Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Canada Convoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

I'd highly doubt the majority of Canadians would want the military to turn on it's own citizens. A sample poll of Canadians does not speak for the country - Jesus, you'd think after Brexit, Trump, Nice 1, Lisbon 1, Peter Casey, etc... that the media and the Neolibs would finally see the light that their polls are usually total shyte, but alas they cling to them as some sort of justification for their anti-democratic stances.

Stances that:

• Upend the my body my choice through vaccine mandates
    • Seek to have military intervene against their own citizens - but by heck they'll protest over Palestine, Iran/Iraq, Afghanistan, etc... if the military is sent to intervene there
    • Support the freeze bank on accounts of ordinary citizens

I could go on listing other double-standards, there's no shortage of hypocrisy and two-faced stances displayed by the self-appointed "liberals". Shame on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,487 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

The freezing of bank accounts is an interesting one. Surely having revenue services (whatever they are called in Canada) investigate the incomes of the protesters would be a better route. I’m sure that some are protesting while living off savings, but not all. Where is their income coming from, how can they afford to effectively quit work, and is the income legally obtained?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,470 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

I don't know how invoking Peter Casey is evidence to the contrary.

But if you have anything more tangible I'll gladly take a look?

Re the military, I have already gave an opinion on that.

Too much risk. Reports are some of them are armed, it would just take one simpleton to open fire and lets just say it wouldn't end well

As we saw from developments yesterday that the security reports were spot on.

Also did truckers or anyone block ports of entry and bridges because of Iraq?

I must have missed that.

This is the perspective that we all need while looking at the convoy situation. I get that Trudeau doesn't want to be seen to cave in to their demands, but the direction of travel is towards Covid being over and he will eventually have to drop all the restrictions in line with the rest of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭HerrKapitan

By that logic, are you saying the rock band at the concert at the Bataclan are responsible for the terrorists bringing weapons and explosives. If there wasn't a concert, there wouldn't have been an attack on the concert.

I wouldn't feel comfortable with my police force shaking hands with such a threat. But maybe they felt comfortable that it wasn't the same people involved.

I mean some people are comparing them to domestic terrorists. They have bouncy castles for kids for crying out loud. Monsters!

No, I am saying that anti-vaxxers often come from the extremities of society, and the potential to attract armed individuals is much higher than more inclusive and peaceful protests. It should have been anticipated by organisers, but as they want to stick it to the man, it probably was and they didn’t care.

However, the fact that they came armed and handed them up without using them shows them for the eejits that they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Meanwhile in Ireland, the normality that those truckers wanted returned is already in place and society is doing just fine

Do the people on boards who despise those truckers ever pause to think about that? That perhaps you're just a wee bit mental and easily lead?

Probably not. 😂

Pretty sure there is vaccine or testing mandates still in place if you want to travel to a vast number of countries from Ireland including to North America.

What is a wee bit mental though is that the mandate for truckers could end now but they still won't be allowed travel across the border.

Seems like they haven't really thought it through, have they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭HerrKapitan

Ah OK, my mistake.

I was commenting on the anti-mandate protests.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭BruteStock

We already saw Dustin jump at the opportunity to tarnish the convoy of peace and love because of that one confederate flag waving stool pigeon. Who knows if that seizure of guns is accurate. I haven't seen any arrests made.

Then you have covid restriction free people in here cheering for military forced clampdown. I'm just glad these types and ther authoritarianism exist mostly within the confines of the internet.

In the real world people have seen the mask fall clean off Justins horrible reptilian face!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,335 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

I’m vaccinated but don’t think it should be forced on people.

What I find strange is that people who are pro choice on abortion will shout about body independence but think it’s ok to force this on others. At least be consistent.

I don’t want to be drawn into these decisions people make. Ask your doctor.

What I find strange is that people who are pro choice on abortion will shout about body independence but think it’s ok to force this on others. At least be consistent.

I imagine the sorts in North America who would be anti vaccine would also be staunchly anti abortion.

You are not going to get consistency in incoherence.

We won't even go near the false equivalence of abortion versus a deadly pathogen that can overwhelm hospital systems.

What an absurd train of thought.

Should a niteclub owner shut their doors in case their venue attracts some creeps with stashes of Rohypnol in their pockets looking to harm and rape victims?

The problem here is, there is a whiff of centre-right politics off this anti-mandate protest event and that just can't be left sit with some - it has to be tarnished with derogatory commentary.

there is a whiff of centre-right politics off this anti-mandate protest

Really, I thought a tenet of the centre-right was the upholding of law and order?

When did that change, did I miss a memo?

With a right to peaceful protest. You're confusing centre right with far right and far left.

Were the gun owners going to close the bridge if there wasn’t a protest? No hint that it was a possibility. However, as specified. Anti-vaxxers held the protest and they are often, and attract the extremes of society. Who goes to a peaceful protest with a weapon? It should have been predicted by the organisers….but they probably didn’t care.

It's not peaceful though is it, it's disruptive and lacks order and is fiscally quite damaging, another bug bear of the centre-right.

Probably why the centre right in Canada or what's left of them are calling for the restoration of peace and order.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

So the protest took illegal guns off the street. Fair play to the lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,171 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

My understanding is that even if they get rid of the Canadian state mandates the truckers will have to deal with American individual state mandates. I could understand more if this happened last year but it wouldn't be too optimistic to think the rules on testing/ having Covid passports may disappear in the next few months.

How do you know they were illegal guns? It wasn’t mentioned in the RCMP statement.

What right would the RCMP have to seize legally held firearms from people??

Maybe you should read the article. It has quotes from the RCMP statement.

Yes, it states that the holders were from a "criminal organisation". I'm fairly sure you can't get a gun legally if a member of a criminal organization, and if you do and turn up at a protest willing to shoot cops, you are using the firearms illegally. Making them ........................................ illegal.

I’m not saying that they weren’t illegal, just that the RCMP never specified it. Every one could potentially be held legally, but we’re taken to the protest with the aim of being used illegally. However, when push came to shove the gun toting tough guys didn’t put up a fight.

I’m not sure why you picked up on the illegal guns point unless you had no other counter to the original post you replied to and just felt you had to say something.

No protest, no fringe lunatics and no gun seizures. Fair play to the convoy for smoking these crazies out and getting some serious firepower off the streets.

The guns were taken to the street by protesters. No protest, no guns on the street in this case. Fair play to the cops for taking them off the streets.

Funny you should mention that.

Any of the right-wing, conservative, anti-woke, whatever-you-wanna-call-it protests or gatherings I've seen over here in Ireland have, almost 100%, been populist bullsh1t smokescreen as a means to recruit the easily-led (not lead, as you put it) into something else. From what little I've read about the 'freedom convoy' this appears also to be the case. Justin Barrett and his feeble-minded goons subsuming the Roderick O'Gorman protest as a means to usher in anti-EU sentiment being a prime example.

Some of the organisers are extremely white-supremacist in their outlook, openly waving swastikas and Confederate flags, for some reason. One of the head honchos said that those who don't want to protest might as well "drop a load of coins down the stairs and change your name to Ching chong". Others have issues with Canadian politicians who weren't born in Canada. They were walking around pissing on war memorials and on the grave of the unknown soldier, a scumbag move irrespective of your stance on war. They took over a homeless shelter, demanding they be fed before the actual homeless guys (for free, I might add) and harassing the staff (volunteers, I might add). They assaulted a person standing by the side of the road when they raised their camera to record them. They were racially abusive towards an ice cream shop owner, then did the same to healthcare workers as well as assaulting them.....then threw rocks at ambulances. Three of them have been charged with conspiracy to commit murder after fights broke out in Alberta. All this on top of the usual harassment stuff, like abusing members of the public for wearing masks, blocking emergency vehicle routes, and, yes, blaring horns at all hours of the night.

These chucklefcuks don't give a rats ass about Covid measures, masks, vaccines or anything of the like. They just hate others because of [insert BS reason here] and protests like this are just a reason to act the goat, air your otherwise-unacceptable antisocial views and maybe get a few pictures for Facebook etc. IF you're able to convince a few more smooth-brained, slack-jawed, knuckle-draggers to join in, well then that's fine by me, chief. The more the merrier. Oh, and we can scrape a few quid together while we're doing it, despite that being the absolute definition of socialism, which we abhor? Sign me up. We'll attach a name that they love.....Trump Train is already taken, and a little too in-your-face......we'll call it Freedom-something, that'll get the rednecks foaming at their lone tooth.

There are a few mental and easily-led (again, led not lead) idiots in this equation, alright, but you'd better double-check which side of the equals sign you're on before throwing digs at others.

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭bertiebomber

Have a laugh guys !!Regardless of what side of the fence you are on this video is funny.

Post edited by bertiebomber on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Who said anything about wanting an end to tests? What the truckers called for is what is already in place in Ireland. So what exactly is radical or dangerous about their demands in your mind?

Are you worried about the dangerous radicals running Ireland? Should we demand the same level of restrictions as are in place in Canada?