Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are so many people such soft touches?

• 21-01-2022 10:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭pgj2015

The amount of times I hear people tell me about them being ripped off but letting it go. stuff like paying "trades people" to do a job, the scammer takes the money and doesn't start or finish the job. Then when you ask them if they reported the fraud, "no sure the Guards wouldn't do anything about it", "ah sure someone else will".

I couldn't let someone rip me off like that, I would get them back one way or another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

People like an easy life, they don't want the aggravation. They could spend a few unpleasant hours chasing yer man and eventually reporting him but they'd rather do something else that's more pleasant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Housefree

Never forgive, never forget!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,578 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

It's one of the few times in life where it pays to be a grumpy arsehole, but it can be a bit hard to switch that on and off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,204 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Because we are conditioned to believe that businesses and business people are somehow owed a living by us, exist on an exclusive plain of greatness and that it’s ok…we saw it during covid…and for a long time before covid…

I’ve been that way myself but less inclined to let em away with it…too selfless is too careless, don’t be a soft touch… get pushed over, push and punch back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,597 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

i hate to break it to you but there are far more bad customers out there than bad trades. there are scum on both sides of the equasion that just want to rip someone off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Has anyone else noticed the deterioration in service since covid hit? A lot of businesses have switched to a 'pick and choose model' - one pack of shysters actually told me they were happy with their existing customer base and if I wanted to buy from them I'd have to open an account with a massive annual minimum spend, whereas before you could just walk in and buy stuff

Other stuff would include

*Not answering the phone

*So-and-so is working from home, they'll get back to you (usually they don't)

*Pre-booking only, no walk ins, book online, pay by card in advance when before you could just land up

*Massively reduced catalogue of products

*Creating a false sense of high demand - hotels and restaurants are big offenders of this - run at a massively reduced capacity, far less than any covid restriction demands & absolutely fleece the few customers who insist on going in

Companies running their phones for reduced hours as covid measures makes no sense to me. Surely if your aim is to spread out your workforce, it makes no sense to compress all the customer service into a shorter time window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Freddie Mcinerney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

*Creating a false sense of high demand - hotels and restaurants are big offenders of this - run at a massively reduced capacity, far less than any covid restriction demands & absolutely fleece the few customers who insist on going in

This doesn't make sense at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,204 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

As regards trades people… my Dad always says get someone you know or someone you know who knows someone and who has had work done by a person to do your job..not a randomer from the golden pages or online……

Dad got a gem of a neighbour he got on with from the house opposite to build him a garage, a professional builder… garage standing 50 years later…it was built so well it has great insulation…and the same roof… my great aunt always joked about coming home from England to live there in it… I reminded them of that recently and laughed they said… “she wasn’t joking” ..

You work hard for money so get value for it wherever you spend it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Would these be "travelling" trades people? They target the elderly and vulnerable and they just love finding someone with cognitive issues who has impaired judgement but is living mostly independently.

The sort of person who gets badly scammed (e.g. paying in advance of work being carried out) is also often the sort of person who won't have the energy, knowledge, anger to try to hit back. Or are so embarrassed about being scammed that they cover it up and don't tell anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭shillyshilly

after dealing with the public in retail and in a customer facing technical role, accumulating over 9 years face to face experience....

people are ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Because most people are idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I do find some people can feel disheartened when it comes to reporting crimes/chasing things up and they just feel it's not worth the hassle or effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I didn't mean tradesmen when I wrote the post I meant scammers who pretend to be legit tradesmen. Then take money and dont start a job or finish it, fraudsters.

I agree about not getting someone from google search a lot of the time, usually they are full of fake reviews written by the cowboys themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭pgj2015

The reason these people annoy me is they should be reporting the fraudsters to prevent it happening the next poor gullible ejit.

Post edited by pgj2015 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Travellers charged my elderly mother an extortionate price for doing work around the house and some other travellers tried to do the same before I intervened. I reported all of them to Revenue and also went to the local Garda station. The Garda I spoke to was no help, to be fair to him there probably wasn't a crime committed or at least it would be nearly impossible to prove. I got a lecture to this effect and also got a thinly veiled accusation of being a racist.

The way these "tradesmen" operate is - a well spoken/polite rep calls to the door. Drops in a flyer which says "fully insured". Logos for trade associations etc on flyers and websites. Websites are generic looking and googling brings up other sites of the same style. One big tell is when the physical address is given as a particular business park but without giving a unit no.

Thankfully, getting word of mouth type recommendations has never been easier thanks to the likes of Facebook community groups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Change nothing tho. Get shafted by a tradesmen and report it to a guard? Nothing happens. Even if a cowboy tradesmen got a rep he'd just have to change his business name.

• Sometimes a person can go a step too far, where you’ve tried to let things pass for an easy life. Taking people for a mug once too often can backfire badly.

Yeah, the Gardai don't respond to stuff like that. They'll say it's a civil matter. There's a significant element of trust involved in hiring someone to work in your home. If someone is good recommend them to others and give them repeat business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,810 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Bitching about it after the fact is the Irish way.

Thankfully we these days we can leave a stinker of a bad review on their page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

There were neighbours getting some work done on a driveway and the lads had a small digger. I wanted a wall knocked and new one built along with some minor digging in the garden. We agreed €450. He was start on a Monday and was leaving his digger in the garden so he didn't need to transport it. He started on Saturday when I wasn't there. When I came home I was surprised to see him and "team" working.

Anyway they started laying tarmac under where I was putting a stone slab path. Had to get them to dig it up which they weren't happy about. Then they start trying to get me to do the whole driveway and I literally had to stop them breaking it up. Won't go into all the BS they were trying but they were determined to see my back garden for some reason. I show them another small piece of work and they guy says it will be €750. It was about 30 mins work with a con saw if even. Then he claimed I owed him €4500 for the work he did. I said he better leave so as I was not paying him that. Argument in sues and I said you can leave. He doesn't for some unknown reason and continues but no chance of being finished that day. He comes back the next day and I ask him to leave again. Threatens to knock everything down with his digger etc...

Still he is "working" although not really just looking like he is. He insists I owe him €4.5k. I called the Gardai who arrive 2 hours later but not from my call but his call to a different Gardai station. The gardai proceed to say it is a civil matter but I pointed out that threatening to kill somebody, refusing to leave a property and threatening to destroy property were all illegal and you could throw in extortion. They say they won't do anything without me filing a formal complaint. So I do that. This happened in October, got a call yesterday to say that they have done nothing because the Gardai who took the complaint was out sick. I doubt anything will come of it but the Gardai were useless and very opinionated. As I told them what happened they kept asking why did I not do one thing or another. There job is to take a statement not tell you what they would have done nor question why I didn't do one thing or another. My recommendation would be to video anytime you give a statement from now on.

My wife was worried they would come back for weeks so caused a lot of distress and she would have paid them some amount more than original for peace of mind. I don't really understand the mentality of these native "tradesmen" where they try to overcharge so much and don't get paid anything as a result. The job they did was poor but I was planning on doing it myself anyway which I did have to do again anyway but the digger saved me a ton of time and effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭seenitall

God, how stressful! But how did the thing resolve itself re: the “tradesmen”? How much did you pay them in the end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭erlichbachman

Its the layer of skin and fatty tissue around the body, this is what makes people a soft touch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer