Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are your thoughts on the fertiliser price s for 2022

• Registered Users Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

We're possibly being locked into a stagflationary cycle which will severely undermine western economies.

Inputs will remain high or go higher and margins will get tighter.

Politicians will make the whole thing worse than it otherwise would be. Fun times ahead...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,846 ✭✭✭straight

• Registered Users Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭kk.man

We are in a bubble that's for sure...do you remember at the crest of the Celtic tiger the big talk back then of 'the soft landing'. I don't think any bubble lands soft....how all this plays out is anyone's guess.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭ginger22

Ivory Towers News

Plans by Ireland to build nine shiny new power stations took a dive today, as the stations will be powered by er, gas.

Europe gets lots of gas from Russia and it was against this backdrop that plans for the new stations were made.

Earlier today, German chancellor Olaf Sholz, decided to block the Nord Stream 2 gas pipeline, which is expected to put further pressure on fuel prices and will reduce the amount of gas that comes available.

"Well **** it anyway" was the reaction in government buildings this evening, as another "plan", quickly became a top class clusterfuck.

Traditionally, electricity in Ireland was produced by the use of peat, turf to people living outside **** Dublin, but the brains department decided to phase it out, as it wasn't part of the "green agenda".

"Them **** Greens again. Everything they suggest turns to total ****" a spokesperson sighed this evening.

"We have turf coming out our **** ears, it's kept the lights on for generations, but Ryaner and his band of dipsticks come along and **** it up" the spokesperson told us.

"Mark my words, he'll stand up and say this is a good thing, as we sit at home, frozen to the bollix" one civil servant told us.

"We won't have a pot to piss in, at the rate things are going" one deputy said, saying he'd nearly welcome another bout of the Corona Yoke again.

"We didn't know when we had it good" he said.

As things got ever more tetchy, there were angry exchanges in the Dail, with suggestions that the Russian Ambassador should be told to **** off with himself.

"I'm sick of this ****. Europe is fucked, we're fucked, the world could be fucked and that bollix is outside in his embassy swinging his lad at us" one deputy said, using Dail privilege.

"My apologies for my unparliamentary type language, but somebody needs to tell this fucker to piss off" he said, adding that "I'm sick of that smug prick".

At this stage, the Ceann Comhairle lost his ****, asking the deputy to sit down and "shut the **** up, if they hear you, we're bollixed".

There will be a protest or something in **** Dublin on Thursday, organised by the People Before Logic party.

"Oh we're shaking in our **** shoes" a representative from the Russian Embassy sniggered.

Pic: Irish peat, or turf, of which we have plenty. However, future energy production will come from gas, of which we have **** all.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Gant21

More wind turbines, we need the renewables. Let’s leave the turf to the horse and cart generation.

Nuclear.

I heard some suppliers are finding it hard to get fertiliser. Only 40% sold this year so far

• Registered Users Posts: 18,668 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

It has nothing to do with the Greens. The EU and former Irish governments signed up to climate change treaties. If we do not adhere we have to pay fines that will be enforced by the EU commission.

The answer as HQ stated is nuclear. Instead we went down the wind power rabbit hole (again greens were not really in power when we started the construction of wind turbines) without putting any storage system in place for it. Solar is the same while you may store electricity on a home or business basis there is no stragety in place for mass storage.

The reality is that peat is a finite resource. We never produced more than 20-30% of our electricity from peat and most of that was pre 1970's. Since then the amount produced dropped below 10%. The Edenderry station now uses biomass. Only 60% of the electricity produced is actually used. I expect most of the losses are wind energy being produced when it is not used.

If we upped our peat use it would only last a generation probably anyway. It's questionable how much is commercially viable to harvest. We reduced our dependance on peat as it was more expensive to produce electricity with oil and coal rather than it.

Peat is not the answer

Slava Ukrainii

There are transport losses in the lines that cause a significant amount of that wastage. Wind is the worst for that as the source is much further away from where it's consumed.

Wind also produces variable amounts of electricity. At times at night we produce massive amounts of electricity from wind. This is often not used. It's why we are building gas fired power stations as you can reduce and increase capacity fairly rapidly. Nuclear is similar, however peat and coal cannot be turned up and down as fast. It can take days to reduce down there output

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 7,415 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Transmission losses account for only a few percent. Most losses occur in thermal generation at the plant. Combined cycle generation stations are between 50% to 60% efficient. Efficiency losses in a wind turbine don't matter that much since the energy input is essentially free

The closure of the peat stations has little to do with environmentalism. They closed because they were the most expensive to operate and the operators couldn't win any energy auctions. They only operated for so long due to the PSO levy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭ginger22

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

What about corrib gas?

Nuclear power all the way

• Registered Users Posts: 7,415 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Corrib gas started production in 2015 and was expected to last for 20 years - providing 60% of Ireland's gas in that time. I'm not aware of any changes there in output or demand that changes that. The remainder is mostly made up from the North sea.

Kinsale gas OTOH is almost exhausted.

Irish produced gas is priced on the European market. Hence the impact of Ukraine crisis on gas prices here.

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Easten

except there's another smaller Gas field about 20klm south of it along with a huge Oil field. Owned by providence resources, and here's a kick in the nuts, guess who's become a very large shareholder of providence resources only our own Larry Goodman

Ok. I'm not an expert on it but no means but it was on TV one night about how it was sold to another company and they said when it would be empty and I thought it wouldn't be much longer.

It has an expected life span into 2040.

And we shouldn't have. It's not viable to look for gas alone. If you are in the exploration business you need to be able to develop any viable deposits whether oil or gas. It funny but the only viable o field found in Ireland is the Providence Resources one and that is very marginal. If it was truly viable the company would have been bought up years ago.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Know a guy who has 3 turbines, 800 mw ones. The council rates has increased from 19k to 42k in the last year. The super large ones are the ones companies want to invest in now. Grid here is maxed out due to number of em around the area

They are already high enough from the factories perspective.

I don’t think they will go up much more.

Maybe if numbers dip.

So much for the governments plan of getting all stock finished at 24 months.

Might be worth buying a handy amount of fertiliser now than waiting and seeing another jump.

Gas up 10%

Sanctions not really making a difference which is a surprise as 60% of Russian exports are fossil fuels

• Registered Users Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭older by the day

• Registered Users Posts: 9,740 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Its still a better bet than the current energy policies that have led us down the road of subsidising useless greenwash via wind turbines that don't provide energy when most needed. We also dodged a bullet in terms of the winter being very mild up till now. Good debate last nite on TV3 in terms of us needing to get real on nuclear and gas in terms of future energy needs and the carbon debate. Even the EU is coming around to that thinking with nuclear/gas being deemed "low carbon" in terms of future energy policy

Post edited by Birdnuts on

• Registered Users Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Good loser

I believe Corrib supplies one third of our gas presently.

What a mess

Where is the money going to come from to pay for higher prices?

Everything is being squeezed and things will probably only get tighter.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,832 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

The troubling thing for most of us is that inflation is tearing the basic payment apart and then everything else on top cost wise.

The big question is, do central banks tighten monetary policy or do they keep things loose and drive inflation more in a bid to hold our economy together.

Either way the good times are over. That is the price the west will pay for not coming up with a better solution to ukraine joining nato.

Our economies might be much bigger on paper than Russia's but Russia has a much more solid economy based on real wealth generation compared to the house of cards built on speculation, financials, tech, pharma, debt etc. Which is a much less robust and will come under major pressure.

Ordering clover seed is probably the best thing anyone could be doing now. Get it in early.

The next year will play out as high gas prices for the summer so storage won't be filled, prices soar higher next winter.

Maybe we will get some cold weather next winter and really fcuk things up for us here..