Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Greatest League in the World 2024 [new thread available]

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

4,000 tickets sold for the match. Did they do an upgrade of some of the stands? I thought the capacity of Tolka was less than 3k.

Looking forward to it. Didn't get to any game last season. Wrap up warm.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,265 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

The 100k is the scholarships afaik. It's not 100k plus scholarships. (This from Collie O'Neill's interview shortly after he was sacked)

The website is ridiculous. Effectively we use Twitter/Facebook as a communications tool and that's it. But you will find stuff about the new season there at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

A load of volunteers cleared up the stands to increase capacity.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,254 ✭✭✭joeysoap

Probably a seperate forum this but my twopence worth

1shamrock rovers

2derry

3 st pats

4 dundalk

5 bohs

6shels

7 sligo

8 drogheda

9 Harps

10 UCD

Wind will probably spoil some matches

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Imagine it could be legally challenged on the basis of a restriction on free movement of labour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭PGE1970

Rovers (by a country mile)

Derry (££££)

Pats (if Tim stays on the bench and doesn't spend half the season in the stands!)

Sligo (could easily swap with Dundalk)

Dundalk (only a pre-season game but very poor last Friday. Should improve though and goals from Hooooban guaranteed)

Bohs (lost a lot of very good players - hard to call)

Drogheda (our defence is a concern but the new keeper looks good and a new CB in from Lincoln in 2 weeks - we are decent in MF)

Shels (Duff - I see trouble along the way and, bar Mark Coyle, they have lost better players than they have signed)

Harps (sorry Harps fans)

UCD (I hope)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

Fair enough, thought it was on top of the scholarships. Still a degree at UCD and a bit of LOI football is a good deal for most lads. More attractive than part-time ball somewhere else where if a manager doesn't fancy you, you fall off the map with nothing to fall back on.

That's pretty standard now, websites are almost obsolete. The only time I'd go on the rovers website is if im looking in the club shop. Some clubs are very good with engaging on social media with pics from training and match ticket give aways. The Harps Twitter was very funny trolling Dundalk last year with their "Official handrolled ice cream" stuff. Others don't try a leg.

We'll see. The fact that those players you mention mightn't suit Duff, if that is the case, doesn't mean that they aren't good players.

Brennan was FD Player of the Year last season.

They're both with Drogheda but I don't expect either will be starters ahead of Deegan, Markey etc. Time will tell though.

Out of interest, other than Mark Coyle (decent player), who do you think Shels have signed that are an upgrade?

I can tell you that, for example, Conor Kenna won't be unless they had a poor LB last season.

Yeah, it's a good deal alright. And let's be honest - the LoI as a whole is stronger for having investment of €100k a year in it (in the same way that it's stronger for having the investment in Derry/Rovers/Pat's). UCD in the Premier maybe isn't ideal, but really that just reflects badly on the likes of Cork, Galway, Waterford and Limerick. If the LoI wasn't full of basket case clubs, UCD wouldn't be in the Premier, and that's been the case for 20+ years now.

Interesting point on whether websites are defunct actually. I think the optics of ours are terrible one way or another. But looking at the Twitter feed, there's info on tickets for Rovers, there's photos of the 2022 squad, there's announcements of signings, there's photos from the Collingwood, etc. It's active enough.

Mahdy hasn't done a lot in the last few years? He was top scorer in the First Division in 2020! 16 goals in 18 games. Also scored 8 goals for an almost record-breakingly crap UCD side in 2019, and hit double figures in 2018 when mostly a sub behind Georgie Kelly and Conor Davis.

Really only last year was the blip; don't know why things didn't work out at Shels

From what I’ve heard, they are going to be very physical, very fit and will be aggressive in closing down. Very different from last few years.

It may take awhile for them to settle into the league and their new tactics. I’m interested to see if the fitness element has shels getting a lot of goals in the last 10 mins of games when teams are tired.

key thing I suppose is to get over the first 10 games but most importantly to keep the players committed to the strategy. Regardless of manager, if your players buy in to your coaching that’s half the battle.

I was on a zoom call with the coaches and Duffer and I’d say he doesn’t pull his punches with players. He comes across as a no bullsh*t, I’m not your friend, do your job and work hard kind of manager. I really enjoyed his bluntness. He was less then complimentary about the team he was coaching at the time (the zoom call was not in last 6 months), players attitudes was at the forefront of his anger.

Really excited to see how tonight’s game goes. I know some in the club think we are a real wild card this season. Could be a stinker or a really positive surprise of a season. Nobody really knows what to expect.

Corkred,

The majority of players Shels have signed from Ireland are from last season's PD bottom 3 clubs and one from Treaty United. I can't really comment on those signed from the UK or elsewhere.

You have your view and that's fair enough. As I said, time will tell.

As a Drogheda supporter, I'm hopeful that we will finish above UCD, Harps and Shels. But, of course, I may be wrong.

Good luck to Cork this season, I'm not sure what the expectations are but you're not a FD club and need out of there. I'd like to see you back in the PD as I always enjoyed an occasional pint in the Evergreen(?) or The Turners Cross Bar over the years.

Yeah, don't understand that alright. You could put his underuse last year down to Ian Morris - there's question marks over him given Shels' implosion in 2020 - but for Duff to come in and ship him out (if that's what happened) adds an extra layer.

Interesting to see how he does this year in a Harps side I can't gauge because of all the random signings they have - they could click or be awful.

But last year was Mahdy's only poor season in his career so far.

Harps v Drogheda is off.

Somebody must have been reading this thread, because UCD have just relaunched their website.

https://www.ucdfc.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

Yoyo had an injury during most of the middle part of the season and in a alot of games he was dumped out on left wing by Morris. I was surprised he initially re-signed under Duff even more surprised he left to go to up Harps in middle of pre-season no idea what the reason was, he's a useful player I liked him at UCD he never got a proper chance to get going with Shels last season

Rumours that David Odumuso is signing for Pats.

The trials in England don't seemed to have worked out.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Massive news with regard to the Save Tolka Park campaign coming out this afternoon.

https://www.dublincity.ie/news/dublin-city-council-receives-proposal-shelbourne-fc-purchase-tolka-park-football-stadium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,370 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

The weather here wasn't bad so this should go ahead unless there is really heavy rain tonight.

I was never overly impressed with him in the Drogs games I watched honestly. If he goes to Pats he'd want to be starting so he can continue improving.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,798 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Best for all parties, the only thing is how Shels are going to fund this.

He makes lots of good/great saves and lots of mistakes. His distribution is very poor.

But he got lots of breaks at Drogheda because he is so young and because we were at the bottom of the league.

To give you some examples; last season, we beat Bohs in United Park and he almost single-handedly kept Bohs out. Towards the end of the season, we had 4 games in 9 days so that David could join up with the Irish U-21s. In three of those games (Sligo, Bohs & Dundalk), his mistakes cost us points including the game against Bohs in Dalyer when he made two howlers that cost two goals.

We now have a young lad in from Lincoln who had a very good game against Dundalk last Friday and who is very well regarded. So we're not unhappy not to see David back.

I wish him well. He is only a kid who can become a very good keeper. But will he win a league at the moment? I'm not so sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

1. Rovers

2. Derry

3. Pats

4. Bohs

5. Sligo

6. Shels

7. Dundalk

8. Drogheda

9. Finn Harps

10. UCD

Think the top 3 and bottom 3 will be the teams above, middle 4 are harder to call the order. I've a feeling Dundalk are going to struggle this season again, Shels could really go either way, lots of hype and Duff could do very well but could easily go the opposite way and flop hard.

Struggling to find the motivation to go to the game tonight due to the crap weather. Tallaght was freezing last week can only imagine what it will be like tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,742 ✭✭✭Worztron

Any sign of a new thread for a LOI 2022 Predictions League(s) thread? Both the Premier & First Division start in a few hours.

Mitch Hedberg: "Rice is great if you're really hungry and want to eat two thousand of something."

• Registered Users Posts: 361 ✭✭irishmanmick

1. Rovers
    2. Bohs
    3. Derry
    4. Pats
    5. Dundalk
    6. Sligo
    7. Shels
    8. Drogheda
    9. Finn Harps
    10. UCD

Think Rovers will win it but reckon it could be a lot closer than last year. But I reckon they will go one better in Europe & make group stages of conference league. There schedule there is what will keep other sides in the hunt.

I think Bohs (probably being wildly optimistic here) will be the dark horse, but there are goals in that squad. With no Europe to contend with I think we'll do well and mount a decent challenge. Will be close between Bohs, Pats & Derry so they are all interchangeable.

I think Dundalk & Sligo will be neither in European race nor relegation battle. Year of rebuilding for Dundalk. As for Sligo, they struggled after Gibson left, and losing Parkes & Kenny make it worse again.

I think Shels, Drogs and Harps will battle out to avoid p/o spot. Drogs & Shels will probably edge it over Harps.

UCD to be decimated once summer arrives.

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭selassie

Atmosphere will be electric at Tolka tonight. It should be a great advertisment for the league.

Doesn't seem very realistic that Shels will be able to buy Tolka and redevelop it to any sort of a reasonable standard.

This bit from DCC is very interesting:

"The City Council is willing to examine the proposal. However, it would be based on a cost recovery model for expenditure incurred by the City Council and a firm commitment from Shelbourne FC that Tolka Park can be re-developed in a reasonable period and that adequate finance is in place. We understand that the proposals will have no financial implications for either the City Council or the State."

Seems to be saying Shels will have to buy Tolka plus refund the council the money they've put into its upkeep since buying out the lease. And prove they can redevelop it without any help from the council or the state because all the funds from them will be going into Dalymount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,042 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

They must have had a financial backer come in to even be considering this. The site itself is worth millions, and a redevelopment to a good standard will cost millions too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,500 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Why is the ‘new’ stand behind the goals in Tolka closed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,090 ✭✭✭trashcan

What a peach of a goal from Daragh Burns. Lovely. 😎

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,250 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

First division Away teams have started well, Waterford 3 up, City 1 up and treaty 1 up.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,798 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

If I were a bank I'd be happy to loan them the money. If they pay the mortgage, happy days, if not, prime development land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Bottled going to Tallaght in the end.

Enoyable game on rte so far, open and a bit of bite with a few tackles going in. Shels seem to start better but Pats could have had 2 or 3 goals by now really, they look much more settled than Shels do. Peach from Burns!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,795 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Byrne carrying on where he left off anyway, lovely whipped in corner kick from him there to set the goal up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,795 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

• Registered Users Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭tastyt

Brilliant game on tv to be fair

• Registered Users Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

On paper Waterford look to have possibly a stronger squad than last season. Evidence of that showing tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Only if you could get it zoned, and prise it out of the supporters hands.

Interesting that they're sponsored by a company specialising in home improvement!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,250 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,981 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Great to have the league back, and brilliant to see such a huge crowd in Tolka again, hopefully attendances stay high even if results don't go Shels way.

Plenty of work rate and desire from Shels, but it was clear that the quality was with Pat's, and why they'll likely be operating at different ends of the table this year.

Forrester brilliant as ever, King looked very dangerous and although he didn't threaten to score himself, I thought there was some excellent play from Eoin Doyle.

Interesting to see how Sligo and Bohs go tomorrow (if it goes ahead).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭kksaints

Great to win 3-0 In Tolka. Performance was generally good about from one or two sloppy moments. Burns scored a fantastic goal and Mark Doyle was a threat with the ball. Defending was a little shaky at times but Shels were fairly blunt up front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,050 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Happy enough taking a point away at Oriel to start the season off, considering McEleney and Duffy didn't start.

McGonigle looked sharp up front, hopefully him and Duffy will give defences plenty of trouble this season.

I thought we looked light in midfield tonight, and I did think we needed to add a really tough, dominant midfielder to the squad. Hopefully Higgins can address the issue.

Looking forward to the arrival of Rovers at the Brandywell next week.

Thought shels started really well, maybe for first 20 mins. they prob could of had a goal or two in that period but were poor up front. Shame the goal was ruled offside as the place was rocking.

When goal went in the game changed and for the east of the game Pats looked much stronger of the two. Shels mistakes cost them big time,

I thought Dervin was prob shels best player.

It seems improbable that the council will throw Shels out of Tolka so some sort of deal will be done. The talk of getting market value and recouping the money they`ve put into Tolka seems like the council talking tough. The most likely move would be for Shels to go back to where they were a few years ago and rent Tolka from the council. Maybe with the onus thrown on Shels to pay for its upkeep and redevelop it. Fair play to the SaveTolka group, they`ve been a big success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,330 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

Did Philly McMahon leave Bohs. Not there on their website as a member of staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,370 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

No game tonight ☹️

Big crowd was expected too. That'll be a sizable financial hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

Evidence from Shels' starting XI last night that confirms to me that Webb, O'Driscoll, Kane, Coyle, Dervin, Hawkins, Carr are not remotely any near improvements on Clarke, Gilchrist, Kev O'Connor, Poynton, Brennan, En-Neyah and Mikey O'Connor and others who have left.

We have swapped players from a decent First Division title winning squad most who had experience at Premier Division level and our 15 goal top goalscorer for players on professional contracts signed from the likes of Finn Harps, Longford and unknowns from the UK. They may improve as the season progresses, if they don't we may have to look forward to another shot at the first division title again in 2023. Thankfully Moylan (deemed not good enough for Bohs) and McEneff (who has barely kicked a ball in 18 months) showed promising signs and may give us hope creatively upfront

Ffs, train and accommodation is bought and paid for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Cabinteely get the season off to a shocker, mad few moments. Seems like was some action off the pitch too, a rare thing in Bray