Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda preparedness for mass shootings - Glenties incident (2020)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,400 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Regarding PTSD and the Gardai, google brings up a lot of hits. Including the one from Cavan where a prisoner had sh*te in his mouth and the Garda got 35k on the basis that she thought he was going to spit it at her.

I also came across this one, the toilet seat part is amusing but I'm also LMAO at The Woke Times using/reporting the terms "deaf and dumb" and "two deaf mutes", is a retrospective cancelling needed here

To bring it back on topic, there have been a number of other cases where armed Gardai had their firearms taken off them or feared that they would be, IIRC there was a bad case in Kildare? but I can't recall any other details. Obviously there was the murder of Colm Horkan too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭mikethecop

As i said , Regional . many areas covered by these regions are vast , up to and including 2 hours travel time even at speed. if there happens to be units working at all. some times cover is provided by a neighboring region making the problem worse. Example , Aughrim or glendalough country wicklow is covered by ASU from mullingar or newbridge. how long would that take at 5 pm on a friday ?ASU are never ever he first on scene hence the "support" in their name .

once again i m talking about regular uniform members already providing 24/7 cover in districts they know with people they know trained and equipped to a acceptable standard awailabe in a emergence situation that required a rapid reaction as was once the case when it was S&W 38s and uzis . and the cost was the issue , retaining and ammo. management felt it was a waste of money post good friday agreement.

DDU will be disarmed eventually leaving the public and gardai even more vulnerable unless they happen to have a ASU nearby.

Cavan ASU covers monaghan also ? parts of it are more than a hour away . thats a long time if some one is shooting at you.

Yes ASU can be a good thing but the retention of a local resource to respond to something like this incident would also be good , and the defining factor that means its not is cost

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

PTSD is very common after any kind of high-stress incident, especially one where one's life is in serious danger and the incident is prolonged.

PTSD is not a sign that someone is mentally weak or was "unprepared" for the incident. The famous "thousand-yard-stare" talked about by combat veterans, which for a long time used to indicate that someone is tough and combat-hardened, is now recognised to be an indicator of severe PTSD and mental trauma. PTSD is caused by a combination of psychological and physical factors that occur during and after an incident. While some "preparation" is possible, one cannot exercise control over large parts of their body; you cannot prevent certain physiological and psychological processes from taking place when an extremely stressful event occurs.

If someone armed with a weapon is not even slightly phased after a life-threatening live-fire incident, this should raise a red flag with their superior officers and health professionals.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

Apologies I took you up a bit wrong. Yes it's always something I have in the front of my mind when taking a shot, bullets can go some distance. Even the 22LR can kill at some distance, warning it's a bit redneck!:

First they came for the socialists...

There is also an asu unit in dundalk, which can cover monaghan.

Aughrim or Glendalough at 5pm on a Friday would have local ddu working. There are very very few areas of the country that would take 2 hours driving to get to, particularly for trained drivers.

There are still local armed resources, which will remain I would think until armed support are strengthened.

no sure why you keep ignoring the points im making.

How long would you say is an acceptable time to wait for armed back up in an incident where shots are being fired ?

At most two armed ddu working with 9mm sigs and minimal training and basic firearms due to political and economic concerns rather than public safety ones . you would be assuming of course no one is on leave in court or out of the district in enquiries or positions are unfilled because of personnel shortages , saying that realistically much of the time there is simply no armed cover outside dublin . Its taken 3 years for AGS to start to bring ASU units up to strength and they are still at least another year if not two away from achieving that thinly spread cover.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

The G36 comes in several variants

The full size regular military issue one.

The K or Kurtz carbine length used my military and police forces.

The C or compact which is very short and issued to police forces across the world ,

They are light weight made from polymer and all come with folding stocks and rails for optics , lights and or lazers they are a very reliable and accurate weapon platform .

The ERU also has access to sig 550 semi automatic rifles for snipers or bolt actions depending on whats needed ,

They also use the h&k 416 which is based off the M4 assault rifle only better it's the same rifle issued to the Army Ranger Wing

G36 variants

H&k 416 Eru and ARW issue

Acceptable wait time? About the same as the acceptable wait time for an ambulance. The further one goes from population centers the less people there are, the worse the roads get, the less chance there is of an incident. The law of diminishing returns and the opportunity cost forgone mean it's a waste to spend the money to set up the structures to be able to put boots on the ground in 5/10/20/30 mins in somewhere out of the way.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,458 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

exactly. this is just the gardai saving money not because it makes the most sense operationally.

I agree, but they are getting there. It's going to be impossible to have cover for every small area of the country, but it's better then it was.

And obviously there is no time acceptable to wait when you are at one of these.incidents!

ambulance service hardly comparable. coverage is much more wide spread as it is far more necessary and used but also crazily under resourced and equipped

2 or 3 firearms and 8 to 10 people trained twice a year per district not a huge out lay for potential lives saved in the even of a attack such as seen in many country's already ,

It was some thing that existed in the past and was removed due to poor governance of AGS.

I guess it depends how much they are willing to spend on preserving human life

from what ive seen first hand I disagree , the previous arrangement worked much better. Yes its impossible to cover every village and lane in Ireland. Centralizing resources like admin or non responsive units like Fraud EMU or SOC makes sense, but placing a responsive unit a hundred miles away from a possible incident and removing the ability of local resources to defend themselves or intervene in a armed incident only puts people at risk.

AGS seem happy to take the advice and direction of the multiple oversight and interest groups who have no experience or understanding of the actual issues but have a political or economic agenda to the determent of policing and justice.

I agree that the policy of closing smaller stations and districts was a bad idea. Personally I believe that every village and town should have some kind of a Garda station or old station house, where the local guards know everybody and everything that is going on.

with regards to the specialised firearms units, they are a positive addition and yes, they are not in every small station, but they are there. The detectives are still carrying and are still in districts, so there is cover, of course only at certain hours.

I mentioned the ambulance service as an example because as you said it's more widely used, yet the wait times we accept are crazy. If we cannot service the country properly then I'm in agreement, every station should be able to put out a level of force to deal with a shooter. Every station is a bit much but the more remote the location the more need for a low level station to be able to deal with an issue.

Having said all that at the moment from knowing lads in the job, even in bigger towns they have to prioritize serious incidents because they don't have the bodies to attend all emergency calls. For example in my town of 20K people a decent row in the town coupled with two domestics and some poor woman is going to be at the wrong end of a battering before the Gardaí can attend.

• Registered Users Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Green Peter

ASU and Eru also bring a non lethal option to the incident. Judges in tribunals who have months to sit and think about what should have happened like this option regardless of whether it was realistic at the time. A detective is just bringing a gun to the scene.

Aw to be fair specialized firearms units arent in small stations or district stations or even divisional stations, Regional resource when a region can cover a stupid area and population. AGS have poor resource which they use badly because of poor leadership at the top and political pressure from people who only care about themselves and or don't understand the reality of the world outside their own sanatised bubble, while at the same time ignoring people who they expect to do a job with one hand and no resource.

its amazing it hasn't cost lives and people should know how bad the situation really is as its the only way it will improve

• Registered Users Posts: 647 ✭✭✭eddie73

If it is a person working behind a till, fair enough. If it is a trained member of the defence forces, they signed up for a dangerous job. The point isn't whether PTSD exists or not, the point is being reasonable in our expectation when we sign up for certain jobs.

• Registered Users Posts: 172 ✭✭Glock17

I've a 223 rifle. Kill range is about 2 miles....

I reckon if there was a terrorist attack in ireland there would be black unmarked helicopters on the scene.

Reasonable expectations don't matter when it comes to the aftermath of any incident. No one knows how they will react, no matter what their training. PTSD is an enormous problem in armed forces world-wide.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,029 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Someone has to carry the can and there is a reasonable expectation that any emergency services personnel will be looked after when they suffer harm on our behalf.

Post edited by Witcher on

• Registered Users Posts: 516 ✭✭✭BattleCorp1

As a law abiding gun owner, I'd be happy for that d1ckhead to get 20 years. He won't, but I'd love to see it.

Have you seen or found any kind of training that can preempt PTSD , ? i ve never heard of it if so, AGS definatly dont offer it it and i doubt defense forces do either , no one can predict how they will deal with a situation like that i or when it arises

as some one else said if you go through some kind of genuinely traumatic incident like being shot or shot at or even having to deal with the aftermath of same and it doesn't effect you in a significant way it should raise some red flags, speak to some gardai ambo or fire people who have done so and listen to them.

true there is a bravado some times at a scene especially with the first few but to think it doesn't or shouldn't effect a person is unreasonable and certainly can not be trained for, nor should it tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 607 ✭✭✭TheWonderLlama

Going to bet there is no objection to this lad getting his licence renewed either. Complete joke.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,413 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

this how in heavens name can you be allowed to go to the other end of the country on a hunting trip. you should have to report to the garda and have secure lock up for firearms at the minimum imho.

might not have stopped this but still.

You are right. He should have to show papers at the Carlow border to be allowed leave the county.

I do agree with you somewhat though. He shouldn't have left the gun in the car.

I've seen people with rifles walking round places where theres lots of scattered houses tracking deer.

just wondered how it worked - obviously just land in with your gun and start shooting.

oh dont know much about gun licenses but thought part of the license was they were kept in a locked cabinet when not in use in a specific location.

While I have guns I don't hunt so I'm not totally confident I know all the laws relating to hunting so apologies if I've anything wrong here. My understanding is that you can't go and shoot wherever you like but if you've permission to shoot on land, no matter where it is in Ireland, then generally off you go and start shooting.

There are a few other laws such as shooting near a public road etc. but if you've a bit of cop on and only shoot in areas where you aren't endangering the public, there's normally no problem. Other rules include the need for a rifle that is a 'deer legal calibre'. This means that the gun is deemed by the Gardai of being capable of giving a clean kill.

When you saw people with rifles walking around places, were they shooting near the houses or were they just passing by, i.e. passing houses to get to woods/fields nearby?

the stag was in the field next to the road, guy looked pretty sheepish when I cycled past. he wasnt actually aiming at the point !