Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Golf Society (Round 2) Carton House Montgomerie Golf Course (12th March 1130 hrs.)

• Registered Users Posts: 20,912 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

In fairness only 7 per hole...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,039 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Could be a bit of craic to note on the scorecards how many bunkers visited

My stuff for sale on Adverts inc. EDDI, hot water cylinder, roof rails...

Public Profile active ads for slave1 (adverts.ie)

• Registered Users Posts: 592 ✭✭✭rickis tache

Bucket and spade for most.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭blue note

I'm really disappointed to be missing this. I've heard it's a great course and foolishly I had a look at some of the flyovers. It really does look class!

We've visitors coming up that weekend. I'm not wishing covid on them or anything, but if they get it I'll be trying to drop into this last minute!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭willabur

lads and lassies, if I bring my portmarnock links form to carton house then the tactic is to aim straight at those bunkers, won't go near any of them

• Registered Users Posts: 8,575 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Ya never know, some people might still have not scored as many stableford points in 2 rounds as you did in Portmarnock alone

• Registered Users Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Golfhead65

You talking about me Space lol

Looks like a bit of a walk from range to 1st tee.

With my own course not open since last week I hope I can get out a few times before the 12th, using the mat for putting just isn't cutting it for me.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,215 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

It’s a drive from the range to the first tee to be honest. I’d go there first and warm up before heading down to the clubhouse.

100% it's a drive, so give yourself plenty of time alright.

Decent putting greens near the clubhouse, if I remember correctly

• Registered Users Posts: 16,004 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Yes deffo drive from GUI range.

but I have some sort or recollection of there being another range and short game area at back of clubhouse

• Registered Users Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Golfhead65

Yep, you walk out the back of the courtyard at clubhouse to putting green, short game area and a little further to the range

Jaysus the anxiety trying to book lol.

Memories of trying to get garth Brooks tickets.....I have said too much.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭kev_s88

Delighted I got a spot for this. Been 2 years since I played the Monty, and really looking forward to getting back down.

Plus the missus is away for a couple of weeks around this so no need to rush home 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭swededmonkey

All booked in. First time getting a chance to play the Monty and looking forward to it

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭Snackbox20

All booked in, really looking forward to this course and outing.

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭bobster453

Note to self..bring the JCB with ya..could make a fortune on the day

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭bobster453

1 and a half hours after booking opening and only 10 places out of 44

• Registered Users Posts: 33 Manhatton

Booked in and really looking forward to this outing. Never played Carton before (Monty or O'Meara). I hope i can avoid the bunkers like i normally do greens, and visa versa.

• Registered Users Posts: 33 Manhatton

....hit greens like i normally do bunkers

• Registered Users Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Booked in at 11.50 - wondering will we get done for the Rugger?

Looking forward to playing here again - hopefully get a good day for it and I actually try play a little golf this time.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,187 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Phew, forgot all about this and thought i'd missed it. Booking in at 12:20 though, so looking forward to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Better give yourself lots of time to get to the first tee for this one lads 😇🤫

Yes good point. Probably want to be giving yourself 10 minutes to get down there from putting green/practice area

Is there an extra putting green down beside the first tee at Monty?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,215 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

There’s one as you go through the courtyard. Chipping green further in as well as far as I remember.

I don’t think so but there possibly is. As Charlie mentions there is one through the courtyard at clubhouses. From there 5-10 minutes to get to first tee

• Registered Users Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭Luckycharm

Booked in at 11.30 to make sure finished for match!

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭BohToffee

I done the exact same.. looking forward to seeing how many bunkers I can make it into.