Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Do men need a license to be allowed socialise (MOD NOTE IN OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

If I walked into the jacks with those too staring at me like that I would turn around and walk straight back out. They would put the fear of God into you.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,899 ✭✭✭zv2

“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.” — Voltaire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,147 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Change it from "mens" and "ladies" to "penises" and "vaginas".

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I think it is clear that most people would not intervene when you see the amount of incidents that are filmed on camera with a crowd watching allowing it to play out.

If I was in my own I would need to assess the situation to ensure that I could get out of the situation without getting a hiding myself. I am mo fighter so if there are 2 are more young lads there clearly intent on violence then I would get into trouble.

I have intervened in the past where I could pull one person away and calm the situation down and another occasion I saw an elderly man hitting his wife with a walking stick repeatedly so stopping that was not difficult as I would easily have overpowered him (or both of them) were things to go pear shaped.

I worked in the north inner city for a time and if you saw a junkie man hitting his junkie girlfriend or vice versa (which happened regularly) you just walk by as anything is liable to happen if you step up.

In short it would really depend on the situation and how much authority you could bring with a risk assessment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Ah yes. Public toilets. As a young culshie up visiting Dublin in the late 80s the jax downstairs in Connolly Station is where I first set eyes on a Heroin addict. I was only a kid at the time so i thought it was the inaugural Dublin Zombie Street walk.

I decided to pee elsewhere

Unless it is doors you can close then there is always a chance of some young wan seeing a knob. And these days you just never know where that will lead.

You could be down the station accused of sexual assault in minutes, just for going for a p1ss.

It makes no sense to me. At a time when women's rights movements are encouraging the belief that women are sensitive, and need personal space for themselves, regardless of the safety issues, this is being pushed.

Personally, I see no reason to change things. It works well as it is and most people are comfortable with current setup. It's weird this desire to change everything just to satisfy a minority of people, who can't even give good reasons to change things, and little appreciation for the wide range of possible negatives that could come from changing.

We don't need to change everything in society away from what went before. In many cases, the traditional way is better for the vast majority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,710 ✭✭✭✭walshb

This it.....it's all about assessing the situation and the dangers.

Brilliant post

And another issue in society is the decay or standards and norms.

Liberalism can be great, if used wisely. Society seems to be too eager to completely change everything and go from one extreme to another.

There seems to be a lack of logic, common sense and balance everywhere.

I am not really religious and do not attend church, but far too much the church gets bashed for everything. It's like people are so eager to bash the church, that they want to tear down anything they perceive to be associated with it. What's wrong with subtle change and tweaking?

I'm kind of old skool. I like standards and rules and style and decorum. But I can also be free and liberal and easy going. Balance.

That's the problem; things are being torn down and replaced with nothing so we end up with nothing.

“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.” — Voltaire

Well... while I appreciate the great intentions behind many social changes, I often wonder if people shouldn't have put more consideration into what comes after.

Take physical punishment by parents or teachers towards minors. I understand and appreciate the desire to end abusive behavior, and I've seen most of the claims that it doesn't help much, and generally leaves scars on those punished... but at the same time, there was little interest in replacing the punishment with something else, except for vague suggestions based in psychology (but still generally unproven).

Various posters have referred to anti-social behavior by teens, or violence in general, and I do wonder how much of that is occurring because many adults are unable to control minors without the ability to use physical punishment. There was no attempt to re/educate parents on better parenting techniques after the ban came in... and speaking as someone who has been a teacher (and has read most literature on classroom discipline), everything remains very situational, and there's a lot of situations left unsaid.. with the teachers hoping that what they do works, but no real confidence that it will. That's not to say I'm advocating a return to punishing minors physically.. I'm not. It's simply an example, of a simple change that has had influence over so many aspects of society, with there being plenty of negatives connected.

Making changes to society and culture is generally a good thing, helping to prevent stagnation.. but.. too much change is implemented before considering the practical consequences, and what else will be affected by that change.

Yes, agreed......one change that was desperately needed was adults abusing children in schools. Horrible bastids.

Beating kids as young as 4 years old. Depraved.

Outlawed 1982 I think.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭AyeGer

That’s a whole new thread, in our school it’s was boys on one side of the school and girls in the other. On the boys side teachers were battering us right up to 5th class. It was only when I went into 6th class that is stopped. And that was because they done away with the separation of boys and girls and made the classes mixed.

A lot of children's problems have to do with the fallout of alcohol and drug abuse. Have you seen the docu. on fentanyl abuse in America? Unbelievable.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Having thought about it for a few days I've changed my mind.

A licensing system for men should be introduced. A few liberal minded feminists should come up with a test, which would have a written and practical dimension. I know it sounds extreme, but really, we do need radical change right now.

No. It would send out the message that men are intrinsically bad. It would make us look like uncivilized ogres. The unintended effects would be dreadful.

I agree. And if you pass the test, you need to **** off and grow up.

I meant the reference more about not considering what came after, rather than the change itself. The lack of preparation in teaching parents/teachers of better methods to manage minors, and just making the change regardless. Not saying that the change shouldn't have happened. It was a great change to make, but it's more an example of ignoring what comes after change is implemented.

Yes, I've seen a variety of documentaries on drug abuse problems in the US. It's frankly unbelievable that the Medical (and Psychology) professions were never made responsible for sheer amount of addictions they brought about, and still do to this day.

Well... if we're embracing extremes, how about mandatory classes teaching women general safety techniques, lessons in interpreting body language, negotiation and conflict resolution, along with self-defense? TBH it sounds less extreme than having a license for men, when it would do nothing to deal with the minority who have no issues breaking the law. Whereas teaching women to take responsibility for their own safety, and giving them the tools to deal with conflict, would likely improve their chances of dealing with problems. But nah.. that's unreasonable.

As for liberal minded feminists organising anything.. you should take a look at the material taught in women's studies courses.. and the dodgy research used to reinforce biases and misandry. In any case, the issue of consent classes has been talked about for years, and they still haven''t managed to determine an effective curriculum that isn't full of naive idiotic notions and vague suggestions that have little bearing on the real world.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

No, it's not up to women to defend themselves.

The licensing will sort it out I think, a tough exam will get men thinking and will see an adjustment in behaviour. Plus the knuckle draggers who fail won't be allowed out.

I accept it's a big jump, but this is what the times do require, unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,691 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

If we need that we need women to be vetted before going into the work place. The destructive bitchery there is depressing to see.

She should need the license, not him.

Women choosing scum is another issue that we need educating on......all mothers and fathers of daughters take note......

Psychos are not stupid. They'd talk their way round the exam with no problem. Besides, it is not the social arena in which these crimes are committed, it is on the banks of canals etc. And if they exam is only to stop sexism then feminists need to be severely vetted before being left out of the house. It's all in all a nutty idea that won't work.

No, it's not up to women to defend themselves.

Why not? Isn't it up to every adult to defend themselves? Also I said far more than simply defending themselves. Perhaps argue as to why my extreme would be less effective than your extreme?

The advantage of my extreme solution is that it would affect female on female violence in addition to male on female violence. What's the advantage of yours, except that women don't have to do/change anything to make it happen?

The licensing will sort it out I think, a tough exam will get men thinking and will see an adjustment in behaviour. Plus the knuckle draggers who fail won't be allowed out.

People typically study for an exam, learn what's needed and then forget most of what they learned after the exam is finished. Anyway, how would such an exam work? What kind of questions would be involved, and who would decide whether the answers are appropriate? What would be the consequences of failure? How do you enforce not allowing the knuckle draggers (and all those who fail exams) not being allowed out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Ah sure that sounds expensive to administer. Wouldn't it be cheaper to just provide every woman in the country with a Niqab that she can wear when she leaves the house? That way the evil men won't be tempted by her...

oh wait...

I see you had another idea not too long ago:

"Also there should be an exemption from the drink driving limits until the end of the year with a review then, to encourage a bit more drinking in pubs. Maybe they could come up with a self assessment scheme then that if you're over the limit and hit someone you get punished, but there'd be no checks on anyone not in a crash"

It's safe to say that sometimes, it would be best if you kept your ideas to yourself.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Mod note - Don't feed the troll

@Sunny Disposition- do not post in this thread again

How about we have mens clubs where women arent allowed to come in. There can be no danger to them if they arent in the building.

Women can have their own clubs too that exclude men.

Everyone is happy.

Oh wait, werent we there before and people werent happy either.

Time for some bible. The book is full of rape, incest, murder, rape rape and a bit more incest/rape for good measure. Some of the most notable biblical heroes would be considered questionable characters and most definitely guilty of rape. Abraham was married to his sister. (half sister) Noah got drunk and when his son accidentally saw him naked while trying to cover him up, he curses and disowns him. (seeing him naked may also refer to sleeping with his wife)

Lot, the honorable escapee of Sodom and Gomorrah, went and hid in caves with his two daughters who apparently wanted to have his children so got him drunk and raped him, twice! This was after their father had tried to sell them to some random men in order to barter for a better outcome for himself. Absalom, O Absalom. Yeah he was David's son and he killed his half brother for raping his sister. David was like, meh.

David, King David, took Bethsheba (she was bathing on a roof) and decided to have her husband murdered so he could keep her. Solomon had about 700 wives and maybe 300 concubines.

Rahab was a prostitute, triply marginalized, being a Canaanite, a woman and a prostitute yet she saved the Israelites after hiding the spies sent to "lodge"/have sex with her.

Judith saved Israel by having sex with Holofernes and then cutting his head off. (Deuterocanonical book) Some of my personal favourite stories are the stories removed from the protestant bible (deuterocanonical books) where women actively play important roles but most specifically the narrative of Susanna and the Elders. Susanna was falsely accused by two Elders who had been perving on her. After refusing their demands for sex, they accused her of being an adulterer and had her arrested to be put to death but Daniel intervened and called them out on their bullsh/tting, proved they were lying and had them put to death instead.

There's just a lot of stories like these in the bible, it's like Gamor of Thrones on steroids. I highly recommend reading it because if nothing else it demonstrates that humanity has always been broken and that all these things are not new. But it might give you an insight on how humanity has dealt with its brokenness and an opportunity to heal those parts of ourselves.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭CreadanLady

Test or anything like it would be totally and utterly ineffective. Everyone knows that you cannot molest, hit or rape or harrass. So they will give the right answers on the test.

But then what is to stop the perverts from continuing to harrass and molest and stop pychopaths from from murder-rapes? Nothing, that's what. They will do what they do regardless of anything short of pre-emptive imprisonment.

The MFV Creadan Lady is a mussel dredger from Dunmore East.

Self defence, conflict resolution, negotiation etc..... what good is any of that lark if a psychopathic murder rapist steels up on you from behind and bludgeons you, because even though the passed the test, the thoughts of doing something so horrendous is how they get their thrills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Klaz. It's a nonsense. It will never happen. The utterances of one fool caught up in the moment doesn't make laws. Makes for entertaining debate, nothing more.

At the rate we are going here, why not just copy the 'murican model. Every man, woman and schoolchild should be armed and open-carry their AR-15 so to have a level playing field. When anyone can blow anyone else away at a second's notice for the simplest of slights, then that will keep everyone in line and no-one will take the risk of cat calling or starting a game of grab-ass in the pub.

Cracked it. Solved the problem. Close the thread.

It's all about levels...

From the violent animals that target and rape/murder down to the more innocent and immature and childish sexist lads who throw the odd wolf whistle and cat call..

Build secure tough prisons for the former, and more open and friendly and free prisons for the latter....

I'd almost prefer that to some of the other ideas you floated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Compulsory Bible Studies for all men past the age of puberty - that'll sort it so.

Maybe teaching them to read would be a good first step.

I'm almost agreeing with this. Also F.O'T and F.F. should be brought before the courts for irresponsible journalism and social vandalism.

What good is anything based on your scenario?

I'm always amazed at the logic that people seek to throw out to justify their positions. There is no defense in such a situation.. and that psychopathic murderer wouldn't have been stopped by a license, or any range of laws in effect. Nor would he/she be bothered with early learning programs to teach him to respect women.

So... what's the point of your example? What does it achieve to use such an example when there is no way to prevent it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,107 ✭✭✭amacca

That's my conclusion too....so you have to wonder what is the point of the **** our media pumps out? Advertising revenue and dont rock the boat for the powers that be afaic, oh and hang the consequences or the effect this divisive nonsense has on the general public....more short-termism.

Definitely dont talk about the justice system, lads with scandalous numbers of prior convictions running around, proper vetting of people coming into the country etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,549 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I think her point is that militant feminists are best ignored given their mindset and ideas for changing men.