Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXV-956,720 ROI (5,952 deaths) 452,946 NI (3,002 deaths) (08/01) Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 13,712 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Am off myself in a few and looking forward to being without them . Just myself and oh .

Will have to be testing when I come back in case but its just a fact of life at this stage.

Definitely its a combination of precautions and hopefully this is near the end of it .

It's not a way of life I want for me and mine foreva.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,424 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

There will probably be an unfortunately large number of these in the coming months and years. People whose lives and/or quality of life have been cut very short by their experience.

So the logic is, that if anyone dies in the future, they died only because they contrated Covid in the past?

It's just bonkers logic to assume such.

In this case, unfortunately for Mark, his past addictions likely were as much an influence on his health as Covid ever was.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭Sammy2012

Was just in my local tesco. All signage gone including the wear a mask ones. The self service check out is so strange with no screens around it or between each til. Made the store look bigger. Everyone still wearing masks including myself but things seem to be very close to normal now.

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭cannonballTaffyOjones

• Registered Users Posts: 5,902 ✭✭✭Chris_5339762

Oh every moment! July 2020 here!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,902 ✭✭✭Chris_5339762

• Registered Users Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭Widescreen

quick observation.

The Irish Covid Tracker App has started showing Daily deaths related to COVID again, there were 11 yesterday, and I think 9 day before and so on.

On the news each day, we get just number of cases (PCR) and numbers in hospital , but no deaths, not even the weekly deaths! Strikes me that the number of daily deaths now are as bad as any comparable wave period since the virus started and the Irish people are not informed.

We get daily deaths and number of cases in N Ireland though.

I think the deaths should be reported, simply because they are still so high, as are cases and hospitalisations. When the last restrictions are lifted, there will be people self isolating all over the place as this action will really spread the virus.

Just observations

• Registered Users Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭Micky 32

The deaths are not comparable to other waves really. We didn’t have as contagious variant or the same amount of cases.

Xmas 2020 we peaked approx 100+ deaths a day at one stage with approx half the cases we had this past xmas. Huge difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,658 ✭✭✭User1998

You do realise that there are 30,000 deaths in Ireland every year? Why on earth should single figure deaths from a mild disease be reported on national tv every day?

Why don’t we broadcast the daily deaths of cancers and heart related diseases every day? These numbers are multiple times more than the over exaggerated covid deaths yet they don’t make daily headline news.

Absolutely bizarre way of thinking. Cases and deaths should never have made headline news.

I don't agree, covid deaths should be reported, trying to give people the impression that everything is rosy in the garden with covid, when it isn't, ain't very smart.

Let's look forward to a "meaningful spring/summer eh"

• Registered Users Posts: 313 ✭✭NedsNotDead

You seem a tad perturbed that things are largely returning to normal

Not at all, but I'm in that unfortunate age group that needs to worry about this crap!!

• Registered Users Posts: 26,307 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

You also probably have a life and leave your keyboard from time to time. The thing about all the anti-vaxx/lockdown nuts is that they have no comprehension of what it's like out in the packed buses, pubs and shops because they had no lives or friends anyway. Anti mask protests are probably the most socialising they done in years.

• Registered Users Posts: 313 ✭✭NedsNotDead

Stereotype a whole group of people because they have a different opinion to you.

Nice

• Registered Users Posts: 13,475 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Note that the HSE / HSPC deaths data is inflated.

In 2020, the HSE / HSPC report 2,299 deaths.

Whereas the CSO data reports:

"There were 1,672 registered deaths where COVID-19 was assigned as the underlying cause of death in 2020. There were a further 167 mortality records where there was a mention of COVID-19 in the narrative of the death certificate and where the underlying cause of death was not COVID-19.  A new information note is available outlining how the CSO assigns COVID-19 as the underlying cause of death.

The HSE data is 37.5% inflated over the CSO/GRO data.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

My fav cafe removed the signs today, I went in maskless and was delighted to see a queue of people with faces. It was beautiful, a real boost to the mood. Poor staff were still stuck in them, hopefully just until Monday.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,307 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Why have the yellow signs been such an issue for the anti lockdown crowd ?

Seems to be so much vitriol towards a piece of paper. What kind of snowflake can't get over a bit of paper

You must be quite upset life is returning to normal that lockdowns and restrictions are now becoming history. Tough….

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

100% to this, got a very upsetting phone call this evening from my sister living up in the west of Ireland, her mother in law and father in law both late 70s are after being brought into hospital in the past 24 hours, both Covid positive, had only been in the local supermarket and post office in the past few days so picked it up in either of those places, after being extremely careful for the past two years, candles lighting for both of them tonight that they will recover from it.

It just shows how careful you can be and you’ still can get it. I know an old couple in their mid 80’s caught it the same way and mostly cocooning. They only had sore throats and a few aches and pains. I know people who caught it and i have been scratching my head how the hell did they catch it.

Interestingly i have worked through the whole 2 years because it’s essential work, out and about ( the 2km didn’t apply to me) and i have been exposed to the public just as much as pre pandemic times. I have also travelled to the US and UK a few times. I have never had so much as a sniffle in the past 2 years.

We are all going to be exposed to this sooner or later whether we like it or not and idiots dreaming and hoping for more lockdowns and severe restrictions thinking it will be all grand and will get rid of Omicron is only wasting your life and future plans away. Thankfully most of us are getting on with our lives now, things feel so much more normal these days.

Post edited by Micky 32 on

• Registered Users Posts: 3,164 ✭✭✭Rebelbrowser

Sorry if asked lots before but does anyone know how strictly the rule about waiting 3 months post infection for booster is implemented? I was due to get booster in mid December but got Covid so couldn't get booster at that time. I now want to get my booster next week, about a week too early, for various reasons including potential travel shortly. Is the 3 month wait enforced somewhere in the process or will no one care/ stop me if I turn up at a walk in centre next week?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

I would think just wait the extra week until it's actually due and postpone the trip abroad for a week or two, it's not rocket science in fairness, why would you expose your self to the risk of not having the booster just to go abroad a week or two beforehand.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,842 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

An 84 yr old relative got it last week , did end up doing a couple of days in hospital, but not to ICU. Boosted, and kept their good spirits, despite being a smoker from 16yrs to 80 (figured smoking was bad for you at that point and took up vaking :) ). Key point - out now, felt miserable, but glad to be back enjoying life. Not a hint of suggestion that people can do anything - he called Covid a bollix - yes, 84 yr old man. Fair dues. Won't be claiming long covid anyway. There are plenty out there that want an excuse to blame covid on their personal circumstances. Yaaaahhh long covid, what an opportunity! (yes, some will have on-going symptoms, but there is an opportunity here for the perpetual victims.

If you're double vaxxed and recovered then the risk is pretty low.

Certainly not worth postponing a trip over.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭Mecanudo

Yeah you've got a point there. But you've forgot about handwashing as well. Fecking monstrous thing that 😡

But its the huge demonstrations and protests by all those people wanting to keep you personally locked down which is most concerning. Well it might be if there was any. And if boards is anything to go by there's feck all of that at all. And no Joe and other highly paid media folk don't really count tbf.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,449 ✭✭✭prunudo

Bar the travelling part, your post could be me. Have worked and been in contact with people throughout the last 2 years and to my knowledge I've never had covid. Have done pcr's and antigen testing at various stages but they've always come up negative.

Its a funny old virus, that those who are interacting with people don't necessarily get it, yet those who only ever go shopping can be struck down with it. Thankfully its now a mild illness but there are still many who fear it and believe there's a stigma in testing positive. Once they get it of course, they realise the reality of what it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Its not rocket science is right... They won't care if your a week early, get your jab and go on your holiday when you want

• Registered Users Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Being recovered from Covid gives you a very good immunity actually

• Registered Users Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭Amadan Dubh

Some positive news of a Saturday as we bid adieu to COVID. No testing even with symptoms, no more masks and only twice as bad as the flu.

Now let's enjoy some bloody rugby union.

This near-final easing will see the removal of the legal requirement to wear a mask in many situations, drastic reductions in the amount of testing, a further relaxation of rules for visiting in nursing homes and the signalling of a phased return to the workplace.

The main indicators in this pandemic remain stable, notwithstanding decisions to ease measures, taken over the last month. Cases – counted using the results of antigen and PCR tests – appear to be falling gently, while hospital and ICU numbers are relatively flat.

From Monday, most people will not need to take a test even if they have symptoms.

As a rule of thumb, Omicron is about twice as bad as flu, even with vaccination

• Registered Users Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭Marty Bird

Don’t cancel the trip that’s terrible advice, you’ve the recovery cert that’s good enough to travel now go and enjoy the trip.

🌞6.02kWp⚡️3.01kWp South/East⚡️3.01kWp West