Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does anyone else notice service workers are disproportiantely rude to them?

Observing Tens of thousands of comments from a prolific poster with off hand insults peppered throughout is not an ad hominem attack on that Poster.

I'm in Dublin since 1993, and I have always had extremely good interactions with 'service providers ' which I'm taking to mean retail staff & customer service staff.

I often think fair play to them, cos some of the sh1t they put up with would have me crawling across the counter in attack mode!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,689 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Customer service isn’t what it was 10-15 years ago but I don’t find people really rude…. There are a lot of absolutely lazy useless knobs though…

when I worked in supermarket retail in my teens if someone said.. “ sorry I can’t find the packed lunch meats, can you help ? “..

my reaction would be to bring said customer to them, takes 60 seconds there and back. “ yes I’ll show you, follow me “

now…last year this happened,..I was looking for Hersheys ice cream sauce / syrup… mmmm

” yeah, eh third, aisle over, no sorry, second, and eh yeah, up the top and if you can’t find it just ask someone, yeah “

im asking you ya poxy fûckin dunderhead clown, show me what I’m looking for ffs… ! take 60 seconds out of you x hour shift to assist a customer ! 🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,036 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Hershey's? Should have shown you the fecking door! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,036 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Staffing level also isn’t what it was 15-20 years ago. Since Aldi & Lidl started running an entire shop with far fewer people, the others have followed - M&S and some high end SuperValus maybe being the only exceptions.

That 60 seconds out of their shift is down to what their store manager will allow them to do and they’re not taking it out of their shift. They’re doing floor assistance instead of whatever it is they’re supposed to be doing - usually shelf stacking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭NedsNotDead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭DullSpark

It was all the workers in one particular shop but I shouldn't really paint them all with the same brush. Had a one serving us down here last night for dinner and there wasn't any hello or thank you out of her either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭anewme

He legged it as he thought you were Chad looking for Hersheys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

The less they say to me the better tbh. I pay and say thanks and that's it I don't expect anything else.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I find almost all retail and service workers here to be friendly and polite, the others are indifferent rather than rude.

The only negative I would say is that staff in larger chains don't always have the expertise to help, whereas staff in a local independent shop will know their stuff and be able to advise. That's the fault of the employer and their race to the bottom though, hiring younger, inexperienced staff to cut back on wages.

As an aside, I'm in knots at Wibbs' new fan. 😂😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,232 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I've had so many jobs in retail over the years. Most people just want to go in, do their shop and get out. So most people are seemingly 'alright' - thing is tho, the second someone is not getting suited or not getting their way that's when people become scum to staff.

It can be over anything like closing your till. Not opening another till. An item being out of stock. Store is closing so you can't let anyone else in. Dumb little things. But its always the same - someone not getting their way and then they become jerks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭Heckler

Part of my job involves dealing with the public buying stuff out of a warehouse, mostly tradesmen.

I approach them with a Hey how're ya doing kinda of thing. If they then stick a sales docket in my face without saying a word then thats the treatment they get back.

I'll process the order and get it to them. No more no less. Which I'm sure is fine by them but I won't be killing myself to get them sorted next time.

Meet plenty of nice folks during the week but some are pig ignorant.

A tip to some. You want good service ? Don't be an asshole.

We have a lot of repeat customers. Guess who gets looked after faster. It ain't the assholes.

A please and thank you cost nothing and goes a long way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,119 ✭✭✭sporina

On the contrary OP - since the recession, I have noted on many many occasions how well "service workers" do their jobs to such a high standard.. I could give you several examples.. I buy pressies for some at xmas, have written reviews on line for some - etc..

Q - and no judgement - but have you examined your own role in the interaction? you don't need to answer on here - but mayb just think about it.. don't look on it as a flaw if you find your at fault - just something to improve on..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

Wtf are Normie's and NPC's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭AyeGer

I'm a the same I'm polite but just want to get it over with. If I'm in good form or they are in good form ill interact and have a laugh. Mainly i just want to pay and get out though. Especially if there are people behind me in the queue.

In my local shop some of the older women, normally in their 60's and 70's interact a bit too much with the staff. Chatting away while rummaging for coins to pay, then half way through asking for a scratchcard, more rummaging for money, then can i get few bin labels aswell please, then more chatting etc. As if there is nobody behind them in the queue. Drives me bananas.

Post edited by AyeGer on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭Heckler

My local supervalu is exactly this. I normally shop in Aldi for the speed. The staff there would fire through 3 trolley loads while SV were sorting a basket.

That said I appreciate that for many elderly and others this may be their only outlet and social interaction so no I just figure whats 5 minutes of my time when it might mean a lot to the person in front.

The one that boils my piss is in aldi/lidl when they have clear signs saying pack behind at the shelves but nah I'll pack in my bags at the till. And worse, the idiots who don't bother with a trolley or basket and have so much **** at the till they gather it all up in their arms then when they have to pay they have to put it all down again to fish out their cash/card and pick it all up again. Bring a bag you **** **** idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭BaywatchHQ

They are usually rude to me as they can smell my autism, humans sniff out illness like rats do. I make them uncomfortable with my quiet awkward voice and lack of eye contact and they take it as an insult and they don't put on the fake friendliness like what they do to the other people in the queue. I try to only use shops with self checkouts now.

If you think about it, they should be friendly to everyone as they are paid to do that, even if they are serving an awkward person. They are being unprofessional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,084 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Personally I've not experienced any rudeness from service staff, infact I'd have to say given the stress levels working in a retail environment over the past 2 years, it's quite remarkable how patient many I've seen have been. Customers on the other hand have acted appalling and I've witnessed some extraordinary behaviour, including assaults, astonishing verbal abuse and on more than one occasion Garda interventions and I might add, to deal with people from all walks of life.

Pre pandemic, I decided to try something completely different and worked in the mobile phone retail sector, had previously spent almost 30 years in hospitality. Over a number of years, I couldn't begin to describe the Shyte Mobile phone staff (networks) have to listen too and put up with. Working in hospitality, long hours, extreme pressure was a walk in the park compared to working in retail.

On the medical side of service, I had two very distinct experiences. Broken leg, right at the start of the Pandemic. Ambulance crew, amazing, Hospital (Midlands) essentially empty, had to be patched up, Trauma Team amazing and I had to make my way to a Dublin private hospital for operation at a time when private hospitals doing general Surgeries. Prior to discharge, staff change over and my god a Nurse from hell arrived, won't go into what happened but a formal complaint followed, upheld and written apology issued. Private hospital team we're brilliant, operation done and discharged to recoupriate.

Finally, late November 2021, emergency admission (Midlands hospital again) 8 day stay and honestly I couldn't praise the entire staff enough, despite the obvious pressure they were under and anticipated Covid Surge.

So, I'll simply say, wether it be frontline, Retail, Service staff, of course there'll be an occasional bad moments, experiences but it's my experience generally Customers and service users, perhaps need to look in the Mirror, occasionally.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

It ain’t good, but that’s not to say they are haphaphapless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Green Finers

Annoying as hell when they grab the receipt and bin it without even asking if you want it whilst talking to their friend behind the till.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

This kinda thing can't be easy at all if you're on the spectrum. Like you say people will generally spot it. Humans are a social animal and used to subtle and overt social mechanisms of interaction that are innate and learned. Small talk a good example. It's not really fake friendliness. It's kinda like the irritating handshaking noises on old style dial up modems. 😁 The seeming inanities of stuff about the weather is basically translating as "I'm safe to deal with" "Oh me too" Now to business. If you're anyway lacking there it must be a minefield dealing with people you don't know and who know you, and it doesn't have to be by much either, plenty of people not on the spectrum can be and feel awkward with that stuff too. It can vary a lot by culture too, which adds to it. You'd probably find a more introverted culture like Sweden more easy to navigate than a more extraverted culture like Italy. Ireland is very much based on a small talk hail fellow, well met type interaction. I'd even reckon it's one of the most like that on the planet.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,232 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Having spent too many hours of my life working a till in retail, I can safely say myself and the vast others I worked with do not care if you have autism, socially awkward or anything. The process and spiel is the same.... "Hey how's it going, scan scan scan, that's X amount please. Cash or card?"

Some customers have a chat with you (which is fine) and others don't say anything. Which is also fine. It's all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

It's very good for the most part but Eastern European staff are lacking in this area, they just don't do service with a smile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

It's down to you and how you process these interactions

I just evaluate them after and decide blame or fault for the situation without getting emotionally invested .I move on quickly then and put it behind me.

Took me a while to get that point in my lfe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

Thanks Willy Wonka, remind me never to ask you for directions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,977 ✭✭✭growleaves

A 'normie' is a normal person with mainstream cultural attitudes, habits and behaviours.

An 'NPC' is a non-player character. In computer games these are minor pre-programmed characters who rattle off a script when the main player characters encounter them. In internet slang an NPC is someone who is robotic in their social attitudes and behaviours, and this is used as an insult - especially towards someone who repeats political slogans or unoriginal 'talking points' automatically. But it can also be someone who is minor and irrelevant to your life who you are interacting with briefly.

So to someone who defines themselves as a weird outsider, normies and NPCs are basically ordinary, well-adjusted people.

This is a sort of a pride thing since the self-defined weird person using this slang is suggesting they're more original and thoughtful, and definitely edgier, than 'normal people'. But this high self-esteem can't be translated into social success (so they believe).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,910 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

if I find rude staff in a place I usually don't go in again. There is a shop near me and the whole place is a mess where they just dump the boxes on the shelves and rip open the boxes. The staff are incredibly slow and really friendly with the regulars but if you aren't a regular they just have conversations among themselves while dealing with you. They forget what you ask for due to these conversations so you have to repeat what you want 3 -4 times. I just avoid going there but I am sure the regulars love the place, mostly very elderly people so a social interaction for them. The staff are both rude and friendly depending on who you are.

I do find it rude for staff to have conversations with each other while serving customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭crossman47

That's me too but my OH comes back complaining someone was rude if they just did their job but didn't smile or engage in any chat. Shes been known to ask them "Having a bad day, are we?". I can't persuade her that chatting is not part of the job spec.