Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Married Men - A Gay Lads View - Have you ever had an experience?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,590 ✭✭✭LLMMLL

I never said anything about being gender fluid. It's pretty telling that you had to introduce concepts I didn't mention to make it seem like my argument was difficult and too complicated.

You brought gender into it my friend.

Your argument isn't complicated.

You believe a woman can be romantically involved in a sexual relationship with both a man and another woman and be heterosexual.

Then you go on to say you don't conflate hetero and bi.

It's not complicated. It's contradictory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,253 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Perhaps I'm attracted to women not because they are women, but because they are not men?

I think you are confusing correlation and causation here.

If Im attracted to women because of their female gender, by your logic, wouldnt that mean a persons gender declaration would influence my being attracted to them or not? Following on from this, would me not knowing their declared gender alter my attraction to them?

These arguments have more knots than a ship full of sailors.

If one, as a man is attracted to a single other man than one is gay. Ditto for women. Anything other than this is either bi or a sexual.

You cant just sprinkle the gender dust and decide to change it.

A cake is either full, partially eaten or all gone. You cant have some and yet still say its a full cake, even if you only had a little slice.

/edit to add

btw, phrases like "being attracted to a gender" are rendered meaningless when you conflate gender and sex and determine that someone can change their sex.

If I'm attracted to a woman who subsequently decides to call herself a man, in your mind am I now gay?

Or should my attraction to this person now change because of a label they give themselves?

It's like someone calling themselves a vegetarian because they only eat chicken.

but what if the chicken is vegan and identifies as a carrot?

Also they were only a chicken once so that doesn't count...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,440 ✭✭✭Homelander

I do think that some people of either gender can have meaningless sexual interactions with the same gender without it necessarily making them even bi depending on the context. Maybe they're desperate for sex, for a thrill, maybe they're just curious, whatever. There are definitely many people like that on both sides, that wouldn't identify as bi - and not because they're in denial, but because they know who they are best of all.

Labels are stupid but for me even just being bi requires actual attraction to the other gender rather than just some arbitrary "No straight person would do that therefore you are gay or at least bi". It seems an impossible contradiction to some obviously, which puzzles me to be honest.

There is definitely a double standard though when it comes to men and women. If a woman slept with a woman and professed that it was purely just to see what it was like, no-one would really make any claims as to her identity whatsoever.

If a guy does it the reaction is typically, immediately he's either closeted gay or bi. There seems to be very little room for human curiosity on the male side of things.

Anyway, I think married people sneaking around behind their partners back and those who willingly meet married people are both equally...yuck.

Agreed.

Cheating bastards are cheating bastards. And men who dabble in same sex activity are judged more aggressively than women who do the same.

Disagree that labels are stupid though. Labels are the same as definitions. Definitions are important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Noone is sexually attracted to a personality.

Or have the progressive leftists decided you can be now?

LGBTP, P for personality attracted. Pffff.

They added the "plus" for a reason. Infinite I think. Working out well.

Those who want to demand that people who identify as pansexual/non conforming xi is as legitimate as a defining characteristic as male or female are encouraged and accepted by idiots who think it's a good thing.

Sexuality though.

Straight, gay and bi.

Only three options unless you are completely devoid of sexual attraction/interest, which in that case you are asexual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭AllForIt

They added the "plus" for a reason. Infinite I think. Working out well.

Oh yeah, I get that. Although I think the L at the front really means 'Lefty'. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

I hope you are savvy enough to know that is an excuse. I would say they have normal sex lives within their marriage. Men don't need to be lacking sex within a marriage to have sex with or desire other men. Im not judging these men who do this. Im just being ...honest.

I think online porn has ....erm ..how to say it ..opened up a lot of things to people who wouldn't necessarily go searching for it before. A lot of straight guys have a thing for men in drag for instance.

For men sex is less about emotional connection. More about exploration and often crossing of boundaries. The very fact its considered taboo or a straight man to do might be what is drawing them. Which is often why you find its the straightest of straight guys into it.

What people see online is getting weirder and weirder. Tentacle porn is the least of it. A straight man having sex with another straight man is nothing tbh. I think I would actually call it a vanilla snorefest.

I think things we are not used to ...excite us. Porn is exciting ...things that ...even scare us a little are exciting...things that shock us are exciting ..

Porn is revelatory it reveals to people things that they didn't know aroused them. Today, an unlimited supply of porn is available in endless variations. So many users are exposed to and become aroused by behaviors that shock them. Basically, porn reveals elements of their arousal template they were previously unaware of or simply repressed. And once these attractions are revealed, they don’t go away.

But here is the thing. They are not gay. Homosexuality or Bi sexuality is not just about SEX its also about LOVE ...whom you fall in ROMANTIC love with. Who you are orientated towards. These men or some of them are not homosexual in that sense. Could it be seen as a fetish? Have they fetishized gay sex?? I don't know. Maybe its more.

I don't for one instance think they are in sexless marriages though and I don't believe that. I DO think lots of them would say that.

Sure lots of them might be bi or homosexual ..but not all of them.

its not a fantasy..its very common. For some reason lots of straight men are into gay men in drag. LOTS. And erm the data released from the search engines of porn hub are erm ..REVEALING.

When a closeted gay or bisexual man has sex with another man, he views that sex as reflecting his secret identity. He is not open about that identity, likely because he fears discrimination. When a straight man has sex with another man, however, he views himself as straight despite his sex with men.

One behaviour confirms how the man sees HIMSELF ...whereas the other behaviour goes against how that man experiences himself or sees himself.

There is a disconnect between identity and behaviour.

The question everyone wants to know is WHY if you identify as straight only do you have sex with other men and WHY does this not make that man gay?

What does GAY mean to straight men? Why don't they see themselves that way?

Of course being straight or saying your are helps avoid discrimination.

BUT also ...saying you are straight while you have sex with other men ..MIGHT be reflecting your relationships with women. OK so you are having sex with men and women ...why dont you think you are BI?? Well maybe he fell really hard for one women .or two or three..and that experience reflects his identity and shaped how he sees himself. Your identity is more than your sexuality ..it can mean all your relationships ...your idea of masculinity ....maybe sex with men isn't enough to alter their views of who they are. There other experiences are more life altering. Maybe sex with men isnt important enough to change who they are or who they identify as. Its not as relevant to their identities.

And maybe some of them really are in sexless marriages or married to women who want less sex than them. But i think its an excuse.

Also I found this thread very interesting and enlightening OP thanks for making it! 🙂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Liberty_Bear

he mom-of-two describes herself as straight while her husband Matthew identifies as gay or pansexual, admitting he is “more attracted to men than women”.

Before they married in 2017 Matthew had dated both men and women but he’d never had sex with anyone, including Brynn.

And despite admitting he didn’t know if he’d ever enjoy being intimate with her, they tied the knot and became parents.

Brynn admits she sometimes feels insecure but said she feels the relationship is stronger because it’s not focused on physical chemistry.

They sound like a very enlightened couple

• Registered Users Posts: 3 E.fromEnnis

I'm a married guy, 48yrs old, wonderful wife and kids. We have a fairly good sex life, she would a lot less adventurous than me, but it's fine.

However, I've always had this thing that I'd like to have sex with another man, not regularly or relationship wise, very casual, purely sexual. I had a couple of close encounters when younger but nothing ever came of them, prob because we were both too scared of getting labeled or shunned socially, not something you could do easily in Ennis in the late 80's early 90's.

Let me reiterate I'm married almost 20 years and I love my wife, but this is a side of me she knows nothing about and would never accept, the very idea would be abhorrent to her.

I've never been unfaithful but as I've got older I think about it more and more and really feel I want to do this at least once. If the right circumstances presented itself, I'd find it very hard to pass up. It's just one of those "life's too short" things, and I know I'll regret it if I don't?

To get crude about it, I want to have my cock sucked by another guy and to return the favour. If/when I watch porn, I'll watch mmf bi stuff or group bi. I love a beautiful female body as much as anyone but watching everybody **** everyone else just blows my mind. Of course the ideal scenario would be, me, my wife and A.N.other, but that's never gonna happen ☹️. Even if she would consider pegging, but again, no chance.

I'm sure I'll get slaughtered here for suggesting I might be unfaithful but I actually think it would enhance my marriage, weird, I know, but true. At least then when we're together I could leave that piece of me aside.

I'm bisexual. It's taken me a long time to come to terms with that, but I finally have. I do think it's the least understood of all sexualities, as people like to categorize and say you should be one thing or the other, but I'm not, I'm both.

Anyhow, those are my thoughts on your post, feel free to leave yours.

E.

This is the feelings that I was mentioning. There are men out there for whom they are only accepting these feelings later in life. Whatever decision you make buddy I know won't be taken lightly. There is a married men's group that offers peer support that meets in the Carmichael Centre in Dublin 7 once a month. Kudos on your honesty

Well you haven't cheated so it would be a bit pointless "slaughtering" you.

It's fairly mind boggling that youve managed to convince yourself that cheating is GOOD for a marriage though.

It does give insight into how so many people can chat on their spouse guilt free though.

Not all marriages are all what they seem on the surface

Nah, call it rare if you like... unicorn like... if a guy fancies a guy because of whatever reason and wants to have a sexual relationship with them they are not straight. They may not be gay... whatever... but he's not straight.

Question. Are lesbians in denial that they may fancy a man in the 'right' conditions?

^^^ wrote the above after I clicked on a link that brought me to page 15... we might have moved on ...

If you read his post he has said he always had these feelings?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Tearoom Trade: Impersonal Sex in Public Places is a 1970 book by Laud Humphreys. Humphreys' book is based on his 1968 Ph.D. dissertation, which was entitled "Tearoom Trade: A Study of Homosexual Encounters in Public Places." The study is an analysis of male-male sexual behavior in public toilets.[1] Humphreys asserted that the men participating in such activity came from diverse social backgrounds, had differing personal motives for seeking same-sex sexual partners in such venues, and variously self-perceived as "straight," "bisexual," or "gay."

Tearoom Trade debunked many of the stereotypes associated with individuals who participate in anonymous male-male sexual activity in public places, demonstrating that many of the participants lived otherwise conventional lives as family men and respected members of their communities; further, their activities posed no threat to non-participants.As Humphreys misrepresented his identity and intent to his subjects, and tracked their identities through license plate numbers, Tearoom Trade has been the subject of continued debate over privacy for research participants, with The New York Times noting that Tearoom Trade is "now taught as a primary example of unethical social research." Wikipedia

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

I'm not shocked. Sometimes I feel that it's justified if someone is in a sexless relationship and there is no fixing it but they have to stay together for reasons such as kids, finances then in order to stay sane they need to go outside the relationship to get that fix.

Also some of the men propositioning may have permission to do so from their partner. Did ye ever consider that?

There are many factors concerning sexuality..curiousity, society, upbringing etc and life is a long and winding road of people discovering themselves. What is right for someone at 20 might not be right at 30/40/50 or it might be right.

Whatever a person feels they are at the time is fine but also that can change. It might never change. It might change. I think it's the questioning anyone on it and asking them to define themselves is actually what causes issues and people feeling judged.

If someone said to me 'im straight' then they're straight and that's how they want to be seen at that moment in time and it's not my place or anyone else's to question that and similar if they said they were gay/bisexual etc. Just respect that people are not programmes set in a certain way and have their own way of dealing and growing and adapting throughout life which will not just be based on themselves but also on their other circumstances etc.

He said his wife would not accept it.

What point are you making?

Well that's clearly untrue.

Personality can play a large part in sexual attraction.

For me, attraction is very much physical based and even I can be turned on or off by someone's personality.

I didn't. I am using gender and sex interchangeably as which word you choose has zero impact on the argument.

I didn't make any claim about gender and sex being different and my argument applying to gender. I made no point about gender, I made a point about sexual attraction.

So let's get this clear. You are arguing that "perhaps" some straight men are attracted to women because they are not men?

How does that work? If their main feeling is "not attracted to men" why wouldn't they be asexual? What would make them want to have sex with women?

As for gender I am using it interchangeably with sex. I am not making any point about gender changes or declarations or whether or not there is a difference between gender and sex.

You can just as easily make a similar.point if you say someone is attracted to a particular sex. If someone is attracted to the female sex then wouldn't they be attracted to trans men?

The point I am actually making is that generally, if someone says they are attracted to men and women, then they are usually attracted to multiple men, or multiple women in a way that suggests there is a trait or set of traits common to men, or common to women, which they find attractive.

Re: ILoveYourVibes post above.

Very well written, very insightful and very true. Porn certainly is revelatory and has a part to play in opening people's imaginations and lifting otherwise repressed or subdued desires to the fore. Mine have been for a long time and without the proliferation of porn maybe would have stayed as such. What people do with them is a personal choice but once opened very hard to put back in the box.

However, that bi side of me is purely about sex, I don't want a relationship or love, I have that.

I just want to take my sexual experiences places I can't go at home. Selfish, I know, but.

E.

Thanks Olivia, very well said.

Apologies in the delay replying here. I thought this thread was locked. Maybe I mis-saw.

I think we are talking past each other. Perhaps my fault. But once again it is not about "relationships". Let alone one or more than one. The definitions I printed are about attractions. They differentiate between orientation (attractions) and behaviors (relationships/interactions).

So it does not have to be "more than one relationship". There does not have to be any relationship at all in fact. The definitions can apply equally to - say - virgins.

Perhaps if you stopped giving yourself head trauma you could start involving some logic of your own then? :) There is no logic problem on my side as I am merely discussing what the definitions actually say. If you think the people who formed those definitions have a logic issue by all means take it up with them. But no one has shown yet that I have misinterpreted the definitions I cited.

The definitions make it clear - to use your words - that there is a slight grey area between being "aroused by one gender to the exclusion of the other". In that single exceptions do not appear to invalidate the pattern. That is what the wording says.

Exactly. Because Again the definitions are not about sex acts. But about attractions. Your engaging - or refusing to engage - in an ongoing relationship with one single man would be one single attraction to one single person. Regardless of whether you sexually interacted with that man zero times, one time, or a million times. If your attractions excluded the entire male gender with the sole exception of this one man you found attraction for then the wording of the definition(s) I provided allow for that. It is a single exception to a pattern and the definitions I cited are based on patterns.

That analogy certainly does not hold to anything I have been saying. A closer analogy - but still not very good and not really comparable to what I have been saying very well - would be someone calling themselves a vegetarian this week - for some reason eating a chicken next week - but then never eating one again. Again because "vegetarian" describes their over arching pattern of choices and behaviors rather than being defined (or negated) by single isolated exceptions.

But the analogy does not hold for a second reason. I can not find a single definition to cite that is defined in the same way the ones I have cited are defined. I hasten to point out again that I am not arguing anything on this thread - the definitions did that. All I have been doing is discussing what those definitions actually say.

Rather than respond to me about my interpretation of those definitions - the near totality of responses on this thread have been attacking those definitions as if someone how I came up with them and I was wrong to do so. I didn't write them. I just cited them. If you think the definitions bad then it is not me anyone should be taking that up with :)

Except that appears not to be true in the definitions. Sexual acts and sexual attractions are specifically and explicitly differentiated between. The obvious example I gave before a few times is that of men who sell sex to other men for money. They themselves might be entirely heterosexual - but they are still capable of providing sexual services to men.

A further example of why what you say can not be true - is that virgins can have a sexual orientation too. They do not magically acquire a sexuality on the day they first have sex with someone. Their sexual orientation can be in place long before they ever have any actual sex.

So tying sexuality to sex acts for multiple reasons seems to just be an error.

Olivia,

Does that just relate to sexual orientation? If a 35 year identified as a 10 year old do you think they should be allowed attend primary school? Seeing as self identification seems to be the overriding right in your opinion.

No I don't think someone in that scenario should be allowed attend primary school.

I think for alot of people sexual orientation is fluid but i also think that for alot of people they will not change drastically whether they self identify as heterosexual, bisexual,gay etc. They are happy and content.

If someone says at a certain point in life they are what they are then it's not anyone's place to question it. People know who they are better than anyone else and often it is complex and difficult to identify using definitions set in stone.

What I am saying is that I think for many people sexuality is fluid, a growth of discovery throughout life however saying that to an individual can be seen as offensive in itself depending on the circumstances.

This is probably more an issue for someone coming out as gay or bisexual where someone suggesting 'you might change your mind' can be seen and intended as hopeful or dismissive on the other person's part that the person will change rather than being supportive of who they are at that moment in time and perhaps for the rest of their life.

Revealing your sexual orientation or coming out as it's called is a difficult decision for a lot of people. Straight people don't really tend to come out. It's the default assumption that most people are straight. This might have an impact on some people who could be bisexual but decided not to pursue it because of society's assumptions or they met someone and like with the op are exploring that later in life but not necessarily regretful of their previous life choices. I'm not dealing with the morality of infidelity but just what could be the reasoning behind it. Of course there are also some people who felt so judged by society that they could not be who they wanted to be and lived an unhappy life or maybe still had a happy life but made many sacrifices and are trying to explore that now too.

Perhaps as we move to a more open and understanding society we will see no default assumption but that takes a long time to evolve through society.

Are there any other words with different definitions that you use interchangeably? It would be useful to have to attempt to comprehend your posts...

BTW to say you use them interchangeably and then in the same post, go on to state that you "made no point about gender" but instead "I made a point about sexual attraction".

Isn't a point about sexual attraction interchangeable (to you) with a point about gender attraction and thus in fact a point about gender?

#confused.

Oh it's not just me that uses them interchangeably. It's most of the world. Loooooong before the current trans rights debate started some forms would ask you for your sex, others would ask for gender. It's really not that hard to understand.

Isn't a point about sexual attraction interchangeable (to you) with a point about gender attraction and thus in fact a point about gender?

Yes and no. When I say sexual attraction it is interchangeable with "gender attraction". In practice nobody uses the term gender attraction. They would say "attracted to a gender" or "the gender you are attracted to". I used the word "sexual attraction" not because I am making a point about "sex" but because it's the commonly used phrase.

You don't seem to comprehend that someone can use a phrase without making a point about the group that phrase describes.

Here's an easy example for you. If asked to differentiate between the group referred to by "women" and the group referred to by "girls" most people will say that women are adults and girls aren't.

So when an adult says they are attracted to girls they must be a paedophile right?

Or is it just that it's fairly common to refer to a group of adult women as girls and 99.999% of people who aren't trying to find a gotcha argument will understand exactly what the person means when they say it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭rn

Very enlightening thread alright. I'm mid 40s married male. For me cheating is cheating, so being physically with a other person male or female without my wife's consent is cheating. Not going to go into the mental aspects of it.

On sexuality, I understand where people come from with labels and definitions to help comprehend the sexual world. As I grow older I definitely recognise that it's a fluid thing. A label that fits today, might not necessarily fit tomorrow. And sexuality is very much tied to circumstances and opportunity to explore. A problem arises in that I tend to view you in my "limited" view of you and apply labels. However it should be up to the person to label themselves.

I think both sexes can experiment within their own sex, without being necessarily gay or bi. Especially if the sex act is broadly detached from emotion. For me there's a scale of "won't do it & run away from those situations", "open to it, would try it out", "actively looking to do it once to see" and "actively looking to do it all the time".

Funnily enough as I grow older I find myself going more to categories 2,3 and 4 with my wife becoming much more conservative sex wise. Years ago it was completely the opposite.

Or saying that someone who identifies as a vegetarian, but who eats chicken only once, may actually be a closet omnivore.

No, they just tried chicken once - and probably regretted it.

They're still vegetarian.

They're not on a spectrum. They're not fluid. They were even drunk when they tried the chicken after pressure from an omnivore friend.

'The definitions I printed are about attractions.'

I might be missing the context of the definition, but if a man is attracted to a man - that's not a straight attraction. So, I don't see how that person can be considered straight. Again, maybe not gay either *insert definition here*, just not straight. And before someone says, 'why do we need labels, man!'. I dunno, but if they are to be used they need meaning. I don't need to be defined as straight, but if someone is bothered to ask me I'll say straight and be rightly confused if someone uses straight in a different way. It's not as if people aren't pedantic enough to correct the likes of they, they're or their etc.

I agree with if someone defines themselves as straight from a self preservation (mentally/physically), that's fine and understandable. But, that's not likely to be the case with someone in a long term same sex relationship, or having an infrequent same sex relationship and considering themselves straight. There's a key difference there.

'Loooooong before the current trans rights debate started some forms would ask you for your sex, others would ask for gender.'

I blame teenage boys because when they saw the sex? box they always! wrote 'Yes Please'.

😅

I assume you are talking to me? Your choosing not to quote me or @ me or address me makes it somewhat vague?

Yes it is not a "straight attraction" sure. But the definitions I was citing are defining "sexual orientation" and it does so based on "enduring patterns" of "attraction". Not single isolated one off cases of attraction.

So if over the course of your life you are consistently and generally attracted to the opposite gender and never to members of your own gender - then suddenly out of nowhere this one single person of your own gender comes along to whom you find yourself physically/romantically attracted - then this single exception is not going to invalidate the "enduring pattern". In other words the definitions behind sexual orientation are defined in a way that is slightly broader than people might expect. Not hugely. Slightly.

If however from that point on you suddenly start finding other members of your own gender attractive then certainly a new pattern may be established here.

Where that "line in the sand" actually is I do not know. The definitions are not clear on this. 5? 10? 50? 100? I simply do not know. But over the course of a life time a single exception does not really scream the word "pattern" at me. YMMV.

This is from Wiki "Sexual orientation is an enduring pattern of romantic or sexual attraction (or a combination of these) to persons of the opposite sex or gender, the same sex or gender, or to both sexes or more than one gender.  These attractions are generally subsumed under heterosexualityhomosexuality, and bisexuality,[1][2][3] while asexuality (the lack of sexual attraction to others) is sometimes identified as the fourth category" Is that your definition?

Enduring - 'lasting over a period of time; durable.'

Where do you get the idea that if you 'then suddenly out of nowhere this one single person of your own gender comes along to whom you find yourself physically/romantically attracted - then this single exception is not going to invalidate the "enduring pattern".' It clearly changes the enduring pattern and therefore it was possible for the pattern to end. I don't subscribe to the belief you can somehow be only attracted to one person of the same sex and your orientation doesn't change. If you can become attracted to one person of the same sex it's not impossible to be attracted to another person of the same sex. It's highly likely being that there's nearly 4 billion fish in the sea. But, even if there's ONLY one person of the same sex in the entire world you are attracted to your orientation isn't straight.

A single exception to a data set does not invalidate the pattern of that data set. When you look at an entire data set for patterns you do so with the "noise" of exceptions. Your own definition you pasted there is a good one. "Lasting over a period of time". Exactly. The overall pattern can endure despite exceptions. You are almost getting it now!

Actually you introduced a definition for "enduring" above and I think actually the locus of understanding would be better served by investigating the meaning of "pattern". Because if you think one exception invalidates a pattern then it is the word "pattern" not the word "enduring" I think your misunderstanding is localised on.

Pattern - "a reliable sample of traits, acts, tendencies, or other observable characteristics of a person, group, or institution" - "frequent or widespread incidence". For example if you have a "pattern of violence" then that is not invalidated by periods of calm or peace.

You also only cited one of the three things I have been citing. So let me now re-include one of the ones you excluded here (Bolding mine):

3) "a person's identity in relation to the gender or genders to which they are typically attracted; sexual orientation."

So to answer your "Where do you get the idea" question - that is exactly where. It is written there in the bold. The pattern endures despite a single exception blip in the middle of the pattern and the "typical" continues. If you have one single solitary exception to your pattern or romantic and physical attrations then that single exception is anything but "typical". It would be entirely A-typical in fact.

So one solitary single one off exception to your typical and enduring pattern of behavior does not at all seem to invalidate the definitions in play.

I think you're going with the exception that proves the rule argument.

Pattern - Oxford Dictionary - the regular way in which something happens or is done.

You'll find other, more specific, definitions especially re garments/design that you need to follow specifically, or it's not the pattern.

So, I'm taking the meaning of Enduring pattern as meaning it is an orientation until the pattern changes to identify a different orientation. Otherwise you'd have to accept that a homosexual relationship can be defined within straight orientation. And for that you'll need to argue that 2+2=5.

As for a once off single exception - how can you know that is the case? How would such a scenario come about in reality.

Thats exactly the point. Long before good people like yourself decided that there wasn't a 1:1 relationship between sex and gender, it didn't matter which term you used as male always meant a man and female always meant a woman.

When male can now mean a man or a woman it is that hard to understand, especially when you still use them interchangeably.

You dont seem to understand that when you make a point but use your own definitions of the words within that point, it makes it very difficult for the rest of us to follow, nevermind others who have their own definitions.

If an adult in a general conversation uses girl and woman interchangeably its a non issue, but in a conversation about the difference between girls and women its a huge issue.

Likewise if you used gender and sex interchangely on a thread about politics it would be a total moot point, but do it in a thread where you are defining sexual orientation based on attraction to one or more genders (and or sexes) then yeah, again its a huge issue.

Not really though.

Vegetarianism is the practice of not eating meat.

Homosexuality is being attracted to the same sex. You don't need to act on that attraction to be a homosexual. In the same way you can be a virgin and be straight.

You can absolutely love meat and still be 100% vegetarian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭rn

So the analogy isn't a 100% match. I find that with analogies.

I guess the key thing for me is when it comes to sexuality it's up to each of us to specify our own labels, not for others to label us.

Yeah my vegetarian analogy is deeply flawed.

Apologies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭iguy

I'm in a long term relationship with a woman, half my lifetime together, we are not married, no children, not by choice(fertility issues), we love each other truly, we have an arrangement, she's always known I was/am into men, I've meet ups with men once a week, sometimes even twice a week, in a neutral location, usually a hotel, the men I meet I ask no questions, unless they tell, some are married or in relationships with women, some are in relationships with men, they identify as whatever they want, without going into too much detail, I just like to get straight down to business, I don't partake kissing or oral stuff, strange thing if I had a choice I'd stick to just women, I can't quite explain it, I'm just into it, a bit of spice and variety in life I suppose, and it's all fun I suppose, I should add I meet up with other women from time to time, yet not necessarily in neutral locations, my girlfriend often meets up with other men, as the saying goes as long as we come home to each other every night we are ok, and as she puts it as long as we are able to keep each other happy in the bedroom department on demand, she said to me if I wasn't able to meet her needs I'd have to give it up and she'd do the same, luckily I still have enough virility that I don't need it use the blue pill,

It works for us, we are happy, we take an active interest in each other lives, we often go away together on short breaks or long holidays, and it's just us no hook ups, she brings me breakfast to bed, I do the same for her, we look out for one another, we take precautions of course, and in all the meet ups with others, I've never fallen for another person, and my partner hasn't either, in a way it's brought us closer together, as a rule we don't discuss our rendezvous, but on occasion we might at the other persons expense, you'd be surprised at the stories we could tell, there was one fella that wanted me to be his best man, however he wanted me to profess my love to him at the wedding reception, he told me that it was his only way out, now I had only met up with this fella once, the girl he was supposed to marry, he'd a child with her and apparently he was only marrying her because it was the right thing to do (pressure on both sides of the family) I obviously didn't do what he asked, but I gave him the best advice I could, I don't know what the outcome was, but it was an unusual situation...

This isn’t true at all. Everyone else on this thread has understood what I meant. It’s completely clear from the responses. You and another poster have tried to pretend you don’t know and drag this into a sex v gender debate which is completely irrelevant to my point.

Here is why it’s irrelevant to my point and it’s unfortunate I have to waste time spelling out what everyone else but you and one other poster seem to instantly understand.

my point was that if a man (for example) is attracted to women, in the vast vast vast majority of cases he is attracted to multiple women in a way that suggests there are some shared characteristics among women that he is attracted to. If there was a rare kind of person who was attracted to only one individual woman and never ever found any other woman remotely attractive, that would suggest that whatever it is about that woman they find attractive, it’s not part of characteristics she shares with other women.

definitons of sex and gender have absolutely no impact on the above argument. This can be easily seen by the fact that I made the above argument without using either the word “sex” or the word “gender”. Because when I used the word “gender” before it was for ease of communication, not because it was an integral part of the argument I was making.

Also, Wibbs who is on the complete opposite end of the debate from me on sex/gender issues as it relates to trans people has also been saying “attracted to a gender”. Because it doesn’t commit him to having certain beliefs about sex and gender any more than it does me.

Tellingly you did not try and start an argument with him about using the phrase. Because you actually dont have a problem with people using this phrase. You are just trying to score a pretty irrelevant point agajnst me.