Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway traffic

• Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭CowboyTed

This is loosing because that 'large quite middle ground' are going no... Actually going hell no... Their actual issues ween't even addressed... It was a bit of a mushroom job...

The 17-1 vote is all grand unless you think how bad are the options the executive put down that this is the backlash... I have said it continually here, our executive are bad, they seem to be a political dept in there own right...

This is a stitch up... If this actually goes ahead it is looking like against the will of the people. That makes a mockery of 'consultation feedback'... By the way, doing something against the will of the people is 'political tricks'.

Have you published the results of your exhaustive consultation process or is this based on discussions with nearby barstools within your social bubble?

Meanwhile families require a garda escort to cycle in safety on the prom, but its fine, totally fine

Cause we are just out of COVID... Prom closed down for large parts of last year...

Massively reducing car parking on the Prom will drive parking into the residential areas... That happened last year and they just don't want it this year...

It also affects people's way of life, they want to do normal things... This is an awful read of the situation, it is highly arrogant to the point of being insulting.

Even the posters here have a screw those people attitude... No body addressed their concerns, no alternatives, just shove it down their throats...

Well done everyone, you have successfully alienated a large group of people from Galway to the point they won't want to give you even a trial... Normal people in Salthill/Knocknacarra have been angered by this...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Unrealistic

I don't think so. The Mayor and the Greens did not want one way traffic. That was why they amended the motion between July and September; to try to make one way unnecessary. The Council Executive responded by insisting that one way traffic was still the only option, and that just happened to get fed to the City Tribune to give them a scaremongering front page headline in the autumn. There is a widely held perception that this was all part of the Council Executive's plan to try to scupper the cycleway by making it unnecessarily disruptive and controversial. Option 2 only came on the table after pressure was put on the Council Executive from above to come up with a more sensible variant.

We don't know the cost yet, that'll depend on the detailed design. We only have a max budget allocation.

On a technical note, this isn't actually a trial. It's a temporary cycleway. They're different, temp means it has an end date as is being removed after 6 months regardless of the success.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,848 ✭✭✭?Cee?view

Well, for a start, the timing is appalling. We've had two years of intermittent access to the prom and now they want to turn it upside down again. It's ok for me. I can walk a bit further to park. But for older people and the disabled, it's a huge burden to the extent that many of them won't be able to use the prom anymore. And no, throwing Blue Badges at it won't solve it as the cycling campaigners arrogantly suggest. Most people with limited mobility are not entitled to them, and even those who are, are having their spaces moved further away from the Prom under the proposed rules

• Registered Users Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Unrealistic

Yep. It's irrelevant to Galway too because, as the Council Exec gleefully pointed, if the Councillors had voted for a Trial Salthill Cycleway there could, at the end of the trial, been a decision making process that allowed it to be retained. Instead, because the Councillors voted for a Temporary Salthill Cycleway, it has to be removed at the end of the six months and a new process started if we want something permanent.

Ah come on now. You can't believe that was actually needed. It makes for great PR though when at every occasion the poor cycling victims can say, "look, we needed an escort to protect us". There's a fellow out there as well saying that the reality now in Galway is that children are being run over by SUVs on the way to school. Complete hyperbole and nonsense.

Well said... I said at the start if this is a trial, tell the success parameters... None... Then they can just force it in to what ever level they say is a success..

They get a bunch out cycling it for one day ion the summer, take a load of photos....

And this is the response... I said arrogance and you have just seen it... DaCor you are your own worst enemy with comments like that.. Refusing to engage with actual concerns..

We were told it was temporary too and its now permanent.

Result is lack of trust in officials and local politicans and organised opposition to anything proposed.

The Sandymount trial that was never actually trialled costs thousands of euros.

If something is clearly and obviously not going to work as the Sandymount road closures were then spending huge sums of money trialling it is pointless.

Why not just close roads on a temporary basis and see what happens to the traffic, if the traffic dissipates and the impact is minimal then people will acept the change and the initlal outlay is minimal.

In fairness I did post the same response to Dacor when he re quoted a reponse back to me with smart alecky replies.

Dacor wont engage wth actual concerns, he is responsible only for his own transport and this is by bike mostly.

If he was responsible for getting a family from A to B, or responsible for elderly family members or had disabilities himself or had family members with disabilities he might see things from other peoples point of view.

He and many others in the cycling lobbies are male and middleaged,mostly single,lots of time on their hands to lobby which magnifies their voices and drowns out local residents voicing concerns,I have seen them in action but thankfully in my case the voice of reason prevailed.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭xckjoo

You're right in that it's screams of "a stitch up". The people overwhelmingly showed interest in better cycling facilities on the Prom, the councilors overwhelmingly voted in favor of it and then GCC reluctantly provided two fairly poor options and created a narrative of cyclists trying to force poor designs down everyones throats. The "will of the people" was to improve cycling facilities. GCC seem to have decide to use it as an opportunity to make cyclists out to be the enemy and people like yourself are falling for it hook, line and sinker. Better to sit back and wait for this mythical ring road that'll fix everything than to demand GCC actually do something productive and forward thinking.

By the way, where have you seen the outcomes of the survey that indicate the majority of people don't want it? Do you work in the council or are you just making things up?

"Steve Lynch is a Salthill resident and cyclist and believes both sides can work to get the best solution going forward.

"A lot of people are very excited that they'll finally get the chance to bring their kids out cycling safely," Mr Lynch said.

"It shouldn’t be too much to ask that I’d like a world where my kids can cycle to school and they’re not going to be run over by an SUV. That’s the current situation here in Galway."

I mean you can't but agree with the guy. These rogue SUV drivers who are running over kids cycling to school in Galway badly need to be stopped. It's becoming a real problem. Maybe all cycling kids should have a Garda escort?

Are there lots of children being run over by SUVs in Galway,is this really happening, I am very sorry to hear this.

We were told too that the majority of people wanted a change to one road,it turned out people were being encouraged by the cycling lobby to vote multiple times.

Not one local councillor was in favour of the change and one councillor told me that anonymous people from hundreds of miles away who would not be impacted in anyway were voting in an organised way.

It's becoming like Facebook in here! 😄

Yes, a lot of the cycling campaigners fit that image. There's another even more common type in Galway though. They're middle class with a partner/spouse with a significant income so that only one of the couple has to work. A lot of time on their hands, so they've the time to hang around cycling, campaigning etc. There's one guy who used to post here; his wife is in a senior academic position. One of his favourite tricks is going around taking photographs of cars with his toy speed camera logging their speed. There are also a disproportionate amount of academics involved. Again, they don't have to deal with the time pressure of 9 to 5; they can largely dictate their own diaries to fit around cycling. You'll never see the ordinary Joe Soap, double income, fighting to make ends meet, time poor family, involved in this crusade.

Sounds like politicians telling you what you want to hear at any given time. Exact same thing happening here. They all vote for it when everyone is looking for it and then when there's some objections they all jump ship and try and act like they were never for it. Throw in some conspiratorial sh1te to make you focus on someone else and you forget all about how they're just jumping from bandwagon to bandwagon. If this test is a success they'll all be back saying they were the driving force behind it.

And just to point out that most of the main cycling campaigners in Galway are parents. Even some women in the mix 😲

"There are also a disproportionate amount of academics involved. Again, they don't have to deal with the time pressure of 9 to 5; they can largely dictate their own diaries to fit around cycling"

Or... those with a bit of education and awareness of national and international research are backing improvements in sustainable form of transport! 😅

The notion that getting on a bike is elite is ridiculous. The average bike is much cheaper and more accessible than the cheapest roadworthy car.

You'll be delighted to know that there's one coming before the end of the year

• Registered Users Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭timmyntc

lol do you have anything to back this nonsense up?

Stupid stereotyping about the working class 9 to 5s versus the posh cyclists, you'll find that a lot of those driving chelsea tractors down the prom and almost mowing down children are much more middle class than those who cycle to work or get the bus.

You try to spin it like owning a car is a burden for overworked people and that rich people laugh all the way to work on their bikes when the complete opposite is true.

It's nothing to do with the cost of the bike. It's time. Most ordinary people wouldn't have the time to dawdle around campaigning and cycling. And as an aside, those cargo bikes cost thousands!

You're somewhat right. I have no reports, statistics etc. What I do have is personal knowledge of the people involved with this in Galway. I know many of them personally. Some I would once have considered friends. I don't expect that to sway your view, in fact that would be pretty immaterial to me. I do personally know it to be the case though.

Stereotypes?

Chelsea tractors? 😀

Mowing down children 🤣

Will you get on your bike!

Ahhh so it's the sick and downtrodden you're worried about? Fighting the scourge of the upper class snapping up all those fancy city centre places in Galway. Not at all worried about yourself driving in your expensive car from the house you built on the family land to your middle class job in the city? You're too saintly for the rest of us.

You couldn't make this up. One lad who was on Galway Bay FM talking up the cycle lane, and appears in a lot of the online stuff (and clearly has a lot of time on his hands), drives some sort of people carrier thing when he's not battling the killer roaming killer SUVs with his kids... not the same guy that made the SUV comment to be clear.

His partner on the other hand drives the big Merc which really wouldn't suit his woke image.

Driven out of the city by rich middle aged lycra wearers? You poor pet.

Bit rich coming from someone discussing changing their BMW 7 Series to a Tesla Model S which they can easily charge at their detached house.

But yes, those kids on the bicycles are the elite pushing their agenda.

Maybe in the past but most are parents these days. Main motivation seems to be for the kids to be able to cycle safely and for them to not have to spend their lives in traffic instead of with their families.

You do understand that it's possible to have concerns about other people even if they're not your own concerns? Is this concept completely foreign to bikists and green campaigners?

For instance, I've posted about cycling campaigners in Galway being largely middle class with little financial concern and much time on their hands. I'm at least half of that myself, but that doesn't mean that I have to like a certain narrow demographic dominating the discussion to the exclusion of all others, even if I have to admit that I'm probably a member of that narrow demographic myself.

Your attitude is pretty illustrative of what turns people against those who push for these cycleways. You are incapable of considering other points of view, and incapable of understanding people who consider people other than themselves.

Yes, that's what they say, but maybe I'm too much of a cynic. It's all a bit too convenient and ties into a lifestyle choice. It's become a bit of a social scene to be a cycling campaigner now.