Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline: Thread with no name, Host with no shame

• Registered Users Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Oh here we go again…..

Not doing this Brian, sorry; save to say Mr. Duffy operates a one man company created solely for the purpose of tax avoidance, and not as you and others (historically in the forum) would possibly have us believe to pay MORE tax. I don’t know exactly how much tax Mr. Duffy pays, how could I? What I do know is he pays far less than he should. He is effectively employed full-time by RTÉ, but hides behind his (bogus) contractor status to pay far less tax than he would as a PAYE worker. Or do you disagree with this? I’m genuinely curious. He also avails of artists exemption status for his death-buke series. I would argue these bukes are of zero artistic merit, but that is my opinion.

The one man company phenomenon is widely accepted as being very much against the spirit of the law, and has been commented on repeatedly in the Dail (with specific reference to RTÉ contractors no less). Why Revenue continue to ignore this blatant flouting of the rules is a mystery as they have commented on this as being an area that warrants deeper scrutiny. The most recent commentary I can find on it appears to have revenue passing the buck regarding the status of the contractor, hiding behind a “our remit is to collect tax not judge who pays it” line, pushing it to another department in classic civil service style.

I see you ignored all my other comments on Mr. Duffy - do you think he’s an intellectual heavyweight rewarded appropriately for his performance?

Also, good to see you’re back to your starting an argument with everyone (and particularly me) again style. Did your shadow get bored with you - again? You offer so little to this thread and the wider radio forum other than your derogatory comments about regular posters and your trolling that I genuinely wonder why you bother? You must be getting something out of it I guess.

I actually agree with all your other points, but am curious as to how you know he pays "fock all tax".

I see you're still displaying Duffy levels of petulance if someone questions your opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭golondrinas

Remember it well. Ruined me new clobber with coffee when joe told us he had cancer of the “ larnix”.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,729 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

One would imagine Lord Clontarf would be more sympathetic to Russia given his long standing admiration for Larkin and Connolly, I thought he was a socialist at heart from his early years according to the first volume of the great mans Memoirs

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭Silly Gilly

Did you get your forum ban overturned? You had been banned previously by the former moderator A Tyrant for your consistent obsession of absuing radio presenters. Then to highlight your pettiness you went to the Goo Boo site, set up to poach users from Boards, and you registered an account using the real life name of the moderator who had banned you from here. Woke Tadhg was this account, named after Tyrant's real name.

https://****/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=12&start=1400#p22500

You are one of the most guilty posters in having destroyed the radio forum with your bizarre, relentless negativity in relation to presenters over many years.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,978 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Steady on here, WTF are you ,

I'm happy to defend @ButtersSuki who has entertained many on this thread with an excellent analytical skill when it comes to Joe Duffy and his presenting style which is deserving of a good P Take.

Duffy is a buffoon of epic proportions, indeed a c********n masquerading as a serious broadcaster. How anyone could take him or indeed Liveline , seriously is beyond me. Worse still he lacks any objectivity, has a clear agenda, all must agree with and also has quite a disturbing and warped obsession with a number of topics, deserving of questioning.

The Thread is predominantly Tongue in Cheek, that's how I see it, not personal so to speak ,you have the wonderful ability to ignore it and not partake in it. Attack, the Post, not the poster as we are constantly reminded of.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭golondrinas

Have you never heard the saying “ put a beggar on horseback….”. Says it all for me.

Obsession? Sure hun xoxo.

Abusing presenters? Are the overpaid presenters of RTÉ - paid for through the public purse - not allowed to be criticized where merited?

Relentless negativity? If you bothered to read my postings I give credit and praise where it is due. Sadly in the case of the national broadcaster that is a very rare thing.

@Brian Scan

I actually welcome ANY debate on matters RTÉ and Mr. Duffy, Mr. Tubridy et al.

Regarding your petulant comment, I would beg to differ. It’s just that your constant derogatory comments towards the thread-regulars become a little tiresome after the 5,000th time.

I also do not seek to shut down conversations or have posters silenced (or banned) for their opinions, unlike some. I am a fierce advocate of freedom of speech. I will happily debate anyone on the merits or otherwise of RTÉ and it’s presenters, but I would like those who defend the station to provide me with evidence to substantiate their opinions, rather than engage in banal generalities and soundbytes which sadly seem to be the only defence offered.

Post edited by ButtersSuki on

Spiffing 😁, taken aback by that bizzare post from Silly (Billy) so to speak , always amused me why people on Boards are critical of posters rather than posts and why if a Thread offends them so much, why bother their Arses reading or analysing said Thread 🙄

This will be my 1285th post.

I have never suggested that you sought to shut down conversations or have posters silenced or banned.

I agree, and have stated on many occasions, that Messrs Duffy, D'Arcy and Tubridy are overpaid and lacking in any discernible talent.

Self-appointed moderator it seems.

I’m apparently obsessed with derailing radio, but it seems someone is obsessed with me……claiming I’m someone else on another site. Nice to know I have a following I guess.

Well thanks for agreeing to that at least, genuinely appreciated and glad we agree on something.

The “5,000th time” wasn’t meant literally, it was exaggerated intentionally for effect. Apologies if you misinterpreted.

I also wasn’t implying you were trying to shut down a debate or have people silenced or banned. Others, as evidenced above, are however.

Indeed quite a few across the site, I've had some bizarre back and fourths for daring to have different takes or opinions but onwards and upwards , so to speak 😏

• JOE:

American troops on alert in Tennessee over what’s happening and about to happen in Ukraine.

Something about marine life

240km out from Ireland is a whale & dolphin sanctuary. Keep away, Putin.

A historian (like Joe) of de Gulags was put in prison by Putin.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,134 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

On Joe's Liveline this afternoon.....

• Tennessee troops are on high alert over Ukraine as a result of yesterdays "lively debate" about Russia. Are we chicken about this?
    • More on missile tests in de see; a marine biologist tells us why it's shooting fish in a barrel.
    • Ireland is a Seal/Dolphin sanctuary; should we send a man over to tell the Russians this?
    • Yuri Gilllicuddy is prison yet he wrote books on the Jew lags! Is this not righteous?

All of this intellectual banter and other worldly matters in an hour, and maybe a call or two from Whacker if the Airport Rank does be quiet.....

• I spat all the coffee out of my mouth that day mainly because of the setting where Joe was the host. I thoroughly adore the caller who has guts and able to communicate better than Joe without being paid nearly half a million a year for it. But the juxtaposition of the host against caller turned it comical.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,578 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

Cud be gold today 80pc chance Joe will loose it today.

It's the normal problem for him his knowledge of international geo politics is about as good as his knowledge of most IE not much.

So he will start show with his own opinion if by some rare chance someone is articulate he gets multiple callers to ring in and support Joe.

If it's still going t its up he either shouts at the caller or changes topic and takes his baby toys back into de pram

Post edited by Boards.ie: Niamh on

From a quick glance at Silly Gilly’s posts it seems they don’t practice what they preach when it comes to their scorning of what they perceive as abuse.

They/them have called other posters “incels”, “losers”, “masochistic losers” and on one occasion an “absolute arrogant ar_ehole”.

Rather unsurprisingly, they have directed full or partial posts towards myself, complete with non-parliamentary language and hurtful adjectives and expletives. Why can’t they/them lead by example and show the kindness they apparently seek on this thread (ignoring of course the valid criticisms made on it) and espoused by it appears one of they/them’s broadcasting heroes Ryan Tubridy?

Speaking of Mr. Tubridy, one of they/them’s complaints was that I was calling Mr. Tubridy “Bryan” instead of Ryan, and that this classed as personal abuse. What a trivial thing to complain about. Mr. Tubridy himself has regularly commented on the fact that he is frequently called Bryan in public. I wonder does he scold all of these people on their grossly offensive behaviour and abuse?

Mod Note

If you have issues, report it, do not comment on mod decisions in thread.

For anti-abuse campaigner, you really do throw quite a bit of around don’t you?

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I would thought Gerry O'Carroll would have been on today after last nights performance

When can I expect to see Woke Gilly appearing on Goo Boo? Today, tomorrow?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,762 ✭✭✭leath_dub

I thought Joe doesn't read long statements?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,134 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

A "We want a free gaff" story; a good swerve to start today.

Starring Sean, who's 17.

I'm 16, Joe.

Good boy.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,533 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Fecking typical Joe, starting a story halfway through.

What started the hassle?

Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

house attacked with eight men with knives for no reason

ok