Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Rigor Mortis

Its grand, Dave Kearney will be back by the business end of the tournament.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,840 ✭✭✭ionadnapokot

Did you not see Hansen's covering tackles v Munster? Stopped two certain tries.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭aloooof

That came after him making virtually no effort to get back for Conway's try, so was a bit of a mixed bag defensively for him that day.

Yes. but he can defend. This is not a case of another left winger "who cant defend"

• Registered Users Posts: 17,803 ✭✭✭✭bilston

I mean if Jamie Osborne was called up as a development player you'd think Doak should have been. But that said he probably gets more development playing European matches...something that Ahern and Osborne haven't been getting.

You can see the advantage of having extra second rows around or an extra ack row or utility back, maybe having a specialised 9 would be a waste of resources.

But yes on the face of it it is a bit surprising. But I'm sure there Farrell has his reasons.

• Registered Users Posts: 755 ✭✭✭Zeugnis

Don't get the Treadwell thing at all, and am confused about Carbery's selection. Disappointed not to see Frawley and Marmion.

As regards Doak, it doesn't make sense to have himself and Casey in there, they're both essentially development players. I rate Doak higher, but it would be reasonable to give them each exposure in different squads, so i hope he gets his chance in NZ or the autumn series.

Treadwell was excellent against Northampton, perhaps it was just good timing on his part. When he is good, he is very good (think 2019 HEC Q/F), but he lacks consistency.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

It's a nice full circle for James Lowe showing how fickle sport can be.

He gets included for the Autumn Series and people fervently question why.

He gets excluded for the 6 Nations and people fervently question why.

Pity he's injured but it's good to see just how many opinions he changed

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Must love hardship

Yeah that's what I saw.. jogging back not once but twice and let conway come from behind him to nick in and score a try.

V leinster while he did score with a nice catch from a cross field kick he was burned by a hooker.

All I said is I'm not convinced by him yet. He had a decent eye for a try.

Interesting to see if he can step up about 2 levels to international level.

Id start him v Italy. Unlikely considering he's not even in the squad.

Casey is really not playing well at all. Have high hopes for him and in fairness to Farrell i like that he is sticking by him. Very harsh on Marmion though.

Maybe your right on keeping Doak focused. It would makes sense for Ulster and Doak.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

On the Doak development player angle.

There is definitely merit to him being included in the Ireland squad.

But similarly while a lot of senior Ulster figures are away, this is a great chance for him to get some valuable development at Ulster.

The kid is a leader. It was clear to see at U20s. If he stays back at Ulster he can hone his leadership and I'd hope management will be encouraging that.

Ulster is chock full of young talent and I think it's a great chance for a young half back to find his voice in the absence of senior players.

Ulster didn't sign him on for 4 years for the craic. They're investing in this player and I imagine want to build a brand around him, the younger he is being comfortable in that role the better

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭Muligatawney

Good squad overall. The only area I seem to disagree with Farrell on every time is his assessment at scrum half but I would have said the same about selecting Gibson-Park before Autumn and look how well that went.

I think a lot of the other criticism is just for it's own sake. He has picked the players who've been playing the best rugby. Particularly Carty and Lowry's selections are well earned.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Must love hardship

I think farrell or someone pointed out before that potentially the reason for not including 9's and 10's as development players is it reduces the reps that the squad players would get during training.

Personally I'd have brought Doak and Frawley and both or either could take a few reps at 10 as carberry is injured and sexton will be at some stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Casey can’t be regarded as a development player. You don’t have that luxury with a SH. As he could be into a match day squad in a heartbeat. All it takes is a slight muscle strain or a knock in the captains run. He has been capped and got minutes. That’s not a development player. That’s the third choice SH. Yes he’s there as a future prospect but is well passed the development role.

Prendergast is there as a development player. No matter how many injuries occur. He is not going to end up in a match day squad. That’s where Doak would be at too at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

I mean if Jamie Osborne was called up as a development player 

Osborne was only brought in because they needed someone to stand in Henshaw's position during training while he was injured, it was never a statement on the pecking order and no-one really lost out.

Conversely, bringing Doak in with three other SHs would mean less exposure for Casey.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭TRC10

Delighted that Treadwell got in. I said in the Ulster thread after the Northampton game that Treadwell is just the sort of option Ireland need at lock. He's big, powerful, athletic and abrasive. He had a stormer at the weekend and absolutely melted a few Saints.

Lowry full deserves the call up. He's taken his game to a new level this season and he played a blinder away at Clermont and Northampton.

For the last 2 years everyone has been saying someone needs to put their hand up for the 10 jersey, and Carty has done just that this season. He fully deserves the recall. He should be on the bench and I'd start him v Italy.

Would have been nice for Doak to get in, but to be fair to Casey, he's been very good when he's played for Ireland and he perhaps suits the current game plan better than Doak as he's more in the mould of JGP whereas Doak would be more in the Murray mould. I do feel that the gameplan Casey is asked to implement for Munster skews people's opinion of him a little bit. Ireland play to his strengths a lot more. Doaks time will come soon enough. I know he wasn't formally named as a "development player" but I'd be very surprised if we don't see him in camp at some stage.

If I'm to be critical about one thing, I really don't understand the Carbery thing. Until the Wasps game, he'd been injury free since February and not once did he put in a performance to suggest he should be Ireland's 2nd choice 10. He stands deep, doesn't attack the line as much as he used to, his passing is wobbly and his defence is noticeably worse than it was. The best rugby he's played since 2019 was the last 20 v Argentina when he went to full back. I'll be really disappointed if he makes a match-day squad over Carty, who not only actually looks like an out half, but has been putting consistent good performances this season.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,360 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Let the lists of people that should start against Italy begin. My favourite sub plot of the year.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,611 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Billy and Ted O'Driscoll as centers anyway !!!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭aloooof

“If I'm to be critical about one thing, I really don't understand the Carbery thing. Until the Wasps game, he'd been injury free since February and not once did he put in a performance to suggest he should be Ireland's 2nd choice 10.”

I’d disagree, TRC. His performance against Argentina was probably the best performance we’ve seen from a non-Sexton 10 vs Tier 1 opposition in a long time, imo. 

Paraphrasing what I said in the match thread on the day, it’s probably fair to say he played better at 15 than he did at 10 that day, but he also played better at 10 than any of the back-up alternatives have for Ireland for a long time. And that’s our more pressing need. (And when playing at 15, he was up against a beaten, 14-man Argentina).

Having said all that, it is still a bit of a surprise to see him in the squad, as the reports seemed to have him ruled out for the duration. His inclusion would suggest he could be back earlier than expected, and lets hope so.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

The carbery selection is obvious, its whats been happening for a while now.

Sexton will play a few games before getting injured and being out for another 6-10 weeks but at that stage Carbery will be forced back in time to get another injury and miss the remainder of Munster season.

• Registered Users Posts: 595 ✭✭✭jimdemp

Best part was Jamie Heaslip losing the plot over Cartys selection haha

• Registered Users Posts: 595 ✭✭✭jimdemp

Marmion should of been selected

• Subscribers Posts: 41,611 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Good decent squad , no real controversy.

everyone included is there on merit and form.

everyone omitted has valid reasons

good spread across provinces

• Registered Users Posts: 755 ✭✭✭Zeugnis

My confusion about Carbery is not based on his abilities but his fitness - I thought he was still injured. Is he training again?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭TRC10

His performance against Argentina was probably the best performance we’ve seen from a non-Sexton 10 vs Tier 1 opposition in a long time, imo. 

This is true, but in all honesty it's not really saying much considering some of the performances we've had post 2019.

I don't know about you but it wasn't a performance that filled me with confidence that he could steer us through a World Cup knockout game. But then again, nobody has. I think Carty is a better 10 than him.

I've been more impressed with the two young lads you have down at Munster when they've played this season. They look more confident and assured. They're both good passers and they look like they can make more things happen in attack. Carbery since he's come back just looks like he's devoid of confidence and playing so within himself.

I still don't think it's too late for him to become an excellent full back and I really think it would be in Munster's best interests to play him there with the young 10s they have coming through.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Overall his defence has been very good. Munster was probably his poorest display since joining. He was just back from "illness" and and didn't look completely fit.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

When did him training or not ever matter, he can just he forced back in once sexton gets crocked because player welfare will go out the window.

• Registered Users Posts: 795 ✭✭✭CowboyTed

Marmion was harder done by at SH... How Casey got a place beggars belief...

Doak and Crowley could have been included as development players...