAP, not getting into who is right and wrong or who said what. and 2) it is seen as being in the better interests of safety to keep the woman in the bouncer supervised environment of the pub, regardless if she is right or wrong. if they threw out the female, and she subsequently came to be harmed while outside the pub shortly afterwards either by the guy she was fighting with or for other reasons, they could be criticised for ejecting her into a situation that placed her at risk of such harm.

The worst incident I have seen in a pub was seening a man press a woman against a wall by her neck and lift her off her feet by her throat. The bouncer threw him out and rightly so. I have never seen a woman pin a man against a wall and lift him up by his throat.

It is for worst case reasons like this that pubs have those types on man-out policies if there is trouble. I know several large pubs and night clubs that have these types of policies for a number of years.

Now that is not to say that women don't get thrown out, they do if they are seriously out of order but their friends would be encouraged to go with them to look out for them, or bouncers would keep an eye on them.

"I think it shouldn't be illegal to give a compliment to a stranger"

"I think it should"

"Why?"

"We might think you will rape us"

"I think women should be held to the same standards as men, especially when it comes to sexual assault"

"Well I don't"

"Why?"

"You might rape us"

"God, why are men playing the victim?"

I'm seeing a theme emerging.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Again the limits of the Irish media are being shown up.

On the national broadcaster a pundit floats the possibility of licences being introduced for men before they enter the social sphere, while in the third best selling daily broadsheet a man claims ALL men are guilty of sexist behaviour.

Have spoken to several people about violence against women since the murder, generally they hold sensible views, and see that is unacceptable that women feel at risk so often. But they don't come out with utterly stupid shoite like these media outlets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,710 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Yep, been saying it years, many times the BFs are not the problem: it's the women who choose to associate with them...knowing full well what type men they are...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,710 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Thats a good point actually. Virtually nobody, male or female, who I have spoken to in real life has agreed with any of the shite being pumped out. (I say virtually, because it was ruined by one particular set of women I know who are the stereotypical blue haired feminist anti-men type).

We can at least cling to that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

A few times I intervened to try and stop fights between men. But I always felt that the situation wasn't helped by someone else getting involved. If I came across an incident now I'd generally be inclined to ignore it, unless there was a woman in clear physical danger.

Very often getting involved (even with the best of intentions) can actually inflame a situation. I know it can be hard to leave things alone, but i do think it's often the course of action that'll get the best outcome.

You assume that such things only happen in social settings...

As I said earlier, there are other forms of threat other than simply just differences in physical strength. Not going to list them again, but considering the protections that society extends to women, and the difference in how the genders are treated by society and those in authority, men have plenty of reasons to be afraid of a woman pushing boundaries.

The threat of a woman screaming that she has been abused by a man is a threat in itself. It destroys reputations, and even the gardai are likely to take action, before verifying the claim as being true.

You've admitted that it's rare that an incident such as pinching would escalate but you're still trying suggest that it's a reasonable fear. It's not. No more than rape is, in the context of a public setting which is what the original example referred to. Now, a man acting in a truly aggressive and violent manner... that would be a reasonable fear due to the biological differences but that's a different scenario entirely.

For me socialising is any interaction between people. Even two of them in an empty park

I disagree. i think it is not unreasonable for a woman to be wary that a pinch or an unwanted advance could, potentialy, escalate to a more serious assault.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭rightmove

ok so the example I gave earlier in the thread of having my shirt ripped off by a girl is ok then!

thanks I will man up etc since its acceptable and that you never answered my other points

I'd say they're both the problem. Some people go looking to be abused... and some people go looking for people to abuse. They're both messed up.

The scenario used in the discussion was a social setting... with there being people around.

change the scenario and the dynamic is completely different.. although I realise some posters want it to apply to all scenarios equally, regardless of the circumstances.

If a woman is completely alone with a male stranger, and she is pinched, groped or whatever, I'd fully agree that she should be intimidated and move away as quickly as possible TBH, I'd feel the same way if I was in that same situation, regardless of the differences in strength between men and women. I'm a man and I know, from experience, that most other men are stronger than me.

But what if later in reclusive settings a woman comes across a man, who previously got thrown out of the pub because of her standing up and who can keep grudge against her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I agree with alot of what you posted earlier but I completely disagree with this.

Pinching a man's bottom is also a sexual assault.

I would also say you're assuming a man is not affected by the assault. You can't assume how anyone feels, man or woman, unless you are a man, and in that instance you can only speak for your self.

• Registered Users Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Green Peter

That Mckonkey guy has gotten so fond of hearing his own voice, he's a joke and shouldn't be rolled out anymore or inflicted on the public by RTE or media, I heard the programme live and couldnt believe what I was hearing from him. Ashling Murphy's murder was shocking and dispicable but decent people are being lumped into the bracket of the killer just because they are men. The generalization that has gone on for the past week would make u think all men should be locked up. It's people like Mckonkey trying to jump on the bandwagon that really sicken me. They don't care about a solution with ideas like that, they just want to go with the popular opinion as they hear it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,899 ✭✭✭zv2

I'm saying if there is to be equality in this we must acknowledge feminism's sexism too. It is everywhere so why don't women call one another out?

“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.” — Voltaire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,504 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

But this pinching women's arses thing always comes up in these arguments like it's something that happens ALL the time. It's a thing I honestly haven't seen in 20 years, then again I'm not a woman. Is it THAT common?

I feel that you are advocating that women should immediately catastrophize any interaction with any man into a potential rape scenario.

It's exceptionally damaging and unhelpful and exactly what is happening in the media this week. Inflating the degree of danger people face in order to keep the clicks and viewers coming.

The vast, vast, vast, vast majority of interactions you have with men will not escalate to this degree. It's healthy to be aware that situations can sometimes escalate and know what the warning signs are so if you are in a position to protect yourself, you can do so early.

But yeah it could happen. If I piss get into an argument with a man in a pub, he might batter me to death on the way home. Does that stop me ever talking to a male stranger? If I flirt with a girl in a pub she might falsely accuse me of rape. Better not flirt with this girl.

Rapists are going to rape, murderers are going to murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭AyeGer

Fergus thinks he is helping but he absolutely is not helping with an article like that. All he is doing along with RTE and some other media is polarising people. Stuff like that will turn men away from listening and trying to understand to becoming defensive instead. I despair at our media sometimes.

But you really don't know, who you are dealing with on a receiving end.

At the beginning of the pandemic my sister stood up to guy breathing into her neck in a local shop. She only told him to keep a distance and he took a knife out.

That is awful for your sister to have expereinced. Were the gardai called?

My advice to women and girls would be not be alone with a male that you do not know and trust. By all means interact, but insofar as is possible, restrict such interactions to places where you are visible to other people, women espacially. This actually works to the advantage of males too because it lessens the risk of false allegations or even suggestions of allegations.

He only showed it to her and left. She was too frozen to do anything after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,549 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Do you think that's the standard reaction a woman would expect in that situation? Is that normally how all men react? Every single one of them regardless of nationality, ethnicity or creed?

In other words, do I as a woman need to add a simple interaction with a man to the list of things I should fear now?

I am talking about standing up, not about regular interaction. The first one might be risky.

A lucky escape so. If she had been a bloke, there would have been an increased chance that she would have been stabbed.

Scumbag getting a thrill by scaring someone, but not indicative of anything we are discussing here.

What if she got a taxi home after the pub? Or walked with her friends to the place? Or... applied some sensible choices to her night out...

Why would anyone go into a reclusive place at night (you did mention the pub, which suggests the time that this is happening)

Of course not, that would be ridiculous. The point we are trying to make is that you a girl or woman has no way of knowing how a seemingly normal interaction with an unknown male (or even known) might evolve. Therefore, it is advisable to be wary of the potential risks that could arise if things take a turn for the worse.

but not to worry if you do the same things you condemn men for, because it doesn't affect them.

haha.. I'm sorry but that's no different for any man. Or any person dealing with a woman. It's always advisable to be wary of potential risks, but it's unreasonable to exaggerate the risks involved. The statistics don't support your fears. Ireland is not as dangerous as you seem to believe.

Well not really, no.

When was the last time a man walking was randomly murdered by a woman?

When was the last time a of a court case for a man being raped by a woman?

When was the last time a of a court case for a man being seriously sexually assaulted by a woman?

What is the male on female : female on male ratio for any of those crimes? They are massively skewed. In the case of rape, it is zero because it is legally impossible for such to occur.

Your arguments are entirely tone-deaf in that you are pushing back against everything but you haven't got a leg to stand on because behind it all, there is the reality that male violence and everyday harrassment against women is a problem of epidemic proportions in Ireland. The reverse simply isn't the case, it is no-where near the same level. It is my opinion that apologists and whataboutery mongers like yourself are part of the culture of harassment. You'd be better off taking some steps to encourage awareness about violence against women that engaging in mindless pro-male whataboutery on message boards.

The fact of the matter is that women have got a legitimate reason to be fearful of males, because males have a proven track record of violence and abusive behaviour towards women, in all the forms it might take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭AyeGer

Good point, imagine as a man you were walking into the toilets in a dingy bar and on the way in a much bigger man pinched or slapped your arse. I’d say it would put a new slant on things for many of us. A woman doing it while unacceptable and demeaning in its own way is not an actual physical threat for most men. It has happened to me down the years in a pub and a nightclub in Scotland and even at secondary school and I thought FFS but never feared anything bad happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,549 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

there is the reality that male violence and everyday harrassment against women is a problem of epidemic proportions in Ireland.

I'm not afraid and I don't agree with the quoted part.

The media are whipping up hysteria and using the violent death of Ashling to present all men as an ever-present threat to all women.

They are doing this in her name when she can no longer speak for herself. People who have never met her all over the country and in the UK know details about her life and speak about her as if they knew her.

Ashling had a father, a brother and was with her boyfriend for the last 5 years of her life. It's unlikely she viewed all men as bogeymen, but this is now the legacy that has been foisted upon her.

She should be allowed rest in peace and efforts directed to the minority of people ( men and women) who willfully harm and kill others.