Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 8,173 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Good to see Leinster House lit up in the Ukraine colours.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,488 ✭✭✭Timing belt

Sanctions won’t work because Russia have built a war chest to insulate themselves from sanctions.

Even if Russia got banned from the swift network they would still be able to transfer money and avoid sanctions by using Crypto such as stable coins.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭zv2

You make it sound very simple. How would you speak abroad if you had family in Russia and every word you were saying was being weighed against your family's welfare?

“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.” — Voltaire

• Registered Users Posts: 39,847 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Tonight into tomorrow could as rough as a badgers arse for the city of Kyiv.

I'm pretty confident that if Putin went into the Baltic states, the military would ventilate question marks.

Apparently, some leaders of the Russian military were "dismayed" by the decision to invade and occupy the Ukraine.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,657 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

• Registered Users Posts: 858 ✭✭✭jolivmmx

on second thoughts, I think that it was Gatling. Whoever it is, I hope that the innocent people are okay! I cannot imagine waiting for the WhatsApp from a loved one that will never come…. harrowing stuff

• Registered Users Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

this invasion has been long planned, and all Russians in power knew about it - a conspiracy

Russian banks imported $5 billion in foreign cash in December -ACRA estimates

https://www.reuters.com/markets/europe/russian-banks-imported-5-billion-foreign-cash-december-acra-estimates-2022-02-21/

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

@eskimohunt Apparently, some leaders of the Russian military were "dismayed" by the decision to invade and occupy the Ukraine.

And yet did nothing , they will do as they are told like good little conscripts , they could have stood up and their men likely would have followed , but now they will be fertilizer for the lands of Ukraine

The millions leaving and moving around Ukraine aren't doing it for the craic or because they think things will be OK. How far Ukraine will defend itself before there's nothing left to defend will become an issue. Would anyone really be surprised if Kyiv is razed to the ground for a handful of snipers?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,712 ✭✭✭✭briany

Sure. Even if they are paranoid as Putin is, that doesn't necessarily mean they're crazy. I think we're all now well aware of what an attack on a NATO member by Russia possibly means for the world as we know it. Russian generals, like the rest of us, are still human beings who would probably not like to find themselves scavenging through the ruins of what we once called civilization. Even the best case scenario of spending the rest of their lives in some big underground bunker would be comparatively sh*t.

And I could understand if they were dismayed, but I still would greatly doubt that it'll have any more blowback for Putin than that from his generals. For now, at least. Nobody politician is invulnerable to ousting, but it would take time for his support to crumble.

If and when Putin goes, the West must re-set with Russia; bring it back into the international fold, eliminate sanctions, and watch it and her population thrive.

But eliminating Putin and the sack of surrounding cronies is the problem...

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

If Afghanistan , Grozny and Syria are anything to go by ,the have no issues razing a city to the ground

• Registered Users Posts: 33,907 ✭✭✭✭listermint

That 'war chest' has been heavily depleted in the 2008 financial crash, in 2014 war and the sanctions from then and the pandemic of the last two years. No Russia doesnt have a war chest of deep pockets to keep 150k troops going in any prolonged conflict and also tackled sanctions at home.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

They're already spunking it up the wall trying to keep the rouble from collapsing. 600bn sounds like a lot until you're burning through reserves to keep a weak currency from going through the floor.

Crypto sounds goody-gumdrops until you realise that in an energy sick economy the US dollar is the only game in town.

The greenback remains undefeated.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,405 ✭✭✭✭road_high

That’s exactly it- you need to send them back to the Stone Age. Russia produces fcuk all in terms of new technology or hugely desirable consumer brands. This is absolutely the west’s trump card but vested interests are too worried about losing a few billion in markets. Just check out Italy’s pathetic posturing over luxury designer stuff Russia (the corrupt elites) buy

• Registered Users Posts: 4,568 ✭✭✭jackboy

The reality is that the economies of western countries are dependent on materials from Russia and a variety of other dictatorships. Sanctions will either have a time limit or western governments will assist industries to get around them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭greenpilot

Attention:

Turkish Airforce Airbus Transport aircraft just landed at the Airbase in South East Poland, close to Ukrainian border.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭Tippex

The sanctions that have been announced how long will they last even if they pulled out today? The sanctions need to cripple Russia for years to come (unfortunately it will affect Russians who do not agree with this war).

it might be extreme but I think the country should be cut off economically and diplomatically for many many years. I would also cut internet access to russia (there are backhauls from russia going through EU countries shut them down)

• Registered Users Posts: 858 ✭✭✭jolivmmx

Fair play to the Mods for clamping down on all the suspicious posters. 10 days ago, this thread was a total cesspit

• Registered Users Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭paul71

Currency is, always has been, and always will remain a means of exchange only, with no intrinsic value of its own. It matters not if it is rupples dollars or gold, you can attempt to exchange it for goods and services which do have a value, but if the goods or services cannot be delivered because of controls or sanctions the currency is valueless.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭threeball

They will work as the war chest is for Putin, his cronies and for war. None filters down to Igor or Ekaterina. Once they start hurting then the rumblings start and he can't nuke his own cities. Plus how long will that money last spending billions on a war and nothing coming in. The money will keep them going for a while but he will burn through a trillion pretty quick with no where to turn for additional funds. It could end up worse than the 80s

Unless I'm missing something, what's the significance of this aviation update?

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭Amias

This is how Russia are attempting to murder civilians in the Ukraine

purposely running over them with tanks.

this guy survived

• Registered Users Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭dasdog

If any of you are old enough to remember the insatiable appetite Russians had for simple Western World items such as denim jeans and other non-communist produced equivalent's before the collapse of the USSR. A Russian/China alliance isn't going to keep consumers happy if they are excluded from modern consumables. Cutting off products and services will fuel the anti Putin sentiment in the motherland. Ukraine unfortunately is feeling the brunt of it right now but these companies with very healthy balance sheets need to act. Soft power also - UEFA need to exclude them from competition.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,440 ✭✭✭jmreire

So he was speeding along, saw what happened the truck ahead, and tried to do an emergency "U" turn? And lost control??? The video I saw, only showed the tank / gun travelling what seemed to be too fast, swerving across the road and hitting the car, stopping right on top of it, before reversing slowly off it. I didn't see any 2nd attempt to drive over it, only some people trying to extract the driver, Successfully it seems.

Russian tank and armored vehicle men have very bad memories of their vehicles being destroyed in Chechnya. Kill the first and last vehicles, and pick off the remainder at their ease. A burning tank or AV is not a nice way to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 23 orientmen

Anyone can help the Ukraine by financial support. Anyone can show support by turning up outside Russian Embassy..

Natural gas futures are down after freaking out a few days ago because gas flows from Russia through the Ukraine have actually increased since this started. This means millions, if not billions, every day for Gazprom. Russia's version of carrot/stick?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Old Joe Stalin moved cr** load of Ruskies into Baltics after WWII and fooked out hundreds of thousands to Gulags and Siberia, etc.

He did same with Tatars in Crimea. He moved Chechens, and ethnic Koreasn to Kazackstan and Uzbekistan.

He was basically eihncally clensing on a grand scale even from the 1930s. Sure he let millions of Ukrainians perish in famines as colectivisation kicked in.

There was some issues in 90s after Baltics became independent and the natives wanted to limit ethnic Russians like not giving them automatic citizenship if they had no ties to country prior to WWII and also limit getting state job if one could speak native languages, etc.

The numbers fell from 1.7 miillion in 1989 to 1 million in 2017.

And some of those have ended up here, others went back to Russia.

Ever wonder why say some Lithuanians are such fans of Putin ?

I am not allowed discuss …

Here's an interesting article from intelligence quarterly saying the economic advantages sit with Putin and Russia despite the sanctions:

https://intelligencequarterly.com/economy/oil-shocks-have-a-history-of-crashing-economies-and-enabling-enemies/