Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread: Mod Note - No 'Dublin Dominance' chat allowed!

• Registered Users Posts: 25,428 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Not enough speed, we are too slow and deliberate.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,005 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Not at all but what rules is he playing the game under?

He's rightly called a few dublin players for fouls and pulling arms. Yet he has a completely different interpretation the other way. I counted at least three occasions were our players were "held up in the tackle", that's grand for rugby but is 100% a free in this code.

There's also the yellow for the swinging arm to Smalls head in the first minutes. I've seen lads get the line for tackles like that.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭Jizique

Held up in the tackle or surrounded and holding onto the ball? Caught in possession? As Colm said, Dublin are taking the ball into the tackle

Not sure if speed is the issue but it is very deliberate. One a good few occassions we've had the opportunity to get quick ball in yet the players have stopped and passed back. It's 100% a tactic and it's killing us.

Precisely, but that doesn’t suit the narrative.. swinging arm was a card at the very least, red territory but no sanction…?

Yeah but you can't wrap your arms around the player with the ball like Armagh are doing. That's a free all day every day.

If Small was the aggressor I think it would have been a different outcome.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,095 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

You get a lot of this in hurling and football. Technically it's a free against the player with the ball for charging but never gets called and often if a free is given its in the ball carriers favour

It's only charging if you run straight at the defender. You have zero obligation to try run around their outstretched arms as well. If they grab or impede you with their arms it's a free.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,978 ✭✭✭Xander10

only switched on. Is this a team in terminal decline. Not sure Dessie is the man.

That's an outrageous free to give. Talk about a gimme.

Still the bones of a very good team here. Dessie's tactics are pure puke though.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,095 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

To me it looks like they are playing for the free and I don't mean just Dublin

looks like Dublin from the bad old days with zero composure.

Now, prove me wrong!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,169 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Looks like a hammering. Glad I have some cans to ease the pain.😁

Why is Howard still playing in the half backs? That's another black mark for Dessie and his team.

It's a bit of a balancing act alright and hard for refs to get right.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭MFPM

13 wides to 2...sums up Dublin up front. There's so much wrong with Dublin's game plan..

Dessie needs to go, it's that simple. He has us playing an awful brand of turgid shītė. Lads look they they don't know where they should be playing or don't look comfortable with how they are being asked to play. This is the exact same issues we seen last year and it looks like nothing was done. Getting beaten out the gate by a team playing 2 men in the forward line is an embarrassment.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭koutoubia

Fair play to Armagh. They wanted it,

But thats the worst Dublin performance since The startled earwigs era.

Looks like Dessie isnt up to the job as the team dont seem to have bought into whatever plan is in place.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

Only an All Ireland winning manager.

Someone trolling the dubs in Croker, Playing Glory days by Bruce on the P.A

there's a clear disconnect between Dessie and the players. Needs sorting asap.

Ah Maurice is grand being honest. Far from the worst you'll get on RTE.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Slightly better second half but overall very poor never a fan of Dessie seems no lessons learnt from last year. Looks like a major rebuild and he is not the man for it imo .

Dessie is far too one dimensional...never seems like a plan B anytime we get in trouble….takes more then subs, needs ideas and another tactical injection….

we averaged one score about every 5 minutes… 14 scores in 70 plus minutes of football….on what was a good night for football…

dublin backs were nowhere near aggressive in the tackle, and closing down, not enough urgency, intensity or putting themselves on the line in that second half… too much running after Armagh players after Armagh went through them…

We allowed them play, too much possession, freedom, not enough intensity, bravery, stepping up…. Quite concerning..

still, that fûcking useless ref too. Incompetent.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭Jizique

Could have been Dessie Dolan so be grateful for that

Something that impressed me about Armagh.. they always had two or three players busting their böllocks to make a run to give the man with the ball options and to pick a pass….occupying and moving Dublin defenders too… Too often the likes of Fenton looked up and all he saw was marked players…. No options, get away from your markers, just static city.

We’ve really regressed with the keep ball situation the last 2-3 years. It was a decent tactic when we’d MDMA and his basketball background in the middle and genuine pace with Jack & Mannion, and forwards who could kick long distance points.

We now have none of them 3 things. It looks so easy to defend against. Teams retreat and defend en masse on the 45. What was one of our biggest weapons is now our biggest weakness as teams invite us forward, and break with pace and counter into the space.

To be fair to Dessie, I don’t think any side could handle the amount of retirements and opt outs we’ve had. Now might be the time to back some youth, there’s a lot of mid 20 lads in and around the panel that just don’t look good enough and unlikely they’ll all be late bloomers.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Armagh full value for their victory, but if you are talking about the tackle on Basquel there were three tacklers, one who had his arms wrapped in true choke tackle tactic. If you can’t see that so be it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

The problem is when we were as aggressive we were punished with a free awarded against. Armagh must be up there as an AI fav after dishing that out to us.