Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A bank draft question

Options
  • 28-01-2022 8:19pm
    Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭

Hi,

I plan to get a bank draft from AIB to purchase a car from a dealer.

I've never used bank draft before. So I got some questions which might be really silly.

Do I need the exact name of the dealer ship or it won't work?

Could anyone just lodge the amount if they have the bank draft? I guess this kind of tied to the first question.

Does the money go straight out of my bank as soon as I have the bank draft?

Thanks

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭phormium

Yes you need pretty much the exact name as it will need to be lodged to their bank account so best to ask them who they want the draft made out to.

The money leaves your account instantly as you are effectively buying a cheque same as buying a postal order.

Garage might prefer a bank transfer, cheaper for you as there is a charge for bank draft (varies between banks) plus instantly cleared funds from their side.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Yes, you should have the correct name, but that would be an issue on the dealer's side when they go to cash it.

Can anyone lodge it? Technically - yes, a fraudulent person wouldn't need to be a criminal genius to do so. Ultimately, it is just cash in a different, cleaner format.

Yes, the money comes out of you account immediately. You are purchasing the draft (similar to purchasing dollars/sterling etc).

Does the dealer not accept EFT or other method of payment? At least that offers you some protection, while also more convenient for the dealer.