Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

That time the Syrians shot down a Russian military surveillance aircraft killing all on board....

Russia Blamed the Israelies at the time

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

It's curious to see (presumably) Irish people indulging in a Russian nationalist pity party.

Russia had all the chances in the world to be an economic and political center of gravity for the region following the breakup of the USSR. It had the chance to treat former satellite states and USSR constituent republics as peer countries instead of vassals that serve no purpose but to go on bended knee to Moscow. Institutionally, it was taken over by goons and oligarchs, and the economy is energy-sick with little prospect of that changing.

Western institutions, like NATO, but particularly the EU, exist and persist on the principle of pooled sovereignty, shared economic opportunity and are underpinned by each country being seen as peers bound by political consent and a ruleset no matter what their relative size or economic heft.

For former Eastern Bloc countries, it's not even worth asking the question why they would gravitate west. And the only thing that would stop them from gravitating west is military coercion. I wonder would any Estonian person with a brain in their skull seriously give up NATO and EU membership to be fully exposed to Moscow's whims?

Putin still hasn't reconciled himself to the fact that he offers his neighbours a **** deal - second fiddle vassal status tied to an economy that waxes and wanes to oil prices with him controlling all the levers. That's a type of relationship that harbours bad memories for any modern European country in proximity to Russia.

I recall a few years ago getting a taxi at Warsaw airport to take me to my hotel. I didn't have any zloty as I had just landed, and I asked the cabbie does he take euro? Deadpan as you like he turned his head and said to me "I'll take any currency except roubles". Loaded response but tells you a lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,429 ✭✭✭MFPM

You, Gatling and Yurt have quite a method going on here...Read a post, ignore the post reword the post to suit your narrative and then reply. At least you didn't deny your inconsistency....Progress!

Oh, I feel so exposed now! 😏 Oh, when/if you post a 'fact' I'll let you know if I feel 'cornered'.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

There your posts , nothing edited or reworded .

Spew keyboard diarrhea and now your complaining about it ....

Maybe find a different topic

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭shillyshilly

plenty, you just won't admit that it's garbage

did you even read what was in your own link and honestly say that's an unbiased history of Ukraine? need to cop on if you did.

The Ukrainian minister against dis-information clears it up quite well in the video... but as I suspect you flicked through it, didn't understand the English in it, and didn't see any pictures of Zelensky, you're like "aha"!

As lovely as the sentiment is of the rest of your post, with the "boo hoo, no one believes Russia".... you have blatantly glossed over evidence of Russian media doctoring western media for propaganda use internally... as I expected really, you're another poster full of garbage.

I don't normally reply to people who hurl abuse......'thick...'spewing nonsense'...

It's touching that you think this is about Ukraine. Ukraine is a sideshow in a broader game of geopolitics between the US and Russia, it's amusing looking at how little relevance the EU are, despite the 'imminent' invasion on their door step, they weren't even invited to the talks, left scrabbling at the door looking to be let in. This of course is part of a broader strategy by the US to downplay its relationship with Europe as they focus their efforts on AUKUS, with China in mind of course.....Ukraine is a proxy war game, caught in inter-imperial rivalry. Putin has no intention of invading, the US know that, the UK knows that and it's astounding that so many here can't see this...one doesn't need to be a geopolitical expert to realise this or to 'pretend to be edgy and think you see geopolitics in its true light and everyone else cant' as you rather disparagingly put it.

No one is ignoring the history of Russia - there are plenty who have banged that drum here, the majority on this thread are of that ilk, a handful of us have sought to rebalance the discussion and to point to the rank hypocrisy of US imperialism lecturing anyone about rights and democracy.

As for your assertion, 'No one doubts the crimes and lies America and the UK have committed over their history' - this is my issue with people like you - on the face of it this is a reasonable point, but it's utterly disingenuous - 'history'? Right now, yesterday, today tomorrow, next week, the sh!t is being/will be bombed out of Yemen by the Saudi war machine dropping British made munitions and part-financed by the US - where is the hysterics in the media, where's BOJO landing in Yemen, where's Biden calling for an end to the bombing and the killing?....And let's remember if you think Russia has a poor record on human rights, Saudi Arabia won't be topping any Amnesty International pro-human rights list any time soon! While we're here not talking about 'history' let's not mention the US-financed (in part) and tolerance nay support for the IDF destroying Palestinian Settlements and mass killing.....Shall we go on?

I've no time for Putin, I've no time for the oligarchs and the other gangsters that feasted on the carcass of the collapsed states in Russia and Eastern Europe - though they weren't alone, many from the West encouraged by their governments went and screwed those states financially...A certain D Ganly and Latvia springs to mind...but that's another discussion for another day..

Post edited by MFPM on

• Registered Users Posts: 665 ✭✭✭goldenmick

I find this is perhaps the most irritating aspect of Boards... grown men showing themselves to be incapable of a civilised discussion, resorting instead to hurling insults toward each other in defence of their stance/opinion on a matter. Page upon page of the same old diatribe.... which seems to be a common theme in so many threads on here now.

In this instance none of us are mind readers no matter how many clues we think we are in possession of. Likewise none of us can presume the thoughts or potential actions of a devious man like Putin. The same applies to Biden.

You'll save yourselves a whole lot of frustration and a sore keypad finger by simply waiting to see if something does happen. Then you've actually got something tangible to talk (argue) about.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,434 ✭✭✭jmreire

Method???Honestly. I have not got a clue as to what you are talking about...now if you would care to show some of these posts ? And as for denying something or not? what's that all about...are you getting some posts / posters mixed up or what???

But then @MFPM can't have their **** over their self proclaimed superior geopolitics and Putin topless fishing picture

@Harryd225 our resident disinformation specialist can't dodge any tangible evidence of the current Russian disinformation campaign, and spew a **** nappy full of Vietnam and Iraq facts pulled from wikipedia

Or @BluePlanet taking as gospel an anti western media site, with it's own biases, all because it's based in the US so that gives it credibility...

I think you response sums up the point he was making...

• Registered Users Posts: 559 ✭✭✭BurgerFace

Thanks for that great analysis.

There will be no Russian invasion of The Ukraine. Why? Because they couldn't give a sh1t. 8 years ago we had idiots claiming that the Russians were about to gobble up Latvia, Estonia and Lithuania. Did it happen? NO because it's a farce.

We have cretins who think that the Russkis are about to overrun us and force us to eat borscht instead of Knorr thick country vegetable.

We have Orla Guerin in a fcuking trench with a helmet on her (lads in the background just smoking).

It's quite entertaining to see idiots like BOJO screaching "STOP, Putin" To get away from his blowjob parties in the garden of Number 10.

HAHA

• Registered Users Posts: 515 ✭✭✭TheTruth89

You wouldn't know a fact if it jumped out of the screen and slapped you in the face! you ve been destroyed by facts on here by multiple posters and yet your still rambling on absolute drivel about western imperialism and poor victim russia that isnt planning on invading the Ukraine. Did i miss any?

Its painfully obvious to everyone on here that you are just here to spread disinformation and false narratives and as such all your comments should be disregarded.

It's also funny that my paycheques from Moscow are not in the mail anymore...seeing as I am a "putinbot" and on the Russian payroll purely for laughing at the morons who think this is even worth contemplation.

But I'll sit back without my roubles and look with dismay at dopes

Right now we can already see crap shifting back to Myanmar.

Another week and the dildoes who dreamt up this Ukraine sh1t will be sputtering about how they have secured a peace, or some other such gibberish.

Priceless

What a silly pointless post, making up stuff because you're incapable to responding to anything I've actually said.

Indicate one post where I've painted Russia as a 'poor victim', just one...I'll be right here waiting!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭Harryd225

To be fair, as someone impartial in this argument, he was saying what you and a couple of the other posters on here are actually doing to him you are constantly refusing to answer his questions and then make absurd claims about him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭Harryd225

These people are so brainwashed and they are completely convinced of an invasion they are unable to take a sober look at the situation and have fell victim the panic the Ukrainian president accused the US of creating.

Realistically the situation goes like this, that Russia are putting all those troops on the border as a warning to Ukraine over their strengthening ties with the USA, this does not mean an invasion is imminent, the situation would have to escalate severely for that to happen. The same thing would and has happened if Russia was getting too close to one of America's neighbors, America would feel threatened and would also react in the same way.

I along with the Ukrainian president don't believe the American narrative that the troops are there for an "imminent invasion" and that Russia is "currently planning a false flag attack against their own people as a pretext for the invasion".

Try and put yourself in Russias shoes for just a moment, If America was building increasingly close ties with Mexico, ties which would very much strengthen the Russian position if a future world conflict broke out, then the United States would rightfully so want this to stop for their own security. They would not let Russia strengthen it's security at the cost of their own.

I patiently wait now to be labelled a conspiracy theorist who has fell victim to Russia propaganda. I am simply taking a realistic non Hollywood look at the situation.

130000 troops with the threats of invasion by the people that placed em there is fairly convincing for most logical people.

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭Derkaiser93

I'd tend to agree with most of that. Im not saying anyone is the "good" guys, bar Ukraine who are the victims. And has nothing to do with Iraq as I said earlier. US dont care about Russia, theyre much more focused on China. But they want a secure and stable Europe. The Biden administration is determined to project American power again in the Europe and they want a strong and far reaching Nato. But that doesn't take away what Russia are currently doing and have done in and around and within Ukraine for the last number of years. I dont agree with it and nor do I believe that the west are whipping up hysteria as some posters on here do. America like all global superpowers and empires throughout history will do what benefits their interests most geopolitically and in this instance those interests align with protecting Ukraine, so by proxy I stand by and agree with the wests approach and take on the issue. It is clear who the aggressors are in this situation.

For all the U.S faults, their military industrial complex and corporate American greed I would rather live in a world of their hegemony rather than the oppressive, dystopian, big brother, human rights abusers that are Russia and China. Its a low bar but there you go.

America and NATO aren't going to do SH!T...and why? Because they made up this fcuking pantomime. They are like a couple of fat slobs in the schoolyard who are trying to muscle in on every kid and when they learn that one kid has learned karate or has taken boxing lessons they go screaming to everyone that the kid is about to beat up everyone.

Even the Germans are embarrassed at America and the UK's bullsh1t. But..I'm enjoying it. it's laughable. The BBC shows that Crimea is contestable on the map. Contestable by whom? They don't show Taiwan as being "contestable"

Have another prosecco party Boris.

The fools who started this crap will continue until they ask Putin behind the scenes "Listen mate....we aren't good at surrendering...so any chance you can agree to some nonsense that let's us save face?"

There is no doubt America would react negatively to Mexico or Canada strengthening ties but none of that matters here cause it is not happening. Ukraine is moving towards the west because Russia has already invaded it once and has been trying to destabilize the region for years now and they are already fighting a war within their own borders. If i were Ukraine I would be pivoting for EU and NATO membership too.

I agree that I don't believe an invasion is imminent in the sense that I don't think they will or could invade tomorrow, so that is fair enough. But you keep ignoring the fact that Russia has already invaded before in 2014 and last month Putin said Russia will take "appropriate retaliatory military-technical measures" if necessary. So tell me, when NATO and the US keep telling Putin that a veto of Ukraine's NATO membership and a return to 1997 battle lines is a no go (and they will because they're ludicrous demands) what is Putin going to do then? Shake hands, shrug his shoulders and turn his tanks all the way back to Siberia??

eh wrong. I think you'll find all of Europe is on the same page here, including the French and Italians and the eastern Europeans like Poland. Ukrainian citizens themselves are taking up arms. Germany are too concerned about their gas supplies and nord stream pipeline and Russia know it. This "pantomime" as you call it exists solely in your head.

Indeed, but back to one post where I painted Russia as a 'poor victim'? Off you go.