Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that make you happy - Part 3 - The Happyning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,605 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I’m going shopping and going to treat myself to an Eddie rockets on the way back as I can’t be bothered cooking..and I haven’t had an eddies in ages,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,209 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

Moustache waxes.

Chainsaws.

Batch Loaf.

A big satisfying ripping fart.

It's a hard one to explain and not really a TH but an interaction I had with someone on site today who was here to do a job for us.

He was telling me about how his mother is dying of cancer mixed with a lot of humour and humility and we had a good oul chat as we always do when he's here, usually only once a year.

As he drove away I just thought there goes another good one. We all have varying struggles to deal with in our lives but the spirit of some people and the way they just get on with it with humour and looking on the positives it reminds of the human spirit and all the good eggs that are out there, quietly going about their day being nice to the people they interact with and dealing with their struggle in an admirable way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,334 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Watching utv and the news about the protocol and the sea border. The unionist on talking about imports from the uk , not realising that he's supposedly part of the uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,141 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Daughter arrived in from UK . It all seems easier now , just come with no fuss of PCR. no worry about last minute changes . Just come and go as she used to with ease

Last Monday I went to Boots to buy a concealer, it was 18e but there was 10e off Max Factor if you spent over 20e so I picked up a mascara for about 14e that I genuinely needed anyway, when I went to pay the girl said I was also entitled to buy one get on half price, I also opted for the donate 1e to cancer research, just looking now at my online banking and in total I spent 15e, no idea how it all tallied up but I think I got a great deal. Slight TA ,I know I should check what I actually pay but I'm inclined to just tap and go .😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

Planning a mini makeover for my kitchen. Nothing mad, just some painting and new soft furnishings. Some stuff I was planning to get is now on half price. Very TH.

The weekend is nigh 🙌

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,942 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Sitting at the kitchen table with a coffee , watching the birds on the table outside, sun shining, plants starting to poke their heads out from the soil , it's definitely the things that bring happiness ☺

• Registered Users Posts: 4,145 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Dog jumps on my bed as usual this am, he's been out for a wee and his coat is wet.

After a few mins he wakes me up to let him in under the quilt, he settles himself at my feet and starts cleaning his toe beans, unusually I didn't my feet and I could feel how quickly he went from icy cold to warm enough to snooze on the bed as usual.

Strangely soothing.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

managed to assemble my new floor lamp which is actually even nicer in reality then the photos on the retailers website…

i was worried that it might have looked a bit cheap in reality but I guess we are used to having the advertisement not matching the actual real life product in a lot of cases but in this case it’s perfect.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,950 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

A Skype chat of over an hour with a relative who's more like a very close friend, whom I haven't seen in person in over two years.

Fleetwood Mac night on BBC2. It's been a Fleetwood Mac takeover since 8.30 and it's due to continue til 12.45. 🙌

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

"Soft rock King's and cocaine enthusiasts Fleetwood Mac"

Just browsing social media and some random funny along the lines of….

” nahhh rip.ie fûcked up, should have called it mournhub “

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,178 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I've convinced myself I'm winning tonight's euromillions.

I've just come up with a new line of numbers which I'm calling the sacred numbers. These ones won't let me down. For a few hours at least I can look forward to winning the lottery 🙏🙌🙌😆

• Registered Users Posts: 6,907 ✭✭✭sporina

Tea and Rich Tea Biscuits - thats all - but man these 2 things together make me happy

We has a lot of paper shopping bags horded over the lockdown, charities wouldn't take them because of a clash of quarantine and my working hours.

Today I was able to hand them in, they were so happy to get them. The lady who took them was thrilled and I have more space in the spare room.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,950 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

It's true. The Lotto gods have failed me yet again but I fear not as I have a very cunning plan.

The young fella who served me in dunnes this evening. What a legend.

The same fella served me a couple of weeks ago and he's thoroughly sound with the gift of the gab.

Anyhoo I digress. I was waiting in the queue, at the end of an aisle, next in line for the til but a bit back from the person loading their stuff on the checkout, as it's been since covid rules came in. Along comes the young fella to open up the til next to it for me and along swans a woman in her 50's I'd say and casually strolls up with her loaf of brown bread to the til he's opening, doing that pretend thing certain people do of oh I'm not aware there's a queue. I didn't give a sh!te and I would have let her ahead anyways with one item like that and the young fella served her aswell probably thinking yeah it's just one item I'll let her off but next thing from behind me a woman in her 60's I'd say casually overtakes me and strolls up to the newly opened til with a full trolley.

The woman loading her stuff on the checkout directly in front of me turned round and looked at me and nodded as if to say did you see yer one? I just smiled back ( as much as you can with a mask on ) and gave her the nod as if to say you'll have that. I actually found it hilarious really and I was in no mad rush so wouldn't have called her out on it and in general I wouldn't be the type to be bothered proving a point with someone over something small like that but when the young fella was finished serving the first woman, he says to her, "that man was ahead of you". She turns around and looks at me and the brass neck doesn't end there, she goes, "would you like to go ahead of me?", with a look of, you better not say yes.

"Yeah" says I, "I was ahead of you" and on I go, up to the till with my trolley and brass neck lady retreats to take her place in the queue. Then the young fella proceeds, with her in earshot, "the cheek of her! And if the shoe was on the other foot there'd be war!". 🤭

He then proceeded to tell me how covid rules and his fellow students being cooped up in houses and not out socialising, have led to a lot of them losing some social skills from not going out and how they were out last week and his mate has lost the ability to talk to a woman and was like "what's your favourite colour?" 😆

Yeah that young fella is a legend. He gave me a good laugh. I hope life is good to him.

tldr, jaysus it's like a bloody novella 🤭

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,192 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Booked the week after next off. I'd ideally go abroad but I refuse to take a covid test. That said, the idea of my first holiday in 2 years is exciting if nothing else.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

Th that cat kicking soccer "player" got hit with the max fine he could be for it!

*The soccer player who was so gentle taking that injured cat off the pitch had me on the edge of tears, also, its was obvious he was used to cats.

Post edited by Bredabe on

Regarding Q skipping… it’s been a thing in France for forever…especially in McDonald’s and fast food restaurants, kiosks and indeed bars… people go up and stare at the menu above the till then just wait nervously around to see if anything will be said to them before trying to order next…hopefully it’s not becoming a thing here but people Q skipping in traffic here now is at brutal levels….

Tomorrow is glorious glorious Friday. 🙌🙌🙌

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,334 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Good luck, but that's mine.

I was convinced I was going to win euromillions ( when your one in Limerick won it) only to get a phone call to tell me I'd won an all expenses trip to China. I sounded like the most ungrateful prick as my euromillions dream went up in smoke 😡