Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Yet another young woman attacked by a male. When will it end?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,401 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

To be fair, male on female violence has always "been a thing" too

• Registered Users Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Thank god the gullible masses have another juicy bite that will keep them occupied for a few days. You got to love some reheated hysteria.

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭helto

Why do so many men get so offended by pointing out facts like the huge majority of violent assaults and rapes are committed by men? We should all be against these scumbag men. We should be doing everything possible to stop these from attacking others. Men or women. There's a distinct smell of incel of threads like this. Women hating incels are growing in numbers. It's a very dangerous movement. We'll have more boys like the 13 year old in Cork or the 13 year olds in Kildare if the incel scumbags are let spread their anti women rhetoric.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,986 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

I spotted virgin media news reporting live from St Stephens Green this evening , another alleged attack and they went further, reporting on 2 , one punch attacks in Dublin.

I'm at a loss when any main media outlet reported a one punch attack in Dublin City, no details of Color, Ethnicity, Gender, Accent of the assailants released 🙄

No doubt Joe Duffy will be on the case tomorrow)

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

There's a distinct smell of incel of threads like this

That's rubbish and you know it. Unless you believe that everyone should just shut up and accept whatever is told to them by the media, or by female posters/speakers. In which case, you're just as bad as incels, and proof that their twisted beliefs have some basis in reality. (which I genuinely hope is not the case)

What men have been offended by the facts regarding male violence? Nobody has been offended by those facts on the thread. It's the interpretation and linking of those facts to other opinions that has gotten many men to be offended. Just as your attempt to connect incels with "men" is offensive.. it's more of the same crappy narrative that seeks to make men collectively responsible for what other men do. Unless you're not attempting to link Incels and scummy men, to the male posters to this thread? It would appear that's exactly what you've just sought to do though...

We should be seeking to minimize violence in society, whether that's committed by men, women or minors of any gender.. not as a platform for pushing opinions against particular genders.

• Registered Users Posts: 805 ✭✭✭CreadanLady

I hear this "national service" thing all the time. And it is pure and utter rubbish? The problems with it are this.....

1. The Defence Forces are, well, the Defence Forces. They are not a creche or reform school for delinquent youths, nor are they a rehabilitation service for those with mental or behavioural issues, nor should they be. (The defence forces would, short staffed and small as they are, would strongly oppose such an idea anyway).
    2. For those who's problem behaviours stem from any sort of inherent behavoural condition, or some sort of mental health condition such as pychopathy or low intelligence, or any other number of possible causes, 2 years in a barracks being roared at by won't make a blind bit of difference to them. if anything, it might make them even more angry and dangerous.
    3. For aforementioned individuals who have behaviour and empathy issues, difficulties with authority, and so on... Training them in use of small arms, and probably hand to hand combat? Is that really a good idea?

National service is an outdated idea, often rolled out by elderly British people. They had national service because of the wars they were involved in.

Some eastern european countries have national service type things, but that is largely a hangover from the Cold War, and they are still somewhat in more risky situations militarily than western side of europe and therefore there is a reason to have a population with some military training.

Using the army as a hard nose social services and mental health service is not the answer. It is ridiculous.

The MFV Creadan Lady is a mussel dredger from Dunmore East.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,577 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Is this not a thread about women being attacked the last few weeks in the country?

Why are the last 2 pages mostly about male on male violence?

I agree with Klaz we should be looking at violence as a whole in this country and the entirely outdated justice system that makes these vermin get away with crimes, over and over again...

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭helto

Another thread about women getting attacked turns into men crying about how they're the real victims. This victim mentality is straight from the incel handbook. It has led to multiple attacks against women in real life and we don't know how many of this latest spout of incidents are related to the movement.

What men have claimed that they are the "real" victims? The only posters I've seen claiming that are the ones complaining about men doing it.

And we have zero evidence that Incels or their beliefs have anything to do with these incidents.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Theres something seriously fucked up with this age cohort at the minute - 13-16 year old teens seem to have gone nuts - you only have to look at the news to see how messed up they are.

Id one of these little **** threaten to come to the house and beat me up because I told him not to be bullying on my 12 year old daughter - I took her phone off her one night when he was bullying her over some social media app - when I answered it and told him to stop he said he was calling over for a "knock"(I spoke about the bullying in another thread)

Thing is I lay a hand on him and Im arrested yet he instigated it.

They have zero respect for adults anymore - zero respect for the garda and honestly zero respect for any type of authority.

Growing up there were kind of rules we adhered to - you never disrespect an adult, garda or especially a woman - thats all gone now from what I can see. These lads have no issues beating up teenage girls...thats messed up stuff altogether.

They all seem to think they are hard men - toxic masculinity at its worst in my opinion.

In much the same way people get offended when facts about Islam are pointed out.

And if people were saying that all Muslims had to do better, it would be seen as offensive to blame or attribute guilt to the innocent for the actions of the guilty. (And rightly so)

If you changed the word "men" to "Muslims" or "travellers" and spoke about the disproportionate violent crimes or terrorism or treatment of women, would you be so willing to publicly declare that you didn't understand why so many of them were offended?

Most, if not all, men here are against the scumbag men. We don't appreciate being pumped in with them or told we are in any way responsible for their actions.

• Registered Users Posts: 332 ✭✭MarkEadie

Agreed. Where is the empathy for the women being attacked? Very incel vibes in some posts.

How do you know the male doesn't identify as a female? Isn't that the world we live in today.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,401 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Which ones specifically give you the vibes?

Quote them there so we can exhibit them.

Mine was here mark.

Where was yours? Or are you just here to shite on about incels or bang on about how racist/misogynistic everyone else is?

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭pauly58

If a child of thirteen can commit just an attack, something is seriously wrong. Posters ask what can be done : birch them.

I knew a guy, Rob was a tough fella as well, he got involved in a pub fight on the Isle of Man, he didn't start it but none the less he was arrested & sentenced to be birched. He told me, believe me, you wouldn't ever do anything if there was a chance you might get that again.

Give these scumbags ten strokes & if you get into trouble again then you'll get double.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,370 ✭✭✭AyeGer

True many don’t respect the law and why would they when very few of them get in trouble for anything they do. It’s a sad state of affairs. When I was at schools the worst behaved were often expelled. Now I think it is difficult to expel anyone from school. I don’t know if it’s connected to the anger and bravado these teens have but a lot of teens now are into body building, many taking creatine, protein supplements and even steroids. None of that would help either.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,971 ✭✭✭Paulzx

You've used the key word here. Respect. It just seems to be lost on certain portions of our population. Respect for their teachers. Respect for the law. Respect for their neighbours. Respect for their parents. Respect for strangers going about their business.

When you have no respect for yourself you certainly don't worry about respecting others.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,598 ✭✭✭jackboy

You are right but I wasn’t talking about army, there are lots of other options. An able bodied young person should not be allowed to do nothing after finishing school for life. Only a small minority of misbehaving youths have mental health issues. Remember lots of these end up being parents in their 20s. Behaviour issues have to be tackled fast. I don’t see any other solution. Mental health services will not solve this.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,685 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I'm curious... what do you expect the vast majority of men, who don't behave this way, and don't socialise with such nutters, to do about it?

You asked this earlier in the thread. And then we had this post.

Now, do you think referring to an incident in which a woman was attacked in a somewhat jocular manner is appropriate? Thousands of women leave work or head home after a night out or any other normal activity and one of their primary thoughts when doing so is about their own safety.

And not every man who insults them or attacks them was born that way, but maybe seeing a tolerance of the belittling of womens fears led them to think they weren't actually doing something all that bad by commenting on their appearance, or whatever else they might do but then when the woman responds negatively, they may get angry an snap.

There's also another way to think about how men can act in a way to help the situation. Woman see the conversation going on around them and see the way their concerns are undermined if not outright dismissed. What do you think that does to how they think about things? Do you think they feel safer, I certainly don't think so.

Maybe you or the others who are adamant that they can not do anything to change the culture that exists could act by calling out such comments as those above when you see them instead of ignoring them and getting defensive because someone used a term you didn't like.

An Irish President, who as part of his/her campaign promises, offers full pardons to good citizens with no previous convictions, who batter the lard out of known scumbags, is whats needed. The feral scum would become the hunted on day 1 of that presidency.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,951 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I’m curious OP why you refer to women as women and men as males?

For those who are outraged that a conversation about a serious incident once again includes conversations about society (and in this case, men) in general.

This picture may explain the reason the conversation moves beyond just the narrow focus of an individual case.

While understandably, the incidents at the top get the most attention, they are built on the occurrence of less serious but more frequent events. And in many cases a single engagement escalates through these phases.

I'm a man I don't have to worry about these issues at all really, but for many women they experience them either directly or indirectly on a frequent basis and a key part of why they are so concerned, in my view, is that they don't know if a singular experience or event will stop at that level or escalate beyond it and so they have to deal with that fear of 'where is this going to go'.

Wouldn't any man be similarly concerned if they were likely to be exposed to uncomfortable situations which could escalate and more importantly, which they feel very vulnerable within.

A lot of the time around this conversation, I think there is a focus from men annoyed that there even is a conversation who only point at the top and say that there's nothing they can do about it. Aside from the fear of escalation that women have, there is also the real case of an individual who is committing such acts escalating through the layers over time and so cutting out the acts at the lower end may in fact ultimately mean there are less occurrences of acts at the higher end.

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

So what is your solution? Consent classes? Social workers? Sitting down and telling these boys & men "Now you need to start thinking about stopping this violence business"

I think that it is quite a leap to outright accuse a poster here of contributing to women feeling unsafe and empowering men to go and assault women.

That's not on in fairness chief.

I didn't do that.

I pointed out that women who read that post will not feel that their concerns are being taken seriously.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,417 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

When I was decked at random in the city centre I don't recall there being much said about it in the media

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭Mwengwe

Yeah, I don't think much thought goes into takes like that at all.