Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

RTE Radio 1: The Ryan Tubridy Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,351 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Ryan, don’t kid yourself that you’ll ever go to a gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,046 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

This is the NI News of it, don't think it mentioned RT

But I did read a piece that actually told you what was said about him, I'll see if I can dig it out.

Edit: In a response to another user, Ms Ennis tweeted on March 21, 2012: “Some people were hit with the ugly stick, you were raped by the whole forest.”In another tweet on April 26, 2013, the politician made reference to Mr Tubridy in a post responding to former Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams, writing: “Ryan Turbidy [sic] was being dead on for once and keeping his ugly mouth shut?”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭mistersifter

Did the DLB admit that he doesnt know how to play chess again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭Bellbottoms

I might be misremembering this. But didn't Ryan or one of the other RTE high earners claim they couldn't take a pay cut. Something to do with being divorced how their finances were set up. They couldn't legally take a pay cut. Some nonsense like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

wat a bootiful rendition of um bop!

"...no Joe, you rang me !..." A.Caller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,046 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Only person I remembering saying he wouldn't or couldn't take a pay cut was Gerry Ryan.

But he had major outgoings at the time, as we later found out.

That was a great version of ‘Mmmbop’.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,684 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Id rather put my head in a hornets nest than watch the late late show tonight...

Tubridy the nations saviour...he defeated covid for Irelands Sins.....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Make some room for me in that nest Steven.

Also, it was a joint effort from Bryan and Joe Duffy who advised the country to “washyerhanz”.

Only a “meanie” would also point out how often Bryan incorrectly predicted the end of the pandemic and the fact that Joe said “de voyrus can’t come here because we’re an island” and “even if it comes no-one will die”…….

Didn't he read out an email from a lovely listener congratulating Ryan or correctly predicting the lockdown and pandemic would last two years and that we would need to mentally prepare for it.

I sometimes wonder if a producer gets bored and takes a look here. I wonder was the letter an attempt to try and deflect the "It will all be over by X" cristism here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭hawley

TOP RTE star Ryan Tubridy last night revealed he will not be taking a pay cut for "personal, legal reasons".The broadcaster broke his silence and revealed in a statement that he will not be accepting a 10 per cent cut from his EUR346,000 salary.

The statement read: "Like everyone else in this country, I have been watching the ongoing economic situation closely.Due to personal, legal reasons, I have been advised that a pay cut is not an option for me at this time."But the RTE Radio 1 presenter revealed he will be giving money to charity, adding: "Despite this, I am making a significant donation to St Vincent de Paul, a charity that could probably do with our help now more than ever."Tubridy, 35, had joined forces with fellow RTE top dogs.Gerry Ryan and Pat Kenny have also refused to take a salary hit.

https://www.thefreelibrary.com/RYAN%3A+I%27M+NOT+RIDY+TO+TAKE+A+PAY+CUT%3B+%27Legal+reasons%27+blamed.-a0193016781

Sad to see Chapters Bookshop go :(

Whenever I was over, I would pop in - got some decent bukes for a cheap price.

Bryan bigging up the fisherpeople “who were brilliant on Liveline last week”…..yes Bryan, it was Joe who struck fear into the Russians and made them back down.

Yes, it is sad.

I had meant to go in before it closed but life got in the way. :(

Bizarre and peculiar. Intriguing?

Tubs doing his fake accents and desk-tapping again. The man has zero awareness.

”a pretty bonkers Miss Marple type thing”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

The point of the Russian stunt was to point out they know the underwater cable network, the message was received, if anyone gets in the way of Ukraine, they will blow up the internet 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

Freebies list since 23 September 2020:

Free Unknown volume of books

Free Bespoke jewellery x 2

Free Essential oils for mask

Free Buns from Bewleys

Free Trip on the Irish Navy ship

Free 8 Glasses cases

Free Accessories for vinyl record player

Free Flowers

Free Yop, Fruit of the Forest and Yakult

Free Holland and Barrett supply

Free Calm App

Free Scents of Ireland commercial air diffuser and scents

Free Epicurean Delights (i.e. Grub)

Free Watercolour

Free Candles

Free Book about Elvis' comeback in 68

Free Waterford Famine Buke

Free Pints

Free Sweets from Shandons

Free Loose leaf tea

Free Bread knives

Free Candles possibly wickless candles

Free Teapot

Free Vinyl record (Beatles/McCartney)

Free Tea brack

Free Cards

Free More cards (rejected - Catholics need not apply)

Free Halloween masks

Free Cufflinks (monogrammed for Tubridy, of course)

Free Fudge

Free Southern Star newspaper

Free Opinion magazine

Free Print from book (gorgeous, apparently)

Free Crisps and Earplugs

Free Greetings cards

Free Beatles book

Free Bottle with fairy lights

Free Hot Chocolate Bomb

Free Personalised Christmas Stocking

Free Novelty Mug

Free Handmade Scarf (moss green in colour, and long)

Free multiple handmade Christmas Cards

Free John Banville Book (delivered personally to him while shopping)

Free Barack Obama autobiography (extremely large and heavy)

Free box of Lindt chocolates (only 8 in box, Tubs not happy)

Free Face mask from Chester Beatty

Free Books

Free Paul McCartney poster

Free Aerial photography coffee table book

Free Christmas jumper

Free Waterford Festive Star (a magazine)

Free Holly Bough (a Cork annual)

Free Santa Beard Face Mask

Free Chocolates from Bean & Goose (called out paucity of Lindt in their freebie, again)

Free Art from Trish Taylor Thompson (something visual)

Free Books (from “listener” doing her Marie Kondo clearout)

Free Shandon Sweets, again

Free invite to chess convention

Free Lighthouse Book

Free chess lessons

Free Book (Elf Isolation)

Free crate of Club Orange

Free Bag of Marbles, (but no "steelies", much to Tubs' chagrin)

Free Ireland's Own Annual

Free Band Aid vinyl single, with beautiful artwork (Tubridy checked artwork was included, before accepting it).

Free Paul McCartney - Back in the CCCP vinyl album.

Free Box of Turf

Free Puffin Christmas Decorations

Free Puffin Christmas Cards

Free Puffin T Shirt

Free Meal in Kilmore Quay

Free Motivational Quote Cards

Free Book (Dauntless Courage)

Free CD

Free Personal Guided Tour of St Patrick's Cathedral.

Free Hand crafted Gin

Free Crystal Glasses set

Free Cocktails

Free Craft Beer Selection

Free Visit to brewery

Free "County Mayo in a Jar" x 2 (Wool, Shells, etc)

Free Vintage 1955 Comic (original copy)

Free Personalised Water bottle

Free White Vinyl Christmas record

Free Handmade Cards

Free Magazine about schools during Covid

Free Donegal Calendar

Free Bird Calendar (includes Puffin)

Free Fry’s Chocolate Bars – 4 pack - (Passed over to Mater Tubridy)

Free Patricia Gibney Book

Free Terry Reilly book – Ballina People

Free signed Rick Stein in France book

Free American edition of Liz Nugent Book

Free Frederick Douglass book (as asked for earlier this week, but no mention of payment).

Free Sanatorium (Abi Palmer) book

Free Robert Harris Book V2

Free Coffee Beans

Free Grand Canal to Dodder Book

Free Murder Mutiny and the Muglins Book

Free Smart Cooking Books – both editions.

Free Acts of Desperation by Megan Nolan book.

Free Sherlock Holmes walking stick

Free Jenny Wren S’mores kit

Free chocolate bunny

Free tour of St patricks cathedral

Free walking tour of Dublin

Free currach trip on the liffey.

Free gift bag from St Patrick's

Free tour of Rowntree's factory

Free stay in Kerry Hotel

Free bog Oak tea light holder

Free Hand made muppet toy

Irish country magazine and pen

Braile book

New York magazine (succession edition)

Free lunch post toy show

Free preview copies of books

Private Screening of Belfast "for work reasons"

Hand carved walking stick

Home of the year with another new judge……must be some shenanigans going on behind the scenes of that show….

Jaysus, imagine Ryan interviewing Brian Wilson!

Radioactive levels of illnesses/misery/Mike Love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,324 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I don't know how people listen to this tbh Misery and "funny" voices....I listen to liveline so I have a high tolerance for absolute nonsense...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,753 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Top three ‘fake laughter’ chancers in RTE

1. Cormac oHEadhra
    2. Ray D’Arcey
    3. Ryan Tubridy.

Add anyone else you think might be a ‘contender’

Jesus he has some accent boner on him today. Filler mode - activated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

It’s hard to beat Joseph Duffy when he gets a giggle fit for fakeness, or when laughing at one of his mates “jokes” on FunnyFryday.

PieOhMy's list is astonishing. Somewhere, I'm sure I've seen RT referred to as Ryan Subsidy, which is a lot more apt, IMO

Toy Show mention for actually no reason at all.

And with that, I’m out.

I may or may not have had some involvement in the creation of that nickname….

Well it's certainly a cracker of a nickname 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭amlinopta

Spinal cord tumour to get the week off to a positive start

One of his brothers patients.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,649 ✭✭✭avfc1874

Do you remember the first time you sat in a wheelchair 🤔. relive every minute details don't leave anything out😒😩, ghoul

He didn't bring up her being one his brothers patients did he? Jesus.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

It would be great if we could have a poll.

Do you belive that any upcoming trip to Iceland will be wholly or partly funded by, or undertaken in conjunction with a sponsoring entity.

Yes or No.

@Bellbottoms No, she brought it up. It sounded as though he wasn't too happy about it being mentioned. Just said, "oh yes my brother is a neurologist", as if it were just a coincidence.

Yes the talent brother. Who is a respected academic, medical doctor and best selling author.

Imagine that sticks in Tubs craw a bit.

Doubt he gives a fock, he’d be taking home more than de brudder and didn’t have to slave through med school for it and works less in a month than the brudder does in a week.

I don't know. Tubs like to see himself as a bit of an intellectual. All the affectations the "I am a nerd", "I love books".

Brother is the real deal.

Bestselling author check. And it wasn't some fluff kids book or poxy book no one read about JFK.

Respected academic check

Respected professional in his field check

Tubs is a spoofer who is only in his job because of family connections and who his grandfather was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

I agree that Tubs is way out of his depth, but what do his family connections have to do with his job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,608 ✭✭✭✭elperello

A kind of a Frasier/Niles vibe to todays RT gripes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭hawley

On his show on Monday morning Tubridy said:

"I kinda wish I was a fly on the the hotel room that Djokovic was watching the match on, even though he had probally had his fingers in his ear pretending, he wasn't watching it."

The RTE star said he was delighted that Nadal won the final, but also was happy to see it wasn't a super spreader event due to Djokovic's absence. "It was a great result for Nadal, I'm not the biggest tennis guy in the world, but listen this was geo-polictal event let's face it and with Djokovic there it could have been a geopolitical, social, super spreader event, but it wasn't and now it's great to see."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,684 ✭✭✭StevenToast

"I am not the biggest tennis guy in the world" said Tubridy.......

No....but you are the biggest **** in the world said Steven Toast......

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

How do you think he got started.

His grandfather was the head or RTE.

Ryan has involved with RTE since he was a teen.

It's also how his cousin Dave McSavage got his start. McSavage when not harrasing people on the street was the warm up man for the Late Lates live audience during the PK years.

The Andrews family have been sucking on the Titty of RTE for years.