Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why is the Irish Labour party such a failure ?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,402 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

So Kenny just mistook a anti FF vote for a pro FG one.

Mary Lou is just mistaking an anti FG one for a pro SF one.

We can literally do this for loads of politicians.

Holding steady and playing to the base is about all most minority party leaders can do except for the rare occasion that a chance presents itself like the financial crash or the odd time everyone around you is fking up worse than you.

Quinn and Rabbite won't be seen as great leaders but not failures either. Certainly not in the context of the last 3 leaders.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,570 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Okay I haven't studied the history of election campaigns in enough depth to make an informed judgment on that. But I would certainly say Labour were making specific policy commitments front and centre of their campaign in 2011 to an extent that parties rarely do. And regardless of how 'fair' it is, many/most of those who voted Labour in 2011 appear to be bearing a lasting grudge against the party over its failure to honour those promises.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,245 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

The Shinners have mercilessly cannibalised the Labour vote in recent elections, by fair means and foul. Likewise other parties of the left are very wary of SF as they've suffered likewise.

Problem for SF is that capturing this portion of the Labour vote only gets you so far. It was the low hanging fruit.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,412 ✭✭✭jmcc

Kenny hadn't the guts to go for an outright majority when it was on offer. FF had imploded but FG gave it a way back. In some senses, a lot of the 2011 FG vote was a floating vote that had moved from FF to FG. It is the floating vote that decides elections. The dedicated political member/supporter vote is only part of the electorate.

The SF vote is more complex in that a lot of its vote is younger than FF/FG/Labour and it has been directly affected by the economic hardships since the property bubble burst. The other factor is that some of them were born after the GFA and all the usual anti-SF propaganda is propaganda about ancient history. The Housing issue is a big killer for FF/FG and rightly so. SF has managed to capture a major shift away from FF/FG. Labour was the 0.5 party in a 2.5 party model. (The PDs were an abberation and were really just Provisional FF.) In real terms, Labour was the turd party in the turd sandwich of Irish politics. When the political model shifted to a Big Three model (where no two of the Big Three parties had enough seats to form a government), Labour's niche in Irish politics disappeared. That happened in 2016 (arguably the Local Elections indicated that Labour was going to lose a lot of seats in the GE because the grassroots Labourites did not seem to be too interested in campaigning for the Stalinist "democratic centrists" from the Stickies.) When the grassroots don't campaign, a party has a major and almost existential problem. SF's vote has been moving upwards through the age demographics so that it is becoming more attractive to voters directly affected by the Housing crisis and that has a radicalising effect on voters.

Regards...jmcc

Post edited by jmcc on

Oh right now I get you. When Labour gain they are still shte and it's thanks to disatisfaction with someone else.

When SF gain its complex 🤣

Also Labour out performed FF in 2011 but it only becomes the "3 party" era once it's SF in the running. Maybe wait till ye are actually in government before you proclaim a new epoch.

This might be be a novel concept to you but newspapers and their owners can have an agenda when it comes to politics. The Sindo/Indo had previously been pro-FF and then switched to being pro-FG. The new owners are trying to drag the publications to the centre of the political spectrum because that's they only way for it to get digital subscriptions. IN&M fired Eoghan Harris as he had become a liability. An agenda means that a newspaper will push favourable stories and downplay unfavourable stories. Sometimes it completely backfires as with the laughable Abu story (clearly intended to be a hatchet job on SF) which landed most of the parties in the crap over GDPR issues. Political parties have a habit of trying to get their best media performers elected to the Dail. Labour did it with Ivana Bacik for decades and Spring tried to get Orla Guerin (a reporter) elected as a parachute candidate in 1994.

Regards...jmcc

Alan Kelly was another one pushing for water charges if he got his way ...as the Indian would say " he speaks with forked tongue".

They would do anything to get in government .

• Registered Users Posts: 19,847 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

That is some deflection and waffle. Either address the point or don't bother. You're fooling nobody with the irrelevant guff

No. The 2011 GE was a highly abnormal one because FF had imploded. In effect, the 2.5 party model still applied but FF had become the half party and the two larger parties went into government together. Both FG and Labour gained votes from FF's implosion.

You don't seem to understand the Big Three model. Even the media now refer to the Big Three parties though they, unlike yourself, managed to understand that Labour is not one of the Big Three parties. It was FG, FF and SF who became the Big Three parties in 2016 with Labour having been reduced to just seven seats. It was just another fringe party.

The implosion of Labour in 2016 was not unexpected and some of the "loaned" FF votes drifted back to FF. The Collaboration and Surrender agreement with FG was Martin's "Frankfurt's way" moment. Labour betrayed the most vulnerable of the electorate and it is paying the price for that betrayal.

Regards...jmcc

Ya but SF have other avenues that Labour didnt have.

Townie lads who think they are "mad bstrds" cause they sing "up the RA" topless from a phone box, people who vote based on Simpsons memes and people who like cooking shows by fellas who resemble the republican version of Fr. Trendy.

But no seriously I do think SF can reach areas Labour couldn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,245 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Oh they can, most definitely but it was handy to pluck as much of the Labour feathers off in passing.

There is no point really arguing with someone who parrots this shte straight off the propaganda divisions Facebook page

The Collaboration and Surrender agreement

Its especially funny from a party in coalition with the DUP.

I never actually believed Labour was one of the big 3 I just think your failure to see the similarities between the Labour protest vote and the SF protest vote is gas.

God ya they was there for the taking.

The only hope Labour had was to go in hard on the gig economy and housing but they let SF steal the march on housing and the current leadership ain't up to much policy wise on anything else. Don't really think there are any young hot shots coming through either to take this up with any real fervour. SF and the Greens are far more attractive for young activists

The "propaganda divisions"? It is simply political history and the history of how votes shifted. It might be unpleasant reading for Labourites but it is what happened.

The "Collaboration and Surrender" agreement does capture the nature of the C&S agreement between FF and FG. I thought it was a rather good description. FF basically sold its soul (again) with the hope that if it could convince the electorate that they were being good boys and girls that the electorate would put them in government next time around but never expected that it would have to go into government with FG.

This gets into the issue of the age demographics of the electorate. It might be a complex argument but I'll try to make it as simple as possible for you. By the 2011 GE, the number of younger voters coming of age since the implosion of the property bubble (2007) was lower than that of the number of younger voters coming of age since 2011. These younger voters are finding it much more difficult to rent properties or buy houses. This issue is also affecting older demographics who see their adult children being unable to rent or buy houses. That's causing a backlash against FF/FG. The 2011 electorate is different from the 2020 electorate. The old FF/FG/Labour certainty of the 2.5 party model is gone and the Labour party has lost its niche. The transfers from FF and FG on which it depended to get candidates elected have also disappeared as the rise of SF has caused FF/FG transfers to stay within FF/FG.

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Look at the current crop of Labour TDs - which should take all of about 3 seconds - and tell me I'm talking shite.

Remove the chip off your shoulder and read what I said again. I am talking about those who currently vote for the LP. It's certainly not a lot of people, and the majority of them are in well heeled areas.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

CA is hardly the place for a nuanced discussion.

We have a few die hard LP supporters - not many but they are dedicated.

The "whatabout SF" posse who will always whatabout SF regardless of the topic.

People who never have and never will vote LP as they think anything to the left of centre is Marxist.

And a scattering of opinions with thought and knowledge of Irish political history beyond the last ten years.

Yes, my comment was off the cuff soundbite. That doesn't make it lazy or untrue. It makes it the observation of a person who has lived under many LP in coalition govts including the mess they made the last time that saw them blow the biggest chance they had to make a change.

As a matter of fact I do think the Rainbow Coalition was the best govt this country had - because Democratic Left were there to prevent LP becoming a mudguard for FG.

What's happening now with SF is exactly what would have happened if Labour had stayed out in 2011. SF shouldn't be banging on too much about a change to the political epoch of the country till they actually get into power. With any luck it all comes true and we all get loads of houses and cheaper cost of living but until SF do their 5 years they can't be compared to Labour. We won't know if the SF vote is a change or a flash in the pan till then.

It's quite possible that after those 5 years we are here talking about SF broken promises and losing all their seats and the disaffected youth have moved on to the next hope.

I don't think so. Labour was a rapidly aging party with a lot of its front bench near or past retirement age. SF seems a much younger party. What may be happening is a generational shift and that works in favour of parties with younger support and younger politicians. (It is also an argument for term limits in the Dail.) Had Labour not been taken over and ruined by the Stickies pension tourists, then there would be a possibility that Labour could have been where SF is now but the age of the Labour TDs was a problem. The reduction in seats solved a lot of those problems for Labour but on its current polling, it will be hard pressed to return 2 TDs.

SF will have to deliver if it gets into government. One of the more sigificant differences between 2020 and 2016 was the IN&M firesale and the sale of Communicorp. The Sindo/Indo and the Communicorp radio stations had always been very anti-SF and quite pro-FG. The propaganda landscape has changed. The reaction to Claire Byrne's anti-SF show was quite interesting in that it shows that the formerly Labour/FF supporting RTE is worried about SF getting into government and doing something popular like cutting or abolishing the TV licence fee. Trust in the mainstream media in Ireland is at an all time low and RTE had to run ads to convince its ever diminishing numbers of viewers that it is trustworthy. The print media has also had major problems in that fewer people now buy or read a daily newspaper. The old party propaganda outlets are increasingly ineffectual. SF, and other parties, will have to deal with that but SF is not in government yet.

Regards...jmcc

See there you go again. Labour politicians are in it for the pension and the cash SF politicians are in it for the good of the country. How do you know Mary Lou isn't in it for the pension.

It don't matter a fk what age your TDs are if you get into government and don't deliver your policy to the satisfaction of the electorate. Just like Labour everything is built on the high hope of real change and that's a hard bar to meet and if ye don't all those young people with no lifelong deep ingrained loyalty will find someone else.

Labour's aging front bench was a complete liability. It created a bottleneck where younger Labour politicians could not come to the fore. It was always the same old tired faces. The electorate got rid of them. It was the Stickies pension tourists like Gilmore, Rabbitte, etc that caused a lot of problems for Labour and screwed it up. The way that Labour annointed the useless non-entity Howlin as leader without an election was an example of Labour's decline. The video of him on stage like a tech CEO talking to the nearly empty Labour annual conference was quite funny.

I have no loyalty to any party. I am a floating voter.

Regards...jmcc

I have no loyalty to any party. I am a floating voter.

Sure you are. You seem to rabbit an awful amount of SF waffle about media bias and the surrender agreement or whatever. You certainly don't have the language of a swing voter.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,350 ✭✭✭blackbox

The Labour party failed to recognise the improvements in the Irish economy towards the end of the last century and the beginning of this one.

They thought they should be representing the "dispossessed" whereas they should have looked to represent the new working class which was basically all paye workers.

They continued with a Socialist and Internationalist agenda which was not attractive to PAYE workers who aspired to improve their lot.

There is currently no party that represents the workers. That is a huge part of the population without decent representation, especially when you include all public and civil servants. SF and PBP represent the non-workers and FG and FF have focused on appeasing the non-workers and looking after big business.

I have posted about media bias and incompetence for a long time but it is has mainly concerned a non-politics field. SF is right about media bias in Ireland and the cosy relationship between presstitutes and politicians enabled the property bubble, the bankster bailouts and a lot of evil events. Had Ireland had a functioning media instead of a gombeenarchy, then it would have acted as a restraint on the worst political actions.

I am a floating voter. That's different to a "swing voter". A swing voter merely changes their vote according to which party they are supporting at election time. Floating voters tend to be a lot more cynical. The floating vote covers a wide political spectrum. The "Collaboration and Surrender" agreement was quite a good description of FF's agreement with FG.

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users Posts: 13,803 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

I understand your point ir rater yiur vuew of your point. However this long discussion from you is off point as the thread is notabout Sinn Féin but Labour?

Also I understand the term "parish pump politics" well, and while I never suggested it could be solved entirelyby bringing candidates from other areas to contest a seat, they might be more focused on national politics if not a local person. Maybe?

It is obviously going to happen if there are parts of the electoral areas underrepresented by a particular party. Most candidates rely on the Cumann in the area to guide them as to te hot topics anyway. That is politics.

Better to have a TD elected representing your area even if they are "parachuted in " as you put it, than any number of local heroes who may never get enough votes to properly represent the constituents.

So you wouldn't have anything bad to say about this fella then I take it?

Ironically, in that case, he was running in his actual "home" constituency .... but he had gone off and bought an expensive house elsewhere......still decided to promote himself as the voice of the people struggling to buy houses.....

• Registered Users Posts: 13,803 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Why would you infer that from my posts?

He is an entitled plonker who would not be on radar never mind my constitiency.

Maybe pick a less controversial politician or less extreme example or if you want to talk about other parties, there is surely a thread more suitable?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Their pants have **** stains all over it.

Labour said they wouldn't raise student fees. They signed a pledge one week before election. They raised student fees, doubled them in fact.

In the week before the last election, Labour leader Eamon Gilmore and Education spokesperson Ruairi Quinn publicly signed a Union of Students in Ireland (USI) pledge to “oppose and campaign against” any increase in the “student contribution charge,” whose maximum was at that time set at €1,500 for a full-time undergraduate.

Pat Rabbitte on TV saying "these things get said during elections"

That being said, Skidmark Micheal Martin is bad in the hot seat so Labour probably could be a success by now if they played their cards right. They'll get nowhere with the likes of O'Riordan and co. Too weak. They don't stand out from other parties.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,415 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

The Labour party are a failure electorally because they never had the political nous to sit and wait outside of government for several electoral cycles when they were in the ascendency. It is quite possible that if labour hadn't gone into government with FG in 2011, we'd already have had a Lab taoiseach.

They have always been quick to put their noses in the ministerial trough at the first opportunity, consequently selling out on the promises and values they campaigned on - often the necessary compromises of coalition and reality.

The same will happen to SF too. It's easy to promise all and sundry when you are not in charge.

hmmm. It appeared you were a supporter of well off people parachuting into less well off areas and playing at being less wealthy in order to get elected.......or do I take it that it would have been grand had he done a MLM and had a SF badge? In his case, he wasn't exactly dropping into Darndale either.

Bringing it back to the thread topic, how about if he was Lab?