Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Do men need a license to be allowed socialise (MOD NOTE IN OP)

• Registered Users Posts: 422 ✭✭john123470

Gas. A thread about men being generalised, and your argument is to generalise women based on nationality, and then to excuse yourself by claiming its only your opinion.

What if all those women you are putting down also say it's their opinion that all men are predators (or whatever) is that ok?

It doesn't pull in judges heartstrings!

Judges don't let emotion cloud their judgement. While you may think that the sob story is just emotional, judges and lawyers know that it mitigates 'somewhat' in law. It's not emotion. It is the law.

What about victim impact statements? It's not any emotional response that judges have to them, it is about the actual impact a crime has had on them. So while it may be emotional for the victim, it is fact for judges.

I have lots of friends that are guards too, they should understand how the law and legal system works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

There is a connection no doubt - but anger is probably not the overwhelming response to it. Disappointment and disillusioned along with poor morale are more common reactions than outright anger. I can imagine there are some that are angry with it, but they don't make up the majority of men.

• Registered Users Posts: 422 ✭✭john123470

We might get other women to call them out on this ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭HerrKuehn

What would explain the judge Martin Nolan being known for extremely lenient sentencing? The sentences are certainly not objective, there is a subjective element to it.

In Asia, definitely yes. In the West, not so much. Really depends on which country/culture they're involved with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭kerryjack

I think a set of blinkers and maybe a ring on our nose if we do get out of hand, we could also look at squeezing any males at birth and keep a few for breeding and keep them in cages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

Was talking to my other half last night about the chances of me going to jail at some point for going to a pub or not crossing the road, in jest of course but this point came up.

She said to me that when she goes out for a run she doesnt want all men banned from around her. She would like if a few good strong men are around to help in case some murderer psycho decides not to cross the road and attack her. What on earth is she going to do if there are no other men around to help her out. How do you mark the psychos and the good strong defenders. Somne would say police uniform, but sure you never see them around where we live. The last time they were called for a burglary here they turned up 4 days later.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

But posters on here and other threads have already said they don't get involved in other people's business.

In fact, when I suggested that society needs to call out bad behaviour, very few posters agreed.

I honestly believe that if something were to happen to me on the street, there are very few passersby that would bother to intervene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

In relation to the OP, I think a licence for men to go out and socialise is just daft. In my opinion, a vast number of men and women get along fine and the number of men who are just plain bad is probably not as high as the media make out. I would add to that there are plenty of women out there who are just as bad but don't usually kill anyone. Trolling online is one example of how people can go down a bad road without realising it at first. I would have no issues with education programs starting in school about correct behaviour and general politeness and kindness.

Dan.

I assume you would go over and get involved if someone was being assaulted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,038 ✭✭✭circadian

No. I see some men getting up in arms for reasons I can't seem to figure out, unless they themselves are guilty of groping, cat calling, derogatory comments or worse.

The simple fact is, women in general do not feel safe. I see women crossing the street as I'm approaching them on the same side. I wouldn't consider myself to be an intimidating figure but to them I am.

Plenty of women have suffered sexism, sexual assault or discrimination to varying degrees of severity throughout their lives. These stories are shared. Women are aware of the prejeduces they face in society.

Yet here we are. A few fellas think it's absurd to punish people for unwarranted comments to women, which in itself can be very intimidating.

Seriously lads, get your heads out of your holes. They aren't blaming you. Suck it up and let your ego take the hit that something isn't about you for once.

You may not be engaging in this **** but your waving it away and ignoring the bigger issues here certainly add fuel to the fire.

See it for what it is.

Nobody should be afraid when out and about. What a lot of women go through on a daily basis is fundamentally wrong. There is a systemic issue here and there's absolutely no excuse for it. We need to recognise it, take a long hard look at our society and figure out a solution.

Yes. I would. I would ring for Gardai and I would try my best to intervene

Well I think it makes sense to call the Gardai, I don't see why anyone would not do that. If you intervene physically you are of course risking serious injury yourself and I am sure most people would be aware of that. So, I wouldn't hold it against people if they would not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Thats what happens when theres an online , and msm onslaught of (sometimes faux) outrage ....

Im sure there were loads of videos of how outraged all those people that were there were ....

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

This is what is known as shaming. You are essentially saying if someone doesn't agree with you then they are guilty. It is a popular method used to silence people. Ridiculous argument tbf.

There have been some people on both sides of the debate on this thread who have put forward convincing arguments from their perspective. I am guessing you haven't read the thread and just hopped on to wind people up

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Ringing the Gardai doesn't help a person in trouble as the incident will most likely be over before they arrive (if they arrive). If you are not willing to physically intervene then you are not helping the victim.

I'm a fan of the saying "history doesn't repeat itself, but it rhymes". Happens throughout history in many different areas.

I wonder if we're headed a similar way to where we were historically. 50 years and more ago women were treated poorly in some segments of Irish society. Male only golf clubs, male only swimming areas, women not allowed to vote etc.

Through calls for equality all of those were rightly corrected.

But I can see men being pushed below women in the equality stakes in the future. We're already seeing it with gender quotas in business, politics.

McConkey already questioned if men need a licence to socialise.

I could definitely see calls in future for women only public transport or women only designated streets or pubs/restaurants etc.

Yeah, it's that attitude that makes people like me a little cross.

If I am not ok with all men being told they are part of the problem or if I don't think it should be illegal to give a stranger, then I must engage in catcalling, groping or worse?

Women in general don't feel safe? That's in no small part due to the scaremongering going on in the media and from certain groups which catastrophizes any possible interaction between men and women.

Plenty of men have also suffered from sexism. This is in and of itself sexism. Men being grouped together and collectively blamed for the actions of very very few.

Women are prejudiced in society? How exactly? Do men suffer prejudice too?

They aren't blaming men? Depends on who you call "they". Because "They" certainly are. I am in no way directing this at women here by the way. I am blaming the people (men and women) who are finding it acceptable to promote the anti-men sentiment that is rife at the moment.

Suck it up and let your ego take the hit that something isnt about you for once? Really? You think that men being blamed for all of societies ills ISNT about men?

Not one person has waved anything away. What people have done is fight back at people mentioning arse squeezing, compliments and rape and murder in the same conversation.

I see you used the word systemic. What is systemic issue that is negative for women?

I couldn't disagree with your post more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭AyeGer

I think most men would do something. They may be weary of directly intervening due to fears for their own safety but I think they would make the effort to disturb or frighten off the attacker or run for more help or ring the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Fergus Finlay: I have turned a blind eye to cheap, vulgar sexism — it is all men

They aren't blaming us? They are blaming all men. This is the kind of garbage I'm talking about.

You want men to just suck it up?

Post edited by Keyzer on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

"It is all men. Me. You. Every other man in our culture. Every single one of us."

No it is not Fergus, take your very big brush and shove it as far up your hole as you can.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭buried

Exactly. You will have to physically intervene, and by going for that method you have basically assumed the mantle of the job that the police should be doing, which can lead you down to all sorts of trouble. So much so that the actual police authorities in this country advises the general public to not engage with incidents of this kind.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

No. I see some men getting up in arms for reasons I can't seem to figure out, unless they themselves are guilty of groping, cat calling, derogatory comments or worse.

We were sold on the idea of equality, including the belief that gender would stop being so important a distinction between people. So, men are getting annoyed because they see ever increasingly broad range of benefits being extended to women, based on their gender, and also based on the idea that men are collectively responsible for the state of society. Women are exempt for any influence that they've had on social development, unless it's a flat out positive.

That feeds into the resentment that a lot of men feel about being blamed for other men groping, cat calling, making derogatory comments or worse. In spite of the evidence/statistics of women engaged in violence, abuse or whatever, there's never any attempt at balancing the situation. No real attempt to deal with the women who engage in such behavior, and also, the collective group of women aren't held to represent this minority. Whereas, the collective group of men, are held accountable for what those who behave negatively do.

Men are getting up in arms over the sheer range of double standards being applied in society today.

The simple fact is, women in general do not feel safe. I see women crossing the street as I'm approaching them on the same side. I wouldn't consider myself to be an intimidating figure but to them I am.

That's an exaggeration. As with all of these discussions, most claims are exaggerated as if they're the norm, except they're not. Ireland is a very safe country, and if you look at the actual statistics on women being killed, or assaulted the numbers are actually quite low, especially in comparison to other countries. So, where does this supposed fear come from? the Media, and the use of statistics/risks present in other countries.

Plenty of women have suffered sexism, sexual assault or discrimination to varying degrees of severity throughout their lives. These stories are shared. Women are aware of the prejeduces they face in society.

That's part of the problem there... these "stories" are shared... and there comes a degree of social proofing when people seek to compared negative experiences. Many of these stories will never be verified/confirmed and simply taken at face value. Trusted as being true, regardless of the circumstances involved. That was one of the main weaknesses of the metoo movement. Many claims, and no real attempt to verify that they were true.

Plenty of women have had negative experiences with sexism, or sexual abuse/assault. Many others have not. Just as many men have experienced sexism and sexual abuse/assault. That's what happens with humans... and I've seen no realistic/practical suggestions that truly seek to resolve these issues for both genders, that doesn't seek to discriminate/marginalise or blacken the association with a particular gender.

We're all aware of the prejudices we face in society... and considering the range of media led shows on tv, radio and the internet, most men would be aware of what women experience... I'm not so sure that women, in general, are aware or care about the prejudices that men have to face, especially those new ones that are developing out of the desire to protect or support women in society.

Yet here we are. A few fellas think it's absurd to punish people for unwarranted comments to women, which in itself can be very intimidating.

Back to the double standards. Women are very comfortable with making snide, or abusive remarks to other people.. and yet, I don't see you crying out against that injustice. I suspect every male in existence could tell you a dozen comments from women which truly hurt them... but that's not going to get much sympathy, or recognition. Until you, and others stop focusing entirely on women as being victims, you won't get much support from men. Besides, there's also the perspective to have thicker skin, and not be so sensitive to what other people say. There's a lot to be said for establishing some self-confidence, and anchoring your self-esteem not based on what others say, but how you want to perceive yourself.

Seriously lads, get your heads out of your holes. They aren't blaming you. Suck it up and let your ego take the hit that something isn't about you for once.

The fact that you could write that, while previously seeking recognition, and solutions for the problems women face is utterly amazing. Are you really that oblivious, or simply have no desire for an equal society?

Nobody should be afraid when out and about. What a lot of women go through on a daily basis is fundamentally wrong. There is a systemic issue here and there's absolutely no excuse for it. We need to recognise it, take a long hard look at our society and figure out a solution.

True, nobody should be afraid when they're out and about, but that's a pretty tall order to ensure that everyone feels completely safe regardless of their own personal circumstances and experiences. However, there is the case of dealing with reality and human nature. Perhaps you believe that people, today, are capable of creating an Utopian society, but I don't. We're still far too controlled by our passions and fears. And that includes both genders, and how they interact with each other.

Taking a long hard look would be great.. if it is balanced and also considers the impact/presence/influence of women in society, as opposed to focusing solely on men... because that's what been happening for the last few decades. All the problems that women face are external, and none can be linked to female led culture. That's not seeking a balance... that's seeking to pass responsibility on to others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

You see, this is the tripe that is passed out and should be accepted by all - unquestioned of course...

A small percentage of men are guilty of the above acts, the vast majority of men are not. When commentators are going on about the situations above you could be forgiven for getting the impression that all or most men are guilty of the above acts. Then the same commentators demand that all men sort this out - and this is exactly where the backlash is stemming from. We live in a country where a vast swathe of society has to put up with rules because a small cohort can't fcuking control themselves. Case in point: We can't buy a few cheap cans in the offie any more because a couple of thousand drunks cannot reign their habits in. How does government react - increase the price. Will MUP stop alcoholism - it will in it's fook.

We see the same reactions yesterday - our Prime Minister in the Dail lecturing the nations men that we must all change - take on more burden for the few arseholes - again.

It's not just women that don't feel safe. It takes a brave man or a very foolish one to walk the streets alone in certain neighbourhoods. I know of a guy living nearby mugged outside the church in the village (population 1,000 - midlands) as he went home after a few casual pints. I'm wary walking around alone in this part of the village as a result.

At the hands of a few, a minority. Stop making this out to be a systemic problem, it's not. It might have been 20, 30 years ago, not anymore. Men today are not responsible for the actions of the generations gone before or for the minority that continue to engage in the above habits you describe. It's like lecturing all soccer players in England because one team is playing bad.

Unwarranted comments can be dealt with by a complaint to the cops who should be able to issue a verbal caution if needed and keep a record of such behaviour. If constant complaints come in about it then action can be taken. I wouldn't like to see a guy "punished" for a one-off comment that was taken up the wrong way by a woman.

Perhaps you get your head out of the clouds that float by your own ivory tower. Not all women are blaming men, however the ones with the megaphones on TV, Radio and Social Media are, and we won't suck that tripe up.

You may not be engaging in this **** but your waving it away and ignoring the bigger issues here certainly add fuel to the fire.

There are no bigger issues, there are issues caused by a minority, who are never dealt with.

See it for what it is.

You, perhaps should see it for what it really is.

There is no systemic issue here again - you're no different to the rabid feminists on the airwaves and shouting it often and loud doesn't make it true. Grow up.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,899 ✭✭✭zv2

Circadian "No. I see some men getting up in arms for reasons I can't seem to figure out, unless they themselves are guilty of groping, cat calling, derogatory comments or worse."

This is something I just can't get my head around. You are saying you don't understand why men are angry? After all that has been said on this thread? Men are angry because feminism relentlessly paints them as psychopathic bastards. The hate has spread over the face of the earth. And still women won't call each other out or rarely will. Why can't you understand that if you relentlessly vilify a whole demographic and teach children from a young age that they are bad people they will get angry? Did you see the rhyme I posted earlier because they are still putting this into children's heads?-

What are little boys made of?

Snips, snails

And puppy-dogs' tails

That's what little boys are made of

What are little girls made of?

Sugar and spice

And everything nice

That's what little girls are made of.

If you don't get it there's little more I can say to you.

“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.” — Voltaire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,021 ✭✭✭✭anewme

And if someone said that the nursery rhyme was no longer valid, you'd have the crowd of people here constantly using word WOKE.... here.....and language like boys will be boys........women should be women and men should be men, blah blah blah

We have also seen on the Rose of Tralee thread where men were taking grave offence on behalf of biological women that trans women can enter the Rose of Tralee despite biological women saying they couldn't give a fiddlers.

The same crowd taking offence on behalf of women at the Rose of Tralee dont appear to take offence at the street harrassment that women are complaining about.

Agian. Assuming everyone is the same. Some will, some wont. Most will weigh up the situation and decide if it is a domestic or not, much like the gardai. If they think it is a domestic they wont get involved. IF they dont i would think most who could help would, and im pretty 100% of people would tell the gardai whats going on and could they please help if they could find one.

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭markw7

Nice display of whataboutism there, care to address any of the points made?

If the overwhelming consensus from certain groups seems to be that women need to be protected from men because of the advantage men have physically, how come there is relatively little or no shouts of outrage when biological men are allowed enter female prisons/changing rooms/competitions?

Fergus Finlay's mea culpa borders on masochism. He wants us all to hang our heads in shame because he is ashamed of his inner psychopath. lol.

“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.” — Voltaire

haha... this thread makes me laugh... in spite of pointing out that it's wrong to assign responsibility for what some people do or say, certain posters will continue to lump us all together... if they run counter to what those posters believe to be true.

LOL. They must have been men dressed as women. lol

I suspect when all is said and done and it's looking at why some men disrespect women, the actual root causes won't be looked at.

And whatever is looked at, it'll all be mens fault. No one will ever look at parenting (where mothers are women) or potentially at how women treat men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

Of course they won't because there are obvious double standards at play, this hollow hysterical rhetoric that has piggybacked on this awful event is just that. Look at the case of Deirdre Morley and the reporting of it - oh the poor thing murdered her 3 kids, she must not have been well. Now transcribe the same event with the father committing that act - evil bastard, hope he burns in hell, no excuse for it etc etc

Men are bad, women are above any criticism - same as it's always been. And they wonder then why men are pissed off hearing a week of the same old tired hypocritical shite again because of the actions of one deranged individual who just happens to have a penis.

One thing I have noticed about women, even the women in my families is that when they get into a group they can be so mean to everyone else, even their friends behind their back.

Why would it be any different with the large group of women that a murder brings together?

They are worse bullies than any man or group of men I have ever come across. I have just come to expect it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,365 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

I've seen a steady rise of the 'alt-right' groups opening up here, with a steady rise in supposed 'wokeness'. I don't align with the likes of Gript, but I have seen that kind of rise happen with similar levels in the likes of the UK and the US. They push another alignment that I don't agree with either.

(Just a note to mods, I'm not discussing the tragic case. This is related to a vigil held, and doesn't mention anything related to the tragedy. But if I've messed up, feel free to delete my post, with my apologies)

A few days ago, there was an article related to a man giving advice, advising women how to stay safe. It occurred at a candlelit vigil in Kerry, where someone gave a speech, saying stuff like 'if someone tries to attack you, spray them with perfume, use a heel of a shoe, travel in groups' etc. Well, he got all sorts of hate over it. Silly stuff. He did say he admitted it wasn't the appropriate time, afterwards, as many women approached him. His name is mentioned in the article, I'm not gonna mention it here because I don't want people dogpiling on him.

What the media failed to mention (and this is because it was in a newspaper, so it's public info-one can google it), is that this fellow was the victim of a random attack, many years ago. Don't think anyone was even caught, and he still has a scar after it. (Someone slashed his face). So them making comments about him... they're skewed to make him look bad. But he, unfortunately, has been a victim of a random attack. And I'd say much of the advice he gave, he himself is using in order to avoid being attacked again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭TooTired123

Ssshhhh...

We're not allowed to talk about that, didn't you get the memo?

I've seen a steady rise of the 'alt-right' groups opening up here, with a steady rise in supposed 'wokeness'. I don't align with the likes of Gript, but I have seen that kind of rise happen with similar levels in the likes of the UK and the US. They push another alignment that I don't agree with either.

I haven't. I've seen a lot of claims and vague references to alt-right/far right groups, but very little in the way of hard evidence that they exist, and that their membership isn't 20-30 people who are repeatedly referred to. The govt and the media need someone to blame when anything is directed towards their preferred agendas and the boogeyman, (sorry boogeyperson), is the alt-right. There's no real foundation for a serious alt-right movement in Ireland. Being critical of immigration doesn't make one alt-right.. that's just the attempt to dismiss concerns that don't support the approved agenda.

It's little different from the way feminists blame the patriarchy. Some vague formless enemy that all the worlds ills can be assigned to, while making sure their own agenda is pristine clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭CreadanLady

There are already plenty of Women only gyms, and swimming pools and so on that are Women and Children only at certain time slots during the week. Again, this arrangement has been brought in in places because w women didn't feel comfortable being around males, as even if there isn't anything overtly harrassing going on, there can be men leering. Women also worry about their safety and the safety of children in changing areas when there are adult males present.

I think women only pubs & clubs or certain times that are women only would actually be very popular and it might be a viable business model as Women will go to those places so they can have a night out in peace without being groped, objectified and insulted by males.

The MFV Creadan Lady is a mussel dredger from Dunmore East.

Its a "journalism" at its most pathetic - virtue signalling codswallop designed to allow Fergus to come forth and confess all his wrongdoings against women, and paint all men with the same brush. Women, it would seem, can do no wrong and never, ever behave in this manner.

Absolute nonsense - I've worked with men and women through my professional career. Heard both many times admire the physical form of a co-worker. Some politely, some with language that would be deemed unacceptable now. From both men and women.

Doesn't mean either group are going to go out and rape/murder the first person they come across.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭manonboard

I just wanted to thank the both of you for the effort of writing those two posts. Its really hard to describe for me, the difficulties and self resentment that has occurred over the last few years because of all the men aimed hate in all media. I really appreciate that you helped give me some words to describe it. Thanks alot for the efforts.

So.. encourage safety from men (but not from women) by implementing sexism. There were reasons why male-only clubs were determined to be sexist.

It's amazing how interested many women seem to be in moving further and further away from a fair and equal society. More double standards. Yay! Worse yet, a return to the practices that restricted the freedoms of women.. all in the name of safety.

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭BringingSexyBack

Do men need a license to socialise? No more so than would a woman

We have the freedom to go as we please, subject to law.

We have laws to regulate our behaviour. Laws to prohibit and discourage public disorder, criminal damage, sexual assault and rape, harassments or threats of criminal conduct, murder, all categories of assault ..............

If one breaches them, expect punishment and shunning by the public and potentially loss of employment or business, and expect to undergo rehabilitation

Anything over that is unenforceable and unrealistic .

Practice makes everything better. Contribute. Join in. Express yourself, without giving into the demands to embrace the extremes (and so be dismissed).

There is so much pressure in modern society for men to stay silent (Man up!/Take it like a man!) and just allow society to be shaped to suit women. Resist. Get stuck in and learn to argue these points. After a while, you'll be able to type really fast, form ideas quickly, and have loads of references/evidence to support your concerns/criticisms.